Berlin in the 1990s The Charm of the Unfinished

Potsdamer Platz 1996
Potsdamer Platz 1996 | © Michael Lange

Grey façades, empty streets and building cranes dominating the skyline: in the 1990s Michael Lange roamed through Berlin’s centre and captured the cityscape of the post-reunification period in photographs. Some twenty years later he has visited the old places again. His pictures show how the face of Berlin has changed.

When the trained photographer Michael Lange came to Berlin from Lower Saxony in the 1990s, he was not thinking of making a pictorial documentation of the city. He wanted to study journalism and communication studies at the Free University and moved for this purpose to the district of Prenzlauer Berg. “In those days Berlin was an empty city. There were so many unused spaces and vacant houses. I was fascinated by all the grey façades and the Berlin ruins-chic”, recalls Lange.

In his free time he strolled through the city with his camera and snapped pictures of individual streets. Alexanderplatz, Schloßplatz, Friedrichstraße, Potsdamer Platz and the government district: on his rambles he passed all the places that today are fixtures on the sightseeing programme of Berlin tourists. But in his photos from the 1990s, the streets and squares are barely recognizable.

Transported back into another era

Photographer Michael Lange Photographer Michael Lange | © Michael Lange “It was already clear to me then that Berlin wouldn’t remain the same”, says Lange. After reunification, there was building everywhere: the waste land at the Potsdamer Platz would be Berlin’s most exciting construction site for years to come, the entire Spreebogen was tunnelled and the government district newly designed. In Lange’s neighbourhood too the cityscape changed. The old wooden shutters on windows disappeared, the grey façades were given fresh coats of paint in pleasant pastel colours.It was only years later, after Lange had finished his studies and had long been living in a renovated old building, that he pulled out his old contact prints. He scanned them and was amazed by his old black-and-white photos: “I felt transported back into another era. I still knew it and remembered how it felt to walk through these streets”, he says. He thought the photos might also interest other people, and put them on the Net.

At first, interest in the pictures was moderate; there were a few responses and comments. Then, at the end of 2013, the interest increased abruptly. A Berlin publisher became aware of the webpage and asked Lange to visit the depicted places again. Thus arose the idea for a book project in which Lange’s old photographs from the 1990s are contrasted with photos from today. It invites the reader on a little journey through time to a Berlin that no longer exists.

When he looks at his pictures, Michael Lange still becomes himself sometimes nostalgic: “Berlin is still interesting to me, but the city today is simply different. It’s largely lost the charm of the unfinished, but its gained new places and modern buildings”.
 
  • Brunnenstraße (1997) © Michael Lange
    Brunnenstraße (1997)

    “The Brunnenstraße was typical of Berlin back then. Simple, very similar houses without stucco façades and with white windows. You see many gaps and even the firewalls of buildings; on the ground floors there are simple shops. The whole street was virtually rearranged, like all of Berlin.”
  • Brunnenstraße (2014) © Michael Lange
    Brunnenstraße (2014)

    “Over the years the houses were renovated by investors and were then mainly used as offices. The shops are gone. The clubs further down the street in the direction of the TV tower, like ZMF and Solar Club, are also no more.”
  • Alte Schönhauser Straße (1996) © Michael Lange
    Alte Schönhauser Straße (1996)

    “In the 1990s Berlin-Mitte was still hip and the area round the Alte Schönhauser Straße was very popular with the scene. There were clubs, restaurants, cafés and small shops where you could buy unusual clothes ...
  • Alte Schönhauser Straße (2014) © Michael Lange
    Alte Schönhauser Straße (2014)

    ... then, little by little, more and more restaurants and clothing shops opened run by various chains that catered to the tourist trade. The street lost its melancholic charm.”
  • Alexanderplatz (1997) © Michael Lange
    Alexanderplatz (1997)

    “Historically, the Alexanderplatz has always been in transition. After the post-war socialist urban planning, Alex was supposed to become a square as if made from one piece. But this zeitgeist of the 1970s, the rational, the standardized, already began to be reshaped after the turnaround.”
  • Alexanderplatz (2014) © Michael Lange
    Alexanderplatz (2014)

    “The new plans by the star architect Hans Kollhoff provide for a complete redesign of Alexanderplatz, with ten new high-rises. So Alex will continue to change, and in ten years will probably again look completely different.”
  • Schloßplatz (1996) © Michael Lange
    Schloßplatz (1996)

    “During the GDR the Palace of the Republic was the seat of the People’s Parliament and at the same time a cultural department store. In the 1990s the building was shut for a long time, and was later temporarily used for tours and exhibitions. But because of high amount of asbestos in the building, it was decided after years of debate to pull the Palace down ...
  • Schloßplatz (2014) © Michael Lange
    Schloßplatz (2014)

