Wacken Open Air A Legend Turns 25

Metal paradise Wacken Open Air
Metal paradise Wacken Open Air | Photo (detail): ICS Festival Service GmbH

The first time there were 800 visitors. Now the Wacken Open Air is the biggest metal festival in the world. It has gone from being a niche gathering to a mass event that sets standards in many respects. Notes on an anniversary.

It took less than seven hours and the 2015 heavy metal festival in Wacken was sold out. In July every year hard and heavy metal disciples from all over the world follow the rutting call of a burning bull’s skull to the provincial backwater of Wacken Schleswig-Holstein. On the idyllic pastures where otherwise cows peacefully graze come fun warriors and long, shaggy hair-shakers in a rain of beer and sometimes fierce mudslinging. Seventy-five thousand like-minded visitors make the Wacken Open Air (W:O:A) the world’s biggest hard rock and metal festival. And in summer 2014 its founding fathers, Thomas Jensen and Holger Hübner, could celebrate its 25th anniversary.

Start in a gravel pit

The legend began in 1989 when Jensen and Hübner were able to persuade the local motor cycle club to mount a small festival in the gravel pit of Wacken, a community of 2,000 souls. Regional bands made up the programme; the ticket sales were handled by the family. Barely 800 metal fans celebrated the first W:O:A in the summer of 1990; and hardly anyone then imagined that this would one day become the Woodstock of the metal scene. In the following years more and more fans came together on the Holstein field. The initially very suspicious residents of the village discovered that, though the metal fans looked menacing, they were the cause of neither riots nor drug excesses. But with the growing dimensions of the festival its logistics and security requirements have become more complex. Like many other independently organized events, the W:O:A too has had to eke out its budget time and again to avoid bankruptcy. The travails of the beginning have become, like the local fire department band’s kick-off of the festival, part of the metal myth.

Main figures and fascination

Today, when Deep Purple strikes up its old, well-known guitar riff Smoke On The Water, the eternal shock rocker Alice Cooper announces that he feels absolutely at home in Wacken and the internationally acclaimed noise experts of Motörhead and Megadeth stand as a matter-of-course on the Wacken agenda, the festival seems far away from its turbulent early years. In 2014 the feature pages of even the national newspapers rendered elaborate homage to the metal cult. And German rapper Jan Delay dedicated a hymn to the festival, cruising through the black-robbed pack in his respectful-ironic video in a white designer suit.
 
Wacken Open Air (trailer)

As early as 2006 the Korean film-maker Cho Sung-Hyung already cast a fascinated gaze on the festival in her documentary film Full Metal Village, and the film Wacken 3D (2014) by Norbert Heitker sets the gathering a visually powerful monument on the 25th anniversary of its birth. The images show that there is no escape for the villagers when the invasion of the dark but good-humoured horde of fans falls over them. With Holsteinian placidity, the residents acquiesce in the noisy goings-on or are soon included in them. As, for instance, the farmer Uwe Trede, in whose field the main stage stands. Or the Wacken Firefighters, the band of the volunteer fire department, which provides the idiosyncratic musical tattoo. Some say “cult status”. No one any longer fears the dark horde, which, like Goethe’s Mephisto, “always wills the bad, and always works the good”. A largely peaceful mega get-together minus any excesses.

Target for sponsors

The whole thing is reminiscent of a crazed hobbit horde in Sauron costume. Head-banging and Viking battles are part of the ritual. The festival beer garden, now long standard amongst other open-air events, was first “invented” in Wacken. Wacken founder Thomas Jensen likes to speak of the “fifth season” for metalheads and points to event standards that have been set here. For example, the festival “metal train”, which travels from Zurich straight through Germany to the Holstein province. At the Soccer Cup international visiting teams kick the ball for a (sponsor) cup; at the metal market mile, textile and accessories producers find their target groups.

The musical focus of the W:O:A is naturally on hard rock, metal and their sub-varieties. But there has long been a special stage for medieval (metal) folklore, and other stylistic split-offs are also to remain under the capacious Wacken umbrella. The original scene can be found today in front of the true metal stage, while the younger generation practice childlike head-shaking and head-banging and in the play area. The W:O:A no longer needs elaborate advertising and marketing campaigns. After 25 years, Wacken too has arrived in the mainstream, where festivals are invariably quickly sold out in advance.

