Elbe Philharmonic Hall Landmark with a mission

The Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg
The Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg | Photo ⓒ Iwan Baan

The Hamburg Elbe Philharmonic Hall has opened its doors. From former critics there is now little to be heard. But it remains to be seen whether the Elbe Philharmonic can fulfil the promise its proponents have been making throughout the years.

The dramaturgy has succeeded. For months, those in charge have repeatedly disclosed short glimpses along the way to the opening of the Hamburg Elbe Philharmonic Hall (Elbphilharmonie): here a press conference (in the car park) and there a multi-media installation (in the Music Education Centre); in November the public plaza from which you enter the concert hall was opened, and in early January the dancers of Sasha Waltz & Guests explored the building. Only in the two concert halls themselves were the first tones be really, really heard by the public on 11 January 2017. This is building up suspense according to the book.

Euphoria in the city

Those who wish to describe the prevailing mood of the city can hardly escape the word “euphoria”. The Elbe Philharmonic in the harbour of Hamburg is on almost everyone’s tongue. Everyone wants to go there, if not to attend a concert (the opening season is hopelessly sold out), then at least to get so close to it as possible. Just to get to the plaza, with its 360-dergee vista lying 37 metres above the harbour, the River Elbe and the city silhouette, people queue up on weekend before the entrance of the curved moving staircase called the “tube”.

  • Cross-Section Elbphilharmonie © Herzog & de Meuron/ bloomimages
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Photo: © Thies Rätzke
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Photo: © Maxim Schulz
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Photo: © Iwan Baan
  • Grand Hall Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Photo: © Michael Zapf
  • Grand Hall Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Photo: © Michael Zapf
  • Grand Hall/ White Skin Photo: © Johannes Arlt
  • Aerial Photograph Elbphilharmonie Photo: © Michael Zapf


Sounds like a cultural fairy tale complete with a happy end. But of course it didn’t always look this way. The history of the Elbe Philharmonic is one of greed and megalomania, naïveté and overextension. In retrospect, you can hardly credit the enthusiasm with which the city fathers fell upon the futuristic design of the Basel architects Herzog & de Meuron. A temple of the Muses for Hamburg, a city better known up to now as the home of moneybags? Yes! A new landmark! One of the best concert halls in the world! Architecture of the century! And the most beautiful part was that it was all supposed to be free.

A changing story

The plan was that the city contributes only the land and the costs would be refinanced through privately marketed building areas. But covetousness grew and grew, and by the time the legislative assembly passed the project in 2007 the share of public cost had climbed to 114 million euros. By the end of 2008, the city announced a new increase of 323 million euros and a new date for the Philharmonic’s opening. And so it went. The costs rose. The opening date was postponed, and in the meantime the general contractor, Hochtief, stopped construction work altogether. No commentator could avoid the comparison to such large-scale projects as Stuttgart 21 or the new Berlin Airport, and even the harassed artistic director of the house, Christoph Lieben-Seutter, spoke of it as being a “laughing stock”.

Acceptance of the city’s project was sometimes less than unanimous. There was also headwind from artist circles. While the assembly winked through one budget increase after another, the independent scene feared for their scanty grants and criticized the Elbe Philharmonic as nothing but a prestige project. Only with the appointment by mayor Olaf Scholz of Barbara Kisseler as Hamburg’s Senator for Culture in 2011 was there a turnaround. Kisseler pushed through a contractual reorganization that was to endure. Costs remained at the fixed overall price of 789 million euros. It is a testimony to the reputation of Kisseler, who passed away in october 2016, that her work eventually silenced the mockery and speculation about the sustainability of the opening date.

Cooperation instead of dominance

From former critics there is now little to be heard. The effect of the building is too powerful. At the same time, its charisma is both an opportunity and a curse. It remains to be seen whether the Elbe Philharmonic can fulfil the promise its proponents have been making throughout the years, whether it represents a quantum leap in the significance of classical music in public life. Whether it, to use an expression of the general director Lieben-Seutter, will really be a “house for everyone”: not only paid for by every citizens of Hamburg, but also used by them all.

