Germany’s Daily Newspapers Cornerstones of Democracy

Germany is Europe’s biggest newspaper market.
Germany is Europe’s biggest newspaper market. | Photo (detail): © FAZ

In Germany, daily newspapers are regarded as a major cultural asset and a pillar of democracy. They prompt socio-political debate, helping to shape the country’s public opinion. The eight national dailies play a particularly important role.

Germany is Europe’s biggest newspaper market. Seven out of every ten Germans over the age of 14 read a newspaper regularly. They can choose between 351 different titles. Most of these are regional newspapers, i.e. papers published in a certain area and only available there. Most of their coverage is about their region. The national newspapers cover national and international news. They are available throughout Germany and are known nationwide.

Top sales for tabloids, highbrow culture takes second place

Germany’s biggest newspaper, though, is entertaining rather than informative. Bild sells some 2.9 million copies each day (second quarter 2011) and is published by Axel Springer Verlag in Berlin. The newspaper is in colour and is written in simple language. It contains lots of photographs and big headlines – a typical tabloid read mainly by members of the lower and middle income groups, or by workers and employees. Bild loves to report on scandals, crime and famous people and is not very objective, but dramatises and simplifies. Politically, it has close connections with the ruling Christian Democrats (CDU).

The Süddeutsche Zeitung (SZ), published in Munich, is Germany’s second-largest daily newspaper, selling some 430,000 copies (second quarter 2011). It is the flagship of a socio-liberal middle class that takes an interest in cultural affairs. Its commentaries do not swear by the free market, but argue in favour of a social market economy. The SZ constitutes high-quality journalism. Its hallmarks are its extensive cultural section, covering literature, theatre and classical music, and Page 3, with daily in-depth reports and background articles on current affairs. On Mondays, it includes articles in English from the New York Times and on Fridays it comes with the SZ-Magazin, featuring younger cultural journalism that combines pop and highbrow culture.

Business focus

Business people and educated people with a special interest in business read the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ). This conservative, middle-class paper not only reports in depth on companies, but also in greater depth on foreign affairs than other newspapers. In its cultural section, it publishes texts that have triggered social debates on various occasions. It was in an interview with the FAZ in 2006, for example, that Günter Grass spoke for the first time of his membership of the Waffen SS, a revelation that later sparked off heated discussion. The FAZ consists mainly of long, complex texts that are rarely livened up with photographs. Until 2007, no photographs were used, even on the front page.

Die Welt is the quality newspaper of the Axel Springer Verlag. Like the FAZ, it also has an extensive business section. The language is easier to understand, however, and its layout makes it easier to read than the FAZ. Die Welt is read by entrepreneurs in small and medium-sized businesses and by self-employed people who appreciate conservative values. In 2004, Welt kompakt came onto the market, a reduced version in compact tabloid format.

The Handelsblatt, based in Düsseldorf, and the Financial Times Deutschland, based in Hamburg, are two daily newspapers with a business focus. They are read almost exclusively by business people. The Handelsblatt has been an established part of the German business scene since 1946, while the Financial Times Deutschland was first published in 2000. These two newspapers mainly provide information about companies and financial markets, but also about politics and technology. They are only published from Monday to Friday, the days when the stock exchange is open.

Social justice takes priority over free market

For decades, the Frankfurter Rundschau was the defining medium of left-leaning intellectuals. Its commentaries took up trade-union positions and appealed for social justice and the welfare state. In 2006, the newspaper was sold to the Cologne-based DuMont Verlag, which publishes a number of regional newspapers. It has been reduced to insignificance. Since mid-2011, the national section has been produced in Berlin together with the Berliner Zeitung. Only a few local and online editors work at the once-large editorial office in Frankfurt.

The Green-left-leaning paper die tageszeitung (taz) from Berlin is the only national daily not financed by advertising. It was set up in 1979 by people who were not only seeking an alternative to the middle-class media, but journalism that was completely economically independent. The taz reports more critically than other newspapers and also devotes attention to themes that are not mainstream. Social themes dominate its domestic and foreign policy sections, and ecological themes its business section. The taz is notorious for its irreverent headlines: Es ist ein Mädchen (It’s a girl) was its headline when Angela Merkel was elected German Chancellor in 2005, and it printed a photograph of the new head of government when she was a baby. Because it is constantly balancing on the edge of a financial precipice and pays only low salaries, many good journalists soon leave the paper. It is seen by journalists as a career stepping stone. Many well-known journalists began their career at taz and that is still the case today.

Tageszeitungen in Deutschland
Eckpfeiler der Demokratie

Deutschland ist der größte Zeitungsmarkt Europas.
Deutschland ist der größte Zeitungsmarkt Europas. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © FAZ

In Deutschland gelten Tageszeitungen als wichtiges Kulturgut und Eckpfeiler der Demokratie. Sie stoßen gesellschaftspolitische Debatten an, die zur Meinungsbildung im Land beitragen. Die acht überregionalen Tageszeitungen sind da besonders wichtig.

Deutschland ist der größte Zeitungsmarkt Europas. Sieben von zehn Deutschen über 14 Jahren lesen regelmäßig eine Zeitung. Sie können aus 351 unterschiedlichen Titeln wählen. Die meisten davon sind Regionalzeitungen, also Blätter, die in einem bestimmten Gebiet erscheinen und nur dort zu kaufen sind. Sie berichten vor allem aus ihrer Region. Mit nationalen und internationalen Nachrichten beschäftigen sich die überregionalen Zeitungen. Sie sind deutschlandweit erhältlich und im ganzen Land bekannt.