    ... and rebuild the old City Palace, the shell of which can already be seen at the Schloßplatz. Me, I would have let the Palace of the Republic stand as an authentic reminder of history instead of erecting this mock-up castle. In the rebuilt City Palace there’s later supposed to be a room commemorating the Palace of the Republic. That’s really absurd.”
  • Friedrichstraße (1996) © Michael Lange
    Friedrichstraße (1996)

    “Before, the Friedrichstraße was a popular entertainment and nightlife street with cabarets and bars. Then it was to be converted into a bustling shopping street. At the time of the photograph the S-Bahn was just being modernized, a new Underground line was being built and the street re-paved. The first buildings of the Friedrichstadt Passagen must also have been already completed.”
  • Friedrichstraße (2014) © Michael Lange
    Friedrichstraße (2014)

    “After the street rehabilitation, Berliners had to get used again to being able to walk along the Friedrichstraße. At first there were only a few people; there were no trees and very little traffic. Today the street bustles with tourists and tour groups.”
  • Potsdamer Platz (1996) © Michael Lange
    Potsdamer Platz (1996)

    “The picture shows the Potsdamer Platz in the direction of the Beisheim Centre as a huge waste land in which nothing stood for a long time. In the background to the left, you see Hotel Esplanade, about which there was later something of a stir because the architect Helmut Jahn had parts of it jacked up and moved.”
  • Potsdamer Platz (2013) © Michael Lange
    Potsdamer Platz (2013)

    “Today fragments of the Hotel façade and the old breakfast room are integrated into the Sony Centre, which you can see to the left, with its tent roof. The Potsdamer Platz is now an urban ensemble on the American model, which is popular especially with tourists. You wonder why. It doesn’t really fit into Berlin.”
  • Pariser Platz (1998) © Michael Lange
    Pariser Platz (1998)

    “Before, the Pariser Platz at the Brandenburg Gate bordered directly on the Wall and was actually completely cleared. Soon after the turnaround it was already clear that here were going to be quality buildings and the square was to become a visiting card for Berlin.”
  • Pariser Platz (2014) © Michael Lange
    Pariser Platz (2014)

    “Yet instead the place has become an architectural potpourri. If you compare the pictures, you soon notice how swiftly the square has changed. Events and demonstrations are constantly taking place here; the square is often closed off, so it took me quite a few tries before I could get a photograph of it.”
  • Government District (1999) © Michael Lange
    Government District (1999)

    “After a narrow majority of the Bundestag decided to make Berlin the new capital, parliament and government moved from Bonn to Berlin in 1999. At this point the Reichstag had been freshly renovated, but many other parts of the government district were still under construction.”
  • Government District (2014) © Michael Lange
    Government District (2014)

    “Today the Marie-Elisabeth Luders House to the left and the Paul Löbe House to the right are completed. The quarter seems very modern with its large concrete and glass façades, and runs like a “Federal strip” south to the Friedrichstraße. The bridges across the Spree create the impression of a symbolic link between East and West. The silhouette of constructions cranes, typical of Berlin for long time, is now gone.”

Berlin in den 1990er-Jahren Der Charme des Unfertigen

Potsdamer Platz 1996
Potsdamer Platz 1996 | © Michael Lange

Graue Fassaden, leere Straßen und Baukräne am Himmel: Michael Lange ist in den 1990er-Jahren durch Berlins Mitte gestreift und hat das Stadtbild der Nachwendezeit fotografisch festgehalten. Knapp 20 Jahre später hat er die alten Orte wieder aufgesucht. Seine Bilder zeigen, wie sich Berlins Gesicht gewandelt hat.

Als der ausgebildete Fotograf Michael Lange Anfang der 1990er-Jahre aus Niedersachsen nach Berlin kam, hatte er nicht die Idee, die Stadt bildlich zu dokumentieren. Er wollte Publizistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Freien Universität studieren und zog dafür in den Bezirk Prenzlauer Berg. „Berlin war damals einfach eine leere Stadt. Es gab so viele ungenutzte Räume und leerstehende Häuser. Ich war fasziniert von all diesen grauen Fassaden und dem Berliner Ruinen-Chic“, erinnert sich Lange.

In seiner freien Zeit flanierte er mit seiner Kamera durch die Stadt und lichtete die Straßenzüge ab. Alexanderplatz, Schloßplatz, Friedrichstraße, Potsdamer Platz oder das Regierungsviertel: Auf seinen Streifzügen kam er an all den Orten vorbei, die heute bei Berlin-Touristen zum festen Programm ihrer Stadtbesichtigungen gehören. Doch auf seinen Bildern aus den Neunzigerjahren sind die Straßen und Plätze kaum mehr wiederzuerkennen.

