Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Radio art
Art through the ether

Radio art is almost as old as radio itself, and yet it is little known as an art genre. We present radio art from Germany – and from around the world.

By Knut Aufermann

The radio art entry in the German version of Wikipedia was compiled in October 2016, nearly a century after the initial wave of radio broadcasters was established around the world. Radio art is thus an art genre in its own right and one that has successfully eluded categorization, despite having a long history. In Germany, Hans Flesch, a graduate in medicine who specialized in radiology, was commissioned by regional broadcaster Südwestdeutscher Rundfunk back in 1924 to come up with a synthesis of technology and art that was inherent to radio. The result was the radio play, which remains extremely popular to this day. Over the decades, visionary programmers at public service broadcasting companies ensured that contemporary authors and composers created works especially for radio – from Bertolt Brecht and Kurt Weill to Heiner Müller and Heiner Goebbels. Since 1959, the Karl-Sczuka-Preis has been awarded by Südwest-Rundfunk (SWR); the most important radio art award, it was originally a prize only for radio plays but was then extended in 1972 to include all acoustic types of radiophonic art.
 
In launching the  Kunstradio series on Austrian radio station Österreichischer Rundfunk (ORF) in 1987, Heidi Grundmann paved the way for artists in other disciplines to gain access to radio where they could produce work as they saw fit. “Radio art is not a combination of radio and art.  Radio art is radio by artists”, is how Robert Adrian described it when writing on the subject. At the same time, Japanese DIY radio activist Tetsuo Kogawa, by providing simple instructions on how to build a transmitter, enabled artists all over the world to make the radio apparatus their own and to experiment with the materiality of radio waves – the buzzword here being mini FM.

In the 1980s and 1990s, various state-level laws in Germany allowed non-commercial radio stations which, although they do not commission any licence-fee-funded works themselves, are able – depending on their particular orientation – to grant airtime, complete artistic freedom and scope for experimentation. Thanks to affordable and user-friendly digital audio software and hardware, radio art production has been able to leave the studios of the major radio broadcasters since the turn of the millennium and can now be pursued almost anywhere by artists themselves. By way of examples, we present a number of contemporary initiatives and radio artists from the areas described above.
 
Datscha Radio, a temporary garden radio station, has been broadcasting on German airwaves on an irregular basis since 2012. It was created on the allotment of the artist Gabi Schaffner in the Einigkeit gardening and residents’ community in the north of Berlin – in collaboration with media artist Pit Schultz, who co-founded the non-commercial Berlin artist radio station  reboot.fm.
 

Datscha Radio was on air for five days in 2017, with five editors responsible. All its programmes revolved once again around the garden as the point of reference for artistic works. As such, the fact that broadcasting took place at the dacha proved that radio is a function of the location at which it is created. Radio play author and self-styled “noise-maker” Frieder Butzmann would not have been able to warble his Twitter poem as cheerily at any place other than the garden house, surrounded by trees, the twittering of birds and the sound of lawnmowers.
 

Stefan Scheib plucks the electronically amplified cactus Stefan Scheib plucks the electronically amplified cactus | Photo: © Knut Aufermann The Liquid Penguin Ensemble also engages with nature – at least in its award-winning 2007 audio drama Gras Wachsen Hören (i.e. Hearing Grass Grow), in which for example a cactus is made to produce sound. Since the late 1990s, the artists Katharina Bihler and Stefan Scheib – the Liquid Penguin Ensemble – have been producing radio plays and sound art. They make most of their radio plays for the local radio station Saarländischer Rundfunk (SR) in Saarbrücken, the city they have made their home.
 
Many of the Liquid Penguin Ensemble’s works undergo a whole series of performances before being broadcast for the first time so as to check the material for its theatrical potential. The experiences from these live performances are then channelled into the production of the radio plays once they are ready for broadcast. All their pieces are infused with a dash of subtle humour.

