Cycling in Münster “This bike is the best thing I have”

Münster is known as the “bicycle capital of Germany”. Bikes are used up to half a million times a day here. With a population of roughly 300,000, Münster is the German city with the largest proportion of bicycles in its transport mix. Our photos show what that means.

Students, rabbits and bicycles – all three are particularly plentiful in Münster, say city residents. The city encourages cycling with an extensive network of bike paths and a city centre that’s closed for private cars. Public transport here is mostly busses, which often end up stuck in traffic. Which is another selling point for cycling: it’s simply the fastest way to get around town.
 
  •   “I am – Ich bin” it says in this shop window in Münster’s city centre. With the bike parked right in front of it, this sums up the city’s bicycle culture in a nutshell: cycling and Münster belong together. © Franziska von Malsen
    “I am – Ich bin” it says in this shop window in Münster’s city centre. With the bike parked right in front of it, this sums up the city’s bicycle culture in a nutshell: cycling and Münster belong together.
  •   In fact there are so many bicycles in Münster that they can actually become a problem. Namely when owners fail to come and get them, e.g. some of the abandoned bikes on the lot in front of the station. Unclaimed bikes routinely have to be removed by the municipal authorities. © Franziska von Malsen
    In fact there are so many bicycles in Münster that they can actually become a problem. Namely when owners fail to come and get them, e.g. some of the abandoned bikes on the lot in front of the station. Unclaimed bikes routinely have to be removed by the municipal authorities.
  • Sebastian, a research assistant at the university, rides his bike to his favourite café, where he’s going to prep for a conference. © Franziska von Malsen
    Sebastian, a research assistant at the university, rides his bike to his favourite café, where he’s going to prep for a conference.
  •   The Münster Marathon is held every year in September, since 2002. These three helpers are measuring the distance again, as the rules of the competition require. And the best way to measure it is on two wheels. © Franziska von Malsen
    The Münster Marathon is held every year in September, since 2002. These three helpers are measuring the distance again, as the rules of the competition require. And the best way to measure it is on two wheels.
  •   Münster’s Radstation is the biggest bicycle parking facility in Germany, with slots for 3,300 bikes. Not only can you park bikes here, you can have them washed and repaired here too. © Franziska von Malsen
    Münster’s Radstation is the biggest bicycle parking facility in Germany, with slots for 3,300 bikes. Not only can you park bikes here, you can have them washed and repaired here too.
  • Football fans cycling to the stadium for the match FC Bayern versus Preussen Münster. © Franziska von Malsen
    Football fans cycling to the stadium for the match FC Bayern versus Preussen Münster.
  • Heinz is an FC Bayern fan. When the Bavarians take on Münster, however, naturally he’s for his home club. So Heinz has found a compromise: he wears an FC Bayern cap and an SC Preussen Münster scarf. So whoever wins, Heinz is happy. © Franziska von Malsen
    Heinz is an FC Bayern fan. When the Bavarians take on Münster, however, naturally he’s for his home club. So Heinz has found a compromise: he wears an FC Bayern cap and an SC Preussen Münster scarf. So whoever wins, Heinz is happy.
  • Luka is already a bicycle enthusiast at age 2, even if he has to make do with a walking bike for the time being. He’s on an outing to Münster Palace with his parents. © Franziska von Malsen
    Luka is already a bicycle enthusiast at age 2, even if he has to make do with a walking bike for the time being. He’s on an outing to Münster Palace with his parents.
  •   Frank has been homeless for three months, and has pared his possessions down to what he can carry on his bike. “This bike is the best thing I have,” he says. He’s just paid a visit to the St Clare convent, where he can take a shower and trim his beard. © Franziska von Malsen
    Frank has been homeless for three months, and has pared his possessions down to what he can carry on his bike. “This bike is the best thing I have,” he says. He’s just paid a visit to the St Clare convent, where he can take a shower and trim his beard.
  • A nun cycling round a roundabout at Ludgeriplatz © Franziska von Malsen
    A nun cycling round a roundabout at Ludgeriplatz

Fahrradfahren in Münster „Das Rad ist das Beste, was ich habe“

Münster gilt als Fahrradhauptstadt Deutschlands. Bis zu eine halbe Million Mal wird hier täglich das Fahrrad genutzt. Bei knapp 300.000 Einwohnern hat Münster damit den höchsten Fahrradverkehrsanteil Deutschlands. Was man sich darunter vorstellen kann, zeigen unsere Bilder.

Studenten, Kaninchen und Fahrräder – davon gibt es in Münster besonders viele, sagen die Münsteraner. Die Stadt fördert das Radeln mit gut ausgebauten Fahrradwegen und einer Innenstadt, die für private Autos gesperrt ist. Im öffentlichen Verkehr fahren hauptsächlich Busse, die allerdings oft im Stau stehen. Auch das ist ein Grund für die hohe Fahrraddichte, denn mit dem Rad ist man in Münster einfach am schnellsten unterwegs.
 
