Public Broadcasting Between Attractiveness and Mission

ZDF in Mainz

Public service broadcasting in Germany has responded only slowly to the digital transformation. Will the administrative apparatus of the broadcasters succeed in managing the balancing act between attractiveness for the public and statuary mission?

That public broadcasting is facing a major and perhaps painful upheaval could already be seen in July 2003 from the lines on the forehead of the former News of the Day presenter Tom Buhrow. The newsman, famous for his gently sardonic moderation, had just accepted the post of general director of West German Broadcasting (Westdeutscher Rundfunk / WDR). To prevent a budget gap of 100 million euros in 2016, he had been obliged to announce massive job cuts. Every tenth job at WDR was to disappear by 2020.

In public perception, the public service broadcasters have become too big

This was just what critics of the public broadcasting funding model were waiting for. The future of public broadcasting seemed hopeless: the television, radio and digital channels of ARD and ZDF were too big, too clumsy and obsoletely structured. And then ARD snatched away the users of the German Newspaper Publishers Association (BDZV) by offering a press-like news report in its Tagesschau app. This was all reported in the coverage of the two parties’ legal dispute over unfair competition. The tenor was plain: the public broadcasting administrative big fish got too much money and exploited its market power to exclude competitors.

Public broadcasting on the right track

Do the public broadcasting programmes have any future at all in the digital age? Stephan Weichert, professor at the private Macromedia University for Media and Communication in Hamburg since 2008, is convinced that they do. Even in the digital age and with ever-differentiating publics, the public broadcasters have a mission to society, he says.

According to the programmatic principles precisely laid down in the Broadcasting Acts of the German federal states, the broadcasting programme should serve to provide information, education and entertainment. Main points are freedom of the press and independence from government interference. In addition to balanced coverage, public broadcasting should respect and protect human dignity. It should also be committed to upholding the truth.

What counts as true and good, however, cannot be determined by a quasi-democratic vote of some Internet users, says Weichert: “That content can be rated on the Internet with a click shouldn’t lead us to make this the benchmark of a good programme”. He warns against “buzzfeeding”, the total alignment of content according to quota aspects and effects, for which the website Buzzfeed, for example, is famous.

Watching TV when and where the user wants to do

The programmes of ARD and ZDF are still among those with the highest ratings; the public broadcasters reach a mass audience. But the useful life of television has been declining for years. This is true not only of TV programmes, say Weichert: “Classical linear television is an obsolete cultural technique; today the user watches how, when and where he wants to do”. On the basis of its “requirement of diversity” laid down in its programming principles, the public broadcasters co-determine political culture in Germany; a responsibility, according to Weichert, that should also apply to the Internet, “where substantive debates with the public are possible”.

More and more programmes are being consumed, supplied by more and more channels and used more and more, according to a 2014 ARD/ZDF Online Study, above all by younger viewers independent of time. ARD and ZDF want to respond to this trend with a joint digital channel for 14 to 29 year-olds. Originally, they had planned to offer a television programme, but the minister-presidents of the federal states put a spoke in their wheel. There was no budget, they said, for a full TV programme; the channel should be shifted to the Internet. After months of negotiations, politicians have thus forced ARD and ZDF to innovate. Moreover, the broadcasters will also have to cut their previous digital programmes, EinsFestival, EinsPlus and ZDFkultur.

The willingness to reform is there, says Weichert; Tagesschau.de is one of the “fastest and best news providers in Europe”. In addition, he says, ZDF Neo is in line with the zeitgeist and surprises again and again with high-quality programming.

Ideas for a re-thinking

Weichert admits that the public broadcasters, due to their large administrative apparatus, act a bit more slowly than others. This does not, however, keep them from making “revolutionary offers”. Weichert cites the Deutschlandfunk’s website as an example: “This is the way a radio station should look on the Internet”. The media researcher misses a similar readiness to experiment in other offerings, which seem to him to shy away from taking non-calculable risks: “On the Internet nothing’s for eternity; you can always turn around if something proves not to work”.