 

On top of her normal work for the station, SR radio play director Anette Kührmeyer curates the annual Primeurs festival of francophone contemporary drama. One fixture on the programme each year is the performance on stage of a radio play translated from French – with all of its constituent parts presented live in front of the mic. The performance is also broadcast directly on radio – a classic example of radio art.
 
Deutschlandfunk Kultur probably offers the most wide-ranging approach of all public service broadcasters in Germany. One of the four official programming sections at the cultural station, which is broadcast all over Germany, has been named Radiokunst (i.e. Radio Art) since 2016; it encompasses seven weekly series that switch between radio play, feature and sound art and which section head Marcus Gammel and his team like to plan using an analogue board planner.

 
The board planner used by the radio art programming section The board planner used by the radio art programming section | Photo (detail): © Knut Aufermann, CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
The Wurfsendung (i.e. Circular) does not fit into this pattern. These are radiophonic miniatures and extremely brief radio plays – up to 45 seconds long – that are interspersed repeatedly into the day’s programmes unannounced. Sometimes they are even subsequently illustrated as part of student projects.
 

Many of the radio plays and features are available on demand on the Deutschlandfunk Kultur website, where a film series can also be found that tracks the development of its radio art productions. After broadcast, the sound art produced in-house at Deutschlandfunk Kultur is archived long-term at sonosphere.org.
 
Local, non-commercial stations that can obtain a broadcasting licence in some of Germany’s federal states offer even more possibilities for wider artistic use of radio. One excellent example is Radio Corax in the city of Halle an der Saale in the state of Saxony-Anhalt. In October 2016, it staged the Radio Revolten (i.e. Radio Revolts), the world’s largest international festival of radio art (of which the author of this article was the artistic director). Here are just two examples from the 30-day festival, which would take an entire book to document – they give some idea of the breadth of the radio art spectrum:
 
A snapshot taken from “Tanz Aller”, a work performed by the LIGNA group at the Radio Revolten festival A snapshot taken from “Tanz Aller”, a work performed by the LIGNA group at the Radio Revolten festival | Photo: © Stefan Tenner, CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
LIGNA, a group of artists established in loose association with the independent  FSK radio station in Hamburg, has developed its own kind of interaction with radio in the form of its radio ballet. Radioed instructions allow groups of listeners to form temporary ensembles which perform synchronized movements in the public domain to the great surprise of passers-by.
 
Tetsuo Kogawa, the aforementioned performance artist and former professor of communication, captured an entirely different kind of dance on video for the festival. He moves four miniature radio transmitters that he built himself around a small arena, and the interference between the individual radiation fields is audible – a meditation on the impossibility of silence in the sphere of radio.

The German Wikipedia entry on radio art that was mentioned at the beginning of this article was written during the Radio Revolten festival – live on air in a series of radio programmes. Since 2018, Radio Corax has offered a radio art residency that is incorporated into its broadcasting schedule – it is only the world’s second radio station to do so after Wave Farm in Acra in the US State of New York.
 
A glance across national boundaries, which are irrelevant when it comes to radio waves, shows that various homes of radio art have become established in different countries, such as the aforementioned ORF Kunstradio in Austria, and Resonance FM and Soundart Radio, two local, non-commercial community radio stations in the UK that are devoted to radio art.

While many public service broadcasters in Europe have joined forces for the purposes of exchange and cooperation to form the EBU Ars Acustica Gruppe, two dozen non-commercial and independent radio stations from three continents have been members of the Radia radio art network since 2005. A 21-part retrospective on the Radia stations and their artists was broadcast in 2017 at the documenta by the documenta-14 radio programme.
 

The growing interest of the art world in radio art and the many aesthetic and experimental possibilities it offers has repeatedly led to new types of performance being explored since the 2000s. For example, a 24-hour radio art festival in Stockholm that was broadcast on two FM frequencies simultaneously: Dubbelradio. In the video documentation, the left and right audio channels each play one of the broadcasting frequencies.
 

