Archive of Youth Cultures “Youth cultures are always just as political as one another”

Archive of Youth Cultures
Archive of Youth Cultures | Photo (detail): Anna Mayrhauser

A visit to the Archive of Youth Cultures in Berlin has been helping to overcome prejudices for 15 years.

“Young people like our Bravo archive best” says Nicola Wolf and laughs. There is indeed a copy of teen magazine Bravo dated 1981 on a table in the library. It is open where else but at the Dr. Sommer page, which is dedicated to the themes of love and sexuality. Back then, the youngsters were asking Dr. Jochen their questions. These included: “Help, all my friends are doing drugs”, but also “I only got a five at school, and I’m being punished twice”.

Teenagers, media and clichés

Archiv der JugendkulturenNicola Wolf is 30 years old and is responsible for press relations and the “Eigenregie” (Autonomy) media project, for which young people interview people who lived through that era. As is the case with most of the archive staff, Nicola Wolf feels close to a youth culture as well. In her case it is the graffiti scene.

The Archive of Youth Cultures is located on the site of a former beer factory in Kreuzberg, and celebrated its 15th anniversary in summer 2013. In the 1990s there was a huge lack of knowledge in the media where the theme of youth cultures was concerned, explains Nicola Wolf. It was partly because of this impulse that the archive was founded. They wanted to counter clichés with material and communication.

Smash the state and don’t forget to masturbate

There’s plenty of that these days. The well-sorted fanzine archive – fanzines are magazines that are made by fans for fans – seems at first glance to specialise in punk, there are so many racks filled with files marked with things like “Punk from Portugal”, “Punk from Austria”, “Punk from the Philippines”. Don’t be fooled though. You can also find fanzines on the subject of all things Gothic, true to style in black files, graffiti, skateboarding or the gay scene. “Smash the state and don’t forget to masturbate”, is written on the back of a French Riot Grrrl fanzine. There is a copy of the legendary punk fanzine The Ostrich lying on the table. Stacked in the library there are thousands of books, 40 000 fanzines, newspapers, magazines, 600 masters’ and degree theses, 7500 CDs, LPs, MCs, DVDs, videos, ten thousand newspaper articles and flyers.

Archiv der Jugendkulturen; Foto: Anna MayrhauserGabriele Rohmann runs the Archive of Youth Cultures today. She has worked there since it first started: “In general I am under the impression that today’s media do not portray young people in such an over-simplified way anymore.” 15 years ago for instance it was still common to find Neonazis equated with skinheads in the media, which was however partly to do with the structures in the right-wing scene in those days. Today people have a more differentiated view.

Hip-hoppers and cosplayers

Is there any point categorising youth cultures any more these days? “The scenes today have become more open and permeable. But if you ask people in the scenes, they identify pretty strongly with them” explains Gabriele Rohmann. Hip-hop continues to be the number one youth culture in German-speaking countries, newer trends are the cosplayers from Japan, who found their way to Europe via Myspace.

Gabi Rohmann has a low opinion of generalisations, for instance the perpetual discussion about the apolitical nature of youth: “That’s always the perception held by old people looking at younger ones. Younger people do not conform to their ideal image and they make a fuss.” Nicola Wolf also thinks: “Youth cultures are actually always just as political as one another.”

Archiv der Jugendkulturen „Jugendkulturen sind immer gleich politisch“

Archiv der Jugendkulturen
Archiv der Jugendkulturen | Foto (Ausschnitt): Anna Mayrhauser

Ein Besuch im Archiv der Jugendkulturen in Berlin hilft seit 15 Jahren über Vorurteile hinweg.

„Am beliebtesten bei den Jugendlichen ist unser Bravo-Archiv“, erzählt Nicola Wolf und lacht. Tatsächlich liegt auf einem Tisch in der Bibliothek eine Ausgabe der Jugendzeitschrift Bravo von 1981. Aufgeschlagen ist, wie könnte es anders sein, die „Dr. Sommer“-Seite, die sich Fragen rund um die Themen Liebe und Sexualität widmet. Damals stellten die Jugendlichen ihre Fragen gerade an Dr. Jochen. „Hilfe, alle in meiner Gruppe fixen“, aber auch „Für meine Note fünf werde ich doppelt bestraft“, heißt es da.

