Craft Beer More than Amber Nectar

A flavourful new taste
Photo (detail): © Brent Hofacker - Fotolia.com

For 500 years one of the world’s first traditional food ordinances has been defining beer culture in Germany. But this is changing - Craft Beer has boldly ventured onto the scene.

2016 marks the 500th birthday of what is quintessentially a German institution - the Reinheitsgebot. This was a law passed on April 23, 1516, to guarantee the purity of beer and it stipulated which things could go into the brewing of German beer and which things couldn’t. The only ingredients it actually allowed were water, barley and hops, and not any of the other plants and herbs that medieval brewers often added.

The old Reinheitsgebot gave way to today’s similarly stringent Provisional Beer Law, which also states what is permitted in German beer. The fact, however, that there are still a lot of brewers using the Reinheitsgebot for advertising purposes can be put down to the aura still emanating from the historic regulation. The terms Reinheit (purity) and Gebot (commandment) imply that German beer is pure beyond any shadow of a doubt and a source of national pride. While German brewers, over the centuries, comfortably acquiesced to the basic ingredients, approaches in other countries were more experimental, for example, in the USA, where, in the late 1970s, a movement emerged that took up the cause of redefining the beverage. Enthusiasts who had had enough of run-of-the-mill beers started brewing their first concoctions in their own cellars and later set up the first microbreweries. Their beer, Craft Beer, was characterized above all by its variety of flavours and the brewers’ urge to experiment and it was this that brought about some unusual creations containing such things as pumpkin, orange peel or chocolate.

The thirst for new and old tastes

Embedded Code

Craft Beer – the new brewers (Youtube.com)

A lot of people in the country where the Reinheitsgebot has become part of the national heritage do not, however, like to hear about such creations. This tradition, which goes back hundreds of years, sometimes obscures the fact that the beer market in Germany became more and more concentrated and that quite a lot of beers have disappeared due to the fact that many breweries were forced to close down.

Sebastian Sauer, a member of the younger generation of brewers, is one of the pioneers who is advocating a new beer culture in Germany. He grew up in the area of Aachen/Aix-la-Chapelle, near Belgium and Holland. Sebastian Sauer was fascinated by the diversity of beer tastes on the other side of the border, especially the beer-cafe culture in Belgium with its selection of glasses and beers that go with different dishes. Sauer, whose surname means sour in English, is, as his name implies, particularly impressed by beers with a sour taste. He began to delve deeper into the matter. He first founded a company for the distribution of specialty beers and then, with a few friends, finally started to brew himself. The main focus of his project entitled Freigeist Bierkultur (Free-Spirit Beer Culture) is, above all, on beer flavours that are dying out: “One of the reasons why I started to brew was that in 2009 the Berliner Weisse (Berlin wheat beer) brewery, one of the last two breweries that still produce beer in the traditional way, closed down. So then I said to myself – If all the others are stopping, then it’s about time I started,” said Sauer!

A grassroots movement emerges

Embedded Code

Reportage: Craft Beer in south-west Germany (Youtube.com)

The young brewer is a good example of the endeavours of the German Craft Beer Movement that for several years has been exploring the whole spectrum of beer flavours. These endeavours include experimenting with beer, taking up temporary work as an itinerant brewer in an established brewery to implement their own ideas or setting up their own breweries – all driven by the idea of creating a flavourful new taste or reviving old beers. In the Germany of bygone days there was a whole of variety of beers, for example, a sour beer that contained salt and coriander called Gose, and it is beers like this that these quirky Craft Beer brewers have succeeded in putting back on the market.

For these new beer enthusiasts the emphasis is on brewing-it-yourself in a circle of like-minded people, little value is placed on large gatherings like conventions. Craft Beer in Germany is a grassroots movement that defines itself not as part of the already existing beer infrastructure: “It's all about trying things out and devoting ourselves to taste, no matter how much it costs, and producing exactly what the big breweries do not produce”, says Sauer.

