Pop And Politics No Breather

They played a concert for Deniz Yücel: The Notwist
They played a concert for Deniz Yücel: The Notwist | Photo ⓒ Ralf Dombrowski

Politics is attitude is pop. That was thirty years ago. Now the scene is struggling to define its position. Notes on a discussion.

Signs of a politization of pop music in Germany? No problem! From A as in Antilopen Gang to Z as in Zitronen, Goldene, many bands have expressed themselves in political terms since 2015 or 2016, and so responded to the manifold symptoms of what could be summed up in one word as “backlash”. The ubiquitous backlash is embodied by authoritarian politicians such as Donald Trump and Viktor Orbán, Vladimir Putin and Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, and represented by neologisms such as Brexit and Pegida, and parties such as the Front National, UKIP, AfD and FPÖ, which at least for a while gained undreamt-of approval ratings and drove the so-called established or old parties before them – to the right.

Return of the old

To these shiftings of the social coordinates, pop music in Germany has responded with a noticeable politicization or re-politicization of its art, at least at first glance. Der Plan from Düsseldorf, veterans of the (Original) Neue Deutsche Welle (ONDW / New German Wave), has returned after a long break with a new album; it is entitled Unkapitulierbar (Uncapitulable) and the Berlin based newspaper Tageszeitung sees in it “a blazing plea for Europe and fundamental rights”. Under the title Ein Haufen Scheiß und ein zertrümmertes Klavier (A Pile of shit and a Smashed Piano), FSK (Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle i.e.,Voluntary Self-Regulation), likewise of the ONDW founding generation, has released a tribute to the Futurist painter and musician Luigi Russolo. The title celebrates the political beauty of destruction and deconstruction: “Luigi Russolo says that metal machines serve new gods, who raze the old cities to the ground”.
Many political statments during their career: Die Ärzte

Razing the old to the ground and developing the new from the ruins – this was one of the leading ideas of punk in the late 1970s. Gudrun Gut was there; she was a co-founder of the Einstürzende Neubauten (Collapsing New Buildings), thereafter of many women’s bands whose names begin with “M” – Mania D, Malaria, Matador – and later of the feminist record company Monika Schallplatten (Monika Records). In a radio interview with ByteFM on Monika’s twentieth anniversary, Gut formulated a credo with which most of the ONDW pioneers would probably agree: “You should be as incapable as possible. The new is created out of inability; it was such a funny idea.”

A bit of punk

The funny idea grown from the humus of the so-called Geniale Dilletanten (Brilliant Dilletants) goes back to an old insight: art doesn’t arise from ability. Today the fifty to sixty-year-olds have in common the influence of punk: “The attitude is still important to me, a bit punky. If that doesn’t work ..., which I still don’t believe it (laughs).” Gut has also commented on the question in the July/August 2017 issue of the magazine SPEX devoted to the theme of “Anger – a feeling is splitting the world of pop”. The circumstances have to be changed, said the musician: “I already thought music is and must be political before. Now I see pop as a recreational factor after the fight or as a source of energy for it”.
Christiane Rösinger: Eigentumswohnung

Many German-language pop songs tell of the daily struggle against urban replacement and the squeezing out of Bohemian life from the metropolises – for instance, Christiane Rösinger’s autobiographical Eigentumswohnung (Condo), which is about how she is not even able to buy the Kreuzberg rental in which she has lived for decades. “Mowing down the pigs isn’t enough.“ Under this crisp heading in the SPEX special issue, two main figures of left-wing radical punk made in Germany discuss their rather different definitions of punk and left-wing radicalism: Torsun Burkhardt, the singer of the band Egotronic of the anti-German straight-in-your-face wing (“Germany, asshole, fuck yourself”), and Ted Gaier (self-definition: individualist-anarchist and utopian) of the Goldene Zitronen. Together with the (street) theatre-happening-activist project Schwabinggrad Ballett & Arrivati, Gaier is seeking new, more up-to-date forms of agitp(r)op to treat questions of migration, border regimes and refugee policy. The large group consists of biological Germans, refugees and those who came to Germany for reasons other than being compelled to do so.
Schwabinggrad Ballett & Arrivati: Bodies Will Be Back

Left mainstream

The list of these pop leftist activities in the widest sense could be continued at will; the broad mobilization against the imprisonment of the German-Turkish journalist Deniz Yücel has been substantially supported by musicians: Die Sterne, The Notwist, Bernd Begemann, Peter Licht.

So far, so good. The question remains: how “pop” is this “pop left”? How popular is it and what social reach does it enjoy? And whom doesn’t it reach? This question is inseparable from the ongoing discussion about left-wing populism. None of the acts mentioned here attains sales figures and media presence even approaching the certifiably unpolitical feel-good pop of the Tim Bendzko, Max Giesinger & Matthias Schweighöfer school. And none of the mentioned acts has even approximately the reach of men such as Andreas Gabalier and Xavier Naidoo, or bands such as Frei.Wild (Fair Game) and Die Böhsen Onkelz (The Evil Uncles), all of which represent facets of the backlash, whether folkish-nationalist, masculinist anti-feminism together with “gender madness” hate and homophobia, or anti-Semitic conspiracy theory.
A critical voice against right: The Antilopen Gang

We are thus witnesses to a cultural-political paradox: in the midst of society, highly popular pop artists, who owe their success to their integrability into right-wing populist milieus and content, present themselves as victims of a left-liberal mainstream that forbids them to call a spade a spade. And this in spite of the fact that Gabalier and Naidoo are constant guests, if not hosts, on German TV shows: Frei.Wild win the Echo, the Böhsen Onkelz sell out the Hockenheimring for days, and actor Ben Becker plays the business punk to announce the spectacle. Or rather to bay it out.

