Moers Festival 2014 New Hall, New Opportunities

Marcus Schmickler and Jaki Liebezeit at the Moers Festival 2014.
Marcus Schmickler and Jaki Liebezeit at the Moers Festival 2014. | Photo (detail): Moers Festival / Elisa Essex

In some German cities large construction sites lie idle. Stuttgart, Hamburg or Berlin have shown us how not to do it, if you want build for example a new airport or a concert hall; the small town of Moers, near the Dutch border, has provided a better example and offered the well known jazz festival a new concert venue.

For decades, the adventuresome Moers Festival lured thousands of jazz fans into an attractive but very weather-dependent circus tent. The general scepticism was great when it became known that the spectacle was to be moved to a permanent but sober hall in 2014. The idea originated a few years ago when, during a rehearsal in the said hall, which was then in a pitiful state, the American pianist and bandleader Carla Bley assumed she was at the festival venue and wondered where the audience was. From October 2013 to immediately before admission to the first concert of the 2014 Moers Festival, the dilapidated tennis hall was converted into one of the most beautiful festival halls in Germany, with a capacity of approximately 2,000 listeners. The audience benefited from this as much as the organizers and the music itself. The acoustics is brilliant, there is much less discomfort and fluctuation in the hall than in the tent, and things can be performed in the former that were simply impossible in the latter.

Yet even the best venue would be no good without the corresponding programme. The new creative freedom made possible by the renovated hall seems to have inspired festival director Reiner Michalke to invite even more multi-faceted, nuanced and challenging groups than before. Of course he is under the obligation to continue the existing experimental spirit that has over the years made the Moers Festival one of the most important landmarks of each season. And he has stuck to his guns by continuing to pursue his concept of a combination of existing scene greats and projects of his own design. Young acts from the American East and West Coasts celebrate here huge class reunions, groups from France and Germany hold high the measuring stick for European jazz, and a legend has returned to Moers. Only the Norwegians, hitherto always well-represented at the festival, have faltered a bit. Several artists and bands have shown how close tradition and avant-garde often are.

Renowned avant-garde

With the performance of his ground-breaking 1980 album Gravity, avant-garde legend Fred Frith bridged the span from the beginnings of postmodernism in jazz to the present. The original record, which was performed by several bands, was for its part the link between British progrock and the then just forming New York downtown avant-garde around John Zorn. For Frith, however, it was not about the recapitulation of achievements but an update. With an eleven member band around the California clarinettist Aaron Novik, Frith transferred his classic authentically to 2014. This compression opened a gap between itself and the now 34 year-old release of the record that made the audience realise, sometimes painfully, the change in its listening habits.

The New York quartet Ideal Bread around the trumpeter Kirk Knuffke and saxophonist Josh Sinton made heard the compositions of the free jazz pioneer Steve Lacy. The often extravagant originals were reduced by the band to handy three-minute formats, and instead of Lacy’s soprano saxophone, Sinton played exclusively a baritone instrument. With soloist discipline and chamber music-like understatement, Ideal Bread nevertheless achieved the intensity of an alternative rock band. Good old friends of the festival are Mostly Other People Do the Killing. For their programme, Red Hot, the avant-gardists, who work in the best lounge lizard tradition, not only bulked up their four-member band to a septet but also trimmed their concept along the lines of ragtime and New Orleans. The bravado of saxophonist Jon Irabagon has long got about in Moers, but the madness of banjo player Brandon Seabrook opened completely new horizons for string instruments.

The same cannot be said of guitar hero Marc Ribot. He appeared under the rubric of Protest Songs. Sitting on a chair, he lost himself in a stack of text pages, often sang off key and had to iron out his slips with the guitar. Happily, his lounge lizard predecessor Arto Lindsay, in duo with the Norwegian drummer Paal Nilssen-Love, reached back and delivered a brutally powerful samba set.