Lieben-Seutter has proven his relation to local organizers is based not on elimination but on understanding. The skirmishes with private competitors about the price structure of the tickets have long since been settled. “Cooperation” is the magic word, whatever it means. If the long standstill of waiting was good for anything, it was good for inspiring Lieben-Seutter and his team to deal with it creatively. For their short festivals, they have opened up some original venues and so reached a different audience.

The programme arouses hope that this pioneer spirit will continue to prevail in future. Not only the great stars of the classical music world are coming to the Elbe Philharmonic; in January the avant-garde pop band Einstürzende Neubauten (Collapsing Buildings) maked their debut in the large hall. Short festivals and musical culture events such as Salam Syria in March testify to ambition and presentations that keep pace with the times. The real story of the Elbe Philharmonic Hall began only on 11 January 2017. We will have to wait to see about the happy end.

Elbphilharmonie Wahrzeichen mit Auftrag

Die Hamburger Elbphilharmonie
Die Hamburger Elbphilharmonie | Foto ⓒ Iwan Baan

Die Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg ist eröffnet – und von den einstigen Kritikern ist nur noch wenig zu hören. Zu stark ist die Wirkung des Baus. Doch es muss sich noch zeigen, ob das Haus auch einlösen kann, was seine Verfechter all die Jahre hindurch versprochen haben.

Die Dramaturgie ist gelungen. Über Monate hinweg haben die Verantwortlichen auf dem Weg zur Eröffnung der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie immer nur Häppchen preisgegeben: hier eine Pressekonferenz (im Parkhaus), da eine Multimediainstallation (im Musikvermittlungsbereich); im November wurde die öffentliche Plaza eröffnet, von der aus man das Konzerthaus betritt, und Anfang Januar 2017 erkundeten die Tänzer von Sasha Waltz & Guests das Haus. Nur in den beiden Konzertsälen durfte der erste öffentliche Ton wirklich erst am 11. Januar 2017 erklingen. Das ist Spannungserzeugung wie aus dem Lehrbuch.

Euphorie in der Stadt

Wer die herrschende Stimmung in der Stadt beschreiben soll, kommt an dem Wort „Euphorie“ kaum vorbei. Die Elbphilharmonie im Hamburger Hafen ist in aller Munde. Jeder will hin, und wenn schon nicht ins Konzert – die Eröffnungssaison ist bereits ausverkauft –, dann wenigstens so nah dran wie möglich. Allein um auf die Plaza zu gelangen, mit ihrem Rundumblick aus 37 Metern Höhe über Hafen, Elbe und Stadtsilhouette, stehen die Menschen an Wochenenden Schlange vor dem Eingang zur gebogenen Rolltreppe, „Tube“ genannt.
 
  • Querschnittsgrafik Elbphilharmonie © Herzog & de Meuron/ bloomimages
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Foto: © Thies Rätzke
  • Elbphilharmonie in der Hamburger Hafen City. Foto: © Maxim Schulz
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Foto: © Iwan Baan
  • Großer Saal Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Foto: © Michael Zapf
  • Großer Saal Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Foto: © Michael Zapf
  • Wandverkleidung Weiße Haut im Großen Saal Foto: © Johannes Arlt
  • Luftaufnahme Elbphilharmonie Foto: © Michael Zapf

Klingt nach einem Kulturmärchen samt Happy End. Danach sah es freilich nicht immer aus. Die Geschichte der Elbphilharmonie handelt von Gier und Großmannssucht, von Naivität und Überforderung. Rückblickend ist es kaum zu glauben, wie begeistert sich die Stadtväter 2003 auf den futuristischen Entwurf der Basler Architekten Herzog & de Meuron stürzten. Ein Musentempel für Hamburg, bis dato eher als Stadt der Pfeffersäcke bekannt? Aber ja! Ein neues Wahrzeichen! Einer der besten Konzertsäle der Welt! Jahrhundertarchitektur! Und das Schönste: All das sollte es umsonst geben.

