“A House Full Of Music” Border-crossings between the arts

Bernhard Leitner's “Soundcube”, a combination of sound and space at the exhibition “A House Full Of Music”.
Bernhard Leitner's “Soundcube”, a combination of sound and space at the exhibition “A House Full Of Music”. | Photo (detail): Wolfgang Günzel / Institut Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt

While this year’s International Summer School for Music in Darmstadt was devoted to the impact of John Cage on the German music world, the exhibition “A House Full Of Music” explored the interactions of his work with the universe of art in general. A successful experiment.

‘It is important to make the situation complex’, John Cage once observed apropos his ideal of aesthetic experience. The exhibition A House Full Of Music, whose title alludes to a performance by the American avant-garde artist, quite obviously felt itself bound to this recommendation. Its profusion was a curatorial principle: 350 exhibits of 110 artists awaited the visitor from May 13 to September 9, 2012, at the Darmstadt Mathildenhöhe Museum, the art nouveaux building which Joseph Maria Olbrich designed in early 1906 as a ‘building for independent art’.

The mass of pictures, sculptures, videos, installations, musical scores and music needed ordering, which is why the makers of the exhibitions – museum director Ralf Beil and the curators Stefan Fricke, Peter Kraut and Thomas Schäfer – devised a ‘guide system’ consisting of concepts that combine the various artistic strategies.

A guide system through the world of John Cage

Storing, Collaging, Silencing, Destroying, Calculating, Jumbling, Feeling, Thinking, Believing, Furnishing, Repeating and Playing: these twelve keywords set markings that aired pragmatic analogies between visual art and music instead of slipping into the blur of synaesthesia. That this thematic coordination is sometimes more and sometimes less conclusive proved to be no disadvantage but rather emphasized the fluidity, in the best sense, of advanced contemporary art. In A House Full Of Music the ‘loss of the centre’ became a communicative principle.

The exhibition room “play” The exhibition room “play” | Photo: Wolfgang Günzel / Institut Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt Accordingly, the exhibition treated past and present border-crossings between the arts. It focussed on three key pioneers of a ‘hybrid’ art: Erik Satie, Marcel Duchamp and John Cage. Proceeding from these beginnings, the exhibition built up a highly complex panopticon of the multi-disciplinary art movements of the past hundred years. For example, under the rubric ‘Silencing’, Cage’s silent piece 4’33'' was juxtaposed with the ‘empty’ White Paintings of Robert Rauschenberg, shortly thereafter followed by Joseph Beuys’s sculpture Das Schweigen (i.e., The Silence): five zinc-plated film reels of the eponymous film by Ingmar Bergman.

Supplementary contrasts

The strategy of ‘Destroying’ is documented by Georges Maciunas’s photographs of Nam June Paik’s performance of One for Violin Solo, in which a violin is smashed to bits; the cover of The Who album, bearing the evocative title This Guitar Has Seconds to Live, corresponds in turn to the 1983 music video Autobahn by the Einstürzende Neubauten in which the industrial musicians carve up a car using a blowtorch and a chainsaw. The section entitled ‘Storing’ showed Robert Morris’ Box with the Sound of its Own Making (1961), a sculpture that addresses the relation between visual and acoustical perception in a striking manner: from a loudspeaker inside the box emanate sounds that arose in the box’s production.

Musical scores were also on display: ‘classical’ notations – for instance, from the hands of Arnold Schönberg, Iannis Xenakis and Luciano Berio – and graphic forms – for instance, sheet music that the Fluxus artist Dick Higgins peppered with shotgun pellets in 1968. In 1982 Terry Fox in turn re-interpreted a cartographic outline of the course of the Berlin Wall as a musical text: The Berlin Wall Scored for Sound. Next to it the exhibition showed installations and videos by Carsten Nicolai, Yoko Ono, Georg Hildebrandt, Peter Roehraund Ragnar Kjartansson – all works that can only inadequately be explained by assigning them exclusively either to visual art or to music.