The broadcasters should not think themselves too good to make severe cuts, thinks Weichert: “They will have to ask themselves in future whether they really need every cutter and cameraman when other broadcasters work with video reporters, who combine both in one”. Another topic that must be discussed, he says, is the salaries of top-earning stars and talk show hosts.

The Internet has shifted the public focus of debate onto contents and structures, believes Weichert. This, he says, is necessary after years of committee work behind closed doors. Now it is time for the public broadcasters to take the wishes of the public seriously, without losing sight of their statutory mission.

Öffentlich-rechtlicher Rundfunk Zwischen Attraktivität und Auftrag

ZDF in Mainz

Der öffentlich-rechtliche Rundfunk in Deutschland stellt sich nur langsam auf den digitalen Wandel ein. Schafft der Verwaltungs-Apparat der Sender den Spagat zwischen einem attraktiven Programm und dem gesetzlichem Auftrag?

Dass der öffentlich-rechtliche Rundfunk vor einem großen, vielleicht schmerzhaften Umbruch steht, war bereits im Juli 2013 an den Stirnfalten des ehemaligen Tagesthemen-Sprechers Tom Buhrow abzulesen. Der einst durch seine sanftmütig-süffisanten Moderationen bekannte Nachrichtenmann hatte gerade den Intendantenposten beim Westdeutschen Rundfunk (WDR) übernommen. Um eine Etatlücke von 100 Millionen Euro ab 2016 zu verhindern, musste er nun massive Stellenstreichungen verkünden. Jeder zehnte Arbeitsplatz soll bis 2020 beim WDR verschwinden.

In der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung sind die Öffentlich-Rechtlichen zu groß geworden

Für Kritiker des öffentlich-rechtlichen Finanzierungsmodells war die Stellenkürzung ein gefundenes Fressen. Die Zukunft der Öffentlich-Rechtlichen schien eine chancenlose zu sein: Zu groß, zu behäbig und altmodisch strukturiert seien die Fernseh-, Hörfunk- und Digitalkanäle von ARD und ZDF. Noch dazu wurde der Vorwurf laut, die ARD schnappe den deutschen Zeitungsverlegern, organisiert in ihrem Bundesverband (BDZV), auch die Nutzer weg, indem die Sendergemeinschaft in ihrer Tagesschau-App presseähnliche Inhalte anbiete. So war es in der Berichterstattung über den Rechtsstreit der beiden Parteien um die Wettbewerbsverzerrung durch die App zu lesen. Der Tenor war eindeutig: Der öffentlich-rechtlichen Sender erhalte zu viel Geld und nutze seine Marktmacht auch noch dazu aus, Wettbewerber zu verdrängen.

Die Öffentlich-Rechtlichen auf dem richtigen Weg

Gibt es also überhaupt eine Zukunft für das öffentlich-rechtliche Programm im digitalen Zeitalter? Stephan Weichert, seit 2008 Professor an der privaten Macromedia Hochschule für Medien und Kommunikation in Hamburg, ist davon überzeugt. Auch im digitalen Zeitalter und angesichts eines sich immer weiter ausdifferenzierenden Publikums müssen die Öffentlich-Rechtlichen ihren Auftrag für die Gesellschaft wahrnehmen, sagt er.

Laut der Programmgrundsätze, die in den jeweiligen Rundfunkgesetzen der Bundesländer genauer festgelegt werden, sollen die Rundfunkprogramme der Information, Bildung und Unterhaltung gleichermaßen dienen. Wesentliche Gesichtspunkte sind Pressefreiheit und die Unabhängigkeit von staatlichen Eingriffen. Die Sender sollen eine ausgewogene Berichterstattung gewährleisten und außerdem die Würde des Menschen achten und schützen. Überdies sollen die Programme der Wahrheit verpflichtet sein.

