The University and Theatre City of Göttingen Idyllic and cultivated

Deutsches Theater in Göttingen
Deutsches Theater in Göttingen | Photo (detail): Torsten Krueger © Goettingen Tourismus EV

The good reputation of the City of Göttingen in Lower Saxony is due largely to its renowned university. Nicola Bongard, dramaturge for youth theatre at the Deutsches Theater, explains why life is wonderful here in spite of the fact that space is rather limited.

Ms. Bongard, at the entrance to the Ratkeller in Göttingen it says in Latin: “Outside Göttingen there is no life; if there is life, then not this kind of life “ …

Well, that prompts me to say something heretical. Only someone from Göttingen could have come up with a saying like that. To the people of Göttingen, I would say this: don’t get me wrong, you can indeed live a wonderful life here and almost forget that it is less idyllic and cultivated elsewhere, but as someone who has lived elsewhere for many years, I have a criticism to make about that particular point. Some people from Göttingen do not look beyond their tea cup, like to sweep before their own door and are not particularly keen on change.

But that is just one side of the coin. The other is that the city has a young feel to it on account of its many students and tourism, both of which bring lots of languages and freshness into the city – and lead to the limited space and crowdedness typical of Göttingen.

What should no visitor to the city miss?

I swear - and I say this not just as a dramaturge at the Deutsches Theater - you absolutely must go to the theatre! Best of all, to the studio, the venue of the Junges Schauspiel, which has been putting on very special productions for children and young people for the last four years. They are fresh and original, they have their finger on the pulse of the times, and above all, they also set formal standards. They do a lot of book adaptations - the team is well known for them, even in the independent scene. Another thing I would recommend is a visit to the unique salt works to relax and to lie on the water.

What is your favourite place in the city?

I like sitting by the River Leine – there are many nice places there. One pleasant place is Café Hemer’s wood-fired bakery. And a bit further out, Wendebach Reservoir.

Which building do you find the most impressive?

The most impressive is, unfortunately, the new town hall – a quite incredibly ugly building that can be seen from various directions when you look towards the town centre and that has nothing at all in common with the rest of Göttingen, which is full of beautiful buildings.

You have a young daughter. Does Göttingen have anything special to offer children?

The special thing about Göttingen for children is definitely that all the important places – nature and the city, culture and sport – are close together. Above all, though, and I have to say it again, what Göttingen has to offer in the area of children’s theatre is really special. My daughter has just started school in year five at the IGS in Göttingen. People say, and I hope, that that school is also something very special. Last year it was nominated Germany’s best school.

Georg-August-Universität has been held in high esteem since it was founded in the eighteenth century. 44 Nobel laureates came from Göttingen or worked here. Students make up approximately 20 per cent of the more than 120,000 inhabitants. How does the university influence the city?

For one thing, the students make the city appear young. I think the locals take a certain pride in their famous people, but the students live very much in their own world. There is a big subculture which does not particularly noticeably get through to the outside world.

On what subjects it is easy to enter into conversation with people from Göttingen?

Their theatres – the Junges Theater and the Deutsches Theater. People’s views are divided.

In what way?

Every year, the question is raised as to whether Göttingen can and wants to afford two municipal theatres. The Junges Theater is only young in name, it has existed since 1957 and it has a quite normal municipal theatre programme. Yet many people in the city, particularly on the political left, regard it as the more innovative theatre. The location is more hip and the theatre-makers seem more alternative. It is certainly true that its audience continues to be younger and “more leftist.“ These people see the Deutsches Theater as a statuesque cultural palace, elitist, traditional, sedate, conservative - not really from their own experience, but on account of a traditional view, hearsay, as it were.

Yes, and then there is the other side that perceives that in reality the modern, original formats are to be seen at the Deutsches Theater, that it is there that risks are taken, exciting new writers are staged and exciting young directors are given a chance. Children’s and youth theatre have their own department there that goes far beyond anything in the traditional children’s (Christmas) programme and the obligatory youth club productions of any other theatre in the country.

What do you miss in Göttingen?

Independent cinemas. It is really bad that apart from the little alternative cinema Lumiere, we only have Cinemaxx in the city. And I also think the city lacks a modern museum with museum education programmes and exciting exhibitions. Oh yes, and good cycle tracks. I wish the buses would disappear from the city centre and that younger children could ride their bikes without any danger. But that is a classic maternal perspective. When I moved to Göttingen from Hanover, many people said that I was going to Bullerby. In fact, I did have much more space to roam in Hanover, more generous cycle tracks and pavements, far fewer awful one-way streets and traffic lights. Space is very limited here.

Universitäts- und Theaterstadt Göttingen Idyllisch und kultiviert

Das Deutsche Theater in Göttingen
Das Deutsche Theater in Göttingen | Foto (Ausschnitt): Torsten Krueger © Goettingen Tourismus EV

Die niedersächsische Großstadt Göttingen verdankt ihren guten Ruf vor allem ihrer renommierten Universität. Warum es sich hier trotz einiger Enge gut leben lässt, erklärt Nicola Bongard, Dramaturgin für das Junge Schauspiel am Deutschen Theater.

Frau Bongard, am Eingang des Göttinger Ratskellers steht auf Latein: „Außerhalb Göttingens gibt es kein Leben; gibt es Leben, dann kein solches“ …

Also, da muss ich gleich etwas ketzerisch sagen: So einen Spruch kann sich auch nur ein Göttinger ausgedacht haben. Liebe Göttinger, seid mir nicht böse, man kann hier tatsächlich wunderbar leben und fast vergessen, dass es anderswo weniger idyllisch und kultiviert ist, aber ich habe – als jahrelange Nicht-Göttingerin – gerade hier einen Kritikpunkt. Die Göttinger sehen mitunter nicht über ihre Hutschnur hinaus, kehren gerne vor der eigenen Tür und sind für Veränderungen nicht unbedingt zu haben.