German-international accents

Of the participating German artists, especially to be mentioned is pianist Julia Hülsman, who as Improviser In Residence in 2014 had ample time to prepare her programme with singer Theo Bleckmann, saxophonist Hayden Chisholm and drummer Moritz Baumgartner. Her navigation between instrumental and vocal music, electronic alienations and acoustic improvisations was always tight and highly motivated. A new highlight in the endlessly creative ridge walks of the Berliner artist.

The French Trio Jean Louis delivered in addition a power set in which the electronically alienated trumpet often assumed the function of a powerful electric guitar. These unusual sounds were as disconcerting as they were stimulating. Finally, a furious splash of colour was hurled by Sun Ra Arkestra, which commemorated the centenary of the birth of its founder. Led by the 90 year-old Marshall Allen, almost nothing in the band worked, and yet it was a grand masquerade.

With this mixture of retrospective and perspective, the Moers Festival managed an astonishing reload. And more: it dispelled fears that with the new hall the old spirit of experimentation would be lost. 2014 sounded more like embarkation than truncation.

Moers-Festival 2014 Neue Halle, neues Glück

Marcus Schmickler und Jaki Liebezeit beim Moers-Festival 2014.
Marcus Schmickler und Jaki Liebezeit beim Moers-Festival 2014. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Moers Festival / Elisa Essex

Mancherorts in Deutschland liegen Großbaustellen brach. Stuttgart, Hamburg oder Berlin machen vor, wie man an Projekten vom Flughafen bis zur Elbphilharmonie vorläufig verzweifeln kann. In dem Städtchen Moers nahe der holländischen Grenze wurde nun eine andere Gangart an den Tag gelegt und dem renommierten Jazz-Festival kurzerhand eine neue Halle spendiert.

Seit Jahrzehnten lockte das experimentierfreudige Moers-Festival Tausende Jazz-Fans in ein stimmungsvolles, aber auch sehr wetterabhängiges Zirkuszelt. Die allgemeine Skepsis war groß, als bekannt wurde, dass man das Spektakel 2014 in eine feste, aber nüchterne Halle umlegen wollte. Die Idee entstand, als die amerikanische Pianistin und Bandleaderin Carla Bley vor einigen Jahren bei einer Probe in besagter Halle, die damals noch in erbärmlichem Zustand war, davon ausging, dass sie der Austragungsort des Festivals sei, und sich wunderte, wo die Besucher blieben. Von Oktober 2013 bis unmittelbar vor Einlass zum ersten Konzert des Moers-Festivals 2014 wandelte man die marode Tennishalle in eine der schönsten Festivalhallen Deutschlands für etwa 2.000 Besucher um. Das Publikum profitierte davon genauso wie die Veranstalter und die Musik selbst. Die Akustik ist brillant, in der Halle gibt es viel weniger Unruhe und Fluktuation als im Zelt, und man konnte Dinge zur Aufführung bringen, die in der Zirkusarena schlicht unmöglich waren.

Doch der beste Spielort würde nichts taugen ohne das entsprechende Programm. Die neuen kreativen Freiräume schienen Festivalleiter Reiner Michalke beflügelt zu haben, noch mehr vielschichtige, differenzierte und herausfordernde Gruppen als bislang einzuladen. Natürlich stand er in der Pflicht, den bisherigen Laborgeist fortzusetzen, der das Moers-Festival über die Jahre zum wichtigen Festivalmarkstein der jeweiligen Saison hat werden lassen. Und er ließ sich nicht beirren, sein Konzept der Kombination von bestehenden Szenegrößen und eigens gestalteten Projekten weiterzuverfolgen. Junge Acts von der amerikanischen Ost- und Westküste feierten ein riesiges Klassentreffen, Gruppen aus Frankreich und Deutschland hielten die Messlatte des europäischen Jazz hoch und eine Legende kehrte nach Moers zurück. Nur die auf dem Festival stets gut repräsentierten Norweger schwächelten ein wenig. Mehrere Künstler und Bands zeigten, wie nah sich Tradition und Avantgarde doch oft sind.

