“Image Counter Image” What’s left over from War

Radenko Milak: „What Else Did You See? I Couldn’t See Everything!“
Radenko Milak: „What Else Did You See? I Couldn’t See Everything!“ | Photo (detail): © Radenko Milak/Haus der Kunst

Almost every event or incident that takes place these days is captured in picture format, and anyone with a camera is now an image source. How does this influence our perception of war and conflicts around the world? We visited the “Image Counter Image” exhibition in Munich to find out.

Exactly 151 front pages from various international newspapers fill the entire wall. There is no accompanying commentary. They are all from the same day – September 12, 2001 – and it is spooky how similar they all are. Nearly every one of them shows the same motif: smoke above the World Trade Center in New York City. It is an image that has become an icon in and of itself. It no longer needs a caption to explain what is happening – the text is generated automatically in the mind of the viewer. Still, just like the abbreviated term “9/11” evokes these very images, one can’t help but think that there was only one editorial staff responsible for all 151 of these front pages, especially when they are all hanging there side by side on the wall.

Hans-Peter Feldman’s installation, 9/12 Frontpage, takes a closer look at the question: Why do we always see the same images of this particular event? The exhibition’s brochure provides a few theories. “On the one hand it could have been due to the monopoly broadcasting rights of US-based television stations. On the other hand, the channeling and selection of images among news agencies also plays a significant role here. These days, a very small number of companies owns the majority of our newspapers, magazines, TV stations, radio stations, publishing houses, film studios and Internet services. As a result, they share among themselves almost all of the world’s media might.”

Dirty terrorism, clean war

“In reality, every story consists of two stories,” wrote American art historian William J.T. Mitchell. “There is the story that actually happened, and there is the story of how the incidents are perceived. The first type of story focuses on the facts and figures. The second type concentrates on images and words, which form the framework in which the facts and figures initially attain their meaning.” The Image Counter Image exhibit chooses to steer viewers’ attention to the second type of story. How do images influence our perception? Which, and whose, values do they communicate? What do they reveal? What do they hide? How reliable are they? Do events first become events once there are pictures of it?

Indeed, they are questions that we should be constantly asking in this media-driven world, particularly when the subject is war. The interplay of war and images is the central topic of the exhibit at Munich’s Haus der Kunst, which itself was misused as a gallery of propaganda by the Nazis in its early years. In the first room, panels document year-by-year the innovations in war and communications technologies between 1992 and 2012 – that is, between the first Gulf War (1990-1991) and the Arab Spring (2011). The installations address the events and developments of that period.

The Gulf War, as the exhibition’s introduction explains, represents a vital turning point. The type and selection of the images were as new as the statements they made. “Night-vision images dominate, and people are conspicuously absent from nearly all of the pictures. This served to portray the conflict as a ‘war of machines’.” Like a computer game in which no people are harmed.

Blurred images, blurred impressions

The works of art here expose the lies and secrecy of the warmongers and their partners in the media. They show how the grand manipulation functions, but the installations remain thoroughly subtle and candid. Thomas Ruff photographed deserted buildings, streets and landscapes through a night-vision camera. That is where the green effect comes from in the TV images of the bombing of Baghdad. Through their association with the war photos, the deliberately haphazard motifs feel like targets, as if someone had placed them in crosshairs.

Monika Huber’s project Einsdreißig (One-Thirty) was created during the Arab Spring. It questions the sources of information that formed the basis for opinions among people in the West. The title of the collection of photos is the typical length of a TV news report: 1 minute, 30 seconds. Huber photographed actual TV segments and then covered bits of them so that they can no longer be associated with a precise event (time and place). Still, the viewer intuitively associates them with war or revolution, and even connects a geographical location with them, in this case North Africa or the Middle East. The images become interchangeable symbols of war and conflict in crisis regions around the world. But what diagnostic value do interchangeable images have? Does an abstract conflict really move us? Image Counter Image is a fascinating exhibition that challenges routine media consumption and gives us a lesson in perception.

„Bild-gegen-Bild“ Was vom Krieg übrig bleibt

Radenko Milak: „What Else Did You See? I Couldn’t See Everything!“
Radenko Milak: „What Else Did You See? I Couldn’t See Everything!“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Radenko Milak/Haus der Kunst

Jedes Ereignis wird heutzutage auf Bildern festgehalten. Jeder Mensch mit Kamera wird zur Bildquelle. Wie beeinflussen diese Möglichkeiten unsere Wahrnehmung von Kriegen und Konflikten? Ein Besuch in der Ausstellung „Bild-gegen-Bild“ in München.

Eine ganze Wand füllen die 151 Titelseiten internationaler Zeitungen, die kommentarlos nebeneinander hängen. Sie alle stammen vom selben Tag, dem 12. September 2001. Unheimlich, wie sehr sich die Titel ähneln. Fast durchweg zeigen sie das gleiche Motiv: Rauch über dem World Trade Center in New York. Ein Foto, das für sich selbst spricht. Es braucht keine erklärende Schlagzeile mehr, wenn man das Bild sieht. Der Text dazu entsteht ganz automatisch in den Köpfen der Betrachter. So, wie das Kürzel 9/11 umgekehrt eben diese Bilder hervorruft, die hier, direkt nebeneinander gehängt, den Eindruck erwecken, eine einzige Redaktion sei für alle Titelseiten verantwortlich gewesen.