In the same way that the German radio play tradition has met with a warm reception in other countries, new non-language-specific forms of radio art from all over the world have become widespread in places around Germany. The diffuse field of radio art these days encompasses also installations, performance and action art in the public domain.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Radiokunst
Kunst, die über den Äther geht

Radiokunst ist fast so alt wie das Radio selbst. Und doch ist sie als Kunstgattung wenig bekannt. Wir stellen Radiokunst in Deutschland – und aus der ganzen Welt – vor.

Von Knut Aufermann

Der Eintrag zum Begriff Radiokunst in der deutschsprachigen Wikipedia wurde im Oktober 2016 erstellt, fast ein Jahrhundert nach Beginn der weltweiten Gründungswelle von Rundfunksendern. Radiokunst ist also eine eigenständige Kunstgattung, die sich erfolgreich einer Kategorisierung entzogen hat, obwohl sie auf eine lange Geschichte zurückblicken kann. In Deutschland suchte der studierte Mediziner (Schwerpunkt Radiologie!) Hans Flesch bereits 1924 im Auftrag des Südwestdeutschen Rundfunkdiensts nach einer rundfunkeigenen Synthese von Technik und Kunst. Heraus kam das Hörspiel, das sich bis heute großer Beliebtheit erfreut. Visionäre Redakteure der öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten haben über die Jahrzehnte dafür gesorgt, dass zeitgenössische Autoren und Komponisten Werke speziell für das Radio schaffen, von Bertolt Brecht und Kurt Weill bis Heiner Müller und Heiner Goebbels. Bereits seit 1959 wird mit dem Karl-Sczuka-Preis vom Südwest-Rundfunk (SWR) die bedeutendste Auszeichnung für Radiokunst vergeben, ursprünglich als reiner Hörspielpreis, 1972 wurde er dann erweitert auf alle akustische Spielarten der radiofonen Kunst.
 
Heidi Grundmann legte 1987 mit dem Beginn der Sendestrecke Kunstradio im Österreichischen Rundfunk (ORF) den Grundstein dafür, dass auch „fachfremde“ Künstlerinnen und Künstler Zugang zum Radio bekamen und dort selbstbestimmt produzieren konnten. „Radiokunst ist nicht die Kombination von Radio und Kunst. Radiokunst ist Radio von Künstlern“ schrieb dazu Robert Adrian. Gleichzeitig ermöglichte der japanische DIY-Radioaktivist Tetsuo Kogawa im Projekt „Mini-FM“ mit seinen einfachen Anleitungen zum Transmitterbau Künstlerinnen und Künstler auf der ganzen Welt, sich des Sendeapparats zu bemächtigen und mit der Materialität der Radiowellen zu experimentieren.
 
In Deutschland haben in den 1980er- und 1990er-Jahren die verschiedenen Bundeländer Gesetze zur Zulassung nichtkommerzieller Radiosender verabschiedet, die, je nach Ausrichtung, zwar keine gebührenfinanzierte Auftragswerke vergeben, dafür aber Sendezeit, völlige künstlerische Freiheit und Raum zum Experimentieren gewähren können. Durch erschwingliche und benutzerfreundliche digitale Audio-Soft- und Hardware kann die Radiokunst-Produktion seit der Jahrtausendwende die Studios der großen Radioanstalten verlassen und mittlerweile fast überall auch eigenverantwortlich von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern betrieben werden. Exemplarisch stellen wir aus den beschriebenen Bereichen einige zeitgenössische Initiativen sowie Radiokünstlerinnen und -künstler vor.
 
Seit 2012 bricht das Datscha Radio, eine temporäre Gartenradiostation, unregelmäßig in den deutschen Äther ein. Entstanden ist es in der Kleingartenparzelle der Künstlerin Gabi Schaffner in der Garten- und Siedlergemeinschaft Einigkeit im Norden Berlins – und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Medienkünstler Pit Schultz, der den nichtkommerziellen Berliner Künstlerradiosender reboot.fm mitgegründet hat.
 

