Scripted Reality Steeped in Reality

The ensemble behind “Berlin – Tag & Nacht”
The ensemble behind “Berlin – Tag & Nacht” | © rtl2

Scripted Reality is a television format that at first seems to be a documentary, but in reality is in fact based on a fictional story. For quite a few years now this fusion has been celebrating huge successes on German television, at the same time, however, it has also provoked the ire of quite a lot critics.

Just before the millennium a German TV production company Filmpool hit upon an idea for an interesting entertainment format – real plaintiffs in court cases against real defendants, with a real judge, in this case a woman, pronouncing the sentence. And as it would be dealing only with civil law cases within the framework of a so-called court of arbitration, it would be allowed to capture it all on film.

The only problem was that Richterin Barbara Salesch (Judge Barbara Salesch, as the show was called) was not a hit with viewers. The ratings were miserable. Then Filmpool had another idea – how about switching from the somewhat dry and often complicated civil law cases to criminal law that was much more appealing to audiences? Of course they would not be allowed to film such cases in “real time”, but they could simulate the cases in a courtroom and they could work with amateur actors. As they say in the trade, they could “script” the interaction in front of the camera.

Packaging fiction as reality

“Back then this was in fact the first time ever that non-professional actors had worked in this way in a show that was on every day”, remembers Felix Wesseler from Filmpool. “And in no time at all the show was a huge hit.” Richterin Barbara Salesch kicked off a whole new genre in German TV entertainment – the courtroom show. A new term came into parlance for this approach of packaging fiction to a certain extent as reality, of making reality more entertaining with the help of quasi-documentary stylistic devices – scripted reality.

Despite the show’s success in the ratings it did not take long, however, before the critics started berating it. They were of the opinion that the show was deceiving its – mostly young – viewers, leading them to believe it was a true reflection of reality, possibly to even adopt certain forms of behaviour, prompting them to think that this is how one would react in real life. Or, equally as negative, the viewers were being trained to be fundamental sceptics who see through the manipulation and as a result lose all the trust they ever had in the media. And especially in those media which for important reasons assert the claim that they are reflecting such a thing as “reality”.

And what was even more provoking for the critics – scripted reality formats started to develop even more and to perfect the game they were playing with their alleged authenticity. In 2009 Filmpool launched two new show formats Verdachtsfälle (Suspected Cases) and Familien im Brennpunkt (Focus on Families), in which amateur actors played out family conflicts. Little by little more and more TV productions got on the bandwagon and developed similar formats: policemen and detectives investigating crimes, family members at loggerheads with each other, lawyers advising their clients in particularly difficult cases.

The secret of success – authenticity

“As soon as it became clear just how well the work with talented amateurs was functioning, we started to look for a possibility of more long-term production scenarios”, says Felix Wesseler. What they come up with was Berlin – Tag & Nacht (Berlin – Day and Night), a daily soap with non-professional actors that was launched in 2010 and tells the story of a flat-share in Berlin. BTN, as the fans call it, was a resounding success – not least thanks to Facebook, on which the format is particularly active compared to other shows. Furthermore it has also become one of the fundamental arguments used in the ongoing discussion on the possible effects scripted reality might have on the younger target group.

Joachim von Gottberg is director of the FSF – Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle Fernsehen – a voluntary, non-profitmaking self-regulation body for private TV providers in Germany that deals with issues concerning the legal protection of minors and media education. In 2012 the FSF published a survey on scripted reality in which particular emphasis was placed on Berlin – Tag & Nacht. “We were interested in the theory that there was a linear effect in the way people deal with scripted reality. The fact that young people would accept the series as real and adapt what they have seen into their concept of normality”, said von Gottberg.

It was, however, this in particular that the survey could not confirm. “The constructed nature of the format is quite consciously perceived and considered to be a stylistic device”, said Gottberg. He went on to say that it was this reason in particular that made scripted reality so successful. “What we are dealing with in this case is a particular form of production and, if you like, a particular form of direction that is particularly well suited to producing authenticity.” Whereas classic, script-based TV formats are often criticised for their wooden style and dialogues in successful soap operas and telenovelas just seemed to be “read out loud” by the actors, the verbal exchanges in shows like Berlin – Tag & Nacht have an astonishingly genuine touch.