Hans-Peter Feldmanns Installation 9/12 Frontpage legt die Frage nahe, warum von diesem Ereignis die immer gleichen Bilder zu sehen sind. Mögliche Antworten liefert die Ausstellungsbroschüre: „Dies lag einerseits in der Monopolstellung US-amerikanischer Fernsehsender, andererseits spielte die Kanalisierung und Auswahl des Bildmaterials durch Nachrichtenagenturen eine wichtige Rolle. Wenige Konzerne besitzen heute die Mehrheit der Zeitungen, Magazine, Fernsehkanäle, Radiosender, Verlage, Filmstudios sowie Internetdienste und teilen damit de facto nahezu die Gesamtheit der Medienmacht unter sich auf.“

Schmutziger Terrorismus, sauberer Krieg

„Jede Geschichte besteht in Wirklichkeit aus zwei Geschichten“, schreibt der amerikanische Kunsthistoriker William J. T. Mitchell. „Da ist einmal die Geschichte des tatsächlich Geschehenen und zum anderen die Geschichte der Wahrnehmung des Geschehenen. Die erste Art von Geschichte konzentriert sich auf Zahlen und Fakten, die zweite auf Bilder und Worte, die den Rahmen bestimmen, in dem Zahlen und Fakten erst ihre Bedeutung erlangen.“ Auf diese zweite Geschichte lenkt die Ausstellung Bild-gegen-Bild den Blick der Besucher. Wie beeinflussen Bilder unsere Wahrnehmung? Welche und wessen Werte vermitteln sie? Wie zuverlässig sind sie? Werden Ereignisse erst durch Bilder zu Ereignissen gemacht?

Fragen, die man sich in einer Medienwelt permanent stellen sollte, erst recht, wenn es um Kriege geht. Das Zusammenspiel von Krieg und Bildern ist das zentrale Thema der Ausstellung im Münchner Haus der Kunst, das in seinen Anfangsjahren den Nationalsozialisten als Propaganda-Galerie diente. Im ersten Raum dokumentieren Tafeln Jahr für Jahr die Kriege und kommunikationstechnischen Neuerungen zwischen 1992 und 2012. Die künstlerischen Beiträge befassen sich mit Ereignissen und Entwicklungen zwischen dem Zweiten Golfkrieg (1990–1991) und dem Arabischen Frühling (2011).

Der Golfkrieg, so heißt es in der Einführung der Ausstellung, stelle einen wichtigen Wendepunkt dar. Art und Auswahl der Bilder waren ebenso neu wie deren Aussage. „Es dominierten Nachtsichtaufnahmen, Menschen waren in den Bildern beinahe vollständig abwesend. So wurde der Konflikt als ein Krieg zwischen Maschinen dargestellt“ – wie ein Computerspiel, bei dem keine Menschen zu Schaden kommen.

Verwischte Bilder, verwischte Eindrücke

Die Arbeiten der Künstler offenbaren, was Kriegsmacher und deren Partner in den Medien verschweigen oder verfälscht darstellen und zeigen, wie derartige Manipulationen funktionieren. Dabei bleiben die Installationen subtil und offen. Thomas Ruff fotografierte verlassene Gebäude, Straßen und Landschaften durch ein Nachtsichtgerät. So entstand die gleiche Optik wie in den Fernsehbildern von der Bombardierung Bagdads. Durch die Assoziation mit den Kriegsbildern werden die an sich willkürlichen Motive zu gefühlten Angriffszielen, als habe jemand ein Fadenkreuz darüber gelegt.

Monika Hubers Projekt Einsdreißig entstand während des Arabischen Frühlings. Sie hinterfragt die Informationsquellen, auf deren Basis sich die Menschen im Westen ihre Meinungen bilden. Der Titel der Bilderserie steht für die übliche Länge eines Beitrags in den TV-Nachrichten: Eine Minute, 30 Sekunden. Huber fotografierte Bilder aus Fernsehbeiträgen ab und übermalte sie stellenweise. So verfremdet lassen sich die Bilder keinem konkreten Ort oder Ereignis mehr zuordnen. Dennoch assoziiert der Betrachter sie intuitiv mit Krieg oder Aufstand und verortet sie auch geografisch, überwiegend nach Nordafrika oder in den Nahen Osten. Die Bilder werden zu austauschbaren Symbolen für Kriege und Konflikte in Krisenregionen. Doch welchen Aussagewert haben austauschbare Bilder? Kann ein abstrakter Konflikt noch berühren? Bild-gegen-Bild ist ein Beitrag gegen die Routine des Medienkonsums und eine Schule der Wahrnehmung.