Im Jahr 2017 lief das Datscha Radio fünf Tage lang und wurde von fünf Redakteurinnen verantwortet. Inhaltlich drehte sich wieder alles um den Garten als Referenzpunkt für künstlerische Arbeiten. Dabei bewies das Senden aus der Datscha, dass Radio eine Funktion des Ortes ist, an dem es entsteht: An keinem anderen Ort als in der Gartenlaube, umgeben von Bäumen, Vogelgezwitscher und Rasenmäher, hätte der Hörspielautor und selbstbetitelte Crachmacheur Frieder Butzmann sein Twitter-Gedicht so fröhlich tiriliert.
 


Stefan Scheib zupft den elektronisch verstärkten Kaktus Stefan Scheib zupft den elektronisch verstärkten Kaktus | Foto: © Knut Aufermann Auch das Liquid Penguin Ensemble setzt sich mit der Natur auseinander – zumindest in seinem preisgekrönten Hörspiel Gras Wachsen Hören von 2007 in dem zum Beispiel ein Kaktus zum Klingen gebracht wird. Seit Ende der 1990er-Jahre produziert das Künstlerpaar Katharina Bihler und Stefan Scheib als Liquid Penguin Ensemble Hörspiele und Klangkunst. Radiohörspiele realisieren sie meist für den Saarländischen Rundfunk (SR) in ihrer Wahlheimat Saarbrücken.
 
Viele Werke des Liquid Penguin Ensembles durchlaufen vor ihrer Ursendung eine Kaskade von Auftritten, in denen das Material auf sein theatralisches Potenzial abgeklopft wird. Die Erfahrungen aus diesen Live-Performances fließen dann in die Produktion der sendefertigen Hörspiele ein. Eine Prise feiner Humor durchzieht alle ihre Stücke.
 

SR-Hörspielchefin Anette Kührmeyer kuratiert für den SR neben ihrer Arbeit am Sender einmal im Jahr das Primeurs, ein Festival der frankofonen Gegenwartsdramatik. Fester Programmpunkt ist dort in jedem Jahr die Darbietung eines aus dem Französischen übersetzten Hörspiels auf einer Bühne – mit allen Bestandteilen live vor dem Mikrofon. Diese Vorstellung wird jeweils direkt im Radio ausgestrahlt – Radiokunst eben.
 
Den programmatisch vielfältigsten Ansatz bei den öffentlich-rechtlichen Sendern in Deutschland besitzt wohl Deutschlandfunk Kultur. Seit 2016 heißt einer der vier offiziellen Programmbereiche des deutschlandweit ausgestrahlten Kultursenders Radiokunst und umfasst sieben wöchentliche Sendestrecken, die zwischen Hörspiel, Feature und Klangkunst pendeln und die der zuständige Abteilungsleiter Marcus Gammel mit seiner Redaktion gerne noch analog mit Hilfe eines Steckkastens plant.
 
Der bestückte Steckkasten des Programmbereichs Radiokunst Der bestückte Steckkasten des Programmbereichs Radiokunst | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Knut Aufermann, CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Nicht in diese Ordnung passt die Wurfsendung. Das sind bis zu 45-sekündige radiofone Miniaturen und Kürzest-Hörspiele, die immer wieder unangekündigt ins Tagesprogramm eingestreut werden. Manchmal werden sie sogar im Rahmen von studentischen Arbeiten erfolgreich nachbebildert.
 

Viele der Hörspiele und Features sind auf der Website vom Deutschlandfunk Kultur nachzuhören, wo sich auch eine Filmreihe findet, die über die Entstehung ihrer Radiokunst-Produktionen berichtet. Die Klangkunst-Eigenproduktionen vom Deutschlandfunk Kultur werden nach der Ausstrahlung langfristig unter sonosphere.org archiviert.
 
