Early Music 2012 From the ivory tower into the contemporary limelight

The days of the museification and ivory tower isolation of the early music scene in Germany are gone for good. Sabine Fallenstein recaps some of the many noteworthy events, concerts and stage productions in 2012.

Barrie Kosky’s production of Monteverdi’s „Orfeo“ at the Komische Oper in Berlin Barrie Kosky’s production of Monteverdi’s „Orfeo“ at the Komische Oper in Berlin | © Iko Freese | drama-berlin.de Early music in Germany now rests on a broad and high-calibre foundation. That is the only way to account for its burgeoning from a niche phenomenon confined to a handful of period performance aficionados back in the mid-20th century into such a powerful practice permeating every area of music in our day. Source-critical stylistics and an historically detailed knowledge of phrasing, intonation and ornamentation are nowadays a matter-of-course "must" for any complete course of musical training. The way in which modern-day musicians play the music of, say, Johann Sebastian Bach, Joseph Haydn and Franz Schubert has benefited enormously from insights into authentic performance practice, even if the performers don't always happen to be early music specialists.

Ein Klang zwischen Gestern und Heute

The best example thereof is the SFR (Südwestfundrunk broadcasting corporation) Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra (RSO), whose director for many years and current honorary conductor, Sir Roger Norrington, was awarded the German Order of Merit in November 2012. During Norrington's 13-year tenure at the helm of the RSO, the orchestra's historically informed "Stuttgart sound", with its use of modern instruments, won over lots of fans, who were delighted in August 2012 – a year after he left Stuttgart – when the RSO recordings of Franz Schubert's fourth and fifth symphonies came out on CD.

Altes wiederentdecken, Neues wagen

The dramaturgic watchword of the Schwetzingen SWR Festspiele is "Rediscovering the old, daring the new, giving young talents a chance". During the 2012 festival season, artists like the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra in phenomenal collaboration with Kristian Bezuidenhout on fortepiano, Stile Antico, Anima Eterna under the direction of Jos van Immerseel, Jordi Savall with Hespérion 21, and the Hilliard Ensemble took that motto to heart, rediscovering a wide range of music from Gregorian chants to Mozart for their audiences in highly-acclaimed performances.

Meanwhile, Aribert Reimann, one of the highest-profile contemporary opera composers in Germany along with Hans Werner Henze and Wolfgang Rihm, put together a concertante portrait of composers, providing a most unusual context for early music listening: in his programme, Reimann juxtaposed a performance by countertenor Tim Severloh and pianist Axel Bauni of his own Five Lieder After Poems by Paul Celan, in the composition of which the "Tenebrae theme" figured prominently, with François Couperin's Deuxième leçon de Ténèbres pour le mercredi Saint. These were exciting contrasts indeed between old and new, which, for all their stylistic diversity, nonetheless made clear to all ears the continuity of a vocal tradition over the course of nearly 300 years.

Wiederauferstehung I

Last year's concerts at the 60th anniversary festival in Schwetzingen also featured the premiere of Anton Schweitzer's opera Rosamunde using an adapted version of the libretto by Joseph Martin Wieland. Under the musical direction of Jan Willem de Vriend, Jens-Daniel Herzog's production was hailed by the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung as the "brilliant resurrection" of a work for the stage which, after its world premiere in Mannheim, had lain like Sleeping Beauty in a deep sleep for over 230 years.

Rein vokal und ziemlich alt

Speaking of fairy tales, the old Rommersdorf Abbey in Neuwied am Rhein, like many other grandiose Romanesque and Gothic churches in the Rhine Gorge, turns out to be an ideal spot for the performance of early music. For seven years now, to make the most of these enchanted venues, the annual RheinVokal Festival has been held in July and August in this UNESCO World Heritage region. Early music is writ large in the programme: at last year's opening concert, the young English ensemble Voces8, as yet hardly known in these parts, set off storms of enthusiasm at the very opening of the festival with music by Monteverdi and Palestrina, Byrd and Tavener, at the Saint Castor Basilica in Koblenz.

That was followed by vocal highlights like the reconstruction of a Johann Rosenmüller requiem by La Capella Ducale and Musica Fiata under the direction of Roland Wilson – must-have performers at any early music festival – along with European Renaissance lieder performed by soprano Johanette Zomer and lutenist Fred Jacobs from The Netherlands and the British Gallicantus singers under the direction of Gabriel Crouch.

Wiederauferstehung II

At RheinVokal these six English early music enthusiasts sang motets by William Byrd and his contemporaries, a programme they had performed only a few weeks before at the 28th Tage Alter Musik in Regensburg. The Regensburg festival rang out the year with a staging of the comic opera Il Marito indolente – Der gleichgültige Ehemann ("The Indolent Husband") by Dresden court composer Joseph Schuster (1748–1812). Schuster's work is all but forgotten in our day, 200 years after his death.

