Virtual Reality Journalism Living the news

Empathetic Media: VR screen cast demo in FARC guerilla camp
Empathetic Media: VR screen cast demo in FARC guerilla camp | Photo: Youtube

We may experience journalism in an entirely new way in future. 360-degree videos and virtual reality reports allow the audience to dive right into a news story and experience events up close. These new formats are also making inroads in Germany.

The bumpy ride through the jungle comes to an abrupt end when heavily armed soldiers stop the bus and demand to see passengers’ IDs. The Oculus Rift virtual reality glasses catapult viewers right into the middle of the Colombian Civil War. They experience the everyday violence in Colombia in 3D through a virtual reality report created by US-based Empathetic Media. The audience is caught between the two fronts, the military and the guerrillas, goes through military patrols, and sees the lives of poor Colombians forced to turn over their food to the guerrillas.


Through the walk-in pixel world of virtual reality (VR) and 360-degree videos, immersive journalism could revolutionize reporting. It draws the audience right into the action, allowing them to walk through a story.  Viewers adopt different perspectives, sometimes even becoming protagonists who can interact with people and examine objects inside the virtual report.
 
But how far has VR journalism progressed in Germany? Complex VR reports are time-consuming and expensive, so even fewer dot the German media landscape than in the USA. Still, almost all the large German media houses are now experimenting with 360-degree videos, the entry-level format for immersive journalism. And with good cause, since the public is already way ahead of them: studies estimate that one in three Germans will own VR glasses by 2018.

Stasi interrogation room and deep-sea diving

“Users often experience a ‘wow effect’,” Linda Rath-Wiggins, co-founder and CEO of the Berlin-based Vragments VR start-up, says. “The possibility of enabling people to experience history in a completely different way fascinates me.”  On one recent project, Vragments worked with Deutschlandradio Kultur to design a virtual Stasi (the German Democratic Republic’s secret service and police) interrogation room in which original audio recordings give viewers an almost visceral understanding of psychological torture. Although Rath-Wiggins heard the recordings over and over during production, her experience of the final product was very different: “Entering the virtual space and listening to them there was much more compelling.”


360-degree can also have a big impact on the viewer, and they are less complex and expensive to create than a complete virtual world. 3D video cameras are just a few hundred euros and free tools like Vragments’ Fader software make it easier for journalists to structure stories and integrate them into websites.  Using Fader, they can upload 360-degree videos and photos, add text, and allow the audience to navigate through the story via interactive hotspots. “The medium is available to anyone, even someone with limited resources, time or money,” Rath-Wiggins says. She adds that there has been a lot of interest, especially from students, self-employed photographers and local editors. Broadcasters such as ARTE added immersive journalism to their format portfolio some time ago, and the TV station regularly releases 360-degree videos. Using the ARTE360 app, viewers can explore the underwater world with free divers, for example. Broadcasters ZDF and ARTE are planning a joint project on the Nuba in Sudan for 2018.

Embedded Code


While budgets for virtual reality projects are more generous in the USA, according to ARTE 360/VR project manager Kay Meseberg, Germany is very receptive to immersive reporting. “I am seeing a great deal of enthusiasm. People are excited to start exploring this new technology,” Meseberg says. “The things I see being produced here in Germany, whether by broadcasters like ZDF and ARD, or by newspapers like Die Welt and Süddeutsche Zeitung, can really hold their own.”
 
VR reporting is much more than just a technical transition. It also requires new narrative forms. Journalists need to engage an audience and direct their gaze in a different way when they are embedded in the story. “Working with this medium means you have to rethink the creative process. A VR screenplay is not at all like a conventional screenplay for a traditional production,” Kay Meseberg says. “You have to be willing to make the shift.” But the VR expert is confident that the new medium is making inroads into German media and will be more prevalent in the near future. “It has spread so quickly in less than three years; it is going to be fascinating to watch it develop,” he says.

A fine line between an empathy machine and voyeurism

Anyone who hopes that virtual reality might function like a kind of “empathy machine” is destined for disappointment though.  Some media experts anticipated that virtually touring the aftermath of an earthquake or experiencing the Colombian Civil War first-hand might give viewers a more compassionate take on the events and even change their attitudes. But VR has its limits. “Being there does not automatically generate empathy, and emotion is not the same thing as empathy,” Ainsley Sutherland, a BuzzFeed Open Lab fellow who has looked into virtual reality and ethics, explains. When Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg used the Facebook Spaces VR application to cheerfully stroll through hurricane-devastated Puerto Rico, there was a huge outcry in the media, because most only saw it as callow voyeurism certainly not empathy.
 