Was wahr und gut ist, könne aber nicht in einer quasidemokratischen Abstimmung einiger Internetnutzer bestimmt werden, sagt Weichert: „Dass im Internet Inhalte per Klick bewertet werden können, kann nicht dazu führen, dies zum Maßstab für gutes Programm zu erheben.“ Er warnt vor der „Verbuzzfeedisierung“, der totalen Ausrichtung des Inhalts nach Quotenaspekten und Effekt, für die zum Beispiel die Website Buzzfeed.com bekannt ist.

Fernsehen wann und wo der Nutzer es will

Noch immer gehören die Programme von ARD und ZDF zu den quotenstärksten, noch immer erreichen die öffentlich-rechtlichen Sender ein Massenpublikum. Die Nutzungsdauer des Fernsehens nimmt seit Jahren ab. Das gelte aber nur für Programmfernsehen, sagt Weichert. „Das klassische lineare Fernsehen ist eine veraltete Kulturtechnik, heute wird geguckt wie, wann und wo der Nutzer es will.“ Mit ihrem in den Programmgrundsätzen niedergeschriebenen „Gebot der Vielfalt“ bestimmen die Öffentlich-Rechtlichen politische Kultur in Deutschland mit; eine Kompetenz, die sie laut Weichert auch ins Internet tragen sollten, „dorthin wo inhaltliche Debatten mit dem Publikum möglich sind“.

Die Nutzer konsumieren zunehmend ein Programm, das sich aus immer mehr Kanälen speist. Dieses wird der ARD/ZDF-Onlinestudie 2014 zufolge vor allem von jungen Zuschauern immer häufiger zeitunabhängig genutzt. ARD und ZDF wollen darauf mit einem gemeinsamen Digitalkanal für 14- bis 29-Jährige reagieren. Geplant war, ein Fernsehprogramm anzubieten, doch die Ministerpräsidenten der Bundesländer machten den beiden öffentlich-rechtlichen Anstalten einen Strich durch die Rechnung: Für ein TV-Vollprogramm gibt es kein Budget, das Angebot soll ins Internet verlagert werden. Damit zwingen die Politiker nach monatelangen Verhandlungen ARD und ZDF förmlich zur Innovation. Zudem müssen die Sender ihre bisherigen Digitalprogramme Einsfestival, Einsplus und ZDFkultur streichen.

Die Reformbereitschaft sei da, sagt Weichert, Tagesschau.de sei eines der „schnellsten und besten Nachrichtenangebote europaweit“. Zudem treffe beispielsweise ZDF Neo den Zeitgeist und überrasche immer wieder mit hochwertigem Programm.

Ideen für ein Umdenken

Dass die Öffentlich-Rechtlichen bedingt durch ihren großen Verwaltungsapparat vielleicht etwas langsamer agieren, räumt Weichert ein. Das halte sie jedoch nicht von „revolutionären Angeboten“ ab. Weichert nennt den Internet-Auftritt des Deutschlandfunks als Beispiel. „So muss Hörfunk im Internet aussehen.“ Der Medienforscher vermisst eine ähnliche Experimentierfreude in anderen Angeboten, die aus seiner Sicht kein unkalkulierbares Risiko damit eingehen würden: „Im Internet ist nichts für ewig, man kann wieder umlenken, wenn etwas nachweislich nicht funktioniert.“

Für harte Einschnitte dürfe man sich nicht zu fein sein, glaubt Weichert: „Man muss sich fragen, ob man in Zukunft jeden Cutter, jeden Kameramann benötigt, wenn andere mit Videoreportern arbeiten, die in sich eine Personalunion bilden.“ Auch müsse über die Gehälter von topverdienenden Stars und Talkmastern diskutiert werden, sagt Weichert.

Durch das Internet sei die Debatte um Inhalte und Strukturen in die Öffentlichkeit gerückt. Das sei nach Jahren der Gremienarbeit im Hinterzimmer auch nötig, sagt Weichert. Nun sei es an der Zeit den Publikumswillen ernst zu nehmen und dabei den gesetzlichen Auftrag nicht zu vergessen.