"Transmediale" Interplanetary – transmediale 2013 in Berlin

Transmediale is Berlin's annual “festival for art and digital culture”. In 2013 the event was dedicated to a bygone future. Among other things, at the heart of the festivities was a vote on the status of the celestial body Pluto.

The result in the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (House of World Cultures), the central venue of the transmediale, was clear:was clear: 357 votes against and 269 for. Visitors at the opening ceremony of transmediale 2013 were asked by the art director of the festival, media archaeologist Kristoffer Gansing, a Berlin transplant from Sweden, to weigh in with their yellow ballots on the not so trivial subject of whether Pluto is a planet or not. In 2006, the celestial body had been demoted from planetary status at a controversial poll of astronomers in Prague, so after taking a look at the case from 2006, festivalgoers had the chance to reassess the question. Ultimately it was all for naught. In this more artistic and less scientific vote, Pluto was denied once again the lofty status of planet.

Post-dramatic opening

Since 2012, when Gansing took over management of the 24th annual transmediale, which began in 1988 as a “video festival”, the opening ceremonies of this “festival for art and digital culture” rather resembled a “post-dramatic” theater piece. It was up to visitors to decide in such moments whether the auditorium at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, a contemporary art museum, itself felt like a place of ceremonial representation or more like a place where ceremonial representations are held. The festival's format brought a much-needed breath of fresh air to transmediale 2013, even if it was just Gansing's second year. Named after the eponymous Internet meme BWPWAP – Back When Pluto Was a Planet – transmediale risked a look back at an ambiguous past in which we “used our minitels”, the “fax was the new telex”, “history was coming to an end”, and “we still had nine planets” – as it is said in a curatorial statement on the festival.

If some folks saw the festival's main theme as slightly retro, a closer look reveals that it was actually a courageous attempt to describe our current “crisis of classification” in which unsuitable or at least questionable terms like “media art” have been topped by ones such as “media art festival” or “festival for digital culture”. Based on four thematic directions – Networks, Users, Paper and Desire – Gansing's program team tried to use six days of exhibits, conferences, workshops, films, concerts and performances to critically assess the “unreal and poetic modi of cultural critique” that have made this crisis a general expression of the times.

Evil media

Surprisingly, among the four topics, Paper seemed to have generated the most productive discoveries. A presentation from New York poet Kenneth Goldsmith about the lyrical qualities of computer-generated literature was one of the outstanding moments of the festival. The fact that some of the formats required visitors to break away from convention was part of the concept for 2013. The exhibit curated by Jacob Lillemose's had an especially noticeable lack of recent artworks. Divided into three areas, his installation was very much focused on the past.

Called Tools of Distorted Creativity, the group of works all on one wall expressed a fundamental mistrust of the presumed perfection of technology, for example Jacob Nielsen's Desktop (Gravity Edition) from 2007, in which the screen icons of a rotating monitor were unable to withstand the force of gravity and kept falling to the bottom of the screen. The Evil Media Distribution Center area was similarly skeptical with texts and objects submitted by 66 people about “evil media”, from the microwave and Excel to the tampon. The retrospective from the lesser-known media artist Sonia Landy Sheridan (1925) stood out as comparably traditional but as a result was surprisingly effective within the context of the festival.

Back to the future

As if to make the thematic tone of transmediale 2013 even more omnipresent, many parts of the museum were outfitted with a pneumatic tube messaging system call the OCTO. Visitors could use it to send their own unannounced messages with loud whooshing sounds throughout the building to the various conference rooms, thereby providing the different sessions with new input and material for discussion. Lively ideas like these made this year's festival conceptually very powerful, so much so that it will take some serious consideration for next year about how to escape the BWPWAP past that was created in 2013.

Transmediale Interplanetar – die Transmediale 2013 in Berlin

Das „OCTO“-Rohrpostsystem auf der Transmediale 2013
Das „OCTO“-Rohrpostsystem auf der Transmediale 2013 | Foto (Ausschnitt): Sabine Kelka

Das jährlich in Berlin stattfindende „Festival for art and digital culture“, die Transmediale, widmete sich 2013 einer vergangenen Zukunft. Unter anderem wurde über den Status des Himmelskörpers Pluto abgestimmt.

Das Votum im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, dem zentralen Veranstaltungsort der Transmediale, fiel eindeutig aus: 357 Kontra-Stimmen standen 269 Pro-Stimmen gegenüber. Soeben waren die Besucher der Eröffnungszeremonie der Transmediale 2013 vom künstlerischen Leiter des Festivals, dem in Berlin lebenden schwedischen Medienarchäologen Kristoffer Gansing, aufgefordert worden, mit gelben Wahlzetteln über nichts Geringeres als über den planetarischen Status von Pluto abzustimmen. Dem Himmelskörper war im Jahr 2006 in einer umstrittenen Abstimmung unter Astronomen in Prag der Status als Planet aberkannt worden. Nachdem sich das Festivalpublikum anhand von Plädoyers ein Bild über die damalige Entscheidung gemacht hatte, wagte man nun einen neuen Anlauf zur Abstimmung – und scheiterte mit dem (eher künstlerischen als wissenschaftlichen) Versuch, Pluto wieder in die Riege der Planeten aufzunehmen.

