German Radio In the Digital Age

Nearly all radio programming has been produced digitally since the mid-1990s.
Nearly all radio programming has been produced digitally since the mid-1990s. | Photo (detail): TMSK © iStockphoto

Despite fast-paced development in new media, traditional radio broadcasting is still reaching vast numbers of listeners and attracting stable revenues from advertising. Still, digitalization, Internet and new mobile devices represent ongoing challenges for the stations.

Since its introduction during the Weimar Republic and subsequent media-political restructuring after World War II, radio in Germany has managed to fully establish its rightful place in the country's media landscape. It may be a question of tradition and familiarity, but since February 1949, when Europe's first very short wave (VHF) radio station was opened in Bavaria, about 300 million VHF radio devices have been acquired in households across the land.

A diverse offering

In 1981, Germany's Federal Constitutional Court put the dual broadcasting law into effect, which in turn became the foundation for a joint public and private radio broadcasting landscape. The commercial stations, financed by advertising revenues, are still among the leaders of a nationwide mainstream and specialist radio environment that features relatively minimal talking and little editorial effort. This is primarily because the most important private media companies in Germany are, to differing degrees, still active in the radio broadcasting business. Still, radio programming has continued to diversify since its inception.

Today there are 58 public radio stations, 222 private stations and 113 quasi non-commercial university radio stations. Each one has distinct target groups that it serves with varying types of music and verbal content. The offering includes programming for children and seniors, jazz and classical music, highbrow informational or cultural channels like the nationwide public station Deutschlandradio, the international German broadcaster Deutsche Welle and stations that solely stream music through private local broadcasters.

According to the Media-Analyse consortium, Germans listened to an average of 199 minutes of radio in 2011. For people between 10 and 29 years of age that number has even increased in recent years from 136 to 145 minutes. This can be seen in the revenues as well: In 2011, Nielsen Media Research in Germany reported €1.46 billion in radio advertising spending. That is an increase of 5.8 percent over the previous year. According to a study by TNS Emnid called Surfer wollen was auf die Ohren (lit. trans. Surfers want Something in their Ears) traditional regional radio no longer demands peoples' undivided attention, but it is still the most popular parallel medium in Germany, meaning people enjoy listening to it while they do something else.

Digitalization on all channels

Nearly all radio programming has been produced digitally since the mid-1990s. That of course altered the work of hosts and journalists dramatically. Reporters research, speak and edit their own pieces now, hosts “freestyle” their way through entire programs and newsreaders are sometimes replaced by original recordings that have been saved and then broadcasted “live” between increasingly long music segments, for example. Initiatives like die Radioretter (lit. trans. Radio Rescuers) or Fair Radio still point out that German radio journalists are at the forefront of preserving the culture of the spoken German word.

Digital distribution of radio programming received a massive boost with the nationwide introduction of DSL in Germany in 2005. Web radio stations immediately began popping up, broadcasting only online to their topic- or music-oriented niches. Today there are over 3,000 active web radio stations in Germany. The standard radio stations don't see this as an alternative but as an enhancement and a way to further retain brand loyalty among their listeners. Since the complete shutdown of VHF has been repeatedly delayed, decision-makers are increasingly optimizing a hybrid strategy consisting of their own terrestrial, digital audio broadcasting (DAB+) network and the Internet, which is becoming more and more popular on mobile devices. The distribution of LTE (long-term evolution) technology with even faster broadband will presumably force this trend to continue.

Next-generation radio – mobile, personalized and interactive

“Radio to go” is the next thing for your handheld and your pants pocket. At this point there are not just downloadable broadcasting formats, but radio stations are now creating and distributing their own applications for your smartphone or tablet. Aggregators like phonostar.de, radio.de and deutschland.fm provide listeners with structured access to countless German radio stations. last.fm offers personalized music programming, laut.fm has user-generated playlists, and at 1000mikes.com listeners can even host shows themselves. Despite all of these new developments, however, “new radio” still doesn't necessarily need to suppress “old radio”. After all, three-quarters of Germans who listen to the radio via the Internet or their mobile phones does it as an enhancement to their regular listening habits.

Literature:

Hans Bausch:
Der Rundfunk im Kräftespiel der Weimarer Republik 1923-1933 (lit. trans. Radio in the Power Play of the Weimar Republic) (Mohr/Siebeck, 1956)

Konrad Dussel:
Deutsche Rundfunkgeschichte (lit. trans. A History of German Radio) (UVK, 2010)

Hörfunk in Deutschland Auf dem Weg ins digitale Zeitalter

Nahezu alle Radioprogramme werden bereits seit Mitte der 1990er-Jahre digital produziert.
Nahezu alle Radioprogramme werden bereits seit Mitte der 1990er-Jahre digital produziert. | Foto (Ausschnitt): TMSK © iStockphoto

Trotz der Neuen Medien verzeichnet der traditionelle Hörfunk hohe Reichweiten und stabile Werbeumsätze. Dennoch gelten Digitalisierung, Internet-Nutzung und neue mobile Endgeräte als Herausforderungen für die deutschen Radio-Sender.

Seit seiner Einführung in der Weimarer Republik und der medienpolitischen Neuordnung im Nachkriegs-Deutschland konnte das Radio seine Stellung in der Medienrezeption der Deutschen behaupten. Vermutlich ist das eine Sache der Tradition oder der Gewohnheit: Seit im Februar 1949 der erste Ultrakurzwellen-Sender Europas in Bayern in Betrieb genommen wurde, haben sich rund 300 Millionen UKW-Radios in deutschen Haushalten angesammelt.