Kutiman's video collage “The Mother Of All Funk Chords” was one of the contemporary exhibits of “A House Full Of Music”, source: Youtube/Kutiman

Somewhat underrepresented unfortunately were media of the present day – inclusion of user-generated content from the internet would have been especially instructive. Still, Kutiman’s unusual YouTube collage The Mother Of All Funk Chords did make its way to Darmstadt. So all in all the exhibition was a success. The equal synopsis of works of visual art and music has lastingly sharpened our sense for the interactive influence and parallel developments of both genres. A House Full Of Music made clear once again that the aesthetic dialogue between the visual and the acoustic must form an integral part of a contemporary art discourse. It is indeed important to make the situation complex.

The comprehensive exhibition catalogue A House Full of Music. Strategies in Music and Art, edited by Ralf Beil and Peter Kraut, is published by Hatje Cantz, 416 pages, 468 illustrations, 24.5 x 30.5 cm, hardcover, 49,80 euros. In addition to this catalogue has been published A House Full Of Music as a part of the series Kunst zum Hören (i.e. “Art To hear”), 52 pages, 57 illustrations, 22 x 22 cm, with CD, 16,80 euros.

„A House Full Of Music“ Grenzgänge zwischen den Künsten

Bernhard Leitners „Soundcube“, eine Verknüpfung von Raum und Klang bei „A House Full Of Music“.
Bernhard Leitners „Soundcube“, eine Verknüpfung von Raum und Klang bei „A House Full Of Music“. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Wolfgang Günzel / Institut Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt

Während sich die Internationalen Ferienkurse für Musik in Darmstadt 2012 unter anderem der Wirkung von John Cage auf die deutsche Musikwelt widmeten, erkundete die Ausstellung „A House Full Of Music“ die Wechselbeziehungen seiner Werke mit dem Kosmos Kunst im Allgemeinen. Ein gelungenes Experiment.

„Es ist wichtig, die Situation komplex zu gestalten“, bemerkte John Cage einmal zu seinem Ideal der ästhetischen Erfahrung. Dieser Empfehlung fühlte sich die Ausstellung A House Full Of Music, deren Titel eine Performance des amerikanischen Avantgardisten zitiert, ganz offenkundig verpflichtet. Die Überfülle war kuratorisches Prinzip: 350 Exponate von 110 Künstlern erwarteten den Besucher in der Ausstellung, die vom 13. Mai bis 9. September 2012 im Darmstädter Museum Mathildenhöhe stattfand, jenem Jugendstilbau, den Joseph Maria Olbrich Anfang 1906 als „Gebäude für freie Kunst“ entwarf.

Die Masse der Bilder, Skulpturen, Videos, Installationen, Partituren und Musiken bedurfte einer Ordnung, weshalb die Macher der Ausstellung – Museumsdirektor Ralf Beil und die Kuratoren Stefan Fricke, Peter Kraut und Thomas Schäfer – ein „Leitsystem“ aus Begriffen erdachten, mit dem verschiedene künstlerische Strategien gebündelt wurden.

Ein Leitsystem durch die Welt von John Cage

Speichern, Collagieren, Schweigen, Zerstören, Rechnen, Würfeln, Fühlen, Denken, Glauben, Möblieren, Wiederholen und Spielen. Mit diesen zwölf Schlagworten wurden Markierungen gesetzt, die auf pragmatische Weise Analogien zwischen Bildender Kunst und Musik erörterten, anstatt in die Unschärfe der Synästhesie abzugleiten. Dass sich diese thematische Zuordnung mal schlüssiger, mal weniger schlüssig erwies, war indessen kein Nachteil, sondern betonte implizit, dass die avancierten Gegenwartskünste im besten Sinne fluide sind. Der „Verlust der Mitte“ wurde in A House Full Of Music zum kommunikativen Grundsatz.

