Digital Textbooks for Schools Wikipedia For Teachers

Schulbuch-o-mat

In the digital classroom of the future there is also going to be a need for digital teaching and learning materials. Open Educational Resources (OER) are going to provide the key for this. There is already a German OER biology book – and Germany could also learn a good deal more from various initiatives that have been launched in other countries.

Freely accessible learning materials available online for everybody that come with a licence that permits them to be worked on or redistributed – is one way of generally defining Open Educational Resources (OER). This was also exactly the way Hans Wedenig and Heiko Przyhodnik imagined the perfect school textbook to be – so open and so free. That is why, without further ado, they invented the Schulbuch-o-mat – a platform for the production of OER textbooks. Their first project was a biology textbook for the seventh and eighth grade that was geared to the framework curriculum for Berlin schools, including the Hauptschule (secondary modern school) the Realschule (middle school), the Gesamtschule (comprehensive school) and the Gymnasium (grammar school).

Free textbooks

“For us it was not about challenging the publishing sector, but more about tackling shortcomings,” says Hans Wedenig. One evening in Berlin he was sitting around chatting with his friend, Heiko Przyhodnik, about the way the schools their sons attended were using the media – they were both not very happy about it. Outdated information in expensive books that had to be used in lessons year after year and that completely ignored the way pupils were using the new media in these times of smart phones and tablets. A further point – of course, there are huge amounts of teaching materials, because teachers prepare their lessons individually, but there has never been one place where these materials could be stored and made available to everyone.

This is exactly the kind of platform the Schulbuch-o-mat is intended to be – one where teachers can gather material and exchange ideas on it, a kind of Wikipedia for teaching materials. “Our aim was to simply create a free textbook and show that things can be done differently,” says Wedenig. The two of them then collected 10,000 euros on the startnext crowdfunding platform and launched the project. In the meantime the textbook is finished and has been authorised with a Creative Commons Licence, CC-BY-SA. This means that the content can be used again and again, provided the author is named and the work done with it takes place under the same conditions. This means that teachers in all the different federal states of Germany can use it, as long as they ensure that the content they use is in line with the recommended curriculum for the subject in their respective state. Although school textbooks require regulatory approval in most of Germany’s federal states, it only applies to books that have to be paid for.

Advantages compared to printed textbooks

“The textbook market is being turned upside down and no way can it be stopped,” says Wedenig. “The change is coming – you only have to take a look at what has been happening for so long on the regular book market and in the music industry.” Sandra Schön, from Salzburg Research, a research association, also sees it the same way. “It is clear that business models will have to be rethought. Why should school textbook publishers, of all people, be immune to change?”

The question is, however, just how long is it going to take for this change to arrive in all classrooms. Researcher Schön has already had some experience herself with producing open teaching materials. In collaboration with Martin Ebner from the TU Graz and over 100 authors, 80 specialists and lots of other helpers she produced the L3T textbook (Teaching and Learning with Technologies). “The aim of our project was not to show that we could produce a book like that for little money, we wanted to show just how useful OER is,” says Schön.  In Austria, for example, the Ministry of Education has developed and financed a book on the fundamentals of teaching with sample lessons and progress reports. The people responsible decided on the OER version for the project. If the teaching materials are available online and are appropriately licensed, as many colleagues as possible can make use of it and adapt it to their needs very quickly – that is something that could not be done with a classic textbook in this form.

OER initiatives in Poland and Norway

While there was an initiative in Germany to sniff out school computers for illegally produced digital copies, other countries adopted a substantially more decisive approach to the subject. In 2012 Poland launched an OER offensive with its digital school project and invested around 11 million euros in the production of free and openly accessible teaching materials for the 4th to 6th grade. All the materials have a CC-BY licence and may therefore be copied and worked on, provided the author’s name is mentioned. In Norway the government-sponsored National Digital Learning Arena (NDLA) is responsible for the production of OER materials. The materials are particularly geared to the secondary level, quality management is carried out in cooperation with the universities and other institutions.

In Germany, the government takes first steps in sponsoring OER. The current coalition government consisting of the CDU, CSU and SPD parties issued a statement, “In collaboration with the federal states and players from all fields of education we will develop and implement a common “Digital Learning” strategy that makes decisive use of the opportunities presented by the new media for improving education. The textbooks and teaching materials at universities are also to be made freely available, as far as it is possible, and the use of free licences and formats is to be extended.” In  the federal budget for 2015, two million euros have been scheduled for the first time for the fevelopment of OER.

Digitale Schulbücher Wikipedia für Lehrer

Schulbuch-o-mat

Für das digitale Klassenzimmer der Zukunft braucht es auch digitale Lehr- und Lernmaterialien. Den Schlüssel dazu liefern Open Educational Resources (OER). Ein erstes deutsches OER-Biologiebuch gibt es schon, von Initiativen in anderen Ländern könnte Deutschland aber noch eine Menge lernen.

Frei verfügbare Lehrmaterialien, online, mit einer Lizenz, die eine Bearbeitung und Weiterverbreitung erlaubt – so kann man die allgemeine Definition von Open Educational Resources (OER) zusammenfassen. Genauso offen und frei haben sich Hans Wedenig und Heiko Przyhodnik auch ihr Traumschulbuch vorgestellt und kurzerhand den Schulbuch-o-mat erfunden: eine Plattform für die Erstellung von OER-Schulbüchern. Ihr erstes Projekt war ein Biologieschulbuch für die siebte und achte Klasse, mit Inhalten nach dem Berliner Rahmenlehrplan für Hauptschule, Realschule, Gesamtschule und Gymnasium.

