Computer Games A Short Cultural History of Computer Games

Vectrex with 3D-glasses (Milton Bradley, 1982) in the Computer Game Museum Berlin, Photo: Jörg Metzner
Vectrex with 3D-glasses (Milton Bradley, 1982) in the Computer Game Museum Berlin, Photo: Jörg Metzner | Photo (detail): Jörg Metzner, © Computerspielemuseum

On a midsummer’s day in 1999, Billy L. Mitchell planted himself in front of a game machine at the Funspot Family Fun Center in New Hampshire. On it he started a game in which a yellow disc eats its way through a maze populated with monsters: the legendary Pac-Man.

When Mitchell again left the machine six hours later, he had played through all the 255 levels of the game completely without error. He achieved the peak score of 3,333,360 points, what is called among Pac-Man enthusiasts the “perfect game”. “Now I never have to touch this damn game again”, the exhausted champion is said to have exclaimed after his masterly performance. He had trained to break the record for nineteen years.

If you talk to Andreas Lange about the story of Billy Mitchell, he nods quickly: “That’s a marvellous example of a flow experience, how it always sets in when you have internalized the mechanics of a game as well as it can be done”. Lange is director of the Computer Game Museum in Berlin, the largest collection of digital games in Europe, and a recognized expert on what might be called the “cultural history of computer games”. Crazy hunts after high scores, according to Lange, are in the nature of digital games.

Drivers of computer technology

The media scientist Claus Pias goes a step further and ventures the thesis that essentially every computer game is nothing more than communication trimmed to efficiency with a digital machine. No wonder, says Pias, for from the start it was about finding a way in which human beings and machines could interact. “The computer had to be humanized while the user had to be mechanized.”

Exactly this was the idea of the American engineer William Higinbotham when, in 1958, he tinkered together what was probably the first computer game. On the small, round screen of an oscilloscope, two players could play tennis against one another. Tennis for Two, as he called the game, was first presented to the world on an open house day of a research lab in Upton, New York, where Hignibotham worked as a scientist. The idea was to introduce visitors to the world of what was then high-tech, a world about which many people felt highly suspicious. The game was a hit. Using comparatively simple means, Hignibotham had managed to enable human beings to interact with machines in an intuitive way.

Since Tennis for two, writes media scientist Mathias Mertens in his book Wir waren Space Invaders (i.e., We Were Space Invaders), digital games have contributed very significantly to our being able to deal more and more creatively with computers. For example, the beginnings of computer research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology/MIT in Boston were largely determined by tinkering with computer games. Here in 1961 researchers programmed Spacewar!, a fight between two space ships in outer space. It was also the beginning of a movement of which Mertens writes: “The most fascinating aspect of this game was the openness of the programme structure. Everyone was learning arcane programming languages and poring over algorithms”. Spacewar!, says Mertens, became one of the first “open source programmes”.

Medium of interactive experience

If tinkering with the code continued to optimize the interface between man and machine, this primarily served one purpose: interaction. In the early 1970s the vision jumped tracks onto another then far more popular technological medium: television. Suddenly, computer games were called “video games”. The home video game console was invented. Game machines made their way into the malls. Digital games, up to then available mainly to scientists conversant in programming, became a part of mass culture.

Parallel to this began the triumphal march of the personal computer. Games genres became differentiated. Computer games were no longer only about quick reactions in action games, but also about making clever decisions in adventure games or planning as far-sightedly as possible in strategy games. Digital games became the ideal medium for interactive experience, the perfect platform of a long-cherished dream to immerse oneself in stories, actually to “experience” fantasy worlds instead of only observing them. Whether these were the novels of J.R.R. Tolkien, as in the adventure game Zork, or the exploits of the Hollywood adventurer Indiana Jones in the form of a character named Lara Croft.

Creativity and control

Computer games have now long been part of the cultural mainstream and recognized by the highest authority. “It was quite impressive to see the unanimity with which the Bundestag agreed about the establishment of a computer game prize in 2007”, recalls Andreas Lange. Still, there are caveats. So-called “first person shooters”, commonly called “shoot-’em-ups”, which are less about re-enacting a story than about the most efficient ways of killing, are criticized for their glorification of violence. And there is still the spectre of social neglect brought about by excessive game playing.

