Children’s News Programme “Logo!” Celebrates 25th Anniversary

Child reporter Sieba and Tim Schreder
Child reporter Sieba and Tim Schreder | Photo (detail): Jürgen Detmers © ZDF

On 9 January 1989, “Logo!” went on air for the very first time. 25 years later, Germany’s first news programme for children is a firm fixture on German television. Every day, “Logo!” informs young viewers aged eight to twelve about world events.

At the beginning of 2014, the possible appointment of Christian Democratic Union (CDU) general secretary Ronald Pofalla to the board of German rail operator Deutsche Bahn caused quite a stir amongst adults, and Logo! wanted to ensure that children also understood what the fuss was all about. Using plenty of illustrations, the programme featured a detailed report to explain the fundamental problem of lobbying in politics. The federal election in Germany is not an easily accessible topic for children, too, so Logo! tries to find ways to stimulate their interest.

Hard news explained in a child-friendly way

On 22 September 2013, for example, a special election day programme had children cut up cakes that were in the same colours as the political parties into slices that corresponded to the percentages of the vote that the respective parties had attained. The children then arranged the slices on a plate marked with a 50 percent line. This allowed them to see which parties will be able to join forces to govern Germany in the future – and to see why the large black CDU/CSU slice is not enough on its own. In addition, interviews conducted by child reporters with the party bosses are an entertaining way of making an otherwise rather dry topic appear less inaccessible. Presenting world events to children in a palatable way is a particular challenge which Logo! faces every day. “This requires a precise and readily understandable visual language and structure”, says Markus Mörchen, the editor responsible. The programme is produced by public-service broadcaster ZDF; it is made in the same studio that is used for the adult news programme heute and is broadcast on the children’s channel KIKA. Every day, more than 300,000 children tune in on average to watch the programme.

Experts in their own fields

The programme’s concept has required hardly any tweaking over the past 25 years. “These days, however, children are media-influenced to a much greater extent than in the past”, says Mörchen. It is becoming increasingly important to interact with viewers via the Internet, for instance by offering live chats with the programme’s presenters. The Logo! website gives children the chance to acquire more in-depth background knowledge about issues that can only be touched upon briefly in the short ten-minute television programme. In the spring of 2014, a blog is to be launched that will further intensify dialogue between the programme and its viewers. “Logo! takes the suggestions and questions of its young viewers very seriously”, says Mörchen, explaining that the Redezeit (i.e. Time to talk) section is determined mainly by suggestions from children. At the same time, what is presented on Logo! can have a major bearing on the way children view the world. When reporting on very difficult and alarming events that may scare children, such as the 9/11 terrorist attacks, psychologists or media education experts are consulted.

There are no limitations when it comes to the topics selected, but there are when it comes to the images that are shown – no violence is allowed to be depicted. Regional issues which children themselves have brought to the editorial team’s attention – such as the closure of a local outdoor swimming pool – feature in the programme just as much as events like the typhoon in the Philippines. In their reports, the correspondents look at the topic from a child’s perspective: what happened to the children in the Philippines, and how can we help them? Children are much more emphatic than adults and wish to be kept lastingly informed about crises. “Even once a topic like the disastrous earthquake in Haiti disappears from the daily press, children want us to keep them updated on the situation”, explains Mörchen. “By raising regional topics to a higher level our aim is to show children that one can also fight for issues close to one’s own heart, and that politics can start right on one’s own doorstep.” Debates between children and regional politicians are an integral part of the Logo! concept.

Education and media competence

Generally speaking, anything that preoccupies adults will also preoccupy children. Being “digital natives”, they find out about wars, crimes and disasters through all kinds of channels in any case, be it via the Internet or their mobile phones. A programme like Logo! provides background information and sheds light on the bigger picture, and may therefore help to allay irrational fears. “That said, critical parents do occasionally question the topics we select and the stance adopted by Logo!. Thankfully, that happens very rarely”, says Mörchen.

International children’s news network

Logo! is part of an international network of children’s news programmes called the Youth News Exchange. This also includes the early pioneers in this sector, which served as the role model for the ZDF: back in 1972, the BBC launched its Newsround programme in the UK, followed in 1981 by the Dutch NOS channel with its Jeugdjournaal. As Mörchen explains, the Benelux and Northern European countries are particularly strong in the area of children’s news. Members of the network share their experiences, as well as their content. Once or twice a week, Logo! features a report made in another country, says Mörchen. Naturally, Logo! also has plans for the future: its website is to feature an economics module, and there are plans to make greater use of the new media. One thing that will definitely remain part of the programme will be good news – this is something which Logo! considers to be particularly important.

Kindernachrichten
25 Jahre „Logo!“

Kinderreporterin Sieba und Tim Schreder
Kinderreporterin Sieba und Tim Schreder | Foto (Ausschnitt): Jürgen Detmers © ZDF

Am 9. Januar 1989 ging „Logo!“ auf Sendung. 25 Jahre später ist Deutschlands erstes Kindernachrichtenmagazin eine feste Größe im deutschen Fernsehen. Täglich bringt „Logo!“ jungen Zuschauern von acht bis zwölf Jahren das Weltgeschehen nahe.

Der mögliche Wechsel des Generalsekretärs der Christdemokraten (CDU), Ronald Pofalla, in den Vorstand der Deutschen Bahn sorgte Anfang 2014 für viel Wirbel bei den Erwachsenen. Das sollen auch die Kinder verstehen. Ein ausführlicher Beitrag mit vielen Grafiken erklärt ihnen das grundsätzliche Problem von Lobbyismus in der Politik. Auch das Thema Bundestagswahl ist nicht leicht zugänglich für Kinder. Logo! sucht nach Wegen, ihr Interesse dafür zu wecken.