Das Ausstellungssegment „Spielen“ Das Ausstellungssegment „Spielen“ | Foto: Wolfgang Günzel / Institut Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt Dementsprechend handelte die Ausstellung von Geschichte und Gegenwart der Grenzgänge zwischen den Künsten. Mit Erik Satie, Marcel Duchamp und John Cage wurden drei maßgebliche Wegbereiter einer „hybriden“ Kunst hervorgehoben. Von diesen Anfängen ausgehend, errichtete die Ausstellung ein denkbar vielschichtiges Panoptikum spartenübergreifender Kunsttendenzen der vergangenen hundert Jahre. So wurde in der Rubrik „Schweigen“ Cages silent piece 4’33" den „leeren“ White Paintings von Robert Rauschenberg gegenübergestellt, kurz darauf folgte Joseph Beuys’ Skulptur Das Schweigen – fünf verzinkte Filmspulen des gleichnamigen Films von Ingmar Bergman.

Ergänzende Kontraste

Die Strategie des „Zerstörens“ dokumentierten Fotografien von Georges Maciunas’ Aufführung der Performance One for Violin Solo von Nam June Paik, bei der eine Geige zu Kleinholz wird; das Cover des The-Who-Albums mit dem sprechenden Titel This guitar has seconds to live korrespondierte wiederum mit dem 1983 entstandenen Musikvideo Autobahn der Einstürzenden Neubauten, in dem die Industrial-Musiker mit Schneidbrenner und Kettensäge ein Auto zerlegen. Im Abschnitt „Speichern“ war Robert Morris’ Box with the Sound of its own Making (1961) ausgestellt; eine Skulptur, die in besonderer Weise die Relation zwischen visueller und akustischer Wahrnehmung thematisiert: Aus einem Lautsprecher im Inneren der Kiste dringen die Geräusche, die bei ihrer Herstellung entstanden.

Weiterhin waren Partituren zu sehen: „Klassische“ Notationen – etwa von Arnold Schönberg, Iannis Xenakis oder Luciano Berio – ebenso wie grafische Ausprägungen, unter anderem Notenblätter, auf die der Fluxus-Künstler Dick Higgins 1968 mit Schrotkugeln schoss. Terry Fox wiederum deutete 1982 die kartografische Aufzeichnung des Verlaufs der Berliner Mauer zum musikalischen Text um: The Berlin Wall Scored for Sound. Daneben wurden Installationen und Videos von Carsten Nicolai, Yoko Ono, Georg Hildebrandt, Peter Roehr und Ragnar Kjartansson gezeigt – alles Arbeiten, die mit einer Zuordnung zu Kunst oder Musik nur unzureichend zu erklären sind.
 
Kutimans „The Mother Of All Funk Chords“ gehörte zu den viralen Ausstellungsinhalten von „A House Full Of Music“, Quelle: Youtube/Kutiman

Etwas unterrepräsentiert blieben leider die Medien der Gegenwart – der „user generated content“ des Internets wäre eine instruktive Erweiterung gewesen. Immerhin hat Kutimans ungewöhnliche YouTube-Collage The Mother Of All Funk Chords den Weg nach Darmstadt geschafft. Trotzdem war die Ausstellung rundum gelungen. Die gleichberechtigte Zusammenschau von Arbeiten aus Bildender Kunst und Musik schärfte nachhaltig den Sinn für wechselseitige Beeinflussungen und parallele Entwicklungen der beiden Genres. Mit A House Full Of Music wurde einmal mehr verdeutlicht, dass der ästhetische Dialog zwischen Visuellem und Akustischem integraler Bestandteil eines gegenwärtigen Kunstdiskurses sein muss. Es ist eben wichtig, die Situation komplex zu gestalten.
 

Zur Ausstellung erschien neben einem Band aus der Reihe Kunst zum Hören (A House Full of Music: 52 Seiten, 57 Abbildungen, 22 x 22 cm, mit einer CD, 16,80 Euro) das umfangreiche Katalogbuch A House Full of Music. Strategien in Musik und Kunst, herausgegeben von Ralf Beil und Peter Kraut im Verlag Hatje Cantz, 416 Seiten, 468 Abbildungen, 24,5 x 30,5 cm, Hardcover, 49,80 Euro.