Viral campaigns How Advertising Becomes Viral

Viral campaigns
Viral campaigns | Photo (detail): © Jürgen Priewe - Fotolia.com

When marketing works like a “virus” and “content” spreads all on its own, we all become advertising campaign aides. Sometimes without even noticing it.

“Super power! Super strong! Super market! Super hot!” An advertising slogan that, at first glance, does not sound particularly imaginative – if you are only reading it. When, however, the same lines are sung by an older man with a white beard who prances with surprising ease through a supermarket, bathes in milk as he lies uninhibited in a bathtub and slips unsolicited into the sitting room of a scantily clad woman, they can become a viral super success.

Edeka Supergeil (Youtube.com)

The Supergeil (ie. super hot) clip of the German supermarket Edeka spread with breakneck speed through the social networks, thus making it an excellent example of a “viral campaign” and “content marketing”. These terms describe a new form of advertising. “Viral” refers to the virus-like propagation of advertising content in the Net, especially by word-of-mouth distribution in social networks. A viral advertising campaign works like this: the promotional content, in this case the Supergeil clip featuring the dancing grandpa, is so appealing and well-made that those who discover it on the Net recommend it to their friends on Facebook or Twitter. The thus addressed users are likewise inspired and share the link with their own circle of digital acquaintances. The promotional content “goes viral”. The medium in question need not always be a video clip: info graphics, video games and animations can also enjoy viral successes.

Some brands hide themselves

The success of a viral campaign stands or falls with the conveying of content: “Advertisers understand that the main thing is to deliver quality content, without seeming to advertise. This is also good because the constant emphasis on your own brand today is irritating, counter-productive and old-fashioned”, says Yvette Schwerdt of the German-American marketing agency Made-to-Market.

The new spirit of advertising arose in the “mother country of marketing”, the USA. But content marketing is also becoming increasingly important in Germany. “The magnitude of sharings, however, can’t be compared”, says Schwerdt. Viral advertising campaigns from the United States are shared and passed on by a substantially larger audience. A fundamental advantage probably lies in the English language. Thanks to it, American advertising campaigns can enjoy viral successes worldwide. German campaigns cannot rely upon the same international attention, but more and more companies in Germany are discovering the new advertising form for their use.

Viral success is not always advertising success

Time and again there are advertising clips that are successful on the internet in which, however, the advertised product remains in the background or even hidden, so that the advertising message fails to be recognised by most users. An example of this is the music video La La La by Shakira, in which the yoghurt brand Activia and its advertising message are faded in only at the beginning and the end of the clip. “I can imagine that this sensationally successful clip raised the brand recognition for Activia only slightly: the link between the content and the brand isn’t clear”, says Schwerdt.

Some brands make no secret of their participation in a clip: at the beginning of 2014 the video First Kiss caused a sensation. Purportedly, it shows randomly selected people ardently kissing completely unknown other people and carrying out their task passionately. Only a few days later was it announced that the clip had been produced by a fashion brand, which had concealed their part in the video.
First Kiss (Youtube)

That some companies try to make advertising look as much unlike advertising as possible rests on a misunderstanding, says Björn Ognibeni, consultant for digital communication. “Many mistakenly think that people don’t like to watch commercials. But that’s not true: people like to watch good content, even if it’s advertising”, says Ognibeni.

Check lists can be misleading

The question remains: what makes promotional content “good” content? “Above all, it helps to trigger strong emotions. If the audience laughs aloud, gently sheds a few tears, sighs, moans or cries out surprised, the chances are good that they will share the spot”, says Schwert, summing up the requirements. But the communication consultant Ognibeni warns against “success check lists”: “Even if you can try to reduce the success factors to a few, this can be misleading. Successful is what is relevant to the target group – and this may look very different according to interests”. Even sober info graphics can spread successfully as long as their content is surprising and innovative.

Yet not even the best content spreads all by itself: “That’s a myth”, says Ognibeni. In fact, the propagation of many viral campaigns is initially helped financially. “About 20 per cent of advertising budgets is invested in ‘seeding’”. Seeding refers to the targeted and financially supported dissemination in social networks – for example, by paid-for posting on Facebook or recommendations on YouTube. After the seeding, the advertising must then make its own way, and in the best case attack like a highly contagious virus, at least for a short time.

Virale Werbekampagnen Wie Werbung zum Virus wird

Virale Kampagnen
Virale Kampagnen | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Jürgen Priewe - Fotolia.com

Wenn Marketing „viral” funktioniert und sich der „Content” wie von selbst verbreitet, werden wir alle zu Kampagnenhelfern. Manchmal sogar, ohne es zu merken.

„Super Power! Super stark! Super Markt! Supergeil!“ Ein Werbeslogan, der auf den ersten Blick nicht besonders einfallsreich klingt, wenn man ihn liest. Wenn die selben Zeilen allerdings von einem älteren Mann mit Rauschebart gesungen werden, der überraschend lässig durch den Supermarkt tänzelt, sich in der Badewanne liegend hemmungslos mit Milch begießt und bei einer leicht bekleideten Frau ungefragt ins Wohnzimmer huscht, kann daraus ein Erfolgsschlager entstehen.