Commerce and benefaction

There remain the allegations of sell-out, with which subcultures have always had to grapple. Over the years the balance between underground and sell-out has been difficult to maintain. A metalhead cookbook by TV cook Tim Mälzer, the festival’s own brand of beer and cruises under the metal flag have given cause for distaste amongst purists. So far, however, the conservative metal culture and commercial exploitation have consorted quite well together. For the festival organizer Jensen, this is not a contradiction. He invests festival revenues in the local infrastructure and pays young bands fees above the average. Finally, the Metal Battle Contest promotes up and coming bands. For the winner, an appearance at Wacken amidst the metal greats beckons, and so perhaps also the big career leap.

Wacken Open Air Eine Legende wird 25

Das Metal-Paradies Wacken Open Air.
Das Metal-Paradies Wacken Open Air. | Foto (Ausschnitt): ICS Festival Service GmbH

Beim ersten Mal kamen 800 Besucher. Inzwischen ist das Wacken Open Air das größte Metal-Festival der Welt. Es hat aus der Nische ein Massen-Event werden lassen, das in vieler Hinsicht Maßstäbe setzt. Anmerkungen zum Jubiläum.

Es dauerte keine sieben Stunden, da war das Heavy-Metal-Festival in Wacken 2015 ausverkauft. Jedes Jahr Ende Juli folgen Hard-und-Heavy-Jünger aus aller Welt dem Brunftschrei eines brennenden Stierschädels ins Provinznest Wacken in Schleswig-Holstein. Auf dem idyllischen Weideland, wo sonst Kühe friedlich grasen, ziehen Spaßkrieger und zottelige Langhaar-Schüttler unter Bierregen in eine zuweilen heftige Schlammschlacht. 75.000 Gleichgesinnte machen das Wacken Open Air (W:O:A) damit zum weltweit größten Hardrock-, Rock-, und Metal-Festival. Und im Sommer 2014 konnten die Gründerväter Thomas Jensen und Holger Hübner den 25. Wacken-Geburtstag feiern.

Start in der Kiesgrube

Die Legende beginnt 1989, als Jensen und Hübner den örtlichen Motorradclub davon überzeugen können, in der Kiesgrube der 2.000-Seelen-Gemeinde Wacken ein kleines Festival aufzuziehen. Regionale Bands bestreiten das Programm, der Kartenvorverkauf wird von der Familie abgewickelt. Gerade einmal 800 Metal-Fans feiern im Sommer 1990 das erste W:O:A: und kaum jemand ahnte damals, dass daraus einmal das Woodstock der Metal-Szene werden würde. In den nächsten Jahren kommen immer mehr Anhänger auf dem holsteinischen Acker zusammen. Die anfangs sehr misstrauischen Wackener entdecken, dass die Metaller zwar martialisch aussehen, aber ansonsten weder Krawalle noch Drogen-Exzesse auslösen. Doch mit den wachsenden Dimensionen werden auch Logistik und Sicherheitsauflagen immer komplexer. Wie bei vielen frei organisierten Veranstaltungen schrammt auch das W:O:A: ein ums andere Mal an der Pleite vorbei. Die Mühen des Anfangs sind heute wie der Auftritt der örtlichen Feuerwehrkapelle zum Wacken-Auftakt ein Teil des Metal-Mythos.

Protagonisten und Faszination

Wenn heute Deep Purple ihr altbekanntes Gitarrenriff zu Smoke On The Water anstimmen, der ewige Schock-Rocker Alice Cooper verkündet, dass er sich in Wacken absolut zu Hause fühlt und die international gefragten Lärm-Experten von Motörhead und Megadeth wie selbstverständlich auf der Wacken-Agenda stehen, scheinen die turbulenten Anfangsjahre weit entfernt. 2014 haben auch die Feuilletons der überregionalen Tageszeitungen ausführlich dem Metal-Kult gehuldigt. Und Deutschrapper Jan Delay widmet dem Festival eine Hymne und gondelt in seinem respektvoll-ironischen Video und im weißen Designer-Anzug durch die schwarze Kutten-Meute.
 