A new German beer culture

Sauer, however, feels that consumers also have an obligation: “In Germany, it is still too often the case that people drive an expensive car and then shop at a discount store.” Nevertheless a rethink has taken place in Germany over the last few years. When it comes to food, people these days put more and more value on the quality of raw ingredients, on whether the goods have been produced regionally and on having confidence in the manufacturer. This culture of epicurean enjoyment is slowly starting to pervade the realm of beer. Craft-Beer Festivals are held at regular intervals in the major cities of Germany and every year new brewers bring exciting beers onto the market.

Although German brewers of Craft Beer have so far not managed to revolutionise the market in such a big way as elsewhere, they have in fact had an impact beyond the domain of the trendy in-bars. The increased interest of consumers in the gustatory diversity of beer has most of all made the big breweries sit up and take notice and prompted them to include more unusual varieties in their program. In well-stocked supermarkets there are now more refrigerated display cases with exquisite beer specialties. Yet Craft Beer is still a niche product and Sebastian Sauer's beer is currently more readily available in New York than in Germany. The young beer-brewing specialist believes that specialty beers are facing a bright future in Germany. The reason – Craft Beer arouses people’s spirit of discovery, heightens their sense of taste, and thus creates an awareness of a cultural asset that has been around for centuries – be it with a Reinheitsgebot or not.
 

Discuss this with us

Craft beer is the latest trend. Will it prevail? What is your favourite beer? Share with us your preferences.

Craft Beer Mehr als Gerstensaft

Aromatischer neuer Geschmack
Foto (Ausschnitt): © Brent Hofacker - Fotolia.com

Seit mehr als 500 Jahren bestimmt eine der ersten überlieferten Lebensmittelverordnungen der Welt die Bierkultur in Deutschland. Doch das ändert sich gerade.

2016 feierte eine urdeutsche Institution ihren 500. Geburtstag: das Reinheitsgebot. Am 23. April 1516 legte diese Verordnung fest, was alles in ein deutsches Bier darf – und was nicht. Erlaubt waren lediglich Wasser, Gerste und Hopfen, nicht aber andere Pflanzen und Kräuter, die mittelalterliche Brauer oft zusetzten – außerhalb Bayerns und Baden-Württembergs sogar bis 1906.

An das alte Reinheitsgebot angelehnt, gibt heute das ähnlich strenge „Vorläufige Biergesetz“ vor, was in deutschem Bier erlaubt ist. Dass noch immer viele Brauer mit dem Reinheitsgebot werben, liegt am Nimbus der historischen Verordnung: Die Begriffe Reinheit und Gebot beschwören das deutsche Bier als über jeden Zweifel erhaben und Quelle nationalen Stolzes. Während die heimischen Brauer es sich über die Jahrhunderte selbstgewiss auf den Grundzutaten gemütlich machten, war man anderswo experimentierfreudiger: So entstand etwa in den USA ab den späten 1970er-Jahren eine Bewegung, die sich die Neuentdeckung des Getränks auf die Fahnen schrieb. Enthusiasten, die genug hatten von Nullachtfünfzehn-Bieren, setzten die ersten Sude im eigenen Keller an und gründeten später die ersten Microbreweries, Mikrobrauereien. Ihr handgemachtes Craft Beer zeichnet sich vor allem durch seine geschmackliche Vielfalt und die Experimentierfreudigkeit der Brauer aus, die auch auf ausgefallene Kreationen mit Zusatz von Kürbis, Orangenschalen oder Schokolade setzen.

Die Lust auf neue und alte Geschmacksrichtungen

Craft Beer – die neuen Bierbrauer (Youtube.com)

In einem Land, in dem das Reinheitsgebot zur Folklore gehört, können sich nicht alle für Craft Beer begeistern. Aber die jahrhundertealte Tradition lässt leicht vergessen, dass es in Deutschland eine immer stärkere Konzentration des Biermarkts gab, und das Brauereisterben dafür gesorgt hat, dass viele Biersorten verschwunden sind.

