Music Awards Prize Question

James Bay and Sarah Connor at the Echo Pop 2016 Show
James Bay and Sarah Connor at the Echo Pop 2016 Show | Photo © BVMI, Sinissey

In classical music, they fight with the gloves off. If you haven’t won a competition, you won’t find an audience. Pop works differently. Here the music industry, journalists and committees step in as control mechanisms and generate awards. An overview.

Music awards are almost as old as the music industry, even if they say little about the art itself. Chart position and sales statistics are at least indicators of market value and provide short-term exchange rates for music. In the long-run, however, they say very little about the value of a song. Every year buried treasure is again excavated, and no laboratory in the world has yet been able to break the DNA of a successful pop song. So this, for all the calculation, makes it exciting to consider the how and the why of music awards.

The mother of all awards

The mother of all music awards is the Golden Record. The first official Golden Disc went to Gene Autry in 1931 for 500,000 sales of the single That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine. It was to be another eleven years before Glenn Miller enjoyed the same honour for his Chattanooga Choo Choo. The Golden record has been officially and regularly awarded in the United States since 1958, and the practice was soon adopted in Germany. The criteria for receiving it have been steadily watered down in the face of declining sales figures and galloping market complexity. Today almost no one is any longer interested in these old-fashioned rituals. Accompanied by more or less hoo-ha, other music prizes have taken the place of the Golden Record.

For example, since 1992 the German Phono Academy has been awarding the Echo, which is regarded as the hottest and most coveted prize in the German pop scene. The award winners emerge from adding together the weekly results of the Media Control Charts, that is, the verdict is more about quick turnover than long-term sales. Thus it is not surprising that Helene Fischer, who possesses sixteen of the  trophies, has received by far the most Echoes, followed by the Kastelruther Spatzen (13), Herbert Grönemeyer (11), Die Toten Hosen and Rammstein (each 10). Creativity or artistic value are irrelevant; all that counts is the commercial standing. The prize therefore also came under fire in 2013 when the South Tyrolean band Frei.Wild, regarded as belonging to the right-wing scene, was nominated for an Echo. Numerous artists, including Die Ärzte and Kraftklub, stayed away from the awards ceremony in protest. A small sign at least that content is still taken notice of.

Commerce vs. criticism

The quality-oriented counterpart of the Echo is the German Record Critics’ Prize, whose eponymous association confers the award on the basis of critics’ votes. Commercial aspects are taken into account only insofar as labels that are well-positioned on the market naturally have the means of drawing the attention of critics to their products. In order to highlight different emphases, quarterly highscore lists and annual prizes are awarded. Another award is the GEMA Music Author Prize, whose award ceremonies have been celebrated with a big gala event in Berlin since 2009. As with the German Record Critics’ Prize, its winner is decided by a jury of experts.

There is also an award that seeks to be an independent counterweight to the Echo. In September 2016 the Award for Pop Culture was presented for the first time, launched by the eponymous Association for Pop Culture and awarded by a mixed jury recruited from the ranks of association members representing industry, journalism and organizers. It is “a small but fine display window for pop music”, summed up Spiegel Online following the award ceremony in Berlin; after all, it considers worthy of accolade artists such as the rapper K.I.Z. and bands such as Moderat and Deichkind, who are clearly different from those chosen by the sales-oriented business competition of the Echo. A signal from the music scene with development potential.
The "favorite band" of the Award for Pop Culture 2016: Moderat, source: YouTube

The series of music awards for pop music and other categories that is published at the website of the German Music Council is as long as it is incomplete and sometimes obscure. The sponsors are composed of a mixture of public and private media, associations and interest groups, educational institutions and artists’ panels, political bodies and foundations. The awards are correspondingly broadly diversified. The smaller and more regional the award-giving organizations, the less the awards are looked upon as distinctions for achievement or recognition for sales. Advancement awards range from those for the promotion of venues through scholarships (for example, trips abroad) to studio prizes for purposes of recording a CD.

Keyword: competition

A popular means of promotion are competitions, the winning of which is tantamount to receiving a prize. They are open to newcomers and make possible above all targeted support at the regional level and the jump from amateur to professional status. Audience awards are mainly determined by means of reader or listener surveys. One of the most prestigious audience awards in Germany is that of 1Live-Krone of the West German Broadcasting Corporation. Another possibility for funding in the broadest sense are casting shows such as Deutschland sucht den Superstar (Germany Looks for a Superstar, comparable to the international casting show Popstars), though these are least of all about actual quality or market potential.

