Gamer “You are no longer the nerd gaming away on his own”

Photophobic homebodies who flee from reality into colourful computer-generated fantasy worlds, or brooding nerds expanding their potential for aggression with ego shooters – these prejudices are long since obsolete where gaming culture is concerned. Young gamers reveal why they play computer games.

Chris Renger, 21, retail salesman in a large electrical store

Chris Renger Chris Renger | Foto: Selina Nowak I grew up with computer games. I have been playing with my big brother since I was little. I mainly play World of Warcrafts (WoW). Occasionally I also buy other games. But only ones that stand out, not mainstream ones.

I currently live in a shared house of three gamers. Our circle of friends consists mostly of gamers. We play WoW for an average of three or four hours a day with others in what we call a guild. For me, gaming is just a hobby, like football clubs are to other people. A balance to wind down after work. I have certainly already thought about doing something to do with gaming in a career capacity. More programming-orientated, because I’m a keen mathematician.


Philipp Kock, 32, level designer, game development instructor & developer of his own game “Starbattle”

Philipp Kock Philipp Kock | Foto: Selina Nowak I have been playing computer games since I was six. It was through gaming that I learnt how to access computers. In those days you had to know what you were doing with your computer for the games to work on it.

Nowadays almost everyone plays games on the new mobiles and tablets. All age groups, all social strata. Gaming is socially acceptable today. You are no longer the nerd gaming away on his own; you are connected to the rest of the world via the internet even when you are playing games. You communicate via a headset and camera, drink a beer as you play and chat about everything under the sun.

Personally I prefer to play shoot-‘em-ups and strategy games. I don’t like MMOs (Massively Multiplayer Online Games such as World Of Warcraft). I find it too stressful and it takes up too much time. I usually play games for two hours at a stretch every day. But I don’t have a television.

Daniel Renner, 21, house-shares with Chris

Daniel Renner Daniel Renner | Foto: Selina Nowak I recently became unemployed and actually I would have plenty of time for gaming. In the last few years I noticed that I spend too much time gaming and other things suffer. At the moment I prefer to make music and I try to keep myself physically fit. I used to only have gaming friends. But now I know more people who don’t play games, or who only play the same amount as we do in our shared house. But as ever I really enjoy gaming.

So why did I actually start playing WoW – the basic idea was that I can play with others. I wouldn’t play on my own. I wouldn’t say that gaming is not real life. As soon as you play online it really is real life, because after all real time passes that you spend there. People should just accept that the internet is real too.

Alexis Rebischini, 17, media design student / game design industry

Alexis Rebischini Alexis Rebischini | Foto: Selina Nowak I got my first Gameboy at the age of eight and that’s how I started console gaming. I have been gaming on the computer since I was 15.

At the moment I play League of Legends (LoL) a lot, as well as a bit of World of Warcraft (WoW). I used to play it intensively. At least four hours a day plus half-an-hour preparation and follow-up. That was as inflexible as a training session for a sports team. You get really ambitious with these games. There were times when 37 hours of continuous gaming seemed necessary. If you enjoy it, there’s really no reason why not. As long as you don’t have to go to school it’s great. But then at some point comes the time to start studying. But I was always quite good at realising when it was time to stop and start my school work.

In my priority list, gaming ranks approximately the same as a book. You can play most games in the same way that you read a book. If you really enjoy reading something, you can read it all day.

Gamer „Man ist nicht mehr das Kellerkind, das alleine vor sich hinzockt“

Lichtscheue Stubenhocker, die aus der Realität in bunte Fantasiewelten am Computer flüchten oder eigenbrötlerische Nerds, die mit Egoshootern ihr Aggressionspotenzial vermehren – solche Vorurteile in Bezug auf die Gamer-Kultur sind längst überholt. Junge Gamer verraten, warum sie Computerspiele spielen.

Chris Renger, 21, Einzelhandelskaufmann in einem großen Elektrofachmarkt

Chris Renger Chris Renger | Foto: Selina Nowak Ich bin mit Computerspielen aufgewachsen. Seit ich klein war, habe ich mit meinem großen Bruder gespielt. Hauptsächlich spiele ich World of Warcraft (WoW). In unregelmäßigen Abständen kaufe ich mir auch andere Spiele. Aber nur die herausstechenden, nicht die breite Masse.

