Radio Revolten Free Radicals in Halle

Radio art
Radio art | Photo (detail): © AndreaToft

Throughout the whole of October 2016 the Saxon-Anhaltish town of Halle an der Saale is hosting Radio Revolten, one of the largest international radio art festivals. Knut Aufermann, artistic director of the festival, enlightens us on a form of radio that is both artistic and subversive.

Mr. Aufermann, in all the work you have done so far you have realised all kinds of ideas, ranging from a gasometer used as a sound sphere, on-air projects to implemented audio performances and installations. What exactly is radio art?

Everybody answers this question in a different way. The simplest answer is that radio art is everything that happens at the Radio Revolten festival. We try to cover the full range of possibilities of expressing oneself artistically. Of course, radio art always has something to do with radio - a broadcast, a confrontation with the medium of radio, with the apparatus itself or with the electromagnetic materiality of radio.

A carillon and radio dancing

Knut Aufermann Knut Aufermann | Photo (detail): © Sarah Washington What are the main trends at the moment in the field of radio art?

There are many different areas. When it comes to the installations exciting things are happening, above all in North America, because visual artists are now falling under the spell of the small cosmos of sound art. In England there is a thriving scene, which is dominated by independent stations like Resonance FM. That is where thousands of artists have the opportunity to let their wildest ideas run riot on the radio. In Germany, the classic, yet very experimental, field of the radio play is still very active.

What are people going to hear and see at the Radio Revolten festival?

There are going to be a lot of surprises. One event is going to be particularly fantastic – on the market square in Halle there are five towers, one of which houses the largest carillon in Europe. We are allowed to make use of it. The Cologne sound artist, Hans W. Koch, has composed a piece for carillon and two groups of performers with portable radios entitled glocke + tier. As we have two VHF frequencies at our disposal, there will be two radio broadcasts of electronic compositions that will be played simultaneously. Furthermore, we are also going to set up a “radio oracle” in one of the old tower warden dwellings on the market square – he can be consulted and will broadcast daily between 5 pm and 6 pm live. And of course, there will be lots of shows – almost every evening there will be a performance that will be broadcast live.

Subheading – making the invisible visible

On the one hand, the Radio Revolten festival is an industry gathering of highly specialized professionals, yet on the other hand, you want to get people interested in radio art that have hardly any connection with it. How can that work?

We hope to trigger people’s curiosity, and that they will just turn up because admission to the events is free. The festival is housed in two old buildings right on the market square, which for 15 years have not been accessible to the general public, but which are known to the people of Halle. In addition, we will also be broadcasting on medium wave, which has actually been turned off as a radio wave in Germany, but one which appeals to a whole new audience – that of the radio amateurs. And in the exhibition Unsichtbare Wellen (Invisible Waves) that is being held in cooperation with the City Museum the story of all the radio revolts that have occurred in Halle over the last 100 years is depicted in a most exciting way - for example, pirate radio stations during the communist era of the GDR.

Where else can I find radio art, away from the Radio Revolten festival?

In Germany the public broadcasting stations still have time slots for radio art, for example, on Deutschlandradio Kultur or on Südwestrundfunk radio. Otherwise I know of very many small radio stations, some of them even in Germany. Radio Corax in Halle is certainly one of the more adventurous stations, but there are also a lot of interesting things being done in Berlin by different radio groups such as Reboot.fm. And then again and again exciting things happen on the web, often in conjunction with established FM radio stations.

Subversive and, at the same time, public broadcasting

Who are the producers and financers of radio art?

Only very few people can make a living from it. Germany is one of the few countries where artists can sometimes be financed via experimental radio plays. When it boils down to it, radio art is a form of underground art. People get into it, because they enjoy it. They are more interested in working with unlimited time on the air than being paid for what they do.

What effects has digitalisation had on radio art?

It has opened up new vistas. Twelve years ago, in 2004, I did a live broadcast from an island in the Irish Sea. There was no electricity there, but we were able to establish a satellite uplink via solar cells, which cost us hardly anything. We can now suddenly undertake projects that were previously reserved for large media companies. This has created new artistic opportunities. Digital distribution, however, is still a problem. For me, podcasts have no clear connection to radio. They are almost a separate media form in themselves. When it comes to radio, it is the live element that counts most for me. Even if it is a pre-produced broadcast, I know that a lot of people are out there listening at the same time. And if I missed the beginning, I have to accept that I cannot rewind back to the beginning. It is this vanishing aspect that I find so important.