The limits of the format

Playing with authenticity is basically a classic criterion of quality in the realm of acting – is that then the secret of success for formats like Berlin – Tag & Nacht? “The approach is simply very effective”, explains von Gottberg. “Instead of motivating actors to empathise with the part they are playing, the actors are selected from a giant pool of amateur performers, who on the basis of their appearance, their experience and their character are perfect for the role.” Apart from this, there is also another advantage for TV stations – “These formats are much cheaper to produce, as a rule a station saves two-thirds of the costs it would normally have to pay for a comparable classic TV format.”

Does this then mean that from now on we are going to have to put up with more and more TV formats that rely on favourable shooting conditions and authenticity? “Scripted reality – or, scripted entertainment, as it is also known –, has managed to make quite a name for itself in the world of television over the past few years”, says Felix Wesseler. “Of course, we are constantly developing our productions further and further and trying to find out which genres in particular might benefit from this method.” For Joachim von Gottberg the format also has clear limits. “Maximum authenticity is not everything. Some stories are simply better told by well trained actors and an elaborately developed script.”

Scripted Reality Imprägniert mit Wirklichkeit

Ensemble von „Berlin – Tag & Nacht“
Ensemble von „Berlin – Tag & Nacht“ | © rtl2

Scripted Reality werden Fernsehformate genannt, die den Anschein einer Dokumentation haben, in Wirklichkeit aber auf erfundenen Geschichten basieren. Im deutschen Fernsehen feiert diese Mischung schon seit Jahren immense Erfolge beim Publikum, ruft aber auch viele Kritiker auf den Plan.

Kurz vor der Jahrtausendwende hatte die deutsche TV-Produktionsfirma Filmpool die Idee für ein interessantes Unterhaltungsformat: Echte Kläger stehen echten Beklagten gegenüber, eine echte Richterin fällt die Urteile. Und alles darf gefilmt werden, denn verhandelt werden ausschließlich zivilrechtliche Fälle im Rahmen eines so genannten Schiedsgerichtes.

Nur kam die daraus entstandene TV-Reihe Richterin Barbara Salesch überhaupt nicht bei den Zuschauern an. Die Quoten waren miserabel, bis Filmpool eine weitere Idee hatte: Wie wäre es, von den wenig spannenden und oftmals auch komplexen Zivilrechtsfällen auf das viel publikumswirksamere Strafrecht umzuschwenken? Dann dürfte man das zwar nicht mehr bei realen Verhandlungen im Gerichtssaal filmen. Aber man könnte die Fälle ja auch vorgeben und mit Laiendarstellern nachstellen. Man könnte, so der Fachausdruck aus der Branche, die Interaktion vor der Kamera „skripten“.

Fiktion als Realität verpacken

„Auf diese Weise in einer täglichen Sendung mit nicht-professionellen Schauspielern zu arbeiten, das war damals weltweit das erste Mal“, erinnert sich Felix Wesseler von Filmpool. „Und wir hatten sehr schnell enormen Erfolg.“ Richterin Barabara Salesch prägte ein neues Genre deutscher TV-Unterhaltung: die Gerichtsshow. Für den Ansatz, Fiktion gewissermaßen als Realität zu verpacken, Wirklichkeit durch quasi-dokumentarische Stilmittel unterhaltsamer zu machen, hat sich der Begriff Scripted Reality etabliert.

Mit dem Quotenerfolg der Gerichtsshows kam auch die Kritik. Man würde hier einen Betrug am – häufig jungen – Zuschauer üben, ihn dazu verleiten, die Konstruktion für ein Abbild der Wirklichkeit zu halten, eventuell sogar Verhaltensweisen zu übernehmen, im Bewusstsein, so agiere man im echten Leben. Oder, genauso schlimm, man erzöge die Zuschauer zu Fundamentalskeptikern, die die Manipulation durchschauen und in der Folge jegliches Vertrauen in die Medien verlieren. Und zwar auch in diejenigen, die aus wichtigen Gründen den Anspruch erheben, so etwas wie „Wirklichkeit“ abzubilden.

Und, noch provozierender für die Kritiker: Scripted-Reality-Formate begannen, sich weiterzuentwickeln und das Spiel mit der behaupteten Authentizität zu perfektionieren. 2009 starteten die Filmpool-Formate Verdachtsfälle und Familien im Brennpunkt, in denen Laiendarsteller innerfamiliäre Konflikte nachspielen. Nach und nach sprangen immer mehr TV-Produktionen auf den Zug auf und entwickelten ähnliche Formate: Polizisten und Detektive gehen Verbrechen nach, Familienmitglieder tragen Konflikte aus, Anwälte beraten Mandanten in besonders schwierigen Fällen.