In eine andere Epoche zurückversetzt

Fotograf Michael Lange Fotograf Michael Lange | © Michael Lange „Mir war damals schon klar, dass Berlin nicht so bleiben wird“, sagt Lange heute. Überall wurde nach der Wiedervereinigung gebaut: Die Brache am Potsdamer Platz wurde für Jahre zu einer der spannendsten Baustellen Berlins, der gesamte Spreebogen wurde untertunnelt und das Regierungsviertel neugestaltet. Auch in Langes direkter Nachbarschaft veränderte sich das Stadtbild. Die alten Holzjalousien an den Fenstern verschwanden, die grauen Fassaden bekamen freundliche Anstriche in Pastellfarben.Erst Jahre später, Michael Lange hat sein Studium beendet und wohnt längst in einem sanierten Altbau, holte er die alten Kontaktabzüge hervor. Er scannte sie ein und war erstaunt über seine eigenen Schwarz-Weiß-Aufnahmen: „Ich fühlte mich zurückversetzt in eine ganz andere Epoche. Ich kannte das alles ja noch und wusste, wie es sich angefühlt hat, durch diese Straßen zu gehen“, erzählt Lange. Er glaubt, dass sich auch andere für die Fotografien interessieren könnten und stellte sie ins Netz.

Anfangs war das Interesse verhalten, es gab ein paar Reaktionen und Kommentare auf seine Bilder. Ende 2013 stieg das Interesse schlagartig. Ein Berliner Verlag wurde auf seine Website aufmerksam und bat ihn, die Orte von einst erneut aufzusuchen. So entstand die Idee für ein Buchprojekt, in dem Langes alten Fotografien aus den 1990er-Jahren Aufnahmen von heute gegenüberstehen. Dem Leser bietet sich so eine kleine Zeitreise in ein Berlin, das es längst nicht mehr gibt.

Wenn er seine Bilder sieht, wird Michael Lange selbst manchmal nostalgisch: „Berlin ist für mich immer noch interessant, aber die Stadt ist heute einfach anders. Sie hat ihren Charme des Unfertigen größtenteils verloren, aber neue Plätze und moderne Gebäude hinzugewonnen.“
 
  • Brunnenstraße (1997) © Michael Lange
    Brunnenstraße (1997)

    „Die Brunnenstraße war typisch für das Berlin der damaligen Zeit. Einfache, sich stark ähnelnde Häuser ohne Stuckfassaden und mit weißen Fenstern. Man sieht viele Lücken und noch die Brandwände der Gebäude, in denen sich im Erdgeschoss einfache Geschäfte befanden. Die ganze Straße wurde quasi umgeräumt, wie ganz Berlin auch.“
  • Brunnenstraße (2014) © Michael Lange
    Brunnenstraße (2014)

    „Die Häuser sind über die Jahre von Investoren saniert worden und werden hauptsächlich als Büros genutzt. Die Geschäfte sind verschwunden. Auch die Clubs wie das ZMF oder der Solar Club weiter die Straße runter in Richtung Fernsehturm gibt es nicht mehr.“
  • Alte Schönhauser Straße (1996) © Michael Lange
    Alte Schönhauser Straße (1996)

    „In den Neunzigerjahren war Berlin-Mitte noch angesagt und die Gegend um die Alte Schönhauser Straße in der Szene sehr beliebt. Hier gab es Clubs, Restaurants und Cafés und kleine Läden, in denen man außergewöhnliche Klamotten kaufen konnte, doch ...“
  • Alte Schönhauser Straße (2014) © Michael Lange
    Alte Schönhauser Straße (2014)

    „... nach und nach haben mehr Kleidungsgeschäfte verschiedener Ketten und Restaurants eröffnet, die sich an ein touristisches Publikum wenden. Dadurch ist auch der morbide Charme der Straße verloren gegangen.“
  • Alexanderplatz (1997) © Michael Lange
    Alexanderplatz (1997)

    „Der Alexanderplatz war historisch immer im Umbruch. Nach den sozialistischen Städtebauplänen nach dem Krieg sollte aus dem Alex ein Platz wie aus einem Guss werden. Doch dieser Zeitgeist vor allem der Siebzigerjahre – das Rationale, das Standardisierte – begann schon nach der Wende überformt zu werden.“
  • Alexanderplatz (2014) © Michael Lange
    Alexanderplatz (2014)

    „Die neuen Pläne von Star-Architekt Hans Kollhoff sehen eine völlige Umgestaltung des Alexanderplatzes vor, zehn neue Hochhäuser sollen hier mal stehen. Der Alex wird sich also weiter wandeln und in zehn Jahren wahrscheinlich wieder völlig anders aussehen.“
  • Schloßplatz (1996) © Michael Lange
    Schloßplatz (1996)

