Data Protection Life as a raw material

There are still high standards of data protection in Germany.
There are still high standards of data protection in Germany. | Photo (detail): © © kras99 – Fotolia.com

On the Internet, we inevitably leave a lot of data. Companies want to use this data as freely as possible, but consumers protection demands self-determination rights for users.

“Can you give me your postal code?” This is sometimes asked in Germany when paying in shoe shops or fashion shops. The intention behind it is clear – companies want to know from which cities or districts their customers come. This enables them to draw conclusions about the various consumer groups.
 
Data are, to quote a much-used metaphor, the oil of the 21st century. They are the raw material that fuels entire industrial sectors. This applies particularly to business models on the Internet. Every time you click something online, you leave your tracks behind – and the evaluation of these tracks helps web site operators to get to know their users even better and to address them more purposefully. Tracking and targeting are the corresponding technical terms. Consumption and surfing patterns are established and they can be used to create relatively differentiated profiles. However, many consumers in Germany reject such practices; they do not want to be spied on either online or offline.

German scepticism

The fact that a large number of Germans are sceptical about this non-transparent collecting of data has historical reasons. Both in the Nazi dictatorship, as well as in the GDR, the monitoring of people was an instrument used by the repressive regime. That is why, ever since the Internet triumphantly moved into our lives, there has been a lively public debate about data protection. A lot of Germans attach great importance to the “informational self-determination” of their personal data, a term coined by a court verdict in the early 1980s.
 
A country-comparison study carried out by the Harvard Business Review from 2015 showed that German users were extremely concerned about their digital privacy – much more worried than users in China, India, the UK and the US. Nevertheless, exceedingly few Germans know anything about the technical details of tracking and targeting. Many users are “confused and would like more orientation and transparency in the digital world,” as the digital association, Bitkom, summed it all up some time ago and demanded that data protection laws be simplified, “so that users can be informed about the processing of their data in a more compact and understandable way.”

The EU data protection reform

Exactly that is what has been going on over the past few years. From 2012 to 2016, the European Union worked on a standardised data protection regulation. The young German MEP, Jan Philipp Albrecht, of the Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen party was the rapporteur appointed by the European Parliament, which means that he has played a decisive role in drawing up the law. Above all, he has tried to limit the influence of company lobbyists. “Data protection is the key to putting the focus back on the human being and to preventing them from becoming a plaything, object or even a victim of technological progress. Contrary to what the term “data protection” suggests, it is not really about the protection of data, but about the protection of people,” as he wrote in a brochure on data protection reform published in 2017.
One of the most important innovations in the EU regulation is that the European Union will no longer allow the use of the “sink or swim” method, which forces the user to consent to a comprehensive processing of his data, otherwise he will be excluded from certain websites or services. The so-called coupling prohibition now bans this practice that has been going on for so long. In addition, users now have the right of access to information. Companies must, when requested, clearly state what data they store and analyse and for what purpose. There is also the need for data economy – on-line services must offer default privacy settings and should be designed in such a way that they require as little personal data as possible.

Standards under pressure

From spring 2018, the EU regulation is to be enforced in all member states. However, it must first be transposed into national law. The German Federal Ministry of the Interior submitted a draft bill in 2016, which was adopted by the Cabinet in February 2017. This draft, however, has been criticised sharply by German data protectionists. While Germany, on a global level, has so far played a leading role in the protection of consumers, now even the new standards of the EU regulation are being undermined. According to the draft bill, the companies do not have to respond to the users' requests, if it involves too much effort on their part.
 
Florian Glatzner, consultant at the Verbraucherzentrale Bundesverband (Federation of German Consumer Organisations) finds this unbelievable: “How else can consumers exercise their rights?” No way should “too much effort” be either an apology or an excuse. Furthermore, the EU regulation did not provide for the possibility of the Federal Government intervening with such exceptions. “Companies must adapt their systems to the rights of users, not vice versa!” Bitkom, which represents the interests of the IT industry, sees this differently. The right to deletion could, for example, lead to “the structure of the database being compromised or becoming useless as a whole, particularly in complex databases,” as the statement read. The issue of what is going to be done with the digital data of users in Germany is still open. The draft bill is to be discussed extensively in the coming weeks in the Bundesrat (Federal Council) and the Bundestag (German Parliament).

Datenschutz Das Leben als Rohstoff

Noch gibt es in Deutschland einen hohen Datenschutzstandard.
Noch gibt es in Deutschland einen hohen Datenschutzstandard. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © © kras99 – Fotolia.com

Im Internet hinterlassen wir notgedrungen viele Daten. Unternehmen möchten diese Daten möglichst frei nutzen, Verbraucherschützer fordern hingegen Selbstbestimmungsrechte für die Nutzer.

„Darf ich Ihre Postleitzahl erfahren?“ Das wird man in Deutschland gelegentlich beim Bezahlen in Schuhläden oder Modegeschäften gefragt. Die Absicht dahinter ist klar: Die Unternehmen möchten wissen, aus welchen Städten oder Stadtteilen ihre Kundschaft kommt. Denn daraus lassen sich Rückschlüsse auf Käufergruppen ziehen.
 
