Correctiv “We want our Investigations to Change Things”

Daniel Drepper
Daniel Drepper | © Correct!v

Since 2014, Correctiv has been the first non-profit investigative newsroom in Germany. In this interview, senior reporter Daniel Drepper explains why journalism in Germany should be recognized as a non-profit activity and what contribution Correctiv wants to make to society.

Mr Drepper, Correctiv wants to carry on investigative research for the benefit of society. Other investigative research teams do this too. What then exactly is non-profit about Correctiv?

We’re non-profit according to the law because we don’t only do investigative journalism but also make our research transparent and teach people how they can conduct investigative research themselves. A foundation made our start possible; in the long-term Correctiv is financed by donations and membership fees. They’re tax deductible. We publish our investigative protocols and organize training not only for journalists but also for quite normal citizens. In addition, we’re not allowed to make a profit, so every euro goes into our investigations. We can focus completely on our work for society and make as much information as possible available to citizens.

Goal: to foster participation

Why is this important?

The more information there is and the more people that take part in public discussion, the better it is for democracy. That’s our approach. We thus fill the gap between the investigative teams of the big media companies and the local teams, which don’t perhaps always have the resources to build up stories. We can treat stories on a national level and at the same time give local media the opportunity to access data and investigative research for their own reports at the local level. To make this possible, unlike the established media, is part of our mission.

Those who join Correctiv get access to the community and so, for example, a view of the investigative protocols. How many members do you have now and how can they participate?

At present we’re moving in the area of three digits, more than one hundred but not yet 1,000. Naturally we want to increase this number, and with every story more people join. Participation includes the right of members to co-determine which projects and issues we’ll investigate. The most recently chosen issue was corruption and abuse of power. And in the long-term we want to get the community engaged more and more. We’re just now making changes that will enable members to pose questions directly, comment on running investigations and make suggestions.

Selection criterion: relevance for society

You’ve investigated hospital germs, but also less well-known topics such as “court donations”, in which judges and lawyers take in millions through discontinued criminal proceedings and dispose of it completely without checks. How do you choose what issues you will deal with?

There are several criteria: one of our goals is to make systematic problems visible with large volumes of data. In the case of the “court donations”, we could show with our database that it wasn’t a matter of individual cases but a systematic flaw. The second question we ask ourselves is how close the issue is to the people for whom we’re doing this. How relevant is it for society? Does the issue concern only a small group or is it a problem that really affects many people? And how great is the damage it causes?

You “give away” your investigative research – and have therefore been accused by freelance journalists of taking their work away. Why do you do this? So that as many people as possible will become aware of Corrective?

Yes, that’s also a reason. We want our investigations to change things and make a contribution to society. As a new, unknown start-up, we couldn’t achieve this if we didn’t publish the stories on our website. For this we need big media partners and we therefore cooperate with magazines such as Die Zeit and Der Spiegel. But we also organize readings and other events so as to stay in touch with our readers.

Financing should be set up as broadly as possible

Is use of the German language an obstacle for Correctiv? ProPublica and other successful investigative newsrooms work in English and thus reach a much larger audience.

Of course there’ll never be so many non-profit investigative newsrooms in Germany as in the United States. But I think there’s sufficient room in Germany for several such newsrooms. We also try to publish stories that could be interesting beyond the German-speaking world in other languages. For example, we published investigations on the crash of Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17 in English, Russian and French. That did a lot for us because more than fifty per cent of those who read the stories weren’t German-speakers. We have to decide in each individual case whether or not we’ll provide a translation.

In early 2014, the Brost Foundation gave Corrective three million euros. In six years the support comes to an end. After that, how do you want to finance your work?

Financing should be set up as broadly as possible so that the newsroom doesn’t collapse when even only a single pillar is removed. We hope of course that the Brost Foundation will continue to support us after the three years, but we’re also looking about for other large foundations. The second pillar is partners who support specific projects, and the third pillar is perfectly normal citizens who support us with small donations and become part of the community. If we find enough such people, we can continue working in any case, even if sometimes a major donor breaks away. This is the sort of basis we want to develop. It’s our goal.

„"

Correctiv „Wir wollen mit unseren Recherchen etwas verändern“

Daniel Drepper
Daniel Drepper | © Correct!v

Seit 2014 gibt es mit Correctiv das erste gemeinnützige Recherchebüro in Deutschland. Im Interview erzählt Senior Reporter Daniel Drepper, warum Journalismus in Deutschland als gemeinnützig anerkannt werden sollte und welchen Beitrag Correctiv für die Gesellschaft leisten will.

Herr Drepper, Correctiv will „für die Gesellschaft recherchieren“. Das machen andere investigative Recherche-Teams auch. Was genau ist denn das Gemeinnützige an Correctiv?

Vor dem Gesetz sind wir gemeinnützig, weil wir nicht nur recherchieren, sondern unsere Recherchen auch transparent machen und den Menschen beibringen, wie man recherchiert. Eine Stiftung hat den Start möglich gemacht, langfristig finanzieren wir uns aus Spenden und Mitgliedsbeiträgen. Diese sind von der Steuer absetzbar. Wir veröffentlichen unsere Rechercheprotokolle und organisieren Fortbildungen für Journalisten, aber auch für ganz normale Bürger. Außerdem dürfen wir keinen Profit machen, deshalb fließt jeder Euro in unsere Recherchen. Wir können uns ganz auf die Arbeit für die Gesellschaft konzentrieren und möglichst viele Informationen für alle Bürger bereitstellen.