Edeka Supergeil (Youtube.com)

Der Videoclip Supergeil der deutschen Supermarktkette Edeka verbreitete sich in rasender Geschwindigkeit in den sozialen Netzwerken und ist damit ein vorbildliches Beispiel in Sachen „virale Kampagne“ und „Content-Marketing“. Diese Begriffe umschreiben neue Formen der Werbung. Viral steht für die virushafte Verbreitung von Werbeinhalten im Netz, vor allem durch Weiterempfehlungen in den sozialen Netzwerken. Eine virale Werbekampagne funktioniert so: Der zu bewerbende Inhalt oder Content ist derart ansprechend und gut gemacht, das diejenigen, die ihn im Netz entdecken, ihn ihrem Freundeskreis auf Facebook oder Twitter weiterempfehlen. Die so adressierten Nutzer lassen sich ebenfalls begeistern und teilen den Link wiederum mit ihrem eigenen digitalen Bekanntenkreis. Die Werbung „geht viral“, wird also extrem schnell im Netz verbreitet. Dies ist im Fall des Supergeil-Clips mit dem tanzenden Opa passiert, der zudem von dem Sänger und Schauspieler Friedrich Liechtenstein dargestellt wird. Dabei muss es nicht immer ein Videoclip sein, auch Infografiken, Videospiele oder Animationen können virale Erfolge erzielen.

Manche Marken verstecken sich

Der Erfolg einer viralen Kampagne steht und fällt mit dem transportierten Content. „Werbungstreibende begreifen, dass es darauf ankommt, hochwertige Inhalte zu liefern, ohne vordergründig zu werben. Das ist auch gut so, denn die ständige Betonung der eigenen Marke wirkt heutzutage nervig, kontraproduktiv und altmodisch“, sagt Yvette Schwerdt von der deutsch-amerikanischen Marketingagentur Made-to-Market.

Entstanden ist diese neue Art des Werbens in den USA und ist auch in Deutschland sehr im Trend. Die Größenordnungen des „Sharings“, also des Teilens eines Inhalts in den sozialen Medien, liegen in den USA jedoch weit über denen in Deutschland. Werbekampagnen aus den USA werden von einem wesentlich größeren Publikum geteilt und weiterempfohlen. Vor allem wegen der englischen Sprache können US-Werbekampagnen weltweites Aufsehen erreichen, das deutschen Kampagnen verwehrt bleibt.

Viraler Erfolg ist nicht gleich Werbe-Erfolg

Immer wieder gibt es Werbe-Clips, die im Netz zwar virale Erfolge feiern, in denen jedoch das beworbene Produkt im Hintergrund steht oder gar versteckt wird, sodass die Werbebotschaft bei den meisten Nutzern gar nicht ankommt. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist das Musikvideo La La La von Shakira, in dem die Joghurt-Marke Activia und ihre Werbebotschaft lediglich an Anfang und Ende des Videoclips eingeblendet werden. „Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass dieser sensationell erfolgreiche Clip den Wiedererkennungswert für Activia nur geringfügig gesteigert hat: Der Zusammenhang zwischen Inhalt und Marke ist nicht klar ersichtlich“, so Schwerdt.

Manche Marken machen aus ihrer Beteiligung an einem Clip ein Geheimnis. Anfang 2014 sorgte das Video First Kiss für großes Aufsehen. Es zeigte angeblich zufällig ausgewählte Menschen, die vor der Kamera einen ihnen völlig unbekannten Menschen heiß und innig küssen sollten und diese Aufgabe leidenschaftlich ausführten. Etwas später wurde bekannt, dass der Clip von einer Modemarke produziert wurde, die ihr Engagement im Clip selbst verschwiegen hatte.
First Kiss (Youtube)

„Dass manche Unternehmen versuchen, die Werbung möglichst nicht als Werbung erscheinen zu lassen, beruht auf einem Missverständnis“, sagt Björn Ognibeni, Berater für digitale Kommunikation. „Viele denken fälschlicherweise, dass sich Menschen Werbung nicht gerne anschauen. Das stimmt aber nicht: Guter Content wird geschaut – auch wenn es Werbung ist.“

Checkliste kann in die Irre führen

Aber was macht einen Werbecontent zu einem guten Content? „Allen voran hilft es, Emotionen auszulösen. Wenn der Zuschauer lauthals auflacht, leise ein paar Tränen verdrückt, seufzt, stöhnt oder überrascht aufschreit, stehen die Chancen gut, dass er den Spot teilt“, fasst Schwert zusammen. Kommunikationsberater Ognibeni warnt jedoch davor, eine „Erfolgs-Checkliste“ zu erstellen. „Auch wenn man versuchen kann, die Erfolgsfaktoren auf einige wenige herunterzubrechen, kann dies in die Irre führen. Erfolgreich ist, was für die Zielgruppe relevant ist. Das kann je nach Anliegen sehr unterschiedlich aussehen“, so Ognibeni. Auch nüchterne Infografiken könnten sich erfolgreich verbreiten, solange der Inhalt überraschend und informativ sei.

Doch auch der beste Content verbreitet sich nicht ganz von alleine: „Das ist ein Mythos“, sagt Ognibeni. Tatsächlich wird vielen viralen Kampagnen anfangs finanziell bei der Verbreitung geholfen. „Etwa 20 Prozent des Werbeetats werden in das ‚Seeding‘ investiert.“ Seeding, zu Deutsch „Sähen“, bezeichnet die gezielte und finanziell unterstützte Verbreitung in sozialen Netzwerken, zum Beispiel durch gekaufte Anzeigen bei Facebook oder Empfehlungen bei Youtube. Nach dem Seeding muss die Werbung dann alleine ihren Weg machen und wird im besten Falle wie ein hochansteckender Virus das Netz befallen – zumindest für eine kurze Zeit.