The wide variety of games, the extreme differences in the motivation for playing them and the increasingly dynamic way that programming-savvy users creatively “misuse” computer games for their own purposes, make it difficult to deliver a blanket judgement about risks and benefits. On the one hand, says Andreas Lange, digital games have the potential to influence positive social developments: for example, by showing alternatives to passive consumption. On the other hand, one must also bear in mind that some of the game genres correspond to the capitalistic logic of an achievement-oriented society: “Computers have perfected the quantification of games”. After all, every computer game, explains Lange, contains within itself the mechanism for making actions measurable in an exact way. And they are thus basically aiding a social trend that increasingly evaluates our lives in economic terms: what techniques should I learn, what apps are available, to help me become maximally healthy, happy and successful?

When Pac-Man champion Bill Mitchell was asked what he now intended to do after setting the world record, he is said to have answered that he was planning a career as a show player in Las Vegas. Quite without the enormous pressure of high-score games.

Computerspiele Eine kleine Kulturgeschichte des Zockens

Vectrex mit 3D-Brille (Milton Bradley, 1982) im Computerspielemuseum Berlin
Vectrex mit 3D-Brille (Milton Bradley, 1982) im Computerspielemuseum Berlin | Foto (Ausschnitt): Jörg Metzner, © Computerspielemuseum

Immer mehr Menschen spielen sie, immer mehr Menschen kaufen sie: Computerspiele sind ein neues Leitmedium geworden. Aber wissen wir überhaupt, wovon genau wir sprechen, wenn wir über digitale Spiele reden?

An einem Hochsommertag im Jahr 1999 postiert sich Billy L. Mitchell vor einem Spieleautomaten des Funspot Family Fun Center in New Hampshire. Auf dem Gerät startet er ein Spiel, bei dem sich eine gelbe Scheibe durch ein von Monstern bevölkertes Labyrinth frisst: das legendäre Pac-Man.

Als Mitchell das Gerät sechs Stunden später wieder verlässt, hat er alle 255 Level des Spiels vollkommen fehlerfrei durchgespielt. Der Score zeigt den Höchststand von 3.333.360 Punkten, unter Pac-Man-Enthusiasten auch „perfect game“ genannt. „Jetzt muss ich dieses verdammte Spiel nie wieder anrühren“, soll der erschöpfte Champion nach seiner Meisterleistung erleichtert ausgerufen haben. 19 Jahre lang hatte er für den Rekord trainiert.

Spricht man Andreas Lange auf die Geschichte von Billy Mitchell an, nickt er nur. „Das ist ein wunderbares Beispiel für eine Flow-Erfahrung, wie sie sich immer dann einstellt, wenn man die Mechanik eines Games bestmöglich verinnerlicht hat.“ Andreas Lange ist Leiter des Computerspielemuseums Berlin, der größten Sammlung digitaler Spiele in Europa, und ein ausgewiesener Kenner dessen, was man eine „Kulturgeschichte des Computerspiels“ nennen könnte. Verrückte Jagden nach Highscores, so Lange, waren dem Wesen nach schon immer im digitalen Spiel angelegt.

Treiber für die Computerforschung

Der Medienwissenschaftler Claus Pias geht noch einen Schritt weiter und wagt die These: Im Kern ist jedes Computerspiel nichts anderes als die auf Effizienz getrimmte Kommunikation mit einer digitalen Maschine. Das sei auch kein Wunder, so Pias, ging es doch von Anfang an darum, eine Möglichkeit zu finden, wie Menschen und Maschinen überhaupt interagieren können: „Der Computer musste vermenschlicht, zugleich der Benutzer maschinisiert werden.“

Genau das nämlich war die Idee des amerikanischen Ingenieurs William Higinbotham, als er 1958 das wohl erste Computerspiel zusammenbastelte. Auf dem kleinen, runden Bildschirm eines Oszilloskops konnten zwei Spieler Tennis gegeneinander spielen. Präsentiert wurde Tennis for two, wie er das Spiel nannte, erstmals beim Tag der offenen Tür eines Forschungslabors in Upton, New York, an dem Hignibotham als Wissenschaftler arbeitete. Besucher sollten an die Welt der damaligen High-Tech herangeführt werden, die vielen Menschen noch höchst suspekt war. Das Spiel war ein Hit. Hignibotham hatte es mit vergleichsweise einfachen Mitteln geschafft, Menschen auf intuitive Weise mit Maschinen interagieren zu lassen.