To help revive this long-neglected German composer, the Händel Festspiele in Halle are programming a Schuster oratorio – tellingly titled Lob der Musik ("Praise of Music") – for their 2013 season. But the highlight of the 2012 festival in Halle was Polish director Andrej Woron's visually stunning production of George Frideric Handel's opera seria Alcina under the musical direction of Bernhard Forck. Meanwhile, at the Händelfestspiele in Karlsruhe, Alexander Fahima's staging of Alessandro under Michael Form's musical direction proved quite a crowd puller, setting a new record for attendance. And up in Göttingen, the oldest and most established of the three Handel festivals, the new artistic director Lawrence Cummings made his debut with the oratorio Esther. A production of the opera Amadigi di Gaula was staged by Sigrid T'Hooft, a specialist in Baroque dance, and conducted by Andrew Parrott for his Göttingen debut.

Von sprudelnden Quellen und wissenschaftlicher Disziplin

The basis of all these opera productions is the painstaking work of the Hallische Händel-Ausgabe, a critical edition based on all known sheet music sources. This 116-volume edition of Handel's complete oeuvre has been in the works since 1955 and is slated for completion by 2023.

Along with other collected works – the Wagner edition was completed last year –, it is overseen by the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur (Academy of Sciences and Literature) in Mainz and currently funded by the Akademieprogramm des Bundes und der Länder (German Federal and State Governments' Academic Programme) – a scholarly project which, in its tremendous proportions, has doubtless been a key factor in the above-mentioned omnipresence of early music and historically informed performance practice in the present-day music world.

Monteverdi as Arcadian big bang

Those who thought stage productions of Baroque operas tend to be (too) long were disabused of that misconception by an experiment at the Komische Oper Berlin in September 2012: all three of Claudio Monteverdi's operas were performed in a single day in a musical arrangement by composer Elena Kats-Chernin. For Barrie Kosky, this staging of the trilogy was just the right way to start off his tenure as director of the opera company. "In the overpowering directness of his Arcadian big bang lie all the experiences of director's theatre: irony, hyperbole, alienation effects" raved Die ZEIT online (20 Sept. 2012). And the best of it is that this triple-pack Monteverdi showcase is still playing at Berlin's Komische Oper till the end of the 2013 season.

Birthday boys

"Frederick fever" took hold virtually "right around the corner" in 2012: for the tercentenary of Frederick the Great's birthday, the Musikfestspiele Potsdam Sanssouci held a wide array of concerts at the original sites where the Prussian emperor once made music himself, and where the likes of Quantz, Benda, Graun and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach could be heard playing in one of Europe's leading orchestras and cultivated musical ties to the European hubs of the Rococo. In this vein, the brilliant opening concert featuring the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin ("Akamus" for short) was titled "In love with Europe: Gallant role models for Sanssouci: French, Italians – and Turks".

In 2012 "Akamus" celebrated their 30th anniversary and treated themselves to a particularly lavish programme for the year, including the following three highlights: Christoph Willibald Gluck's Telemaco and Johann Sebastian Bach's St Matthew Passion, both under the baton of René Jacobs, plus Henry Purcell's Dido and Aeneas choreographed by Sasha Waltz.

Collaborative trend

On the whole, the trend towards collaborative productions of early music was more pronounced than ever in 2012. Not only did new partners team up last year for historically informed performances, but they also moved geographically closer together to make the most of synergies for greater efficiency: in Freiburg, for example, where early and new music, in the shape of the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and the ensemble recherche, reside right next door to each other and work together a lot in the newly-opened Ensemblehaus. Or up in Cologne, where the Zentrum für Alte Musik (ZAMUS), a new and unique networking project in Germany in which soloists and ensembles can share administrative and PR services, replete with workshops, rehearsal rooms and instrument rental.

In sum, the year 2012 turned out to be an inexhaustible horn of plenty for friends of early music – and, happily, even in places not necessarily so labelled: the days of the museification and ivory tower isolation of the early music scene in Germany are fortunately gone for good.

ALTE MUSIK 2012 Ganz im Heute angekommen

Die Zeiten musealer Elfenbeintürme und Abschottung sind in der Alten-Musik-Szene in Deutschland ein für allemal vorbei. Sabine Fallenstein beleuchtet einige der vielen nennens-werten Ereignisse, Konzerte und Inszenierungen im Jahr 2012.

Barrie Koskys Inszenierung von Monteverdis „Orfeo“ an der Komischen Oper Berlin Barrie Koskys Inszenierung von Monteverdis „Orfeo“ an der Komischen Oper Berlin | © Iko Freese | drama-berlin.de Die Alte Musik in Deutschland steht derzeit auf einer ebenso breiten wie qualitativ hochwertigen Basis. Nur so ist zu erklären, wie sich seit der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts bis heute aus dem Nischeninteresse einiger Freaks eine so machtvolle und alle musikalischen Bereiche durchdringende Praxis entwickeln konnte: Quellenkritische Stilkunde und historisch detaillierte Kenntnisse in Phrasierung, Tongebung und Verzierungskunst sind heutzutage selbstverständliches "Muss" einer umfassenden Musikausbildung. So hat die Art, Musik von Johann Sebastian Bach, Joseph Haydn oder Franz Schubert zu interpretieren, enorm von den Erkenntnissen der authentischen Aufführungspraxis profitiert, auch wenn es sich bei den Interpreten ausdrücklich nicht um Spezialisten der Alten Musik handelt.