Ziel: Teilhabe fördern

Warum ist das wichtig?

Je mehr Informationen da sind, und je mehr Leute an der öffentlichen Diskussion teilhaben, desto besser ist es für die Demokratie. Das ist unser Ansatz. Wir besetzen damit die Lücke zwischen den Investigativ-Teams der großen Medienhäuser und den lokalen Teams, die vielleicht nicht immer die Ressourcen haben, Geschichten groß aufzuziehen. Wir können Geschichten national angehen und gleichzeitig lokalen Medien die Möglichkeit geben, auf Daten zuzugreifen und die Recherchen für eigene Geschichten auf lokaler Ebene zu nutzen. Genau das zu ermöglichen, gehört – im Gegensatz zu den etablierten Medien – auch zu unserem Auftrag.

Wer bei Correctiv Mitglied wird, bekommt Zugang zur Community und damit zum Beispiel Einblick in Rechercheprotokolle. Wie viele Mitglieder gibt es inzwischen, und wie können sie sich beteiligen?

Wir bewegen uns im Moment im dreistelligen Bereich, nicht mehr 100, aber auch noch nicht 1.000 Mitglieder. Es sollen natürlich mehr werden, und es kommen auch mit jeder Geschichte neue Leute dazu. Zur Beteiligung gehört zum Beispiel, dass die Mitglieder mitbestimmen können, in welche Projekte und Themen wir investieren. Da ist zuletzt das Thema Korruption und Machtmissbrauch gewählt worden. Langfristig soll die Community aber noch sehr viel stärker eingebunden werden. Das setzen wir gerade um, damit die Mitglieder direkt Fragen stellen, laufende Recherchen kommentieren und Anregungen geben können.

Auswahlkriterium: Relevanz für die Gesellschaft

Sie haben über Krankenhauskeime aber auch über weniger bekannte Themen wie „Spendengerichte“ recherchiert, wo Richter und Staatsanwälte durch eingestellte Strafverfahren Millionen einnehmen und sie völlig unkontrolliert verteilen. Wie wählen Sie aus, womit Sie sich beschäftigen?

Es gibt mehrere Kriterien: Ein Ziel ist es, systematische Probleme über große Datenmengen sichtbar zu machen. Bei den Spendengerichten konnten wir über die Datenbank zeigen, dass es sich nicht um Einzelfälle, sondern um einen Systemfehler handelt. Die zweite Frage, die wir uns stellen, ist, wie nah das Thema an den Menschen ist, für die wir das machen. Wie relevant ist das für die Gesellschaft? Betrifft das nur eine kleine Gruppe oder ist das wirklich ein Problem, das viele betrifft? Und: Wie groß ist der Schaden, der dadurch angerichtet wird?

Sie „verschenken“ Ihre Recherchen – und haben sich deswegen von freien Journalisten den Vorwurf eingehandelt, ihnen die Arbeit wegzunehmen. Warum tun Sie das? Damit möglichst viele Menschen auf Correctiv aufmerksam werden?

Ja, auch. Wir wollen zum einen mit unseren Recherchen etwas verändern und einen Beitrag für die Gesellschaft leisten. Das schaffen wir als neues, unbekanntes Start-up nicht, wenn wir die Geschichten nur auf unserer Website veröffentlichen. Dafür brauchen wir große Medienpartner und deswegen kooperieren wir mit Magazinen wie Die Zeit oder Der Spiegel. Aber wir organisieren auch Lesungen und andere Veranstaltungen, um in Kontakt mit unseren Lesern zu kommen.

Finanzierung: möglichst breit aufstellen

Ist die deutsche Sprache für Correctiv ein Hemmnis? ProPublica und viele andere erfolgreiche Recherchebüros arbeiten auf Englisch und erreichen damit eine viel größere Zielgruppe.

Es wird in Deutschland sicher nie so viele gemeinnützige Recherchebüros geben wie in den USA. Aber ich glaube, dass auch in Deutschland genügend Platz ist für mehrere solcher Büros. Außerdem versuchen wir, die Geschichten, die über den deutschsprachigen Raum hinaus interessant sein könnten, auch in anderen Sprachen zu veröffentlichen. Die Recherche zum Absturz des Malaysia-Airlines-Flugs MH17 ist zum Beispiel auch auf Englisch, Russisch und Französisch veröffentlicht worden. Das hat uns viel gebracht, weil mehr als 50 Prozent der Menschen, die die Geschichte gelesen haben, nicht deutschsprachig waren. Ansonsten muss man immer im Einzelfall entscheiden, ob man eine Übersetzung anbietet oder nicht.

Sie sind zum Start 2014 mit drei Millionen Euro von der Brost-Stiftung ausgestattet worden. Die Förderung läuft nach sechs Jahren aus. Wie wollen Sie Ihre Recherchen danach finanzieren?

Die Finanzierung soll möglichst breit aufgestellt werden, damit das Büro nicht zusammenbricht, wenn eine Säule wegfällt. Wir hoffen natürlich, dass uns die Brost-Stiftung auch nach den drei Jahren weiter unterstützt, aber wir sehen uns auch nach weiteren Großstiftern um. Die zweite Säule sind Partner, die bestimmte Projekte unterstützen, und die dritte Säule sind ganz normale Bürger, die uns mit kleinen Spenden unterstützen und Teil der Community werden. Wenn wir da genügend Unterstützer finden, können wir auf jeden Fall weiterarbeiten, auch wenn uns mal ein Großspender wegbricht. Diese Basis wollen wir uns erarbeiten. Das ist unser Ziel.

„"