Still, Linda Rath-Wiggins of Vragments encourages journalists not pass rash judgement on the possible applications of virtual reality. She suggests continuing to explore the limits, formats and narrative styles. “We have to be careful not to burden ourselves with too many rules before we’ve emerged from the experimental phase,” she says. Naturally journalistic ethics and principles of good practice should continue to hold in the VR era. Rath-Wiggins is confident viewers’ relationship to virtual reality will change as they become accustomed to this new form of representation and immersion in at times very dramatic scenarios.

Virtual-Reality-Journalismus Wenn wir Nachrichten selbst erleben

Empathetic Media: VR-Demoszene im FARC-Guerillacamp
Empathetic Media: VR-Demoszene im FARC-Guerillacamp | Foto: Youtube

Werden wir Journalismus in Zukunft ganz neu erfahren? Mit 360-Grad-Videos und Virtual-Reality-Reportagen taucht das Publikum buchstäblich in Reportagen ein und erlebt die Ereignisse hautnah. Auch in Deutschland entstehen viele neue Formate.

Die ruckelige Busfahrt durch den Dschungel endet, als schwer bewaffnete Militärs den Bus anhalten und die Passagiere kontrollieren. Durch die Virtual-Reality-Brille Oculus Rift werden Zuschauer mitten in den kolumbianischen Bürgerkrieg katapultiert: In der Virtual-Reality-Reportage des US-amerikanischen Medienunternehmens Empathetic Media erleben sie die alltägliche Gewalt in Kolumbien in 3-D. Sie stehen zwischen den Fronten von Militär und Guerilla, erleben Militärpatrouillen oder beobachten das Leben armer Kolumbianer, die Guerilla-Kämpfern Lebensmittel aushändigen müssen.
 


Immersiver Journalismus, wie die begehbaren Pixelwelten der Virtual Reality (Virtuelle Realität, VR) oder auch 360-Grad-Videos, kann Berichterstattung revolutionieren: Zuschauer tauchen dabei selbst ins Geschehen ein. Sie laufen in den Realitäten umher, über die berichtet wird, sie verändern ihre Perspektive, und teilweise verwandeln sie sich in der virtuellen Realität sogar selbst zu Protagonisten, die mit Menschen innerhalb der Reportagen interagieren oder Gegenstände untersuchen können.
 
Doch wie weit ist der VR-Journalismus in Deutschland schon gediehen? Die komplexen VR-Reportagen sind aufwendig und teuer und deshalb in der deutschen Medienlandschaft noch seltener als etwa in den USA. Auch in Deutschland experimentieren aber inzwischen fast alle Medienhäuser zumindest mit 360-Grad-Videos, dem Einstiegsformat für immersiven Journalismus. Mit gutem Grund, denn das Publikum ist den Medien hier weit voraus: Studien schätzen, dass im Jahr 2018 jeder dritte Deutsche eine VR-Brille besitzen wird.

Stasi-Verhörraum und Tiefseetauchen im Ozean

„Der Nutzer hat oft einen Wow-Effekt“, sagt Linda Rath-Wiggins, Mitgründerin und CEO des Berliner VR-Startups Vragments. „Mich fasziniert besonders die Möglichkeit, dass historische Themen ganz anders erlebbar gemacht werden können.“ Vragments hat etwa zusammen mit Deutschlandradio Kultur einen virtuellen Verhörraum der Stasi gestaltet, in dem die psychologische Folter mit Original-Tonaufnahmen nachvollziehbar wird. Rath-Wiggins hatte die Tonaufnahmen zwar während der Produktion immer wieder gehört, „aber in den virtuellen Raum zu gehen und sie dort zu hören, hatte eine ganz andere Wirkung.“
 