Does radio art play a subversive role within the realm of radio broadcasting?

I think so. At one of the most radical radio stations I know, Resonance FM, in London, artists manage to shock everyone over and over again.

 

The Radio Revolten Radio Art Festival was established in 2006 with the aim of making radio both visible and audible as an art form in its own right. This is the second time it is being held and it will be showcasing 70 artists from 17 countries. Every day, from 1st to 30th October 2016, the artists will be presenting their works, installations, performances and concerts. Radio Revolten will broadcast on FM and AM frequencies and via live stream. The festival is a project organised by Radio Corax, an established independent radio in Halle and is sponsored, among others, by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

The German radio artist, musician, composer and curator, Knut Aufermann (born 1972), coordinated from 2002 to 2005, among other projects, the Community Radio Resonance FM 104.4 in London, which specialises in the broadcasting of artistic radio work. Since 2005 he has been working as a freelance radio artist with Sarah Washington under the project name, Mobile Radio in Germany. In 2016 Knut Aufermann became the artistic director of the international radio art festival Radio Revolten in Halle (Saale).

Radio Revolten Freie Radikale in Halle

Radiokunst
Radiokunst | Foto (Ausschnitt): © AndreaToft

Im sachsen-anhaltischen Halle an der Saale finden den ganzen Oktober 2016 über die Radio Revolten statt, eines der größten internationalen Festivals für Radiokunst. Knut Aufermann, künstlerischen Leiter des Festivals, über eine ebenso künstlerische wie subversive Form des Hörfunks.

Herr Aufermann, in Ihren eigenen Arbeiten haben Sie schon ein Gasometer als Klangraum genutzt, On-Air-Projekte, Audio- Performances und -Installationen realisiert. Was genau ist Radiokunst eigentlich?

Diese Frage beantwortet jeder anders. Die einfachste Antwort lautet: Radiokunst ist, was bei den Radio Revolten passiert. Wir versuchen, die ganze Bandbreite an künstlerischen Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten abzudecken. Natürlich hat Radiokunst immer mit Radio zu tun – eine Ausstrahlung, eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Medium Hörfunk, mit dem Apparat oder mit der elektromagnetischen Materialität des Radios.

Glockenspiel und Radiotänzer

Knut Aufermann Knut Aufermann | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Sarah Washington Was sind die wesentlichen Strömungen in der aktuellen Radiokunst?

Es gibt viele verschiedene Bereiche. Bei den Installationen gibt es vor allem in Nordamerika spannende Entwicklungen, weil bildende Künstler vom kleinen Kosmos der Klangkunst in den Bann gezogen werden. In England gibt es eine starke Szene, die durch unabhängige Sender wie Resonance FM geprägt ist. Dort haben Tausende Künstler die Möglichkeit, im Radio ihre wildesten Ideen auszutoben. In Deutschland ist der klassische, auch sehr experimentelle Hörspielbereich nach wie vor sehr aktiv.

Was wird bei den Radio Revolten zu hören und zu sehen sein?

Viel Überraschendes. Eine tolles Ereignis wird sein: Auf dem Marktplatz in Halle stehen fünf Türme, in einem hängt das größte Glockenspiel Europas. Das dürfen wir nutzen. Der Kölner Klangkünstler Hans W. Koch hat glocke + tier komponiert für Glockenspiel und zwei Gruppen von Performern mit tragbaren Radiogeräten. Da wir zwei UKW-Frequenzen zur Verfügung haben, gibt es zwei Radioübertragungen elektronischer Kompositionen, die gleichzeitig abgespielt werden. In einer alten Türmerwohnung am Marktplatz werden wir außerdem ein „Radio-Orakel“ einnisten, das befragt werden kann und jeden Tag zwischen 17 und 18 Uhr live senden wird. Und wir präsentieren natürlich viele Performances, fast jeden Abend findet eine Aufführung statt, die auch live übertragen wird.

Das Unsichtbare sichtbar machen

Einerseits sind die Radio Revolten ein Branchentreffen von hochspezialisierten Fachleuten, andererseits wollen Sie Menschen für Radiokunst interessieren, die kaum einen Bezug dazu haben. Wie kann das glücken?