Derzeit wohne ich in einer Dreier-Gamer-WG. Unser Freundeskreis rekrutiert sich hauptsächlich aus Spielern. Zusammen mit anderen spielen wir in einer sogenannten Gilde am Tag durchschnittlich drei bis vier Stunden WoW. Für mich ist das Spielen einfach nur ein Hobby, wie für andere der Fußballverein. Ein Ausgleich zum Runterkommen von der Arbeit. Ich habe mir durchaus schon überlegt, berufsmäßig was mit Spielen zu machen. Mehr in Richtung programmieren, weil ich sehr mathematik-begeistert bin.

Philipp Kock, 32, Level Designer, Lehrer für Game Development und Entwickler seines eigenen Spiels „Starbattle“

Philipp Kock Philipp Kock | Foto: Selina Nowak Ich spiele Computerspiele seit ich sechs bin. Über das Spielen hab ich meinen Zugang zu Computern gelernt. Damals musste man sich mit seinem Computer auseinandersetzen, damit die Spiele darauf funktioniert haben.

Auf den neuen Handys und Tablets spielt heute fast jeder. Jede Altersgruppe, jede Sozialschicht. Das Spielen ist heute gesellschaftlich akzeptiert. Man ist nicht mehr das Kellerkind, das alleine vor sich hinzockt, sondern auch beim Spielen durch das Internet mit der Welt verbunden. Man kommuniziert per Headset und Kamera, trinkt nebenbei sein Bierchen und quatscht über alle möglichen Themen.

Ich persönlich spiele am Liebsten Shooter und Strategiespiele. Keine MMOs (Massively Multiplayer Online Games wie etwa World Of Warcraft). Das ist mir zu anstrengend und zeitaufwendig. Ich spiele meist täglich zwei Stunden am Stück. Dafür hab ich keinen Fernseher.

Daniel Renner , 21, WG-Kollege von Chris

Daniel Renner Daniel Renner | Foto: Selina Nowak Ich bin seit kurzem arbeitslos und hätte eigentlich viel Zeit zum Spielen. In den letzten Jahren habe ich bemerkt, dass ich zu viel spiele und andere Sachen zu kurz kommen. Zurzeit mache ich lieber Musik und versuche, mich körperlich fit zu halten. Früher hatte ich nur Kollegen, die spielen. Mittlerweile kenne ich aber mehr Leute, die nicht spielen oder nicht so viel spielen wie wir in der WG. Ich spiele aber nach wie vor verdammt gern.

Warum ich eigentlich angefangen habe WoW zu spielen – der Grundgedanke war, dass ich mit anderen zusammen spielen kann. Alleine würde ich nicht spielen. Ich würde nicht sagen, Spielen sei nicht das echte Leben. Sobald man im Internet spielt, ist es sehr wohl das echte Leben, weil ja trotzdem die echte Zeit vergeht, die man dort verbringt. Man sollte akzeptieren, dass auch das Internet real ist.

Alexis Rebischini, 17, Mediendesign-Schüler/Zweig Game Design

Alexis Rebischini Alexis Rebischini | Foto: Selina Nowak Mit acht habe ich den ersten Gameboy gekriegt habe und so mit Konsolenspielen begonnen. Am Computer spiele ich, seit ich 15 bin.

Momentan spiele ich viel League of Legends (LoL) und nebenbei noch ein wenig WoW. Das habe ich früher sehr intensiv gespielt. Mindestens vier Stunden am Tag plus eine halbe Stunde Vor- und Nachbereitungszeit. Das war verbindlich wie ein Training im Verein. Man wird ja recht ehrgeizig mit diesen Spielen. Es gab Zeiten, da war 37 Stunden durchgehendes Spielen angesagt. Wenn man Spaß dran hat, spricht ja auch nichts wirklich dagegen. Solange man keine Schule hat, geht das super. Aber dann ist irgendwann einmal der Zeitpunkt, wo man auch anfangen muss, zu lernen. Ich habe aber immer selbst ziemlich gut gemerkt, wann Schluss ist und Schule anfängt.

In der Prioritätenliste stehen Spiele ungefähr auf derselben Stelle wie ein Buch. Die meisten Spiele kann man spielen, wie man ein Buch liest. Etwas, das man wirklich gerne liest, das kann man tagelang lesen.