Cologne’s corner bars Hey Cologne, you’re a feeling

“Hey Kölle – Du bes e Jeföhl” (“Hey Cologne, you’re a feeling”) is the title of a song by the Cologne band Höhner (which means “Chickens”). But what exactly is this Cologne feeling?

Well, the best way to find out is actually a Cologne pub crawl, to go where locals drink their famous Kölsch beer - “the only language you can drink”, as they say here in Cologne, for Kölsch means both the beer and the Cologne dialect. After a Kölsch, people warm to the conversation and you learn a great deal about the city and its denizens. This photo gallery will give you an impression of what Cologne is about, what its inhabitants klönen (= talk about), and what its bars look like on the inside.
 
  • Early afternoon at the Brodmühler: Four ladies treat themselves to their first Kölsch of the day. The one sitting in the middle is Monika, who works in a nearby butcher’s shop. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    Early afternoon at the Brodmühler: Four ladies treat themselves to their first Kölsch of the day. The one sitting in the middle is Monika, who works in a nearby butcher’s shop.
  • For three years now Karoline Köckeritz has been a chef at Linkewitz, which she says is the oldest bar in the city’s Niehl district. On an ordinary Saturday, Linkewitz patrons will consume around 600 glasses of Kölsch. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    For three years now Karoline Köckeritz has been a chef at Linkewitz, which she says is the oldest bar in the city’s Niehl district. On an ordinary Saturday, Linkewitz patrons will consume around 600 glasses of Kölsch.
  • Tommy, a regular patron, is delighted to see Ossi (left) smiling behind the bar at the Linkewitz again. Because the bartender was ill for a long time. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    Tommy, a regular patron, is delighted to see Ossi (left) smiling behind the bar at the Linkewitz again. Because the bartender was ill for a long time.
  • Lukas, as well as being a guitarist and singer in the carnival band CABB, is the youngest among the regulars at the Linkewitz. In case you were wondering, CABB stands for "Club für Anonyme und bekennende Bekloppte", i.e. “Club for Anonymous and Self-Avowed Loons”. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    Lukas, as well as being a guitarist and singer in the carnival band CABB, is the youngest among the regulars at the Linkewitz. In case you were wondering, CABB stands for "Club für Anonyme und bekennende Bekloppte", i.e. “Club for Anonymous and Self-Avowed Loons”.
  • Angelika and Peter at the Goldene Kappes (“Golden Cabbage”). They’ve known each other since 1975 and paired off 13 years ago during a reunion with a bunch of childhood friends. "Now you aren’t going to cut out on me again,” he said to her at the time. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    Angelika and Peter at the Goldene Kappes (“Golden Cabbage”). They’ve known each other since 1975 and paired off 13 years ago during a reunion with a bunch of childhood friends. "Now you aren’t going to cut out on me again,” he said to her at the time.
  • Bei Oma Kleinmann (“Grandma Kleinmann’s”) is named after its late landlady, Paula Kleinmann, who started up this neighbourhood bar in the Zülpicher Strasse with her husband Willi way back in 1949. At the age of 87 she was still frying Schnitzel here. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    Bei Oma Kleinmann (“Grandma Kleinmann’s”) is named after its late landlady, Paula Kleinmann, who started up this neighbourhood bar in the Zülpicher Strasse with her husband Willi way back in 1949. At the age of 87 she was still frying Schnitzel here.
  • Jona has been tending Bei Oma Kleinmann’s bar for six years now. He knew Paula Kleinemann personally. She loved to watch boxing on TV, he recalls. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    Jona has been tending Bei Oma Kleinmann’s bar for six years now. He knew Paula Kleinemann personally. She loved to watch boxing on TV, he recalls.
  • Jakob, Paula Kleinmann’s stepson, is celebrating with his wife Luise their 60th anniversary tonight. That’s quite a long time to be married, but Bei Oma Kleinmann have been selling Schnitzel and Kölsch on the premises for even longer than that. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    Jakob, Paula Kleinmann’s stepson, is celebrating with his wife Luise their 60th anniversary tonight. That’s quite a long time to be married, but Bei Oma Kleinmann have been selling Schnitzel and Kölsch on the premises for even longer than that.
  • In 2009, Grandma Kleinmann died at the age of 95. The pictures hanging on the walls still give a sense of the lively life and times of Paula Kleinmann. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    In 2009, Grandma Kleinmann died at the age of 95. The pictures hanging on the walls still give a sense of the lively life and times of Paula Kleinmann.
  • A collector of deposit bottles in front of the Stiefel, once a jazz club, later a punk rock bar. Its glory days are history, say the patrons at Oma Kleinmann. Still, the Stiefel is known throughout Cologne. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    A collector of deposit bottles in front of the Stiefel, once a jazz club, later a punk rock bar. Its glory days are history, say the patrons at Oma Kleinmann. Still, the Stiefel is known throughout Cologne.
  • A bachelorette party in Cologne’s Belgian Quarter. Where’s the bride? She’s already gone home, she was exhausted, say her girlfriends. The young man in their midst, they say, is the stripper. Whether that’s true is hard to say at this late hour and after so many drinks. Photo: Franziska von Malsen
    A bachelorette party in Cologne’s Belgian Quarter. Where’s the bride? She’s already gone home, she was exhausted, say her girlfriends. The young man in their midst, they say, is the stripper. Whether that’s true is hard to say at this late hour and after so many drinks.