Wir hoffen auf die Neugierde der Menschen, und dass sie einfach vorbeischauen, weil der Eintritt zu den Veranstaltungen kostenlos ist. Wir sind in zwei alten Häusern direkt am Marktplatz, die seit 15 Jahren nicht öffentlich zugänglich, aber vielen Hallensern bekannt sind. Außerdem senden wir auch auf Mittelwelle, die als Hörfunkwelle in Deutschland eigentlich abgeschaltet ist, aber ein völlig neues Publikum anspricht: die Amateurfunker. Und in der Ausstellung Unsichtbare Wellen in Kooperation mit dem Stadtmuseum wird spannend vermittelt, was es in den letzten 100 Jahren in Halle an Radiorevolten gegeben hat – zum Beispiel Piratenradios während der DDR-Zeit.

Wo findet Radiokunst außerhalb von Radio Revolten statt?

In Deutschland gibt es immer noch Sendeplätze für Radiokunst im öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk, etwa bei Deutschlandradio Kultur oder beim Südwestrundfunk. Ansonsten weiß ich von sehr vielen kleinen Radiosendern, einigen auch in Deutschland. Radio Corax aus Halle ist sicherlich einer der experimentierfreudigeren Sender, aber auch in Berlin machen verschiedene Radiogruppen wie Reboot.fm ganz interessante Sachen. Und dann passiert immer wieder auch Spannendes im Netz, oft in Verbindung mit etablierten UKW-Radios.

Subversiv und zugleich Öffentlich-Rechtlich

Wer sind die Produzenten und die Finanziers von Radiokunst?

Nur ganz wenige Leute können davon leben. Deutschland ist eines der wenigen Länder, wo sich Künstler manchmal über experimentelle Hörspiele finanzieren können. Im Endeffekt ist Radiokunst eine Untergrundkunst. Die Leute machen es, weil es ihnen Spaß macht. Sie sind eher daran interessiert, irgendwo uneingeschränkte Sendezeit zu bekommen, als dass sie dafür bezahlt werden.

Welche Rolle spielt die Digitalisierung für die Radiokunst?

Sie hat neue Fenster geöffnet. Vor zwölf Jahren, 2004, habe ich eine Livesendung von einer Insel in der irischen See gemacht, wo es keinen Strom gab, da haben wir über Solarzellen einen Satelliten-Uplink hergestellt, der uns kaum etwas gekostet hat. Wir können plötzlich Projekte machen, die vorher nur großen Medienunternehmen vorbehalten waren. Das eröffnet neue künstlerische Möglichkeiten. Die digitale Verbreitung ist allerdings problematisch. Podcasts haben für mich keine klare Verbindung zum Radio. Das ist fast eine eigene Medienform. Beim Radio ist für mich das Live-Element zentral. Selbst wenn es eine vorproduzierte Sendung ist, weiß ich, dass eine ganze Menge Leute zur gleichen Zeit zuhören. Und: Wenn ich den Anfang verpasst habe, kann ich eben nicht auf den Anfang zurückspulen. Diesen verschwindenden Moment finde ich ganz wichtig.

Hat Radiokunst eine subversive Rolle innerhalb des Hörfunks?

Ich glaube schon. In einem der radikalsten Radios, das ich kenne, Resonance FM aus London, schaffen es Künstler immer wieder, alle zu schocken.

Das Radiokunst-Festival Radio Revolten wurde 2006 gegründet, um Radio als eigene Kunstform sicht- und hörbar zu machen. In der zweiten Ausgabe präsentieren 70 Künstler aus 17 Ländern vom 1. bis zum 30. Oktober 2016 täglich künstlerische Arbeiten, Installationen, Performances und Konzerte. Radio Revolten senden auf UKW- und MW-Frequenz sowie über Livestream. Das Festival ist ein Projekt von Radio Corax, einem etablierten freien Radio in Halle, und wird unter anderem von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert.

Der deutsche Radiokünstler, Musiker, Komponist und Kurator Knut Aufermann (Jahrgang 1972) koordinierte unter anderem von 2002 bis 2005 das Community Radio Resonance FM 104.4 in London, das auf die Übertragung künstlerischer Radioarbeiten spezialisiert ist. Seit 2005 arbeitet er als freier Radiokünstler zusammen mit Sarah Washington unter dem Projektnamen Mobile Radio in Deutschland. 2016 ist Knut Aufermann künstlerischer Leiter des internationalen Radiokunst-Festivals Radio Revolten in Halle (Saale).