Jugend, Medien und Klischees

Archiv der JugendkulturenNicola Wolf ist 30 Jahre alt und kümmert sich beim Archiv der Jugendkulturen in Berlin um die Pressearbeit und das Medienprojekt „Eigenregie“, für das Jugendliche Zeitzeugen interviewen. Wie die meisten Mitarbeiter des Archivs fühlt sich auch Nicola Wolf einer Jugendkultur nah. In ihrem Fall ist es die Graffiti-Szene.

Untergebracht auf dem Gelände einer ehemaligen Bierfabrik in Kreuzberg feierte das Archiv der Jugendkulturen im Sommer 2013 seinen 15. Geburtstag. In den 1990er-Jahren habe es in den Medien das Thema Jugendkulturen betreffend viel Unwissen gegeben, erklärt Nicola Wolf. Auch aus diesem Impuls heraus wurde das Archiv gegründet. Klischees wollte man mit Material und Kommunikation entgegenkommen.

Smash the state and don’t forget to masturbate

Davon gibt es heute jede Menge. Das gut sortierte Fanzine-Archiv – Fanzines sind Magazine, die von Fans für Fans gemacht werden – wirkt auf den ersten Blick, als hätte es sich auf Punk spezialisiert, so viele Stellagen sind mit Ordnern gefüllt, auf denen Dinge vermerkt sind wie „Punk aus Portugal“, „Punk aus Österreich“, „Punk aus den Philippinen“. Aber das täuscht. Auch Fanzines zu Gothic, stilecht in schwarzen Ordnern, Graffiti, Skatebording oder aus der queeren Szene sind zu finden. „Smash the state and don’t forget to masturbate“, steht da auf der Rückseite eines französischen Riot-Grrrl-Fanzine. Ein Exemplar des legendären Punk-Fanzines The Ostrich liegt auf dem Tisch. In der Bibliothek stapeln sich tausende Bücher, 40.000 Fanzines, Zeitungen, Zeitschriften, 600 Magister- und Diplomarbeiten, 7.500 CDs, LPs, MCs, DVDs, Videos, zehntausende Zeitungsartikel und Flyer.

Archiv der Jugendkulturen; Foto: Anna MayrhauserGabriele Rohmann leitet heute das Archiv der Jugendkulturen. Sie war schon bei der Gründung dabei: „Generell habe ich den Eindruck, dass Medien heute nicht mehr ganz so plakativ im Umgang mit Jugendkulturen sind.“ Vor 15 Jahren etwa sei die Gleichsetzung von Neonazis und Skinheads in den Medien noch üblich gewesen, was aber auch mit den damaligen Strukturen in der rechten Szene zusammenhänge. Heute werde das differenzierter gesehen.

Hip-Hopper und Cosplayer

Hat es denn heute eigentlich noch Sinn, Jugendkulturen zu kategorisieren? „Die Szenen sind heute offener und durchlässiger geworden. Wenn man die Leute aus den Szenen fragt, bekennen die sich aber schon stark dazu“ erklärt Gabriele Rohmann. Hip-Hop ist nach wie vor die Jugendkultur Nummer eins im deutschsprachigen Raum, neuere Trends sind die Cosplayer aus Japan, die ihren Weg über Myspace nach Europa gefunden haben.

Von Verallgemeinerungen, wie zum Beispiel der immer wiederkehrenden Rede von der unpolitischen Jugend, hält Gabi Rohmann nichts: „Das ist immer die Wahrnehmung der Älteren, die auf die Jüngeren gucken. Dann entsprechen die Jüngeren nicht ihrem Idealbild und es wird gemeckert.“ Und auch Nicola Wolf findet: „Jugendkulturen sind eigentlich immer gleich politisch.“