Daten sind, so heißt es in einer vielgenutzten Metapher, das Öl des 21. Jahrhunderts. Sie sind der Rohstoff, der ganze Branchen befeuert. Das gilt vor allem für Geschäftsmodelle im Internet. Hier hinterlässt man mit jedem Klick Spuren – und die Auswertung dieser Spuren hilft Websitebetreibern, ihre Nutzer noch besser kennenzulernen und zielgerichteter anzusprechen. Tracking und Targeting (auf Deutsch: verfolgen und auf jemanden zielen) lauten die dazugehörigen Fachbegriffe. Aus Konsum- und Surfverhalten lassen sich relativ differenzierte Profile erstellen. Viele Verbraucher in Deutschland lehnen solche Praktiken allerdings ab; sie wollen weder online noch offline ausgespäht werden.

Deutsche Skepsis

Dass eine Mehrzahl der Deutschen intransparenten Datensammlungen skeptisch gegenüber steht, hat wohl historische Gründe. Sowohl in der nationalsozialistischen Diktatur als auch in der DDR war die Überwachung der Bürger Teil des repressiven Regimes. Seit dem Siegeszug des Internet gibt es daher eine rege öffentliche Debatte um den Datenschutz. Auf die „informationelle Selbstbestimmung“, ein Begriff, den ein Gerichtsurteil Anfang der 1980er-Jahre prägte, legen viele Deutsche großen Wert.

Eine ländervergleichende Studie des Wirtschaftsmagazins Harvard Business Review von 2015 zeigt, dass deutsche Nutzerinnen und Nutzer äußerst besorgt um ihre digitale Privatsphäre sind – deutlich besorgter als Menschen aus China, Indien, Großbritannien und den USA. Trotzdem kennen sich die wenigsten Deutschen mit den technischen Details von Tracking und Targeting aus. Viele Nutzer seien „verunsichert und wünschen sich mehr Orientierung und Transparenz in der digitalen Welt“, resümierte der Digitalverband Bitkom schon vor einiger Zeit und forderte, dass das Datenschutzrecht vereinfacht werden müsse, „damit Nutzer kürzer und verständlicher über die Verarbeitung ihrer Daten informiert werden können.“

EU-Datenschutzerform

Genau das ist in den vergangenen Jahren passiert. Von 2012 bis 2016 hat die Europäische Union an einer einheitlichen Datenschutzverordnung gearbeitet. Der deutsche EU-Abgeordnete Jan Philipp Albrecht von der Partei Bündnis 90/Die Grünen war dabei der vom Europäischen Parlament bestimmte Berichterstatter. Das heißt, er hat maßgeblich an dem Gesetz mitgearbeitet. Vor allem hat er versucht, den Einfluss der Unternehmenslobbyisten zu beschränken. „Der Datenschutz ist der Schlüssel, um den Menschen wieder in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen und zu verhindern, dass er Spielball, Objekt oder gar Opfer des technologischen Fortschritts wird. Anders als der Begriff Datenschutz vermuten lässt, geht es nicht um den Schutz von Daten, sondern um den Schutz von Menschen“, schreibt er in einer 2017 erschienenen Broschüre zur Datenschutzreform.
 
Eine der wichtigsten Neuerungen der EU-Verordnung: Die Friss-oder-Stirb-Methode, die den Nutzer zur Zustimmung einer umfassenden Datenverarbeitung zwingt, weil er sonst von bestimmten Webseiten oder Diensten ausgeschlossen bleibt, erlaubt die Europäische Union künftig nicht mehr. Das sogenannte Kopplungsverbot verbietet diese bislang gängige Praxis. Außerdem haben die Nutzer nun ein Auskunftsrecht. Die Unternehmen müssen auf Anfrage verständlich darlegen, welche Daten sie zu welchem Zweck speichern und analysieren. Es gilt zudem das Gebot der Datensparsamkeit: Onlinedienste müssen datenschutzfreundliche Voreinstellungen anbieten – und sollen generell so konzipiert sein, dass sie mit möglichst wenig personenbezogenen Daten auskommen.

Standards unter Druck

Ab Frühjahr 2018 soll die EU-Verordnung in allen Mitgliedstaaten angewendet werden. Doch dazu muss sie vorher in nationales Recht umgesetzt werden. Das Bundesinnenministerium hat 2016 einen entsprechenden Gesetzentwurf vorgelegt, der im Februar 2017 vom Kabinett beschlossen wurde. Diesen Entwurf kritisieren die deutschen Datenschützer allerdings scharf. Während Deutschland bisher eine weltweit führende Rolle beim Schutz der Verbraucher eingenommen hatte, würden nun sogar die neuen Standards der EU-Verordnung unterlaufen. Nach dem Entwurf müssen die Unternehmen nämlich nicht auf die Auskunftswünsche der Nutzer eingehen, wenn das für sie zu viel Aufwand bedeuten würde.
 
Florian Glatzner, Referent beim Verbraucherzentrale Bundesverband, findet das unglaublich: „Wie soll der Verbraucher sonst seine Rechte wahrnehmen können?“ Ein unverhältnismäßiger Aufwand dürfe keine Entschuldigung oder Ausrede sein. Außerdem sehe die EU-Verordnung gar nicht vor, dass die Bundesregierung solche Ausnahmen einführen dürfe: „Die Unternehmen müssen ihre Systeme den Rechten der Nutzer anpassen, nicht umgekehrt!“

Der Bitkom, der die Interessen der IT-Branche vertritt, sieht das anders. Das Recht auf Löschung etwa könnte dazu führen, dass „insbesondere in komplexen Datenbanken die Struktur der Datenbank gefährdet oder sie insgesamt unbrauchbar wird“, heißt es in einer Stellungnahme. Wie es in Deutschland mit den digitalen Daten der Nutzer weitergeht, ist also noch offen. Der Gesetzentwurf wird im Bundesrat und Bundestag noch ausführlich diskutiert.