Political talk shows on German TV Just entertainment?

There seems to be a real flood of talk shows.
There seems to be a real flood of talk shows. | Photo (detail): dandanian © iStockphoto

Political talk shows like “Anne Will”, “hart aber fair”, “Menschen bei Maischberger”, “Beckmann” and “Illner” are all over ARD and ZDF in the late evening. Does the wide variety of talk shows degrade the quality of the format?

Political talk shows have been around for decades, starting with the famous Drei nach Neun, Presseclub and Bonner Runde. Both public and private broadcasters regularly include them in their programming, and for good reason: they have a number of benefits for the stations. The format is comparatively cheap, the shows can be effectively tailored to suit audiences, and they build station brands around distinctive host personalities. They also offer audience participation and, since they are live, can cover current political events in a seemingly detailed and thorough manner.

Inflationary format

At this point there seems to be a real flood of talk shows, and not just at ARD, which changed its programming in 2011. Other stations have picked up the format as well. The discussions and debates are all over television now, but not always laden with the type of content one should be able to expect, say critics. When Günther Jauch, host of the wildly popular Wer wird Millionär show on privately-owned RTL, moved over to ARD, it made waves in the industry, inspiring a debate on the purpose and value of political talk shows. Media specialist Bernd Gäbler took a closer look at the trend that brought the format back to prime time and found that, contrary to earlier talk shows, the new programs no longer actually feature politicians. Instead, they invite celebrity guests without any real political background. The shows are also becoming more and more similar to each other, according to Gäbler. “There is no clear differentiation or profiling of the programs. It is all a reproduction of the same model,” wrote Gäbler, “which represents a move away from real politics and more toward entertainment.”

Just entertainment – according to critics

Of course, the critics have been around just as long as the shows themselves, and Gäbler is not the only one irritated by the hot air. One of the first shows to garner media criticism, and inspire a closer look at the “tabloidization of politics”, was Sabine Christiansen. In 2004, pundit Walter van Rossum wrote in a bitterly aggressive attack that the format is “not exactly going to nurture the overall political education of our society.” But science and politics are also critical of the shows. While Bundestag President Lammert sees a “political simulation” in the format, other political and communications specialists are generally critical of the increasing “politainment” aspect as well as of the creation of a media-based “substitute democracy” that has displaced real politics. As a result of the propagation of these shows, the following trends and points of critique can be highlighted:
  • Personalization (people become the focus, instead of the topics themselves)
  • An unacceptable mix of entertainment and politics (the “politainment” and tabloidization of real political subject matter)
  • Always the same guests (a small group of talking heads is defining the public image)
  • Subject matter is too limited (topics that should or could be discussed are too often ignored)
  • Ratings orientation (popular topics are chosen over more complex or important topics. The motto is: ratings over relevance)
  • Talk shows as a substitute parliament (some politicians are happier to show up on TV than in the parliament buildings)
  • Exaggerated self-importance among guests (telegenic celebrities and motormouths win the upper hand among other guests who are also trying to express their thoughts on a subject)
  • Boredom from excess (the same subjects and guests doesn’t lead to increased viewer interest in politics. On the contrary, people become less “politicized”.)
Interestingly, politicians tend to appear on talk shows during campaign periods instead of on more purely political programs. They and their consultants are obviously convinced that the more personable, comfortable and less combative format of the TV talk show will better serve political objectives.

Objection: what the producers think

Thomas Bauman, editor-in-chief at ARD and the man responsible for talk shows there, refuses to take the criticism at face value. In an interview with the magazine Journalist, he maintained that any limitations with regard to subject matter are often a natural progression: “Sometimes there are topics in the news that are so dominating it takes days of discussion to work through them.” There is also the critique that the TV stations are taking the topics from the other talk shows. “Incorrect,” says Baumann, adding that, “The editorial teams are professional enough with one another that they wouldn’t want to invite the same guests for the same topics.” ZDF host Maybritt Illner sees another aspect of it as well. “Politics are always staged,” she said to Kress media. There is no real difference between the talk shows and parliament.

Literature:

Walter van Rossum:
Meine Sonntage mit "Sabine Christiansen". Wie das Palaver uns regiert. (lit. “My Sundays with Sabine Christiansen. How the babble rules us all.” Köln, 2004)

Bernd Gäbler:

Und unseren täglichen Talk gib uns heute. Eine Studie der Otto Brenner-Stiftung (lit. “Give us our daily talk show. A study by the Otto Brenner Foundation”. Frankfurt/Main, 2011)

Andreas Dörner:
Politainment (Frankfurt/Main, 2001)

Thomas Meyer:
Mediokratie (Frankfurt/Main, 2001)

Politische Talkshows im Fernsehen Alles nur noch Unterhaltung?

Talkshows: Inzwischen scheint es eine Inflation des Formates zu geben.
Talkshows: Inzwischen scheint es eine Inflation des Formates zu geben. | Foto (Ausschnitt): dandanian © iStockphoto

Sie heißen „Anne Will“, „hart aber fair“, „Menschen bei Maischberger“, „Beckmann“ oder „Illner“: Politische Talkshows prägen das TV-Programm bei ARD und ZDF am späten Abend. Leidet die Qualität des Formats unter dem vielfältigen Angebot?

Die politische Talkshow hat Jahrzehnte auf dem Buckel, nannte sich mal Drei nach Neun, mal Presseclub, mal Bonner Runde. Weder öffentlich-rechtliche Sender noch ihre private Konkurrenz wollten und wollen auf sie verzichten. Talkshows haben für die Sender viele Vorzüge. Sie sind ein relativ kostengünstiges Format, erlauben eine publikumswirksame Personalisierung und Markenbildung um den Moderator oder die Moderatorin herum, bieten Möglichkeiten zur Zuschauereinbindung und können als Live-Sendungen aktuelle politische Ereignisse vielschichtig und hintergründig aufnehmen.