Aber das ist die eine Seite. Die andere ist die junge Ausstrahlung der Stadt durch die vielen Studenten und den Tourismus, beides bringt viele Sprachen und eine Frische ins Stadtbild – und sorgt auf seine Weise für die typische Göttinger Enge beziehungsweise Fülle.

Was darf ein Besucher der Stadt auf keinen Fall verpassen?

Ich schwöre, dies sage ich nicht nur als Dramaturgin des Deutschen Theaters! Unbedingt einen Besuch im Theater, am besten im Studio dort, dem Spielort des Jungen Schauspiels, das seit vier Jahren ganz besondere Stücke für Kinder und Jugendliche anbietet, die frisch sind, originell, am Puls der Zeit und vor allem auch formal Standards setzen. Hier gibt es viele Buchadaptionen, das Team ist dafür bekannt, auch in der freien Szene. Außerdem finde ich einen Besuch in der einmaligen Pfannen-Saline empfehlenswert, zum Entspannen und Auf-dem-Wasser-Liegen.

Was ist Ihr Lieblingsort in der Stadt?

Ich setze mich gerne an die Leine, da gibt es viele schöne Plätze. Ein schöner Ort ist die Holzbackofenbäckerei des Café Hemer. Und, ein bisschen weiter draußen, der Wendebachstausee.

Welches Gebäude hat für Sie die größte Ausstrahlung?

Die größte Ausstrahlung hat – leider – das neue Rathaus, ein wirklich wahnsinnig hässliches Gebäude, das man aus verschiedenen Richtungen zur Innenstadt hin immer schon von weitem sehen kann und das rein gar nichts mit dem Rest vom an schönen Häusern reichen Göttingen zu tun hat.

Sie haben eine kleine Tochter. Hat Göttingen auch für Kinder Besonderes zu bieten?

Das Besondere von Göttingen für die Kinder ist sicher die Nähe zwischen allen wichtigen Anlaufpunkten: Natur und Stadt, Kultur und Sport. Vor allem aber, auch hier muss ich es wieder sagen, das Göttinger Angebot im Kindertheaterbereich, das ist schon besonders. Meine Tochter wurde gerade in die 5. Klasse der IGS Göttingen eingeschult, auch diese Schule ist – sagt man und hoffe ich – etwas sehr Besonderes. Vergangenes Jahr wurde sie zur besten Schule Deutschlands gekürt.

Die Georg-August-Universität ist seit ihrer Gründung im 18. Jahrhundert hoch angesehen. Gleich 44 Nobelpreisträger kommen dorther oder haben dort gewirkt. Studierende machen ungefähr 20 Prozent der über 120.000 Einwohner aus. Wie prägt die Universität die Stadt?

Die Studenten lassen die Stadt erst einmal jung erscheinen. Es gibt, glaube ich, einen gewissen Stolz in der Bevölkerung auf die Berühmtheiten, aber die Studenten leben doch sehr in ihrer Welt. Da gibt es eine große Subkultur, die nicht außerordentlich auffällig nach außen dringt.

Worüber kommt man mit den Göttingern leicht ins Gespräch?

Über ihre Theater – das Junge und das Deutsche Theater. Da scheiden sich die Geister.

Inwiefern?

Jahr für Jahr steht die Frage im Raum, ob sich Göttingen zwei Stadttheater leisten kann und will. Das Junge Theater ist ja nur vom Namen her jung, es gibt das Theater schon seit 1957 und es macht ein ganz normales Stadttheaterprogramm. Dennoch gilt es vielen vor allem Linken in der Stadt als das innovativere Theater, die Location ist cooler, die Macher scheinen alternativer. Mit Sicherheit ist das Publikum hier nach wie vor jünger und „linker“. Das Deutsche Theater empfinden diese Menschen als einen ehernen Kulturpalast, elitär, traditionell, behäbig, konservativ, aber eigentlich nicht aus eigener Erfahrung heraus, sondern aus Meinungstradition, quasi Überlieferung.

Ja, und dann gibt es die andere Seite, die wahrnimmt, dass es in Wirklichkeit im Deutschen Theater die modernen, originellen Formate zu sehen gibt, dass hier Wagnisse eingegangen werden, spannende neue Autoren zum Zug kommen, spannende junge Regisseure eine Chance erhalten. Der Kinder- und Jugendtheaterbereich ist hier eine eigene Abteilung, das geht weit über das klassische (Weihnachts-) Kinderprogramm jedes Theaters in der Republik und die obligatorischen Jugendclubproduktionen hinaus.

Was vermissen Sie in Göttingen?

Programmkinos. Es ist wirklich schlimm, dass wir neben dem kleinen Lumiere als einzigem alternativen Kino nur das Cinemaxx in der Stadt haben. Und außerdem vermisse ich ein modernes Museum mit museumspädagogischen Angeboten und spannenden Ausstellungen. Ach ja, und ich vermisse gute Fahrradwege. Ich wünsche mir, dass die Busse aus der Innenstadt verschwinden und auch kleinere Kinder gefahrlos Fahrrad fahren können. Das ist allerdings eine klassische Mutter-Perspektive. Als ich aus Hannover nach Göttingen zog, sagten viele, dass ich nun nach Bullerbü käme. Tatsächlich hatte ich in Hannover viel mehr Auslauf, großzügige Fahrradewege und Bürgersteige, viel weniger Einbahnstraßen- und Ampelterror. Es ist schon sehr eng hier.