Wacken Open Air (Trailer)

Bereits 2006 gab es mit der Film-Dokumentation Full Metal Village der koreanischen Filmemacherin Cho Sung-Hyung einen faszinierenden Blick von außen und der Kinofilm Wacken 3D (2014) von Norbert Heitker setzt dem Festival zum 25-jährigen Bestehen ein bildstarkes Denkmal. Die Bilder zeigen, dass es für die Dorfbewohner kein Entkommen gibt, wenn die Invasion der finsteren, aber gut gelaunten Fanhorde hereinbricht. Mit holsteinischer Gelassenheit nehmen die Bewohner das lärmende Geschehen hin oder werden gleich mit einbezogen. Wie etwa Bauer Uwe Trede, auf dessen Acker die Hauptbühne steht. Oder die Wacken Firefighters, die Kapelle der freiwilligen Feuerwehr, die für den eigenwilligen musikalischen Zapfenstreich sorgt. Manche sagen „Kultstatus“ dazu. Angst vor der finsteren Meute, die wie weiland Goethes Mephisto „stets das Böse will und stets das Gute schafft“ hat längst keiner mehr. Ein weitgehend friedliches Mega-Miteinander vollkommen ohne Ausschreitungen.

Ziel für Sponsoren

Das Ganze erinnert an eine wildgewordene Hobbit-Horde im Sauron-Kostüm. Headbanging und Wikingerkämpfe sind ritualisiert. Der Festival-Biergarten, den es längst auch auf anderen Open-Air-Events gibt, ist einst in Wacken „erfunden“ worden. Gründer Thomas Jensen spricht gerne von der fünften Jahreszeit für Metaller und verweist auf die Event-Standards, die hier gesetzt worden sind. Etwa der Festivalzug Metal Train, der von Zürich quer durch Deutschland in die holsteinische Provinz fährt. Beim Soccer-Cup kicken internationale Besucher-Teams um einen (Sponsoren-) Pokal. Und auf der Metal-Marktmeile finden Textil- und Accessoire-Hersteller ihre Zielgruppe.

Der musikalische Fokus des W:O:A: liegt naturgemäß auf Hardrock, Metal und dessen Sub-Spielarten. Doch längst gibt es eine Spezialbühne für mittelalterliche (Metal-) Folklore; auch andere stilistische Absplitterungen sollen unter dem großen Wacken-Schirm bleiben. Die ursprüngliche Szene findet sich heute vor der „True Metal“-Bühne ein, während sich der Nachwuchs im Spielparadies im kindlichen Kopfschütteln und „Moshen“ übt. Aufwendige Werbe- oder Marketing-Kampagnen hat das W:O:A: dagegen nicht mehr nötig, denn große Sponsoren haben den Nischenmarkt Metal für sich entdeckt. Nach 25 Jahren ist man auch in Wacken im Mainstream angekommen: Die Festivals sind weit im Vorfeld immer schneller komplett ausverkauft.

Kommerz und Wohltat

Es bleiben die Vorwürfe vom Ausverkauf, mit dem sich Subkulturen seit ehedem herumschlagen müssen. Die Balance zwischen „Underground“ und „Sell Out“ ist über die Jahrzehnte nur schwer zu halten. Ein Metaller-Kochbuch von TV-Koch Tim Mälzer, eine eigene Biermarke oder Kreuzfahrten unter der Metal-Flagge sorgen für Naserümpfen bei den Puristen. Bislang vertragen sich die konservative Metal-Kultur und die kommerzielle Auswertung allerdings recht gut. Für Festivalmacher Jensen ist das Ganze kein Widerspruch. Er investiert die Einnahmen in die örtliche Infrastruktur und zahlt jungen Bands Gagen über dem Durchschnitt. Der Metal Battle Contest fördert schließlich Nachwuchsbands. Den Gewinnern winkt ein Wacken-Auftritt im Umfeld der Metal-Größen und damit vielleicht auch der eigene Karrieresprung.