Inflationäres Format

Doch inzwischen scheint es eine Inflation des Formates zu geben. Nicht nur bei der ARD, die ihr Programmschema 2011 änderte, sondern auch auf den anderen Sendern, wird fast um die Wette geredet und debattiert und dies nicht immer besonders inhaltsvoll, monieren Kritiker. Der Wechsel des bekannten Moderators Günther Jauch zur ARD, der auf dem privaten Sender RTL die quotenträchtige Unterhaltungsshow Wer wird Millionär moderiert, sorgte für großes Aufsehen und läutete eine Debatte über den Sinn und Wert politischer Talks ein. Der Medienwissenschaftler Bernd Gäbler hat den Trend zur Popularisierung des Formates genauer untersucht. Im Gegensatz zu früheren Talks stünden in den neuen Formaten nicht mehr Politiker im Vordergrund, sondern mehr oder weniger prominente Gäste, die über keinen politischen Hintergrund verfügten. Zudem würden sich die Formate immer ähnlicher, so Gäbler: „Es gibt keine schärfere Abgrenzung der Formate und klarere Profilierung, sondern eine ,Vervielfachung des Ähnlichen‘“, schreibt Gäbler, der einen neuerlichen Schub weg von der Politik, hin zur Unterhaltung verzeichnet.

Nur noch Unterhaltung: Die Sicht der Kritiker

Ebenso alt wie die politischen Talks ist auch die Kritik an ihnen. Nicht nur Gäbler ärgert das große Palaver. Eine der ersten Talkshows, die sowohl in der Medienkritik Anstoß zur näheren Beschäftigung mit dem Trend der „Boulevardisierung des politischen Geschäftes“ gab, war Sabine Christiansen. Schon 2004 beschrieb der Medienkritiker Walter van Rossum in einer bitterbösen Polemik, dass er das Format nicht gerade für eine Förderung der politischen Allgemeinbildung des Publikums hielt. Aber auch die Wissenschaft und die Politik selbst gehen hart mit den Talks ins Gericht. Während Bundestagspräsident Lammert in ihnen eine „Politik-Simulation“ sieht, äußern Politik- und Kommunikationswissenschaftler eine generelle Kritik am zunehmenden „Politainment“ oder am Entstehen einer medialen Ersatzdemokratie, die die echte Politik „kolonialisiert“ habe. Die Hauptkritikpunkte lassen sich wie folgt zusammenfassen – durch die Flut an politischen Talks würden bestimmte Tendenzen bestärkt:
  • Personalisierung (es wird nur noch über Personal gesprochen, nicht über Inhalte),
  • unzulässige Mischung von Unterhaltung und Politik (Politainment und Boulevardisierung politischer Inhalte),
  • immer dieselben Gäste (ein kleiner Kreis von TV-Diskutanten prägt das öffentliche Bild),
  • einseitige thematische Ausrichtung (wichtige Themen, die auch hätten diskutiert werden können, kommen nicht mehr zur Sprache),
  • Quotenfixierung (populäre Themen werden schwierigen, aber wichtigen Themen gegenüber bevorzugt, es herrsche das Motto: „interessant vor relevant“),
  • Talkshows als Ersatzparlament (einige Politiker zeigten sich eher im Fernsehen als im Bundestag),
  • übertriebener Selbstdarstellungstrieb der Gäste (telegene Menschen und Dauerredner würden die Überhand über Gäste gewinnen, die sich zur Sache äußern möchten),
  • Langeweile durch Überangebot (immer gleiche Themen und Gäste führten letztlich nicht zu mehr Interesse des Publikums an Politik, vielmehr sei das Gegenteil der Fall – dadurch werde der Trend zur Entpolitisierung verstärkt).
Interessant ist in diesem Zusammenhang, dass Politiker gerade in Wahlkampfzeiten eher in TV-Talks gehen als in die puristischen Politiksendungen. Sie und ihre Berater sind offenbar der Überzeugung, dass die menschelnden, wärmeren und weniger konflikthaltigen Talk-Formate ihren politischen Zielen eher zuträglich sind.

Gegenrede: Die Sicht der Macher

Thomas Bauman, ARD-Chefredakteur und verantwortlich für die Talks, will die Kritik so nicht stehen lassen. In einem Interview mit dem Fachmagazin Journalist erläuterte er seine Position. Dass es zu thematisch einseitigen Konzentrationen käme, liege nun einmal an der Natur der Dinge: „Ab und an gibt es Nachrichtenlagen, die so dominierend sind, dass man über Tage hinweg praktisch auf ein Thema setzen muss.“ Außerdem sei die Kritik, die TV-Macher würden sich gegenseitig die Themen wegnehmen, nicht korrekt. „Die Redaktionen seien untereinander selbst professionell genug, dass sie kein Interesse daran hätten, dieselben Gäste zu denselben Themen einzuladen.“ Die ZDF-Talkerin Maybritt Illner sieht noch einen anderen Aspekt: „Politik ist grundsätzlich immer Inszenierung“, sagte sie dem Mediendienst Kress. Dies sei also im Fernsehen oder in Talkshows nicht anders als im Parlament.

Literatur:

Walter van Rossum:
Meine Sonntage mit „Sabine Christiansen“. Wie das Palaver uns regiert. (Köln, 2004)

Bernd Gäbler:
Und unseren täglichen Talk gib uns heute. Eine Studie der Otto Brenner-Stiftung (Frankfurt/Main, 2011)

Andreas Dörner:
Politainment (Frankfurt/Main, 2001)

Thomas Meyer:
Mediokratie (Frankfurt/Main, 2001)