Eine wechselhafte Geschichte

Nur das Grundstück sollte die Stadt beisteuern, die Kosten sollten über privatwirtschaftlich vermarktete Gebäudebereiche refinanziert werden, so der Plan. Doch die Begehrlichkeiten wuchsen, und als die Bürgerschaft das Projekt 2007 verabschiedete, war der öffentliche Kostenanteil auf rund 114 Millionen Euro gestiegen. Ende 2008 gab die Stadt eine Erhöhung der Kosten auf 323 Millionen Euro bekannt – und einen neuen Eröffnungstermin. So ging es weiter. Die Kosten stiegen, die Eröffnung verschob sich, zwischendurch stellte der Generalunternehmer Hochtief die Bauarbeiten gleich ganz ein. Den Vergleich mit Großbaustellen wie Stuttgart 21 oder dem Berliner Flughafen ließ sich kein Kommentator entgehen, und sogar der geplagte Intendant des Hauses, Christoph Lieben-Seutter, sprach öffentlich von einer „Lachnummer“.

Die Akzeptanz des Vorhabens in der Stadt war streckenweise mehr als durchwachsen. Auch aus Künstlerkreisen bekam das Projekt Gegenwind. Während die Bürgerschaft eine Budgeterhöhung nach der anderen durchwinkte, fürchtete die freie Szene um ihre schmalen Zuschüsse und kritisierte die Elbphilharmonie als reines Prestigeprojekt. Erst Barbara Kisseler, die Bürgermeister Olaf Scholz 2011 als Kultursenatorin nach Hamburg geholt hatte, gelang die Wende. Kisseler setzte eine vertragliche Neuordnung durch, die Bestand hatte. Bei dem dort geregelten „Globalpauschalfestpreis“ von 789 Millionen ist es geblieben. Es spricht für das Ansehen der im Oktober 2016 verstorbenen Kisseler, dass Spott und Spekulationen über die Haltbarkeit des Eröffnungstermins irgendwann verstummten.

Kooperation statt Dominanz

Von den einstigen Kritikern ist derzeit nur noch wenig zu hören. Zu stark ist die Wirkung des Baus. Dabei ist die Ausstrahlung der Architektur Chance und Fluch zugleich. Es muss sich noch zeigen, ob die Elbphilharmonie auch inhaltlich einlösen kann, was ihre Verfechter all die Jahre hindurch versprochen haben: ob sie einen Quantensprung der Bedeutung klassischer Musik im öffentlichen Leben darstellt. Ob sie, mit einem Ausdruck des Intendanten Lieben-Seutter, wirklich ein „Haus für alle“ sein wird. Nicht nur von allen (Hamburgern) bezahlt, sondern bitte auch von allen genutzt.

Dass Lieben-Seutter im Verhältnis zu den örtlichen Veranstaltern nicht auf Verdrängung, sondern auf Verständigung setzt, hat er bewiesen. Längst sind die Scharmützel mit den privaten Konkurrenten um das Preisgefüge der Karten beigelegt. „Kooperation“ heißt das Zauberwort, was auch immer sich dahinter verbergen mag. Wenn der Stillstand des Wartens für etwas gut war, dann dafür, wie kreativ Lieben-Seutter und sein Team damit umgingen. Für ihre Kurzfestivals haben sie manch originelle Spielstätte aufgetan und gerade damit ein anderes Publikum erreicht.

Das Programm lässt hoffen, dass von diesem Pioniergeist auch in Zukunft etwas bleibt. Es reisen nicht nur Weltstars der Klassik an. Noch im Januar 2017 gab die Avantgarde-Pop-Band Einstürzende Neubauten ihren Einstand im Großen Saal. Musikalische Kulturbegegnungen wie etwa das Festival Salam Syria im März 2017 zeugen vom Ehrgeiz, ein Angebot auf der Höhe der Zeit zu gestalten. Die eigentliche Geschichte von der Elbphilharmonie begann erst am 11. Januar 2017. Ob sie ein Happy End haben wird, wird sich noch zeigen müssen.