Renommierte Avantgarde

Avantgarde-Legende Fred Frith schlug mit der Aufführung seines bahnbrechenden Albums Gravity von 1980 eine Brücke von den Anfängen der Postmoderne im Jazz zur Gegenwart. Die damals mit mehreren Bands eingespielte Platte war ihrerseits das Bindeglied vom britischen Progrock zur sich gerade formierenden New Yorker Downtown-Avantgarde um John Zorn. Frith ging es jedoch nicht um Rekapitulation des Errungenen, sondern um ein Update. Mit einer elfköpfigen Formation um den kalifornischen Klarinettisten Aaron Novik übertrug er seinen Klassiker stilecht ins Jahr 2014. Zwischen dieser Komprimierung und der mittlerweile 34 Jahre zurückliegenden Veröffentlichung der Platte tat sich eine Bruchstelle auf, die dem Publikum teilweise schmerzhaft die Veränderung seiner Hörgewohnheiten vor Ohren führte.

Das New Yorker Quartett Ideal Bread um Trompeter Kirk Knuffke und Saxofonist Josh Sinton brachte Kompositionen des Freejazz-Pioniers Steve Lacy zu Gehör. Die meist ausschweifenden Originale wurden von der Band auf griffige Drei-Minuten-Formate reduziert, statt Lacys Sopransaxofon spielte Sinton ausschließlich Baritonsaxofon. Mit solistischer Disziplin und kammermusikalischem Understatement erreichten sie trotzdem die Intensität einer Alternative-Rock-Band. Gut und alt bekannt beim Festival ist das Quartett Mostly Other People Do The Killing. Für ihr Programm Red Hot hatten die in bester Lounge-Lizards-Tradition stehenden Avantgardisten ihre Viererbande nicht nur auf Septettstärke aufgestockt, sondern ihr Konzept auch in Richtung Ragtime und New Orleans getrimmt. Das Draufgängertum von Saxofonist Jon Irabagon hat sich in Moers längst herumgesprochen, aber der Irrwitz von Banjospieler Brandon Seabrook öffnete für Saiteninstrumente völlig neue Horizonte.

Das kann man vom Gitarrenheroen Marc Ribot leider nicht sagen. Er war unter dem Motto Protest Songs angetreten. Auf einem Stuhl sitzend verzettelte er sich in einem Stapel von Textblättern, versang sich oft und musste die Patzer mit der Gitarre ausbügeln. Glücklicherweise holte sein Lounge-Lizards-Vorgänger Arto Lindsay im Duo mit dem norwegischen Schlagzeuger Paal Nilssen-Love zu einem brachialen Power-Samba-Set aus.

Deutsch-internationale Akzente

An beteiligten deutschen Künstlern ist vor allem die Pianistin Julia Hülsmann zu nennen, die 2014 als Improviser in Residence viel Zeit hatte, sich auf ihr Programm mit Sänger Theo Bleckmann, Saxofonist Hayden Chisholm und Drummer Moritz Baumgartner vorzubereiten. Ihre Navigationen zwischen instrumentaler und vokaler Musik, elektronischen Verfremdungen und akustischen Improvisationen war zu jedem Zeitpunkt dicht und hoch motiviert. Ein neuer Höhepunkt in der endlosen kreativen Kammwanderung der Berlinerin.

Das französische Trio Jean Louis absolvierte daneben einen Powerset, bei dem die elektronisch verfremdete Trompete oftmals die Funktion einer brachialen elektrischen Gitarre übernahm. Diese ungewohnten Sounds waren ebenso irritierend wie anregend. Einen furiosen Farbtupfer schließlich setzte das Sun Ra Arkestra, das an den hundertsten Geburtstag seines Gründers erinnerte. Von dem 90-jährigen Marshall Allen geleitet, funktionierte in der Band fast nichts, und trotzdem war es ein grandioser Mummenschanz.

Das Moers-Festivals schaffte mit dieser Mischung aus Rückblick und Perspektive einen erstaunlichen Reload. Mehr noch: Es zerstreute die Befürchtungen, dass mit dem neuen Saal der alte Geist des Experimentierens verloren gegangen sein könnte. Das Jahr 2014 klang damit mehr nach Aufbruch, als nach Abbruch.