Boulevard ganz vorn, Hochkultur auf platz zwei

Deutschlands größte Zeitung unterhält allerdings mehr als sie informiert. Bild verkauft täglich rund 2,9 Millionen Exemplare (II. Quartal 2011) und erscheint im Axel-Springer Verlag in Berlin. Die Zeitung ist bunt und einfach geschrieben. Sie enthält viele Fotos und große Überschriften – eine typische Boulevardzeitung, die vor allem von Angehörigen der unteren und mittleren Einkommensgruppen, beziehungsweise von Arbeitern und Angestellten, gelesen wird. Bild berichtet mit Vorliebe über Skandale, Verbrechen sowie Prominente und tut dies wenig objektiv, sondern dramatisiert und simplifiziert. Politisch steht sie den regierenden Christdemokraten (CDU) nahe.

Mit rund 430.000 verkauften Exemplaren (II. Quartal 2011) ist die Süddeutsche Zeitung (SZ) aus München die zweitgrößte Tageszeitung Deutschlands. Sie ist das Flagschiff eines sozialliberalen und kulturell interessierten Bürgertums. Ihre Kommentatoren schwören nicht auf den freien Markt, sondern plädieren für die soziale Marktwirtschaft. Die SZ steht für hochwertigen Journalismus. Markenzeichen sind der umfangreiche Kulturteil, der sich mit Literatur, Theater und klassischer Musik beschäftigt sowie die Seite 3, auf der täglich große Reportagen und aktuelle Hintergrundartikel erscheinen. Montags liegen ihr englischsprachige Artikel aus der New York Times und freitags das SZ-Magazin bei, das einen jüngeren Kulturjournalismus praktiziert und Pop- und Hochkultur zusammenbringt.

Wirtschaft im Vordergrund

Geschäftsleute und Gebildete mit besonderem Interesse für Wirtschaft lesen die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ). Das bürgerlich-konservative Blatt berichtet aber nicht nur ausführlich über Unternehmen, sondern umfangreicher als andere über außenpolitische Themen. Im Kulturteil veröffentlicht es immer wieder Texte, die gesellschaftliche Debatten anstoßen. So erzählte Günther Grass in einem Interview der FAZ im Jahr 2006 erstmals von seiner Mitgliedschaft in der Waffen-SS – eine Enthüllung, die später für heftige Diskussionen sorgte. Die FAZ besteht vor allem aus langen, komplizierten Texten, die nur selten durch Fotos aufgelockert sind. Bis 2007 wurden selbst auf der Titelseite keine gedruckt.

Die Welt ist das seriöse Blatt des Axel-Springer-Verlages. Wie die FAZ bietet auch sie einen umfangreichen Wirtschaftsteil. Die Sprache ist allerdings leichter verständlich und das Layout lesefreundlicher als in der FAZ. Mittelständische Unternehmer und Selbstständige, die konservative Werte schätzen, lesen Die Welt. Mit Welt kompakt brachte man 2004 eine abgespeckte Version im handlichen Tabloidformat auf den Markt.

Das Handelsblatt aus Düsseldorf und die Financial Times Deutschland aus Hamburg sind zwei Tageszeitungen mit Wirtschaftsschwerpunkt. Sie werden fast nur von Akteuren der Wirtschaft gelesen. Das Handelsblatt ist seit 1946 fester Bestandteil der deutschen Wirtschaft, die Financial Times Deutschland erschien 2000 zum ersten Mal. Beide informieren hauptsächlich über Unternehmen und Finanzmärkte, aber auch über Politik und Technologie. Sie erscheinen nur an Börsentagen, von Montag bis Freitag.

Soziale Gerechtigkeit vor freiem Markt

Die Frankfurter Rundschau war Jahrzehnte lang das Leitmedium der linken Intellektuellen. Ihre Kommentatoren vertraten gewerkschaftsnahe Positionen, plädierten für soziale Gerechtigkeit und den Wohlfahrtsstaat. 2006 wurde die Zeitung an den Kölner DuMont-Verlag verkauft, in dem verschiedene Regionalzeitungen erscheinen. Sie wurde bis zur Bedeutungslosigkeit ausgedünnt. Seit Mitte 2011 wird der überregionale Teil zusammen mit der Berliner Zeitung in Berlin produziert. In der einst großen Redaktion in Frankfurt arbeiten nur noch einige Lokal- und Onlineredakteure.

Das grün-linke Blatt die tageszeitung (taz) aus Berlin ist das einzige überregionale, das sich nicht durch Anzeigen finanziert. Es wurde 1979 von Personen gegründet, die nicht nur eine Alternative zu den bürgerlichen Medien wollten, sondern auch wirtschaftlich völlig unabhängigen Journalismus. Die taz berichtet kritischer als andere Zeitungen und widmet sich auch Themen abseits des Mainstreams. Im innen- sowie außenpolitischen Teil überwiegen soziale Themen, im Wirtschaftsteil ökologische. Berüchtigt ist sie für ihre flapsigen Schlagzeilen: Es ist ein Mädchen titelte sie 2005 nach der Wahl von Angela Merkel zur Bundeskanzlerin und druckte dazu ein Babyfoto der neuen Staatschefin. Da die Zeitung ständig am finanziellen Abgrund balanciert und nur niedrige Gehälter zahlt, verlassen viele gute Journalisten das Blatt schnell. In Journalistenkreisen gilt sie als Karrieresprungbrett: Viele namhafte Journalisten starteten ihre Laufbahn bei der taz und tun es immer noch.