Noch mehr Möglichkeiten zur erweiterten künstlerischen Nutzung des Radios haben lokale, nicht-kommerzielle Sender, die in einigen deutschen Bundesländern eine Sendelizenz bekommen können. Ein herausragendes Beispiel ist Radio Corax in Halle an der Saale in Sachsen-Anhalt. Im Oktober 2016 veranstaltete es die Radio Revolten, das weltgrößte internationale Festival der Radiokunst (bei dem der Autor dieses Beitrags als künstlerischer Leiter tätig war). Aus der buchfüllenden Dokumentation dieser 30 Tage seien hier nur zwei Beispiele genannt, die die Spreizung des Radiokunst-Fächers andeuten:
 
Augenblick beim Stück „Tanz Aller“ der Gruppe LIGNA bei den Radio Revolten Augenblick beim Stück „Tanz Aller“ der Gruppe LIGNA bei den Radio Revolten | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Stefan Tenner, CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Die im Umfeld des freien Radios FSK in Hamburg gegründete Künstlergruppe LIGNA hat mit ihrem Radio-Ballett eine eigene Form der Interaktion mit dem Radio entwickelt. Per Funk vermittelte Anleitungen lassen Gruppen von Hörerinnen und Hörern zu temporären Ensembles werden, die zum Erstaunen von Passanten, synchronisierte Bewegungen im öffentlichen Raum vollführen.
 
Einen Tanz ganz anderer Art hat der bereits erwähnte Performance-Künstler und ehemalige Professor für Kommunikation Tetsuo Kogawa für das Festival auf Video gebannt. Vier selbst konstruierte Miniatur-Radiosender bewegt er auf einer kleinen Manege und zu hören sind die Interferenzen zwischen den einzelnen Ausstrahlungsfeldern – eine Meditation über die Unmöglichkeit der Stille im Radio-Raum.
 

Nicht zuletzt wurde auch der eingangs erwähnte Wikipedia-Eintrag zur Radiokunst während der Radio Revolten geschrieben – live on Air in einer Serie von Radiosendungen. Seit 2018 bietet Radio Corax eine in den Sende-Alltag eingebundene Residenz für Radiokünstlerinnen und Radiokünstler an, und ist mit diesem Angebot nach Wave Farm in Acra im US-Bundesstaat New York die zweite Radiostation weltweit.
 
Ein Blick über die für Radiowellen unwirksamen Grenzen zeigt, dass sich in einzelnen Ländern verschiedene Austragungsorte der Radiokunst etabliert haben, wie zum Beispiel das schon erwähnte ORF Kunstradio in Österreich oder die beiden der Radiokunst verpflichteten, nichtkommerziellen, lokalen community radios Resonance FM und Soundart Radio in Großbritannien.
 
Während sich viele öffentlich-rechtliche Sender in Europa zwecks Austausch und Kooperation zur EBU Ars Acustica Gruppe zusammengeschlossen haben, sind zwei Dutzend nichtkommerzielle unabhängige Radiostationen aus drei Kontinenten seit 2005 im Radiokunst-Netzwerk Radia verbunden. Eine 21-teilige Retrospektive über die Radia-Sender und ihre Künstlerinnen und Künstler wurde 2017 im Rahmen der Documenta 14 vom documenta-14-Radioprogramm gesendet.
 

Das wachsende Interesse der Kunstwelt an der noch viele ästhetische und experimentelle Spielräume bietenden Radiokunst ermöglichte seit den 2000er-Jahren immer wieder die Erkundung neuer Spielarten. So beispielsweise auch ein 24-stündiges Radiokunst-Festival in Stockholm, das auf zwei UKW-Frequenzen gleichzeitig stattfand: Dubbelradio. Linker und rechter Tonkanal geben in der Videodokumentation jeweils eine der Sendefrequenzen wieder.
 

So wie die deutschsprachige Hörspieltradition in anderen Ländern auf eine große Resonanz stößt, haben in den letzten 20 Jahren neue, sprachunabhängige Formen der Radiokunst aus aller Welt in Deutschland Orte der Verbreitung gefunden. Das diffuse Feld der Radiokunst umfasst mittlerweile auch Installation, Performance und Aktion im öffentlichen Raum.

Top