Freie Schulbücher

„Es ging uns nicht darum, die Verlagsbranche herauszufordern, sondern darum, Missstände anzugehen“, sagt Hans Wedenig. Er saß eines Abends in Berlin mit Heiko Przyhodnik zusammen, beide waren unzufrieden mit den Schulmedien ihrer Söhne: Veraltete Informationen in teuren Lehrbüchern, die über Jahre im Unterricht benutzt werden müssen und an der realen Mediennutzung der Schüler in Zeiten von Smartphones und Tablets völlig vorbeigehen. Außerdem gäbe es zwar Unmengen an Lehrmaterial, weil viele Lehrer ihren Unterricht individuell vorbereiteten, aber keinen Ort, an dem dieses Material gebündelt und nutzbar gemacht würde.

Der Schulbuch-o-mat sollte genau so ein Ort werden: eine Plattform, auf der Lehrer Material zusammentragen und sich darüber austauschen können – eine Art Wikipedia für Lehrmaterialien. „Wir wollten zunächst ein erstes freies Schulbuch realisieren und damit zeigen, dass es auch anders geht“, sagt Wedenig. Auf der Crowdfunding-Plattform startnext.de sammelten die beiden 10.000 Euro ein und stemmten das Projekt: Ein erstes deutsches OER-Biologiebuch. Inzwischen ist das Lehrbuch längst fertig und steht unter der Creative-Commons-Lizenz CC BY-SA. Damit darf der Inhalt weiterverwendet werden, wenn der Autor genannt und die Bearbeitung unter denselben Bedingungen weitergegeben wird. Dabei können Lehrer das Material in allen Bundesländern nutzen, solange sie darauf achten, dass die verwendeten Inhalte mit dem jeweiligen Rahmenlehrplan für das Fach in ihrem Bundesland übereinstimmen. Zwar gibt es in den meisten Bundesländern eine Genehmigungspflicht für Schulbücher, sie gilt aber nur für kostenpflichtige Lehrbücher. „Es ist nicht aufzuhalten, dass der Schulbuchmarkt umgekrempelt wird“, sagt Wedenig. „Dass der Wandel kommt, kann man beim regulären Buchmarkt und der Musikindustrie doch schon längst sehen.“

Vorteile gegenüber gedruckten Lehrbüchern

Dass der Wandel kommt, sieht auch Sandra Schön von der Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft, die sich auf Informationstechnologien spezialisiert: „Klar müssen dann auch Geschäftsmodelle umgestellt werden. Warum sollten ausgerechnet Schulbuchverlage gegen Veränderungen gefeit sein?“ Die Frage ist, wie lange es noch dauert, bis der Wandel in allen Klassenzimmern ankommt. Wissenschaftlerin Schön hat selbst bereits Erfahrungen mit der Erstellung offener Lehrmaterialien gemacht. Das E-Book Lehrbuch für Lehren und Lernen mit Technologien (L3T) hat sie gemeinsam mit Martin Ebner von der TU Graz und über 100 Autoren, rund 80 Gutachtern und weiteren Helfern erstellt. „Dabei wollten wir nicht zeigen, dass man mit wenig Geld ein solches Buch produzieren kann, sondern wie sinnvoll OER ist“, sagt Schön. In Österreich hat das Bildungsministerium zum Beispiel ein Einmaleins für Lehrer mit Unterrichtsbeispielen und Erfahrungsberichten entwickeln lassen und finanziert. Die Verantwortlichen haben sich bei diesem Projekt für die OER-Variante entschieden. Ist das Lehrmaterial online verfügbar und mit einer entsprechenden Lizenz versehen, können beliebig viele Kollegen darauf zugreifen und sehr schnell Anpassungen vornehmen.

OER-Initiativen in Polen und Norwegen

Während es in Deutschland noch eine Initiative gab, auf Schulcomputern nach rechtswidrig erstellten Digitalkopien von Schulbüchern zu schnüffeln, gingen andere Länder das Thema wesentlich entschlossener an: Polen hat 2012 mit dem Projekt Digitale Schule eine OER-Offensive gestartet und rund 11 Millionen Euro in die Erstellung freier und offen zugänglicher Unterrichtsmaterialien für die vierte bis sechste Klasse gesteckt. Alle Materialien stehen unter einer CC-BY-Lizenz und dürfen unter Nennung des Autors verwendet werden. In Norwegen ist die staatlich geförderte National Digital Learning Arena (NDLA) für die Bereitstellung von OER-Materialien zuständig. Die Materialien richten sich insbesondere an die Sekundarstufe, eine Qualitätssicherung findet in Kooperation mit Universitäten und anderen Institutionen statt.

In Deutschland geht die Regierung bei der Förderung von OER erste Schritte. Im aktuellen Koalitionsvertrag der Regierungsparteien CDU, CSU und SPD heißt es dazu: „Wir werden mit den Ländern und Akteuren aus allen Bildungsbereichen eine gemeinsame Strategie ,Digitales Lernen‘, die die Chancen der neuen Medien für gute Bildung entschlossen nutzt, entwickeln und umsetzen. Schulbücher und Lehrmaterial auch an Hochschulen sollen, soweit möglich, frei zugänglich sein, die Verwendung freier Lizenzen und Formate ausgebaut werden.“ Im Bundeshaushalt 2015 sind erstmalig für die Förderung von OER zwei Millionen Euro eingeplant worden.