Große Wirkung erzielen auch 360-Grad-Videos, die zugleich weniger aufwendig und teuer sind, als die komplett virtuellen Welten. Kameras zur Aufnahme von 3-D-Videos kosten nur ein paar Hundert Euro und kostenlose Tools wie die von Vragments entwickelte Software Fader erleichtern es Journalisten, Geschichten zu erstellen und auf Webseiten einzubinden. Mit Fader können sie 360-Grad-Videos und Fotos hochladen, Text hinzufügen sowie die Zuschauer mit sogenannten interaktiven Hotspots durch die Geschichte navigieren lassen. „Auch Einzelpersonen können sich mit dem Medium vertraut machen, selbst wenn man nicht viele Ressourcen, Zeit oder Geld hat“, sagt Rath-Wiggins. Vor allem bei Studenten, selbstständigen Fotografen oder Lokalredakteuren sei das Interesse groß. Sendeanstalten wie zum Beispiel ARTE haben immersiven Journalismus seit längerem in ihr Formatportfolio integriert; der TV-Sender veröffentlicht regelmäßig 360-Grad-Videos. Mit der ARTE360-App können Zuschauer beispielsweise bei einer Freediving-Serie gemeinsam mit Apnoetauchern in die Unterwasserwelt abtauchen. 2018 ist ein gemeinsames Projekt von ZDF und ARTE zur Situation der Nuba im Sudan geplant.
 

Embedded Code


Auch wenn die Budgets für Virtual-Reality-Projekte in den USA großzügiger ausfallen als in Deutschland, beobachtet Kay Meseberg, Projektleiter ARTE 360/VR, eine große Offenheit für immersive Reportagen: „Ich sehe hier eine sehr enthusiastische Auseinandersetzung mit dieser neuen Technologie“, so Meseberg. „Wenn ich mir Produktionen aus Deutschland anschaue – ob vom ZDF, ARD-Anstalten, der Zeitung Die Welt oder der Süddeutschen Zeitung – sehe ich Produktionen, die sich auf keinen Fall verstecken brauchen.“
 
Dabei ist VR-Berichterstattung keineswegs eine rein technische Umstellung. Journalisten müssen auch neue Erzählweisen erfinden. Da sich der Zuschauer mitten im Geschehen befindet, muss auch sein Blick anders geleitet werden und das Storytelling verändert sich. „Die Arbeit mit diesem neuen Medium erfordert ein Umdenken bei der Kreation. Ein VR-Drehbuch unterscheidet sich beispielsweise sehr stark von einem herkömmlichen Drehbuch für klassische Produktionen“, sagt Kay Meseberg. „Darauf muss man sich einlassen.“ Der VR-Experte ist aber zuversichtlich, dass das neue Medium in Zukunft auch in Deutschland noch stärker eingesetzt wird. „Wenn man sich anschaut, wie schnell sich diese Medien in knapp drei Jahren verbreitet haben, muss man mit großer Neugier in die Zukunft blicken“, sagt er.

Zwischen Empathiemaschine und Voyeurismus

Ein wenig entzaubert ist die Hoffnung, dass Virtual Reality automatisch wie eine „Empathiemaschine“ funktioniert. Einige Medienexperten hatten gehofft, dass Zuschauer, die sich virtuell in Erdbebengebiete oder in den kolumbianischen Bürgerkrieg begeben, die Ereignisse besser nachvollziehen können und ihre Einstellung verändern. Aber auch VR hat Grenzen. „Präsenz bedeutet nicht automatisch Empathie, und auch Emotion ist nicht dasselbe wie Empathie“, erklärt Ainsley Sutherland, die als BuzzFeed-Open-Lab-Fellow das Thema Virtual Reality und Ethik erforscht hat. Als etwa Facebook-Chef Mark Zuckerberg in der VR-Anwendung Facebook Spaces gutgelaunt einen virtuellen Spaziergang durch das vom Hurrikan zerstörte Puerto Rico unternahm, gab es einen Aufschrei in den Medien, weil die meisten darin nur Voyeurismus und Ignoranz sahen und sicher keine Empathie.
 
Linda Rath-Wiggins von Vragments glaubt aber, dass Journalisten nicht vorschnell urteilen sollten, wofür Virtual Reality sinnvoll sei – sondern stattdessen lieber weiter Grenzen, Formate und Erzählweisen austesten sollten. „Wir müssen aufpassen, dass wir uns nicht zu viele Regeln aufbürden, bevor wir aus der Experimentierphase raus sind“, sagt sie. Journalistische Ethik und klassische Sorgfaltsprinzipien müssten aber natürlich auch im VR-Zeitalter gelten. Rath-Wiggins ist überzeugt, dass sich das Verhältnis der Zuschauer zu Virtual Reality verändern werde, wenn sie sich an die neue Darstellungsform und an die Immersion auch in dramatische Szenen gewöhnen.