Defiance from the right

Meanwhile, the representatives of the ONDW and the older pop leftists receive the anointment of high culture and perform in safe spaces in splendid isolation – places where no doubts are voiced about their prerogative of interpretation. Municipal theatres, Houses of the Cultures of the World, academies, museums, art galleries. But, just to make this clear, against paradoxes of this kind left-populism is of no avail. When Frei.Wild, Gabalier, Naidoo and the Onkelz fulminate against the mainstream, gender madness and the mendacious press, and thus win the masses to their side, a left-wing that can taken seriously cannot help itself to the same anti-mainstream rhetoric without further ado – unless, that is, it is striving for cross-front solidarity between national socialists and neo-National Socialists.

Pop und Politik Keine Atempause

Spielten solidarisch für Deniz Yücel: The Notwist
Spielten solidarisch für Deniz Yücel: The Notwist | Foto ⓒ Ralf Dombrowski

Politik ist Haltung ist Pop. Das war einmal, vor dreißig Jahren. Inzwischen tut sich die Szene schwerer mit der Positionsbestimmung. Anmerkungen zur Diskussion.

Indizien für eine Politisierung der Pop-Musik in Deutschland? Nichts leichter als das. Von A wie Antilopen Gang bis Z wie Zitronen, Goldene, haben sich seit etwa 2015/16 viele Bands, Musikerinnen und Musiker politisch geäußert und so auf die vielfältigen Symptome dessen reagiert, was man in einem Wort zusammenfassen könnte als: Backlash. Den Backlash aller Orten verkörpern autoritäre Politiker wie Donald Trump und Viktor Orbán, Wladimir Putin und Recep Tayyip Erdoğan; für den Backlash stehen Wortschöpfungen wie Brexit und Pegida, Parteien wie dem Front National, UKIP, AfD oder FPÖ, die zumindest temporär ungeahnte Zustimmungsquoten erzielen und die sogenannten etablierten oder auch Alt-Parteien vor sich hertreiben – nach rechts.  

Rückkehr der Alten

Auf diese Verschiebungen der gesellschaftlichen Koordinaten reagiert die Pop-Musik in Deutschland mit einer spürbaren Politisierung oder Repolitisierung ihrer Kunst, zumindest auf den ersten Blick. Der Plan, Veteranen der (Original) Neuen Deutschen Welle (ONDW) aus Düsseldorf, kehren nach langer Pause mit einem neuen Album zurück, es heißt Unkapitulierbar und die Berliner Tageszeitung erkennt darin „ein flammendes Plädoyer für Europa und die Grundrechte“. Ein Haufen Scheiß und ein zertrümmertes Klavier – unter  diesem Titel bringen FSK (Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle), ebenfalls aus der Gründergeneration der ONDW, eine Hommage auf den futuristischen Maler und Musiker Luigi Russolo heraus. Der Titel feiert die politische Schönheit – nicht die des gleichnamigen Zentrums, wohlgemerkt – von Destruktion und Dekonstruktion: „Luigi Russolo sagt, dass Metallmaschinen neuen Göttern dienen, die die alten Städte in Schutt und Asche legen.“
Altmeister des kritischen Rock: Die Ärzte

Das Alte in Schutt und Asche legen und daraus Neues entwickeln, das war eine der Leitideen von Punk in den späten Siebzigerjahren. Auch Gudrun Gut war damals dabei, sie hat die Einstürzenden Neubauten mitbegründet, danach viele Frauenbands, deren Name mit M beginnt: Mania D, Malaria, Matador, später die feministische Plattenfirma Monika Schallplatten. Zum 20. Geburtstag von Monika formulierte Gudrun Gut im Radiointerview mit ByteFM ein Credo, dem wohl die meisten Pioniere der ONDW zustimmen würden: „Man sollte es möglichst nicht können. Das Neue schöpft man aus dem Nicht-Können, das war so ’ne komische Idee.“

Ein bisschen Punk

Die komische Idee aus dem Humus der sogenannten Genialen Dilletanten geht zurück auf eine alte Erkenntnis: Kunst kommt nicht von Können. Gemeinsam ist den heute Fünfzig- bis Sechzigjährigen die Prägung durch Punk: „Die Haltung ist bei mir nach wie vor wichtig, ein bisschen punkig. Also wenn was nicht gehen soll …, das glaub ich denn immer nicht.“ Gudrun Gut äußert sich auch im Juli-/August-Heft (2017) der Zeitschrift SPEX mit dem Schwerpunkt „Wut – ein Gefühl spaltet die Popwelt.“ Die Umstände müssten verändert werden, sagt die Musikerin: „Ich dachte früher schon, dass Musik politisch ist und sein muss. Inzwischen sehe ich Pop auch als Erholungsfaktor nach dem Kampf oder als Energiequelle für den Kampf.
Christane Rösinger: Eigentumswohnung