  •  „I am – Ich bin“ steht in diesem Schaufenster in der Innenstadt von Münster. Mit dem davor geparkten Fahrrad bringt es die Münsteraner Fahrradkultur auf den Punkt: Fahrradfahren und Münster, das gehört untrennbar zusammen. © Franziska von Malsen
    „I am – Ich bin“ steht in diesem Schaufenster in der Innenstadt von Münster. Mit dem davor geparkten Fahrrad bringt es die Münsteraner Fahrradkultur auf den Punkt: Fahrradfahren und Münster, das gehört untrennbar zusammen.
  • In Münster gibt es so viele Fahrräder, dass sie zum Problem werden können. Dann nämlich, wenn die Besitzer sie nicht mehr abholen, wie am Stellplatz vor dem Bahnhof. Regelmäßig müssen die zurückgelassenen Fahrräder von der Stadtverwaltung entfernt werden. © Franziska von Malsen
    In Münster gibt es so viele Fahrräder, dass sie zum Problem werden können. Dann nämlich, wenn die Besitzer sie nicht mehr abholen, wie am Stellplatz vor dem Bahnhof. Regelmäßig müssen die zurückgelassenen Fahrräder von der Stadtverwaltung entfernt werden.
  • Sebastian fährt mit dem Fahrrad in sein Lieblingscafé, die Pension Schmidt. Er arbeitet als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Universität und möchte sich im Café auf eine Konferenz vorbereiten. © Franziska von Malsen
    Sebastian fährt mit dem Fahrrad in sein Lieblingscafé, die Pension Schmidt. Er arbeitet als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Universität und möchte sich im Café auf eine Konferenz vorbereiten.
  • Seit 2002 findet jährlich im September der Münster-Marathon statt. Drei Helfer messen gerade die Strecke neu aus, wie in den Richtlinien vorgegeben. Am besten geht das mit dem Fahrrad. © Franziska von Malsen
    Seit 2002 findet jährlich im September der Münster-Marathon statt. Drei Helfer messen gerade die Strecke neu aus, wie in den Richtlinien vorgegeben. Am besten geht das mit dem Fahrrad.
  •   Die Radstation ist das größte Fahrradparkhaus Deutschlands, 3.300 Räder haben hier Platz. Hier kann man Fahrräder nicht nur parken, sondern auch waschen und reparieren lassen. © Franziska von Malsen
    Die Radstation ist das größte Fahrradparkhaus Deutschlands, 3.300 Räder haben hier Platz. Hier kann man Fahrräder nicht nur parken, sondern auch waschen und reparieren lassen.
  • Fußballfans mit dem Fahrrad auf dem Weg ins Stadion. Es spielt die Mannschaft des FC Bayern gegen das Team von Preußen Münster. © Franziska von Malsen
    Fußballfans mit dem Fahrrad auf dem Weg ins Stadion. Es spielt die Mannschaft des FC Bayern gegen das Team von Preußen Münster.
  • Heinz ist Fan des FC Bayern. Aber wenn der gegen den SC Preußen Münster spielt, ist er natürlich auch für seinen Heimatverein. Daher hat sich Heinz für einen Kompromiss entschieden: Er trägt eine Mütze des FC Bayern und einen Schal des SC Preußen Münster. Und egal, wie das Spiel ausgeht: Heinz wird sich freuen. © Franziska von Malsen
    Heinz ist Fan des FC Bayern. Aber wenn der gegen den SC Preußen Münster spielt, ist er natürlich auch für seinen Heimatverein. Daher hat sich Heinz für einen Kompromiss entschieden: Er trägt eine Mütze des FC Bayern und einen Schal des SC Preußen Münster. Und egal, wie das Spiel ausgeht: Heinz wird sich freuen.
  • Luka ist mit seinen zwei Jahren schon ein begeisterter Radfahrer, und sei es nur ein Laufrad. Er macht mit seinen Eltern einen Ausflug zum Schloss in Münster. © Franziska von Malsen
    Luka ist mit seinen zwei Jahren schon ein begeisterter Radfahrer, und sei es nur ein Laufrad. Er macht mit seinen Eltern einen Ausflug zum Schloss in Münster.
  • Frank ist seit drei Monaten obdachlos und besitzt nur das, was sein Fahrrad transportieren kann. „Das Rad ist das Beste, was ich habe“, sagt er. Gerade hat er die Schwestern des Klarissen-Konvents besucht, dort kann er sich waschen und den Bart stutzen. © Franziska von Malsen
    Frank ist seit drei Monaten obdachlos und besitzt nur das, was sein Fahrrad transportieren kann. „Das Rad ist das Beste, was ich habe“, sagt er. Gerade hat er die Schwestern des Klarissen-Konvents besucht, dort kann er sich waschen und den Bart stutzen.
  • Eine Nonne im Kreisverkehr am Ludgeriplatz © Franziska von Malsen
    Eine Nonne im Kreisverkehr am Ludgeriplatz