Eckkneipen in Köln Hey Kölle – Du bes e Jeföhl

„Hey Kölle – Du bes e Jeföhl“ – Hey Köln, du bist ein Gefühl – heißt ein Lied der Kölner Band Höhner. Aber was macht es aus, das Kölsche Lebensgefühl? Das kann man am besten bei einem Streifzug durch die Kneipen der Stadt herausfinden.

Dort bestellen die Kölner ihr berühmtes Bier, das Kölsch, „die einzige Sprache, die man trinken kann“, wie der Kölner sagt. Denn Kölsch bezeichnet beides: das Bier und den Kölner Dialekt. Die Fotogalerie gibt einen Eindruck, wie Kölner Kneipen von innen aussehen und worüber die Gäste plaudern – oder klönen, wie der Kölner sagt.
 
  •  Am frühen Nachmittag im Brodmühler: Hier gönnen sich vier Damen das erste Kölsch des Tages. In der Mitte sitzt Monika, die in der Nähe in einer Metzgerei arbeitet. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Am frühen Nachmittag im Brodmühler: Hier gönnen sich vier Damen das erste Kölsch des Tages. In der Mitte sitzt Monika, die in der Nähe in einer Metzgerei arbeitet.
  • Karoline Köckeritz ist seit drei Jahren Chefin im Linkewitz, der nach eigenen Angaben ältesten Kneipe im Kölner Stadtviertel Niehl. An einem typischen Samstag gehen hier um die 600 Gläser Kölsch über den Tresen. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Karoline Köckeritz ist seit drei Jahren Chefin im Linkewitz, der nach eigenen Angaben ältesten Kneipe im Kölner Stadtviertel Niehl. An einem typischen Samstag gehen hier um die 600 Gläser Kölsch über den Tresen.
  • Stammgast Tommy (Mitte) ist froh, dass Kneipenmitarbeiter Ossi (links) heute wieder lachend im Linkewitz steht. Denn Ossi war lange krank. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Stammgast Tommy (Mitte) ist froh, dass Kneipenmitarbeiter Ossi (links) heute wieder lachend im Linkewitz steht. Denn Ossi war lange krank.
  • Lukas ist der jüngste Stammgast im Linkewitz. Der Student ist Gitarrist und Sänger der Karnevalsband CABB. Die Abkürzung steht ironisch für „Club für Anonyme und Bekennende Bekloppte“. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Lukas ist der jüngste Stammgast im Linkewitz. Der Student ist Gitarrist und Sänger der Karnevalsband CABB. Die Abkürzung steht ironisch für „Club für Anonyme und Bekennende Bekloppte“.
  • Angelika und Peter im Goldene Kappes, auf Hochdeutsch Goldener Kohl. Seit 1975 kennen sich die beiden schon, ein Paar wurden sie vor 13 Jahren bei einem Wiedersehen mit Jugendfreunden. „Jetzt hauste mir nicht mehr ab“, hat er zu ihr gesagt. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Angelika und Peter im Goldene Kappes, auf Hochdeutsch Goldener Kohl. Seit 1975 kennen sich die beiden schon, ein Paar wurden sie vor 13 Jahren bei einem Wiedersehen mit Jugendfreunden. „Jetzt hauste mir nicht mehr ab“, hat er zu ihr gesagt.
