Travel bloggers and travel writers The charm of dog-ears

Biesalski - Lebe deinen Reisetraum
Biesalski - Lebe deinen Reisetraum | Photo (detail): © Conni Biesalski

Travel blogs have become increasingly popular, but what differentiates them from a traditional travel book? What do they have in common? To find out, we talked with two charismatic travel authors: publishing house founder and travel writer Stefan Loose and travel blogger Conni Biesalski.

In 1978, Stefan Loose and his wife Renate opened their own alternative publishing house for globetrotters. Their first edition was called the Southeast Asian Manual. “Trips to Asia were still something very adventurous back then,” recalls Loose. “It was really hard to get solid information about faraway destinations.” An author at the time was hunter, gatherer and pioneer. For Loose, the early days of his travel guides in the 1970s and 80s was the most exciting of his publishing career. “We were constantly discussing new content, ways of life, and self-realization. Money played a subordinate role. We were trying to follow our ideals and capture them in the books. We were discovering the world with a great sense of curiosity, openness and an interest in foreign cultures. We wanted to send travelers off the beaten path.”

In 2002, the couple sold their publishing operation but has been working solely as authors since then. Their hopes of sending people down roads less traveled are similar to those of travel blogger Conni Biesalski, who has been traveling the world for more than 10 years now. Her experiences are posted on the Planet Backpack site and compiled in her e-book Live your Travel Dreams. “I want to inspire people to finally take the extended trip or round-the-world journey they have been dreaming about,” she says, “and discover a life in which experience is more important than what you own.”

Tips for dreamers

As a travel writer, one is confronted by both the abstract longings of readers as well as their need for practical information. At the same time, authors are the ones who inspire and even shape these expectations, and that applies to both guidebooks and blogs. They recommend what readers should go see, where they can get a cheap meal or find a place to stay, all in a world turning faster than ever before. Despite a range of high-end technologies, however, the work of these authors hasn't really gotten any easier. “A travel guide author always has to react to changes, has to be present in order to fact-check and discover new trends,” says Loose. “The infrastructure for many travel destinations has improved. They are easier to reach. Information is easier to get. But the offering for tourists is also bigger, more specialized and in constant flux in order to serve every possible target group. That makes the local research required for a good guide book even more difficult.”

Blogging is a bit different. Reader expectations are a bit less concrete. The author's personality, style and perspectives play a larger role. Planet Backpack is a mission. “Blogging is my mouthpiece. I use it to reach and inspire a broader audience,” says Biesalski. “I want to tell my readers about the opportunities our world and travel can show them.” She places great value on helpful information and a lively exchange with readers and other bloggers. “I am extremely grateful for the comments and tips that readers post and appreciate it when they know more about something, show me new perspectives or simply share their own experiences.”

Travel, write, live

The Looses and Conni Biesalski all live from their work as authors and bloggers. “Most travel guide authors can't live from this job,” says Stefan Loose. “When we were writing in Thailand and Malaysia we still had the other income from the publishing operation. The costs for authors have gone up while income has remained steady, if they are lucky. It is rare that a travel blogger's income actually covers the costs of all that research,” he says. Full-time travel bloggers are the exception to the rule. Biesalski's Planet Backpacker reaches nearly 30,000 readers a month, and that number is rising, but she still only earns about 60 or 70 percent of her income from her blogs. “It would be enough to survive,” she says, but she also works as a social media consultant for companies and individuals as well as designs blogger campaigns.

Status quo?

Travel has changed along with the media that report on the subject. “These days the children of the globetrotter generation are still using our books for their wanderings,” says Loose, “and thanks to young co-authors we are now able to serve their needs, in the form of tips for school holidays, shopping, mountain bike tours or adventure climbing parks, to name a few. The Internet and smartphone apps are playing a larger role but if you're looking for a hotel in Bangkok, the recommendations of professional Loose authors and a detailed map of the city have proven themselves more practical. We also offer our travel guides as e-books now.”

Biesalski believes that in the future, print and online will merge even further. “More digital content like videos, photos and updated information will be referred to in links within the books.” She is also very careful about how much weight she has on her back. “A two-kilogram book on South America or India can be pretty annoying to carry around.” Still, she doesn't believe the traditional guidebook is dying. “A book doesn't rely on electricity, the Internet or digital technology. You can just open it up and use it any time. And you can't dog-ear a blog page.”

Reiseblogger und Reiseautoren Der Charme von Eselsohren

Biesalski - Lebe deinen Reisetraum
Biesalski - Lebe deinen Reisetraum | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Conni Biesalski

Reise-Blogs sind im Trend. Was unterscheidet sie vom klassischen Reisebuch? Was verbindet beide? Wir stellen zwei charismatische Traveller gegenüber: Verlagsgründer und Reiseführerautor Stefan Loose und die Reisebloggerin Conni Biesalski.