Music prizes serve very different purposes. In many cases, they are a suitable means of advertising for the sponsor to draw attention to himself. Their effectiveness for the artist, however, is not measurable. It is hardly likely that a well-known pop musician will become even more successful because he can take a new trophy home, and the only people who are interested in the website and Wikipedia lists of Echo winners are statisticians. Advancement awards may be a springboard or means of financial support, but their far-reaching effects on the careers of musicians are not demonstrable. Perhaps it is symptomatic that, since ABBA in 1974 and, on a smaller scale, Nicole in 1982, no other winners of the Eurovision Song Contest have been able to build a career on gaining the coveted prize. Nevertheless, music awards are in vogue. They attract attention in an increasingly complex and diverse cultural world that can focus on a subject only for a short time. They are thus an important tool of promotion and may well gain in importance, even if their effect is not precisely measurable.

Musik Awards Preisfrage

Große Show für den Pop: James Bay und Sarah Connor bei der Echo Pop 2016 Gala
Große Show für den Pop: James Bay und Sarah Connor bei der Echo Pop 2016 Gala | Foto © BVMI, Sinissey

In der klassischen Musik wird mit harten Bandagen gekämpft. Wer keinen gewonnenen Wettbewerb vorweisen kann, findet kaum Publikum. Im Pop funktioniert das anders. Hier greifen Musikindustrie, Journalisten, Gremien als Steuermechanismen ein und generieren Preise. Ein Überblick.

Musikpreise sind fast so alt wie die Musikindustrie, auch wenn sie wenig über die Kunst selbst aussagen. Chartplatzierungen und Verkaufsstatistiken als Indikatoren des Marktwertes sind zumindest kurzfristig die Börsenkurse für Musik. Auf lange Sicht sagen sie allerdings nur sehr wenig über den Wert eines Songs aus. Alle Jahre wieder werden verborgene Schätze ausgegraben, kein Labor der Welt konnte bis jetzt die Erfolgs-DNA eines Popsongs entschlüsseln. Und das macht es bei allem Kalkül doch wieder spannend, warum und wofür Preise vergeben werden.

Die Mutter der Awards

Die Mutter aller Musikpreise ist die Goldene Schallplatte. Die erste inoffizielle Golden Disc ging bereits 1931 für 500.000 Verkäufe der Single That Silver Haired Daddy Of Mine an Gene Autry. Es sollte noch einmal elf Jahre dauern, bis Glenn Miller für den Chattanooga Choo Choo dasselbe Privileg zuteil wurde. Offiziell und regulär wird die Goldene Schallplatte in den USA seit 1958 verliehen, in Deutschland wurde die Praxis schnell übernommen. Die Kriterien wurden aufgrund kontinuierlich sinkender Verkaufszahlen und einer galoppierenden Unübersichtlichkeit des Marktes stetig aufgeweicht. Heute interessiert sich für das altmodische Ritual kaum noch jemand. Andere Musikpreise haben mit mehr oder weniger Brimborium den Platz der Goldenen Schallplatte eingenommen.

So wird beispielsweise seit 1992 von der Deutschen Phono-Akademie der Echo verliehen und gilt als am heißesten begehrte Auszeichnung auf dem deutschen Pop-Pflaster. Die Preisträger ergeben sich dabei aus den addierten Wochenergebnissen der Media Control Charts, das heißt, es geht bei der Beurteilung eher um schnelle Umsetzung als um langfristigen Absatz. So wundert es nicht, dass Helene Fischer mit 16 Trophäen die mit Abstand meisten Echos erhielt, gefolgt von den Kastelruther Spatzen (13), Herbert Grönemeyer (11) sowie Die Toten Hosen und Rammstein (jeweils 10). Kreativität oder künstlerische Werte sind irrelevant, es zählt ausschließlich das kommerzielle Standing. Daher geriet der Preis auch 2013 unter Beschuss, als die der rechten Szene zugerechnete Band Frei.Wild aus Südtirol für einen Echo nominiert wurde. Zahlreiche Künstler – unter ihnen Die Ärzte und Kraftklub – blieben aus Protest der Echo-Verleihung fern. Ein kleines Zeichen wenigstens, dass Inhalte doch noch wahrgenommen werden.