Jungbrauer Sebastian Sauer ist einer der Pioniere, die sich in Deutschland für eine neue Bierkultur einsetzen. Aufgewachsen ist er im Aachener Raum, in der Nähe von Belgien und Holland. Sauer war fasziniert von der geschmacklichen Vielfalt auf der anderen Seite der Grenze, der Biercafékultur in Belgien mit ihrer Auswahl an Gläsern und Bieren zu unterschiedlichen Gerichten. Sauer, dem es passend zum Nachnamen insbesondere saure Biere angetan haben, fing an, tiefer in die Materie einzutauchen. Er gründete zunächst eine Firma zum Vertrieb von Bierspezialitäten und begann schließlich mit Freunden, selbst zu brauen. Das Interesse seines Projekts Freigeist Bierkultur gilt dabei vor allem Bier-Geschmäckern, die im Aussterben begriffen sind: „Einer der Gründe, warum ich angefangen habe zu brauen, war, dass 2009 die vorletzte traditionell hergestellte Berliner Weisse eingestellt wurde. Da habe ich mir gesagt: Wenn alle anderen aufhören, fange ich an!“

Eine Graswurzelbewegung wächst

Reportage: Craft Beer in Südwestdeutschland (Youtube.com)

Der Jungbrauer steht exemplarisch für die deutsche Craft-Beer-Bewegung, die seit einigen Jahren die ganze Geschmackspalette von Bier erkunden möchte. Man probiert aus, mietet sich als „Wanderbrauer“ temporär bei bestehenden Betrieben ein, um dort die eigenen Ideen umzusetzen oder wagt sich an die Gründung eigener Braustätten, angetrieben vom Gedanken, etwas geschmacklich Neues zu schaffen oder alte Biersorten wiederzubeleben. So gab es in Deutschland früher etwa das Sauerbier Gose, das Salz und Koriander enthielt und erst durch neugierige Craft-Brauer wieder auf den Markt gebracht wurde.

Für die neuen Bier-Enthusiasten steht das Selbermachen im Kreis von Gleichgesinnten im Vordergrund, auf Konventionen wird wenig Wert gelegt. Craft Beer in Deutschland ist eine Graswurzelbewegung, die sich darüber definiert, nicht Teil der schon existierenden Bier-Infrastruktur zu sein: „Es geht darum, auszuprobieren und sich für Geschmack einzusetzen, egal wie viel es kostet, und genau das herzustellen, was die großen Brauereien nicht herstellen“, erklärt Sauer.

Neue deutsche Bierkultur

Dabei sieht Sauer auch die Verbraucher in der Pflicht: „In Deutschland geht es immer noch zu sehr darum, einen teuren Wagen zu fahren und dafür dann im Discounter einzukaufen.“ Und doch hat hier in den letzten Jahren ein Umdenken stattgefunden, bei dem die Menschen beim Essen auf die Qualität der Rohstoffe, regionale Produktion und Vertrauen in die Hersteller verstärkt Wert legen. Diese Genusskultur kommt langsam auch beim Bier an. In regelmäßigem Abstand finden in den großen Städten Deutschlands Craft-Beer-Festivals statt, und jährlich bringen neue Brauer ungewöhnliche Biersorten auf den Markt.

Wenngleich die deutschen Craft-Beer-Macher den Markt bislang nicht so stark umkrempeln konnten wie anderorts, so haben sie abseits der Szenebars bereits Spuren hinterlassen. Das gestiegene Interesse der Verbraucher an geschmacklicher Vielfalt hat nicht zuletzt die großen Brauereien aufhorchen lassen und dazu bewegt, ausgefallenere Sorten in ihr Programm aufzunehmen. In gut sortierten Supermärkten finden sich neue Kühlregale mit erlesenen Bierspezialitäten. Doch noch ist Craft Beer ein Nischenprodukt und Sebastian Sauers Bier ist in New York leichter erhältlich als in Deutschland. Aber der Jungbrauer ist überzeugt, dass Bierspezialitäten in Deutschland eine goldene Zukunft bevorsteht. Denn Craft Beer setzt auf Klasse statt Masse, weckt den Entdeckergeist, schärft den Geschmack und schafft so Bewusstsein für ein jahrhundertealtes Kulturgut – Reinheitsgebot hin oder her.
 

Diskutieren Sie mit uns

Craft Beer liegt voll im Trend. Wird es sich durchsetzen? Welche Biere schmecken Ihnen? Teilen Sie Ihre Biervorlieben mit uns.