Harte News kindgerecht erklärt

In einer Sondersendung zur Bundestagswahl 2013 zum Beispiel sollen Kinder Torten, die in den Parteifarben eingefärbte wurden, nach den erreichten Prozenten anschneiden und die Stücke auf einem Teller anrichten, der mit einer 50 Prozent-Marke versehen ist. So können sie sehen, welche Parteien Deutschland künftig gemeinsam regieren dürfen. Und auch, warum das große schwarze CDU/CSU-Stück dafür allein nicht reicht. Interviews von Kinderreportern mit den Parteichefs überbrücken zudem auf unterhaltsame Weise die Distanz zum eigentlich trockenen Thema.

Das Weltgeschehen für Kinder spannend zu machen, ist eine besondere Aufgabe und Herausforderung, der sich Logo! täglich aufs Neue stellt. „Dafür braucht es eine präzise, verständliche Bildsprache und Struktur“, sagt der verantwortliche Redakteur Markus Mörchen. Die Sendung wird vom ZDF produziert und in dem Studio, aus dem auch die heute-Nachrichten gesendet werden, hergestellt und auf dem Kinderkanal KIKA ausgestrahlt. Mehr als 300.000 Kinder schauen die Sendung im Durchschnitt am Tag.

Experten in eigener Sache

Konzeptionell musste in den vergangenen 25 Jahren kaum etwas an der Sendung geändert werden. „Aber vielmehr als damals wird die Kindheit heute von den Medien bestimmt“, sagt Mörchen. Über das Internet zu interagieren wird immer wichtiger, in Form von Live-Chats mit den Moderatoren beispielsweise. Auf der Logo!-Website können Kinder ihr Hintergrundwissen zu den Themen vertiefen, die in der Fernsehsendung aufgrund der kurzen Sendezeit von zehn Minuten nur angerissen werden können. Im Frühjahr 2014 soll ein Blog starten, das den Dialog zwischen Redaktion und Publikum weiter intensiviert. Logo! setzt stark auf die Anregungen und Fragen der jungen Zuschauer“, sagt Mörchen. Die Rubrik Redezeit werde überwiegend aus den Vorschlägen der Kinder generiert. Andererseits können die Inhalte aus Logo! maßgeblich die Weltsicht der Kinder prägen. Bei ganz schwierigen, angstbehafteten Ereignissen wie den Terroranschlägen vom 11. September 2001 werden Psychologen oder Medienpädagogen als Berater hinzugezogen.

Bei der Themenauswahl gibt es keine Einschränkungen, bei Bildern dagegen schon – Gewalt darf nicht zu sehen sein. Regionale, von den Kindern selbst an die Redaktion herangetragene Themen wie ein geschlossenes Freibad finden ebenso Eingang in die Sendung wie der Taifun auf den Philippinen. Bei der Berichterstattung nehmen die Korrespondenten die kindliche Perspektive ein: Was ist mit den philippinischen Kindern passiert und wie können wir ihnen helfen? Kinder sind deutlich emphatischer als Erwachsene und wollen nachhaltig über Krisen informiert werden. „Selbst wenn ein Thema wie das schwere Erdbeben auf Haiti aus der Tagespresse verschwunden ist, wünschen sich die Kinder, dass wir dranbleiben“, erklärt Mörchen. „Mit dem Anheben von regionalen Themen auf die höhere Ebene wollen wir den Kindern auch zeigen, dass man sich für seine eigenen Themen einsetzen kann, und dass Politik schon vor der eigenen Haustür anfängt.“ Debatten von Kindern mit Regionalpolitikern sind festes Element von Logo!.

Aufklärung und Medienkompetenz

Grundsätzlich gilt, dass alles, was die Erwachsenen beschäftigt, auch die Kinder beschäftigt. Kriege, Verbrechen und Katastrophen erreichen die „Digital Natives“ ohnehin auf allen möglichen Wegen, sei es über das Internet oder das Handy. Eine Informationssendung wie Logo! erklärt Hintergründe und Zusammenhänge und räumt damit möglicherweise auch irrationale Ängste aus. „Allerdings werden die Themenauswahl und der Blickwinkel von Logo! auch immer wieder mal von kritischen Eltern in Frage gestellt. Glücklicherweise passiert das sehr selten“, sagt Mörchen.

Internationales Kindernachrichten-Netzwerk

Logo! ist Teil des internationalen Kindernachrichten-Netzwerkes Youth News Exchange. Darunter sind auch die ersten der Branche, die sich das ZDF zum Vorbild nahm: Die britische BBC startete bereits 1972 die Kindernachrichtensendung Newsround. 1981 folgte der niederländische Sender NOS mit dem Jeugdjournaal. Besonders engagiert seien die Benelux-Staaten und die nordeuropäischen Länder auf dem Sektor Kindernachrichten, sagt Mörchen. Die beteiligten Sender tauschen untereinander Erfahrungen und auch Inhalte aus. Logo! zeige ein bis zwei Mal in der Woche einen Beitrag aus einem anderen Land, so Mörchen. Natürlich hat Logo! auch Zukunftspläne: Auf der Website wird es künftig ein Wirtschaftsmodul geben, außerdem will man die Neuen Medien stärker nutzen. Was auf jeden Fall weiterhin fester Bestandteil des Programms bleiben soll: die guten Nachrichten. Die sind für Logo! besonders wichtig.