    „Der Palast der Republik war zu DDR-Zeiten Sitz der Volkskammer und gleichzeitig ein Kulturkaufhaus. In den Neunzigerjahren war das Gebäude lange Zeit geschlossen, später wurde es für Führungen und Ausstellungen temporär genutzt. Doch aufgrund seiner hohen Asbestbelastung entschied die Politik nach jahrelangen Debatten, den Palast abzureißen und ...“
  • Schloßplatz (2014) © Michael Lange
    Schloßplatz (2014)

    „... das alte Stadtschloss wieder aufzubauen, dessen Rohbau heute am Schloßplatz schon zu sehen ist. Ich persönlich hätte den Palast als authentisches Zeichen der Geschichte stehen lassen, anstatt diese Schlossattrappe zu errichten. Im Stadtschloss selbst soll später einmal ein Raum vorzufinden sein, in dem an den Palast der Republik erinnert werden soll. Das ist doch absurd.“
  • Friedrichstraße (1996) © Michael Lange
    Friedrichstraße (1996)

    „Früher war die Friedrichstraße eine beliebte Unterhaltungs- und Ausgehstraße mit Cabarets und Bars. Sie sollte jedoch zu einer belebten Einkaufsstraße umgewandelt werden. Zum Zeitpunkt der Aufnahme wurde gerade die S-Bahn modernisiert, eine neue U-Bahnlinie gebaut und die Straße neu asphaltiert. Auch die ersten Gebäude der Friedrichstadtpassagen müssten schon fertig gewesen sein.“
  • Friedrichstraße (2014) © Michael Lange
    Friedrichstraße (2014)

    „Nach der Straßensanierung mussten sich die Berliner erst einmal daran gewöhnen, dass sie hier wieder langlaufen konnten. Es waren am Anfang kaum Menschen da, es gab keine Bäume und nur sehr wenig Autoverkehr. Und heute tummeln sich hier die Touristen und Reisegruppen.“
  • Potsdamer Platz (1996) © Michael Lange
    Potsdamer Platz (1996)

    „Das Bild zeigt den Potsdamer Platz in Richtung Beisheim Center als große Brache, auf der lange Zeit gar nichts stand. Im Hintergrund links sieht man das Hotel Esplanade, das später für Aufsehen sorgte, denn der Architekt Helmut Jahn ließ Teile des Hotels aufbocken und verschieben.“
  • Potsdamer Platz (2013) © Michael Lange
    Potsdamer Platz (2013)

    „Heute sind Fassadenfragmente des Hotels und der alte Frühstückssaal im Sony-Center integriert, das mit seinem Zeltdach hinten links zu sehen ist. Der Potsdamer Platz vereint heute ein städtebauliches Ensemble nach amerikanischem Vorbild, das vor allem bei Touristen beliebt ist – und ich frage mich immer, warum eigentlich. Es passt nicht wirklich zu Berlin.“
  • Pariser Platz (1998) © Michael Lange
    Pariser Platz (1998)

    Pariser Platz (1998) „Der Pariser Platz am Brandenburger Tor lag früher direkt an der Mauer und war eigentlich komplett abgeräumt. Schon früh nach der Wende war klar, dass hier qualitätsvoll gebaut und der Platz zu einer Visitenkarte für Berlin werden sollte.“
  • Pariser Platz (2014) © Michael Lange
    Pariser Platz (2014)

    „Trotzdem ist hier eher ein architektonisches Potpourri entstanden. Wenn man die Aufnahmen vergleicht, fällt schnell auf, wie stark der Platz sich gewandelt hat. Ständig sind hier Veranstaltungen oder Demonstrationen, häufig ist der Platz gesperrt, so dass ich sehr viele Anläufe gebraucht habe, um den Platz noch mal zu fotografieren.“
  • Regierungsviertel (1999) © Michael Lange
    Regierungsviertel (1999)

    „Nachdem nur mit knapper Mehrheit die Entscheidung für Berlin als Hauptstadt fiel, zogen der Bundestag und die Regierung 1999 von Bonn nach Berlin. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war zwar der Reichstag frisch renoviert, aber viele Teile des Regierungsviertel noch im Bau.“
  • Regierungsviertel (2014) © Michael Lange
    Regierungsviertel (2014)

    „Heute sind links das Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus und rechts das Paul-Löbe-Haus fertiggestellt. Das Viertel wirkt mit seinen großen Beton- und Glasfassaden sehr modern und zieht sich als ‚Band des des Bundes‘ bis zur Friedrichstraße. Durch die Brücken über die Spree entsteht der Eindruck einer symbolischen Verbindung zwischen Ost und West. Die für Berlin lange Zeit typischen Baukran-Silhouette ist verschwunden.“