  • Das Lokal Bei Oma Kleinmann ist nach seiner ehemaligen Wirtin Paula Kleinmann benannt, die das Ecklokal 1949 mit ihrem Ehemann Willi aufbaute. Sie briet hier noch mit 87 Jahren Schnitzel, für die das Lokal in der Zülpicher Straße noch heute bekannt ist. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Das Lokal Bei Oma Kleinmann ist nach seiner ehemaligen Wirtin Paula Kleinmann benannt, die das Ecklokal 1949 mit ihrem Ehemann Willi aufbaute. Sie briet hier noch mit 87 Jahren Schnitzel, für die das Lokal in der Zülpicher Straße noch heute bekannt ist.
  • Jona arbeitet seit sechs Jahren als Barkeeper im Bei Oma Kleinmann. Er kannte Paula Kleinmann noch persönlich. Am liebsten schaute sie sich im Fernsehen Boxen an, erinnert er sich. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Jona arbeitet seit sechs Jahren als Barkeeper im Bei Oma Kleinmann. Er kannte Paula Kleinmann noch persönlich. Am liebsten schaute sie sich im Fernsehen Boxen an, erinnert er sich.
  • Jakob, Stiefsohn von Paula Kleinmann, feiert an diesem Abend mit seiner Frau Luise 60. Hochzeitstag. Das ist eine lange Zeit, aber noch länger werden im Bei Oma Kleinmann schon Schnitzel und Kölsch verkauft. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Jakob, Stiefsohn von Paula Kleinmann, feiert an diesem Abend mit seiner Frau Luise 60. Hochzeitstag. Das ist eine lange Zeit, aber noch länger werden im Bei Oma Kleinmann schon Schnitzel und Kölsch verkauft.
  • Im Jahr 2009 starb Oma Kleinmann mit 95 Jahren. Auf den Fotos an den Wänden kann man sich bis heute einen Eindruck vom beschwingten Leben der Paula Kleinmann machen. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Im Jahr 2009 starb Oma Kleinmann mit 95 Jahren. Auf den Fotos an den Wänden kann man sich bis heute einen Eindruck vom beschwingten Leben der Paula Kleinmann machen.
  • Ein Pfandflaschensammler vor dem Lokal Stiefel, einst Jazzclub, später Punkrock-Kneipe. Heute sind seine besten Tage vorbei, sagen jedenfalls die Gäste vom Oma Kleinmann, das direkt gegenüber liegt. Trotzdem ist der Stiefel in ganz Köln bekannt. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Ein Pfandflaschensammler vor dem Lokal Stiefel, einst Jazzclub, später Punkrock-Kneipe. Heute sind seine besten Tage vorbei, sagen jedenfalls die Gäste vom Oma Kleinmann, das direkt gegenüber liegt. Trotzdem ist der Stiefel in ganz Köln bekannt.
  • Ein Junggesellinnenabschied im Belgischen Viertel. Die Braut? Die sei schon völlig erschöpft nach Hause gegangen, sagen die Freundinnen. Der junge Mann in ihrer Mitte sei ein Stripper. Ob das stimmt, ist nach so vielen Drinks schwer zu sagen. Foto: Franziska von Malsen
    Ein Junggesellinnenabschied im Belgischen Viertel. Die Braut? Die sei schon völlig erschöpft nach Hause gegangen, sagen die Freundinnen. Der junge Mann in ihrer Mitte sei ein Stripper. Ob das stimmt, ist nach so vielen Drinks schwer zu sagen.