Seit Tennis for two, schreibt der Medienwissenschaftler Mathias Mertens in seinem Buch Wir waren Space Invaders, tragen digitale Spiele ganz maßgeblich dazu bei, dass wir immer besser, immer kreativer mit Computern umgehen können. So wurden die Anfänge der Computerforschung am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Boston maßgeblich von der Bastelei an Computerspielen bestimmt. Hier wurde 1961 Spacewar! programmiert, ein Kampf zwischen zwei Raumschiffen im Weltall – und der Beginn einer Bewegung, wie Mertens schreibt: „Der faszinierendste Aspekt dieses Spiels war die Offenheit seiner Programmstruktur. Alle lernten obskure Programmiersprachen und brüteten über Algorithmen“. Spacewar!, so Mertens, wurde zu einem der ersten „Open Source“-Programme.

Medium interaktiven Erlebens

Wenn die Bastelei am Code die Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Maschine immer weiter optimierte, diente das vor allem einem Zweck: der Interaktion. Anfang der 1970er-Jahre sprang diese Vision dann auf ein anderes, damals noch weit populäreres technisches Medium über: das Fernsehen. Plötzlich hießen „Computerspiele“ auch „Videospiele“. Die Heimspielvideokonsole wurde erfunden, Spieleautomaten hielten Einzug in die Einkaufszentren. Digitale Spiele, die bis dato vor allem programmierkundigen Wissenschaftlern zur Verfügung standen, wurden zur Massenkultur.

Parallel dazu begann der Siegeszug des Personal Computers. Spielegenres differenzierten sich aus. Es ging nicht mehr nur darum, in Actionspielen schnell zu reagieren, sondern auch in Adventure-Spielen besonders clever zu entscheiden oder in Strategiespielen so weitsichtig wie möglich zu planen. Digitale Spiele wurden zum idealen Medium interaktiven Erlebens, zur perfekten Plattform eines lang gehegten Traums, in Geschichten eintauchen zu können, Fantasiewelten tatsächlich zu erleben, statt sie nur zu betrachten. Seien es die Romane von J.R.R. Tolkien, wie sie zum Beispiel das Adventure-Game Zork erlebbar machte, oder die Hollywood-Abenteuer eines Indiana Jones – in Gestalt einer Spielfigur namens Lara Croft.

Kreativität und Kontrolle

Mittlerweile sind Computerspiele längst im kulturellen Mainstream angekommen und von höchster Stelle anerkannt. „Es war schon beeindruckend zu sehen, wie einstimmig man sich 2007 im Bundestag auf die Einrichtung eines Computerspielpreises einigte“, erinnert sich Andreas Lange. Dennoch gibt es Vorbehalte. Sogenannte First Person Shooters, vulgo „Ballerspiele“, bei denen es weniger um das Nachvollziehen einer Geschichte, denn um möglichst effizientes Töten geht, werden als Gewaltverherrlichung kritisiert. Und auch das Schreckgespenst sozialer Verwahrlosung durch exzessives Spielen ist nach wie vor präsent.

Die große Vielfalt an Spielen, die extremen Unterschiede in der Motivation, diese zu spielen und die zunehmende Dynamik in der Art und Weise, wie Computerspiele von programmierkundigen Nutzern auf kreative Art „zweckentfremdet“ werden, machen es schwer, pauschal über Nutzen und Risiken zu urteilen. Einerseits, sagt Andreas Lange, haben digitale Spiele durchaus das Potenzial, positiv auf gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen einzuwirken: zum Beispiel, indem sie eine Alternative zu passivem Konsum aufzeigen. Gleichzeitig, auch das müsse man bedenken, entsprechen einige der Genres der Logik einer kapitalistischen Leistungsgesellschaft. „Computer haben das Quantifizieren des Spielens perfektioniert.“ Schließlich trage jedes Computerspiel, so Lange, den Mechanismus in sich, Handlungen exakt messbar zu machen. Und arbeite damit im Grunde einem gesellschaftlichen Trend zu, unser Dasein zunehmend unter ökonomischen Gesichtspunkten zu beurteilen: Welche Techniken muss ich erlernen, welche Apps stehen mir zur Verfügung, um maximal gesund, glücklich und erfolgreich zu werden?

Als Pac-Man-Champion Bill Mitchell nach seinem Weltrekord gefragt wurde, was er nun vorhabe, soll er gesagt haben, er plane eine Karriere als Show-Spieler in Las Vegas. Ganz ohne den enormen Druck eines Spiele-Highscores.