1978 gründeten Stefan Loose und seine Frau Renate einen alternativen Selbstverlag für Globetrotter. Ihr erster Reiseführer war das Südost Asien Handbuch. „Damals war eine Asienreise noch recht abenteuerlich“, erinnert sich Loose. „Konkrete Informationen über ferne Reiseziele waren nur schwer zu bekommen.“ Ein Autor war Jäger und Sammler. Und Pionier. Loose hält diese Gründerzeit der alternativen Reiseführer in den 1970er- und 1980er-Jahren für die spannendste Phase seiner Verlagstätigkeit. „Wir haben viel diskutiert, über neue Inhalte, Lebensentwürfe und vor allem über Selbstverwirklichung. Geld spielte eine untergeordnete Rolle. Wir versuchten, unseren Idealen nachzugehen und sie in den Büchern umzusetzen, erkundeten die Welt mit großer Neugier, Offenheit und Interesse an fremden Kulturen. Wir wollten die Reisenden wegbringen von den schon damals ausgetretenen Touristenpfaden.“

2002 verkauften die Looses ihren Verlag und sind seither nur noch als Autoren unterwegs. Den Wunsch, Menschen auf neue Pfade zu bringen, teilen sie mit der Reisebloggerin Conni Biesalski. Seit mehr als zehn Jahren reist sie um die Welt. Ihre Erfahrungen bloggt sie auf Planet Backpack und bündelt sie im E-Book Lebe deinen Reisetraum. „Ich möchte den Leuten zu ihrem Traum von der Langzeitreise oder Weltreise verhelfen“, sagt sie, „zu einem Leben, in dem Erfahrungen wichtiger sind als Besitz“.

Ratgeber für Träume

Als Reiseautor wird man mit den abstrakten Sehnsüchten der Leser konfrontiert, aber auch mit deren Bedürfnis nach praktischen Informationen. Gleichzeitig formen Reise-Autoren diese Erwartungen. Das gilt für gedruckte Reiseführer wie für Blogs. Sie empfehlen den Lesern, was sie sehen sollen, wo sie gut oder günstig essen und schlafen können. Und das in einer Welt, die sich immer schneller dreht. Trotz perfektionierter technischer Hilfsmittel ist die Arbeit der Autoren nicht leichter geworden. „Ein Reisebuchautor muss ständig auf die Veränderungen reagieren – muss vor Ort sein, um Fakten zu überprüfen und neue Trends zu erspüren“, sagt Loose. „Die Infrastruktur vieler Reiseziele hat sich verbessert. Sie sind schneller erreichbar, Informationen leichter erhältlich. Gleichzeitig wächst das touristische Angebot, spezialisiert und wandelt sich permanent, um jede nur mögliche Zielgruppe zu bedienen. Umso zeitaufwendiger wird die Vorort-Recherche eines guten Reiseführers.“

Beim Bloggen ist das etwas anders. Die Erwartungen der Leser sind weit weniger konkret, der Autor selbst, sein Stil und seine Ansichten rücken in den Vordergrund. Planet Backpack ist eine Mission. „Bloggen ist mein Sprachrohr, um viele Leute öffentlich zu erreichen und zu inspirieren“, sagt Biesalski. „Ich möchte meinen Lesern zeigen welche Möglichkeiten ihnen die Welt und das Reisen eröffnen.“ Dabei legt Conni Biesalski sehr viel Wert auf hilfreiche Informationen und den Austausch mit Lesern und Blogger-Kollegen. „Für die vielen Kommentare und Tipps meiner Leser bin ich sehr dankbar und freue mich, wenn meine Leser Dinge besser wissen, eine neue Perspektive aufzeigen oder einfach andere Erfahrungen gemacht haben, die sie teilen.“

Reisen, Schreiben, Leben

Die Looses und Conni Biesalski leben von ihrer Arbeit als Buchautoren und Bloggerin. „Die meisten Reiseführer-Autoren können nicht von diesem Job leben“, sagt Stefan Loose. „Auch wir hatten neben der Autorentätigkeit in Thailand und Malaysia als zweites Standbein die Arbeit im Verlag.“ Die Kosten für Autoren sind durchweg gestiegen, ihre Einnahmen bestenfalls konstant geblieben, resümiert Loose. „Nur selten können die Einnahmen von einem Reiseführer allein die Kosten einer umfassenden Recherche decken.“ Auch hauptberufliche Reiseblogger sind eher die Ausnahme. Knapp 30.000 Leser erreicht Biesalskis Planet Backpacker jeden Monat, Tendenz steigend. 60 bis 70 Prozent ihres Einkommens generiert sie aus ihren Blogs. „Das würde zum Leben reichen“, versichert sie. Nebenher berät sie Firmen und Privatleute in Social-Media-Fragen und entwirft Blogger-Kampagnen.

Quo vadis, Reise-Autor?

Das Reisen hat sich verändert und mit ihm die Medien, die darüber berichten. „Heute sind die Kinder der Globetrotter-Generation ebenso mit unseren Büchern unterwegs wie deren Eltern“, sagt Stefan Loose. „Dank junger Koautoren ist es uns möglich, auch auf deren Bedürfnisse einzugehen, ob Tipps zum Feiern und Shoppen oder für Mountainbike-Touren und Hochseilgärten. Internet und Apps spielen zwar zunehmend eine Rolle, aber bei der Hotelsuche in Bangkok erweisen sich die Bewertungen eines professionellen Loose-Autors und detaillierte Stadtpläne als praktikabler. Zudem gibt es unsere Reiseführer mittlerweile auch als E-Books.“

In Zukunft werden Print und Online noch enger zusammenwachsen, glaubt Conni Biesalski. „Mehr digitaler Content in Form von Videos, Fotos und Up-to-date-Informationen, die in den Büchern mit Links erwähnt werden.“ Die Backpackerin achtet sehr auf das Gewicht, das sie auf dem Rücken mitschleppt. „Da kann ein zwei Kilo schwerer Südamerika- oder Indien-Guide echt nerven.“ Trotzdem glaubt Conni Biesalski nicht, dass der klassische Reiseführer in Buchform am Ende ist. „Ein Buch ist unabhängig von Strom, Internet und digitaler Technik, schnell aufgeschlagen und immer nutzbar. Und in einen Blog kann man keine Eselsohren machen.“