Postdramatische Eröffnung

Seit Gansing 2012 mit der Jubiläumsausgabe der 1988 noch als „VideoFest“ gestarteten Transmediale die Festivalleitung übernahm, erinnern die Eröffnungszeremonien der Transmediale eher an Inszenierungen aus dem Bereich des „Postdramatischen Theaters“. Ob das Auditorium des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt in Momenten wie diesen eher ein Ort der förmlich gehaltenen Repräsentation war oder vielmehr ein Ort, an dem eine förmlich gehaltene Repräsentation aufgeführt wird, entscheiden in diesem Sinn die Besucher. Betitelt nach dem gleichnamigen Internet-Phänomen BWPWAP – Back When Pluto Was a Planet – wagte die Transmediale 2013 einen Rückblick in eine nicht genauer bestimmte Vergangenheit, in der unter anderem „User Minitel benutzten“, „Fax das neue Telex“, gerade die „Geschichte zu Ende gegangen“ war und „wir neun Planeten hatten“, wie es in einem kuratorischen Statement zum Festival heißt.

Konnte das Festivalthema auf den ersten Blick als Retrogehabe verstanden werden, erwies es sich bei genauerem Hinsehen als der mutige Versuch, eine „Klassifikationskrise“ zu beschreiben, die neben untauglich oder zumindest fragwürdig gewordenen Begriffen wie „Medienkunst“ längst auch solche wie „Medienkunstfestival“ oder „Festival für digitale Kultur“ erreicht hat. Anhand von vier thematischen Strängen – Networks, Users, Paper und Desire – versuchte das Programm-Team um Gansing 2013, mit Ausstellung, Konferenz, Workshops, Filmprogramm, Konzerten und Performances über sechs Tage im Sinn kritischer Zustandsbestimmung „irreale sowie poetische Modi der Kulturkritik“ zu untersuchen, die diese Krise als Ausdruck einer generellen Zeiterscheinung thematisierten.

Böse Medien

Überraschenderweise war es unter den thematischen Strängen vor allem der dem Papier gewidmete, der die produktivsten Erkenntnisse hervorbrachte. Der Vortrag des New Yorker Dichters Kenneth Goldsmith über die poetischen Qualitäten computergenerierter Literatur etwa gehörte zu den hervorragenden Momenten des Festivals. Dass einige der Festivalformate den Besuchern einen Bruch mit Gewohnheiten abverlangten, gehörte für die Transmediale 2013 zum Konzept. Allen voran irritierte das von Jacob Lillemose kuratierte Ausstellung zum Festival zunächst, zeigte sie doch kaum künstlerische Arbeiten neueren Datums. In drei Bereiche aufgeteilt, wurde vielmehr auch hier auf die Vergangenheit zurückgegriffen.

Die an einer Wand gruppierten Arbeiten des Ausstellungsbereichs Tools of Distorted Creativity sprachen von einem grundsätzlichen Misstrauen gegenüber der vermeintlichen Perfektion von Technologien – so in Jacob Nielsens Arbeit Desktop (Gravity Edition) von 2007, bei der die Bildschirmsymbole eines rotierenden Monitors der Drehung nachgeben und an den unteren Bildschirmrand fallen. Der Bereich des Evil Media Distribution Center versammelte Objekte oder Verfahren, die von 66 Personen als Beispiele für „bösartige Medien“ vorgeschlagen worden waren – von der Mikrowelle über Excel bis zum Tampon. Die Retrospektive der 1925 geborenen, eher unbekannten Medienkünstlerin Sonia Landy Sheridan nahm sich im Vergleich dazu fast schon klassisch aus, wirkte jedoch aus genau diesem Grund im Rahmen der Transmediale umso überraschender.

Zurück in die Zukunft

Wie um den thematischen Akt des Innehaltens omnipräsent zu machen, zog sich zusätzlich zur Ausstellung durch weite Teile des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt ein mit OCTO betiteltes altes Netzwerkmedium: ein Rohrpostsystem, das von den Besuchern mit eigenen Nachrichten bestückt werden konnte, die mit lautem Zischen unangemeldet in die über die Veranstaltungsräume verteilten Stationen eingingen und so manche Konferenzsession mit neuem Input anreicherten. Lebendige Ideen wie diese trugen 2013 zu einem konzeptuell starken Festival bei, das sich für seine nächste Ausgabe gleichwohl wird überlegen müssen, wohin man aus der BWPWAP-Vergangenheit wieder entfliehen kann.