Vielfältiges Angebot

Im Jahr 1981 rief das Bundesverfassungsgericht die duale Rundfunkordnung ins Leben, den Grundstein für das Nebeneinander von öffentlich-rechtlichem und privatem Rundfunk in Deutschland. Eine Folge dieses Urteils: Die wichtigsten privaten Medienkonzerne der Republik sind in unterschiedlichem Maß auch im Hörfunk aktiv. Der werbefinanzierte kommerzielle Hörfunk gilt als Vorreiter für eine bundesweite Orientierung auf Format- und Spartenradios mit geringem Wortanteil und kleinem redaktionellen Aufwand. Dennoch ist der Hörfunk in Deutschland seit Einführung des privaten Hörfunks vielfältiger geworden.

Zurzeit gibt es in Deutschland 58 öffentlich-rechtliche Stationen auf Länder- und Bundesebene, 222 Privatsender und 113 sonstige, etwa nichtkommerzielle Uni-Radios. Die Musikfarben und Wortinhalte der Sender sind jeweils auf unterschiedliche Zielgruppen zugeschnitten. Das Angebot reicht vom Kinder- bis zum Seniorenprogramm, vom Jazz- bis zum Klassiksender und vom hochwertigen Informations- oder Kulturkanal wie dem bundesweit ausgestrahlten, öffentlich-rechtlichen Deutschlandradio – mit den drei Sendern Deutschlandfunk, Deutschlandradio Kultur und DRadio Wisen – oder dem deutschen Auslandssender Deutsche Welle bis zur reinen Musik-Unterhaltung durch private Lokalsender.

Laut Arbeitsgemeinschaft Media-Analyse hörten die Deutschen im Jahr 2011 pro Tag durchschnittlich 199 Minuten Radio. Bei den 10- bis 29-Jährigen ist die Hördauer in den vergangenen Jahren sogar angestiegen, von 136 auf 145 Minuten täglich. Das macht sich auch an den Umsätzen bemerkbar: Im Jahr 2011 flossen laut Nielsen Media Research in Deutschland rund 1,46 Milliarden Euro in Radiowerbung. Das sind 5,8 Prozent mehr als im Jahr zuvor. Das herkömmliche Radio aus der Region erhält keine ungeteilte Aufmerksamkeit mehr, ist aber das beliebteste Parallelmedium, dem man sich also parallel zu anderen Tätigkeiten widmet, so die Erkenntnis der TNS Emnid-Studie Surfer wollen was auf die Ohren.

Digitalisierung auf allen Kanälen

Nahezu alle Radioprogramme werden bereits seit Mitte der 1990er-Jahre digital produziert. Das hat auch die Arbeit der Journalisten maßgeblich verändert: Reporter recherchieren, sprechen und schneiden ihre Beiträge selbst, Moderatoren „fahren“ ganze Sendungen eigenhändig und Nachrichtensprecher werden mitunter komplett durch O-Töne ersetzt, die digital gespeichert und zwischen steigenden Musikanteilen nach Belieben „live“ präsentiert werden. Initiativen wie die Radioretter oder Fair Radio verdeutlichen jedoch, dass deutsche Radiojournalisten sich gezielt für die Kultur des gesprochenen Wortes einsetzen.

Mit der flächendeckenden Einführung des DSL-Standards für Breitband-Internetverbindungen kam in Deutschland ab 2005 auch die digitale Verbreitung des Radios ins Rollen. Schnell entstanden sogenannte Webradios, die ausschließlich online senden und meist inhaltliche oder musikalische Nischen besetzen. Mittlerweile soll es mehr als 3.000 deutsche Webradios geben. Die Macher herkömmlicher Radiosender sehen „online“ indes nicht als Alternative, sondern meist als ergänzenden Verbreitungsweg, um ihr Publikum an die Medien-Marke zu binden. Nachdem die komplette Abschaltung der UKW-Frequenzen immer wieder verschoben wurde, setzen die Verantwortlichen in den Sendern derzeit zunehmend auf eine hybride Strategie aus einem terrestrischen digitalen Broadcastnetz (DAB+) und dem Internet, auf das zunehmend auch von mobilen Endgeräten zugegriffen wird. Die Verbreitung des neuen Mobilfunk-Standards LTE (Long-Term-Evolution) mit höheren Bandbreiten wird diesen Trend vermutlich forcieren.

Das Radio der nächsten Generation: mobil, individualisiert, interaktiv

„Radio to go“ wird hand- und hosentaschentauglich, denn mittlerweile gibt es nicht nur einzelne Sendeformate als Podcast zum Download, sondern auch komplette Radiosender als App für Smartphones oder Tablets. Aggregatoren wie phonostar.de, radio.de oder deutschland.fm ermöglichen den Hörern strukturierten Zugriff auf unzählige deutsche Radio-Angebote. last.fm bietet ein individualisierbares Musikprogramm, laut.fm User-generierte Musikzusammenstellung, und bei 1000mikes.com können die Hörer auch selbst moderieren. Allen Neuerungen zum Trotz muss das „neue Radio“ das alte nicht zwingend verdrängen: Drei Viertel der Deutschen, die Radio per Internet oder Handy nutzen, tun dies zusätzlich zur herkömmlichen Hörgewohnheit. Das neue Radio wird das alte nicht ersetzen, sondern ergänzen.
 

Literatur:

Hans Bausch:
Der Rundfunk im Kräftespiel der Weimarer Republik 1923–1933 (Mohr/Siebeck, 1956)

Konrad Dussel:
Deutsche Rundfunkgeschichte (UVK, 2010)