Erfolgsgeheimnis Authentizität

„Als einmal klar war, wie gut die Arbeit mit talentierten Laiendarsteller funktioniert, haben wir nach einer Möglichkeit gesucht, diese auch langfristig in Szene zu setzen“, erzählt Felix Wesseler. Das Ergebnis war Berlin – Tag & Nacht, eine Daily-Soap mit Laiendarstellern, die 2010 startete und die Geschichte einer Berliner Wohngemeinschaft erzählt. BTN, wie die Serie unter Fans heißt, wurde ein Riesenerfolg - auch dank Facebook, wo das Format wie kaum eine vergleichbare Sendung aktiv ist. Die Serie wurde einer der Ankerpunkte in der nach wie vor geführten Diskussion über die möglichen Folgen von Scripted Reality für jüngere Zielgruppen.

Joachim von Gottberg ist Geschäftsführer der Freiwilligen Selbstkontrolle Fernsehen (FSF), einem gemeinnützigen Verein privater Fernsehanbieter in Deutschland, der sich mit Fragen des Jugendschutzes und der Medienpädagogik beschäftigt. 2012 legte die FSF eine erste Studie zu Scripted Reality vor, die insbesondere auf die Rezeption von Berlin – Tag & Nacht eingeht. „Uns hat die These interessiert, es gäbe in der Rezeption von Scripted Reality eine lineare Wirkung. Also die Jugendlichen nähmen die Serie als real wahr und übernähmen das Gesehene in ihr Normalitätskonzept“, so Gottberg.

Gerade das konnte die Studie aber nicht bestätigten, im Gegenteil. „Die Konstruiertheit des Formats wird ganz bewusst wahrgenommen und als Stilmittel geschätzt“, so Gottberg. Und genau das sei ja auch der Grund, warum Scripted Reality so erfolgreich ist. „Wir haben es hier einfach mit einer bestimmten Art der Produktion und wenn man so will Schauspielführung zu tun, die besonders gut dazu geeignet ist, Authentizität herzustellen.“ Während klassische, drehbuchbasierte TV-Formate oftmals für ihren hölzernen Stil kritisiert werden und selbst Dialoge in erfolgreichen Soaps und Telenovela-Formaten „abgelesen“ wirken, hätten Wortwechsel in Sendungen wie Berlin – Tag & Nacht einen verblüffend echten Touch.

Die Grenzen des Formats

Authentizität im Spiel, also im Grunde ein klassisches Qualitätskriterium für jede Form schauspielerischer Darstellung – ist das also das Erfolgsgeheimnis von Formaten wie Berlin – Tag & Nacht? „Der Ansatz ist einfach sehr effektiv“, erklärt von Gottberg. „Statt Schauspieler dazu anzuleiten, sich in ihre Rolle hineinzuversetzen, wählt man aus einem riesigen Pool an Laiendarstellern immer genau die diejenigen aus, die aufgrund ihres Aussehens, ihrer Lebenserfahrung und ihres Charakters perfekt zur Rolle passen.“ Abgesehen davon gäbe es für die Sender noch einen weiteren, entscheidenden Vorteil: „Diese Formate sind sehr viel billiger zu produzieren, ein Sender spart in der Regel zwei Drittel der Kosten, die er für vergleichbare klassische Fernseh-Formate ausgeben würde.“

Heißt das nun, dass wir uns in Zukunft auf immer mehr TV-Formate einstellen sollten, die auf günstige Drehbedingungen und Authentizität setzen? „Scripted Reality – oder, wie wir es nennen, Scripted Entertainment – hat sich über Jahre seinen Platz im Fernsehen erarbeitet“, so Felix Wesseler. „Natürlich entwickeln wir unsere Produktionen stetig weiter und prüfen auch, bei welchen Genres es noch Sinn machen könnte, diese Methode anzuwenden.“ Für Joachim von Gottberg hat das Format aber auch klare Grenzen. „Maximale Authentizität ist nicht alles. Manche Geschichten lassen sich einfach besser mit gut ausgebildeten Schauspielern und einem ausgearbeiteten Drehbuch erzählen.“