Kommerz vs. Kritik

Das an Qualität orientierte Gegenstück zum Echo ist der Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik, der vom Verein des gleichen Namens auf Grundlage eines Kritiker-Votums vergeben wird. Kommerzielle Aspekte finden hier nur insofern Berücksichtigung, als Labels, die am Markt gut aufgestellt sind, selbstredend über geeignete Mittel verfügen, bei der Kritik auf ihre Produkte aufmerksam zu machen. Um unterschiedliche Gewichtungen herauszustellen, werden vierteljährliche Bestenlisten aufgestellt und Jahrespreise verliehen. Mit einer großen Gala wird außerdem in Berlin seit 2009 der Musikautorenpreis der GEMA gefeiert. Wie beim Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik ist eine Fachjury ausschlaggebend.  

Noch ein Award versucht, ein unabhängiges Gegengewicht zum Echo zu bilden. Im September 2016 wurde zum ersten Mal der Preis für Popkultur überreicht, erdacht von einem Verein für Popkultur und ausgewählt von einer gemischten Jury aus Industrie, Journalismus und Veranstalter, die sich aus den Reihen der Vereinsmitglieder rekrutiert. Es sei „ein kleines, aber nettes Schaufenster für Popmusik“ resümierte Spiegel Online im Anschluss an die Verleihung in Berlin, immerhin wurden mit Rappern wie K.I.Z. und Bands wie Moderat oder Deichkind deutlich andere Künstler als preiswürdig erachtet als bei der an Verkaufszahlen orientierten Business-Konkurrenz Echo. Ein Signal aus der Szene mit Entwicklungspotential.
Lieblingsband beim Preis für Popkultur 2016: Moderat, Quelle: YouTube

Die Reihe der Musikpreise für Pop-Musik wie für andere Sparten, die auf der Website des Deutschen Musikrats veröffentlicht wird, ist ebenso lang wie unvollständig und teilweise obskur. Die Stifter setzen sich aus öffentlichen und privaten Medien, Vereinen und Interessenverbänden, Ausbildungseinrichtungen und Künstlergremien, der Politik und Stiftungen zusammen. Entsprechend breit gefächert ist die Zielrichtung der Preise. Je kleiner und regionaler die Preisverleiher aufgestellt sind, desto weniger dienen diese Auszeichnungen der Ehrung für vollbrachte Leistungen oder der Würdigung von Verkäufen. Förderpreise erstrecken sich von der Spielstättenförderung über Stipendien, zum Beispiel für Auslandsreisen, bis hin zu Studiopreisen zwecks Einspielung einer CD.

Stichwort Wettbewerb

Ein beliebtes Mittel der Förderung sind Wettbewerbe, deren Gewinn einem Preis gleichkommt. Sie stehen Newcomern offen und ermöglichen vor allem auf regionaler Ebene gezielten Support und den Sprung von Amateuren auf die Profi-Ebene. Publikumspreise werden hauptsächlich in Form von Leser- oder Hörerbefragungen ermittelt. Zu den renommiertesten Publikumspreisen in Deutschland gehört wohl die 1Live-Krone des WDR. Im weitesten Sinne zählen auch Casting Shows wie Deutschland sucht den Superstar (DSDS) zu den Fördermöglichkeiten, wobei es bei diesen am allerwenigsten um tatsächliche Qualität oder Marktpotential geht.

Musikpreise dienen ganz unterschiedlichen Zwecken. In vielen Fällen sind sie ein geeignetes Werbemittel der Stifter, um auf sich selbst aufmerksam zu machen. Der Wirkungsgrad für die Künstler ist indes nicht messbar. Es ist kaum wahrscheinlich, dass bekannte Popmusiker noch erfolgreicher werden, weil sie eine weitere Trophäe nach Hause tragen, und für die Aufzählung ihrer Echos auf Websites und bei Wikipedia interessieren sich letztlich nur Statistiker. Förderpreise mögen als Sprungbrett oder finanzieller Support hilfreich sein, weitgehende Auswirkungen auf die Karriere von Musikern sind nicht nachweisbar. Vielleicht ist es symptomatisch, dass seit ABBA 1974 und in kleinerem Rahmen Nicole 1982 beispielsweise kein Sieger des Eurovision Song Contests mehr eine weiterreichende Karriere auf dem Gewinn des begehrten Preises aufbauen konnte. Trotzdem liegen Musikpreise im Trend. Sie sind Aufmerksamkeitsanker in einer zunehmend unübersichtlicher werdenden Kulturwelt, die ein Publikum, wenn auch oft nur kurzzeitig, auf ein Thema fokussieren können. Damit sind sie ein wichtiges Marketing-Werkzeug und werden als solches womöglich noch an Relevanz gewinnen, auch wenn ihre Wirkung im Einzelnen nicht messbar ist.