New Music On the Rise – New Music at the Universities

The Ensemble Musikfabrik has a strong connection to the conservatory of Cologne. A usefull collaboration.
The Ensemble Musikfabrik has a strong connection to the conservatory of Cologne. A usefull collaboration. | Foto © Jonas Werner-Hohensee

It is a challenge. New Music has had a hard time in the daily cultural life, even if scholars and critics have long canonized it. Universities in Germany are therefore very active in providing students and public with an understanding of this music.

New Music is multifarious and uncomfortable; it explores border areas, provokes and surprises. Sounds exciting; yet contemporary music has an image problem: it is considered difficult to communicate. “Communication” therefore became the key concept of the scene, not least at German music conservatories, many of which maintain their own institutes for New Music. None can do without the corresponding offers – because of concern for the often-invoked “audience of tomorrow” and because here third-party funding beckons, without which no state institution can get by today. This of course says nothing about the nature, scope and quality of the programmes, which are as diverse as is “cultural education” itself.

The term combines two large and complex concepts and means, in the case of New Music, reducing inhibition thresholds, representing diversity and recruiting newcomers. The resultant spectrum of initiatives ranges from teacher training, maintenance of university orchestras and concert series to cooperation with external cultural institutions and the training of music educators in newly designed programmes.

As polyphonic as the scene itself

In 2017 the University of Music and Performing Arts (HfMDK) in Frankfurt presented its Night of New Music under the motto Action – Reaction and so put a key watchword on its successful communication: the goal must be to create spaces for discussion to keep discourse alive. To this principle the University of Music, Theatre and Media (HMTM) in Hanover also pays tribute in its communication programme bearing the motto Incontri (Encounters). Munich, for its part, relies above all on promotion of excellence: since 2012 the Academy for New Music has been organizing master classes with internationally renowned performers such as the Arditti Quartet and prominent composers such as Wolfgang Rihm, which have developed an appeal beyond the academic framework.

Rihm students at the University of Karlsruhe benefit from the rule that examination concerts are performed publicly by the University Ensemble for New Music or the ComputerStudio at the Institute for New Music and Media (InMM) and cooperation with external organizers is cultivated. In general, university orchestras, concert series and external partners seem to be a tried and tested recipe for German institutions of higher education in their efforts to communicate. Cologne maintains the Ensemble 20/21 and cultivates close contact to the Deutschlandfunk, the ensemble Musik-Fabrik and the Witten Festival for New Chamber Music. Stuttgart, on the other hand, speaks of a communication “network”: by and for students and staff, but also in contact with institutions such as the Donaueschingen Music Festival and the Broadcasting station Südwest Rundfunk. “Campus Present” also brought with it a transdisciplinary platform with two new professorships for contemporary aesthetics and performance.

In Berlin “Klangzeitort” likewise cultivates supra-institutional cooperation: the joint Institute for New Music of the University of the Arts and the Hanns Eisler Music Academy sees itself as a laboratory for musical composition and the reflective treatment of contemporary music. The German capital has also taken up the cause of “the inter and transdisciplinary connection of music”, “in the context both of the approaches of the humanities and the natural sciences and of current social and political issues”.

New Music at Klangzeitort: for example David Moliner

Concerts, cooperation, orchestras

This aspiration may be regarded as fundamental for the communication of New Music in post-factual times, in which art can no longer be l'art pour l'art. In fact, the core concerns of New Music and cultural education touch one another in that they each stand for ambivalence, contingency, many truths and the open encounter of the other. In this connection should be mentioned the event series Global Ear of the Dresden University of Music, which is devoted to intercultural question of sound.

Many universities have also paid attention to the progress of the media. This includes not only electronic studios but also the discussion in “behaviour, perception, communication, design and the aesthetics of music in the digital age”, as this is reflected on at the State Centre for Music-Design-Performance at the Trossinger University of Music. The Institute for Music and Media in Düsseldorf also devotes itself to such questions, while in Mainz “sound art” is seen “as an artistic interaction of art and music”. In Weimar, the city of the classics, an Institute for Contemporary Music was established in 2015 that thinks jointly about jazz and avant-garde music, while others locate the music of the future in pop culture, thus paying tribute post-modern diversity.

So there is not only one form of the communication of New Music at Germany universities. We can see them rather as lively hubs of cultural traffic. The way between mediating institution and respective target group is not a one-way street but rather a crossroads with multiple overlaps, because we know: contemporary music can maintain its claim to relevance only if it is practiced and communicated as polyphonically as our time is complex.

Neue Musik Im Aufwind – Neue Musik an den Hochschulen

Das Kölner Ensemble Musikfabrik steht in engem Kontakt mit der Hochschule der Stadt. Das hilft der Musik.
Das Kölner Ensemble Musikfabrik steht in engem Kontakt mit der Hochschule der Stadt. Das hilft der Musik. | Foto © Jonas Werner-Hohensee

Es ist eine Herausforderung. Die Neue Musik hat es schwer im kulturellen Alltag, auch wenn Wissenschaft und Kritik sie längst kanonisiert haben. Die Hochschulen in Deutschland sind daher sehr aktiv, sie Studenten und Publikum nahezubringen.

Neue Musik ist vielgestaltig und unbequem, sie lotet Grenzbereiche aus, provoziert und überrascht. Klingt aufregend – und doch hat die zeitgenössische Tonkunst ein Imageproblem: sie gilt als schwer vermittelbar. „Vermittlung“ wurde deshalb zum Schlüsselbegriff der Szene, nicht zuletzt an deutschen Musikhochschulen, von denen viele ein eigenes Institut für Neue Musik unterhalten. Keines davon kann auf entsprechende Angebote verzichten – aus Sorge um das viel zitierte „Publikum von morgen“ und weil hier Drittmittelgelder winken, ohne die heute auch keine staatliche Institution auskommen kann. Damit ist freilich noch nichts gesagt über Art, Umfang und Qualität der Programme, die so vielseitig sind wie die „Kulturelle Bildung“ selbst.