Vom alltäglichen Kampf gegen innerstädtische Verdrängung und die Verunmöglichung bohemistischen Lebens in Metropolen erzählen viele deutschsprachige Pop-Songs, exemplarisch autobiografisch Christiane Rösingers Eigentumswohnung, der davon handelt, dass sie eben nicht in der Lage ist, jene Kreuzberger Mietwohnung, in der sie seit Jahrzehnten lebt, mal eben zu kaufen. „Die Schweine platthauen reicht nicht.“ Unter dieser spröden Überschrift diskutieren in besagtem SPEX-Themenheft zwei Protagonisten des linksradikalen Punk made in Germany ihre doch recht unterschiedlichen Definitionen von Punk und Linksradikalität: Torsun Burkhardt, Sänger der Band Egotronic vom antideutschen Mitten-in-die-Fresse-Flügel („Deutschland, Arschloch, fick dich“) und Ted Gaier (Selbstdefinition: Individualanarchist und Utopist) von den Goldenen Zitronen. Mit dem (Straßen-)Theater-Happening-AktivistInnen-Projekt Schwabinggrad Ballett & Arrivati sucht Gaier neue, gegenwartshaltigere Formen von Agit-P(r)op zu Fragen von Migration, Grenzregimes und Flüchtlingspolitik. Die vielköpfige Gruppe besteht aus Bio-Deutschen wie aus Geflüchteten und nicht unter Zwang nach Deutschland Gekommenen.
Schwabinggrad Ballett & Arrivati: „Bodies Will Be Back“

Linker Mainstream

Die Aufzählung dieser im weitesten Sinn pop-linken Aktivitäten ließe sich beliebig fortsetzen, auch die breite Mobilisierung gegen die Inhaftierung des deutsch-türkischen Journalisten Deniz Yücel wird maßgeblich von MusikerInnen unterstützt: Die Sterne, The Notwist, Bernd Begemann, Peter Licht.

So weit, so gut. Bleibt die Frage: Wie „pop“ ist diese Pop-Linke? Wie populär und welche gesellschaftliche Reichweite hat sie? Und wen erreicht sie nicht? Diese Frage ist nicht zu trennen von der anhaltenden Diskussion des linken Populismus. Keiner der hier erwähnten Acts erreicht auch nur annähernd die Verkaufszahlen und die mediale Präsenz wie der als unpolitisch ausgewiesene Feelgood-Pop der Tim Bendzko, Max Giesinger & Matthias Schweighöfer-Schule. Und keiner der hier erwähnten Acts verfügt auch nur annähernd über die Reichweite von Männern wie Andreas Gabalier und Xavier Naidoo oder Bands wie Frei.Wild und Die Böhsen Onkelz, die allesamt Facetten des Backlash repräsentieren, sei es das Völkisch-Nationale, den maskulinistischen Antifeminismus nebst Hass auf den sogenannten Genderwahn und Homophobie oder die antisemitische Verschwörungstheorie.
Kritisch gegen rechts: Antilopen Gang

So erleben wir einen kulturpolitischen Treppenwitz: In der Mitte der Gesellschaft hochpopuläre Pop-Künstler, die ihren Erfolg auch ihrer Anschlussfähigkeit an rechtspopulistische Milieus und Inhalte verdanken, gerieren sich als Opfer eines linksliberalen Mainstream, der ihnen verbietet, so zu reden, wie ihnen der Schnabel gewachsen ist. Dabei sind Gabalier und Naidoo Dauergäste, wenn nicht gleich Gastgeber in deutschen Fernsehshows: Frei.Wild gewinnen den Echo, die Böhsen Onkelz verkaufen tagelang den Hockenheimring aus und der Schauspieler Ben Becker gibt den Business-Punk, um das Spektakel anzusagen. Oder anzubrüllen.

Trotz von rechts

Derweil nehmen Repräsentanten von ONDW und älterer Pop-Linker die Weihen der Hochkultur in Empfang und bespielen „safe spaces in splendid isolation“, Orte, an denen keine Zweifel an ihrer Deutungshoheit laut werden. Stadttheater, Häuser der Kulturen der Welten, Akademia, Museen, Galerien. Aber, um das klarzustellen, gegen Treppenwitze dieser Art hilft kein linker Populismus. Wenn Frei.Wild, Gabalier, Naidoo und die Onkelz gegen Mainstream, Genderwahn und Lügenpresse wettern und damit Massen für sich einnehmen, dann kann sich eine ernstzunehmende Linke nicht umstandslos der selben Anti-Mainstream-Rhetorik bedienen, es sei denn, sie strebt den querfrontalen Schulterschluss an, zwischen nationalen Sozialisten und Neo-Nationalsozialisten.