Der Terminus verbindet zwei komplexe Großbegriffe und meint im Fall der Neuen Musik: Hemmschwellen abbauen, Vielfalt repräsentieren, Nachwuchs rekrutieren. Das daraus resultierende Spektrum von Initiativen reicht von Lehrerbildung, über die Pflege hochschuleigener Klangkörper und Konzertreihen, bis zu Kooperationen mit externen Kultureinrichtungen und der Ausbildung von Musikvermittlern in neu entworfenen Studiengängen.

So vielstimmig, wie die Szene selbst

Die Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst (HfMDK) Frankfurt stellte ihre Neue-Musik-Nacht 2017 unter das Motto Aktion – Reaktion und gab damit eine grundlegende Parole erfolgreicher Vermittlung aus: Ziel muss es sein, Räume für Auseinandersetzungen zu schaffen, um den Diskurs lebendig zu halten. Dem zollt auch die Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien (HMTM) Hannover Tribut, die in ihrem Vermittlungsprogramm das Motto Incontri (Begegnungen) ausgibt. In München setzt man vor allem auf Spitzenförderung: Seit 2012 veranstaltet die „Akademie für Neue Musik“ Meisterkurse mit international renommierten Interpreten wie dem Arditti Quartett oder prominenten Komponisten wie Wolfgang Rihm, die Ausstrahlung über den Hochschulrahmen hinaus entwickeln.

Rihm-Schüler an der Hochschule Karlsruhe profitieren vom Grundsatz, dass Prüfungskonzerte öffentlich durch das Hochschulensemble für Neue Musik oder das ComputerStudio am Institut für Neue Musik und Medien (InMM) aufgeführt und Kooperationen zu externen Veranstaltern gepflegt werden. Überhaupt scheinen hauseigene Klangkörper und Konzertreihen sowie externe Partner ein bewährtes Rezept der deutschen Hochschulen in ihrem Bemühen um Vermittlung: In Köln unterhält man das Ensemble 20/21 und pflegt enge Kontakte zum Deutschlandfunk, dem Ensemble Musik-Fabrik und den Wittener Tagen für neue Kammermusik. In Stuttgart spricht man dagegen von einem „Netz“ der Vermittlung: von und für Studierende und Mitarbeiter, aber auch im Kontakt mit Institutionen wie den Donaueschinger Musiktagen oder dem Südwest-Rundfunk. Mit dem Campus Gegenwart wurde zudem eine transdisziplinäre Plattform mit zwei neuen Professuren für Gegenwartsästhetik und Performance ausgestattet.

Auch im Berliner „Klangzeitort“ pflegt man eine überinstitutionelle Kooperation: Das gemeinsame Institut für Neue Musik der Universität der Künste und der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler versteht sich als „Laboratorium für musikalische Komposition und den reflektierenden Umgang mit zeitgenössischer Musik“. In der Hauptstadt schreibt man sich außerdem „die inter- und transdisziplinäre Verbindung von Musik“ auf die Fahnen, auch „im Kontext von natur- und geisteswissenschaftlichen Herangehensweisen sowie aktuellen sozialen und politischen Fragestellungen.“

Neue Musik am Klangzeitort: zum Beispiel David Moliner

Konzerte, Kooperationen, Klangkörper

Dieser Anspruch darf als grundlegend für die Vermittlung Neuer Musik in postfaktischen Zeiten gelten, in denen Kunst nicht mehr l’art pour l’art sein kann. Tatsächlich berühren sich die Kernanliegen Neuer Musik und Kultureller Bildung, indem sie jeweils für Ambivalenz, Kontingenz, viele Wahrheiten und die offene Begegnung mit dem Anderen stehen. In diesem Kontext ist etwa die Veranstaltungsreihe Global Ear der Dresdner Hochschule für Musik zu nennen, die sich interkulturellen Klangfragen widmet.

Auch den medialen Fortschreitungen zollen viele Hochschulen Rechnung. Dazu gehören nicht nur elektronische Studios, sondern die Auseinandersetzung in „Verhalten, Wahrnehmung, Kommunikation, Gestaltung und Ästhetik von Musik im digitalen Zeitalter", wie sie das Landeszentrum Musik-Design-Performance der Trossinger Hochschule reflektiert. Solchen Fragen widmet sich auch das Institut für Musik und Medien in Düsseldorf, während man in Mainz die „Klangkunst als künstlerische Interaktion von Kunst und Musik“ versteht. In der Klassikerstadt Weimar wurde dagegen 2015 ein Institut für die Musik der Gegenwart geschaffen, das Jazz und Avantgarde zusammendenkt, während andere die Zukunftsmusik in der Popkultur verorten und damit der postmodernen Vielfalt Tribut zollen.

Es gibt also nicht die eine Vermittlung Neuer Musik an deutschen Hochschulen. Man kann sie sich vielmehr als belebten Knotenpunkt im Kulturverkehr vorstellen: Der Weg zwischen vermittelnder Institution und der jeweiligen Zielgruppe ist keine Einbahnstraße, sondern eher eine Kreuzung mit vielfachen Überschneidungen, denn man weiß: Die zeitgenössische Musik kann ihren Anspruch auf Aktualität nur behaupten, wenn sie so vielstimmig praktiziert und vermittelt wird, wie unsere Zeit komplex ist.