Ein Klang zwischen Gestern und Heute

Bestes Beispiel: das Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart (RSO) des SWR, dessen langjähriger Chef- und derzeitige Ehrendirigent, Sir Roger Norrington, im November 2012 mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz ausgezeichnet wurde. Der an historischer Spielweise orientierte "Stuttgart Sound" des modern besetzten Sinfonieorchesters hat während Norringtons 13-jähriger Amtszeit beim RSO viele Fans gewonnen, die sich unter anderem im August 2012 – ein Jahr nach seinem Abschied aus Stuttgart – über die CD-Veröffentlichung der vierten und fünften Sinfonie von Franz Schubert freuen konnten.

Altes wiederentdecken, Neues wagen

Der dramaturgischen Leitlinie der Schwetzinger SWR Festspiele – "Altes wiederentdecken, Neues wagen, dem Nachwuchs eine Chance" – entsprechend, entdeckten in der Festivalsaison 2012 Künstler wie das Freiburger Barockorchester in der phänomenalen Zusammenarbeit mit Kristian Bezuidenhout am Hammerklavier, Stile Antico, Anima Eterna unter der Leitung von Jos van Immerseel, Jordi Savall mit Hespérion 21 und The Hilliard Ensemble Musik von der Gregorianik bis Mozart in hochgelobten Interpretationen für ihr Publikum neu.

Einen ungewohnten Hörkontext für Alte Musik bot daneben das konzertante Komponistenporträt von Aribert Reimann, dem neben Hans Werner Henze und Wolfgang Rihm profiliertesten zeitgenössischen Opernkomponisten in Deutschland: Reimann ließ in seiner Programmwahl Countertenor Tim Severloh und Axel Bauni am Klavier seinen eigenen Fünf Liedern nach Gedichten von Paul Celan, bei deren Entstehung die "Tenebrae-Thematik" eine wesentliche Rolle spielte, François Couperins "Deuxieme leçon de Ténèbres pour le Mercredi Saint" gegenüber-stellen – spannende Kontraste zwischen Alt und Neu, die bei aller stilistischen Verschiedenartigkeit gleichwohl die Kontinuität einer Vokaltradition über nahezu 300 Jahre hinweg ohrenfällig machten.

Wiederauferstehung I

Außerdem hatte in dieser Schwetzinger Saison zum 60. Jubiläum des Festivals Anton Schweitzers Oper Rosamunde nach einem Libretto von Joseph Martin Wieland Premiere. Unter der musikalischen Leitung von Jan Willem de Vriend feierte man in der Inszenierung von Jens-Daniel Herzog die "fulminante Wiederauferstehung" ( FAZ vom 25.05.2012) eines Bühnenwerks, das nach seiner Mannheimer Uraufführung mehr als 230 Jahre lang in tiefem Dornröschenschlaf gelegen hatte.

Rein vokal und ziemlich alt

Apropos Dornröschen: Märchenhaft verwunschen zeigt sich auch die alte Abtei Rommersdorf in Neuwied am Rhein – wie die zahlreichen grandiosen romanischen und gotischen Kirchen im Mittelrheintal ein idealer Aufführungsort für Alte Musik. Dies macht sich das Festival RheinVokal zunutze, das seit sieben Jahren jeweils im Juli und August in dieser Unesco-Welterberegion stattfindet und alljährlich einen starken programmatischen Akzent auf die Alte Musik setzt.

2012 rief gleich beim Eröffnungskonzert das junge englische, hierzulande noch wenig bekannten Ensemble Voces8 mit Musik von Monteverdi und Palestrina, Byrd und Tavener in der Koblenzer Basilika Sankt Kastor schiere Begeisterungsstürme hervor.

Es folgten vokale Höhepunkte wie die Rekonstruktion eines Requiems von Johann Rosenmüller durch La Capella Ducale und Musica Fiata unter der Leitung von Roland Wilson – Interpreten, die bei keinem Festival für Alte Musik fehlen dürfen –, europäische Renaissance-Lieder mit den Niederländern Johanette Zomer (Sopran) und Fred Jacobs (Laute) und das britische Vokalensemble Gallicantus unter der Leitung von Gabriel Crouch.

Wiederauferstehung II

Bei RheinVokal sangen diese sechs Engländer Motetten von William Byrd und Zeitgenossen, ein Programm, das wenige Wochen zuvor auch bei den 28. Tagen Alter Musik Regensburg erklungen war. Dort endete man 2012 mit einer szenischen Aufführung der komischen Oper Il Marito indolente – Der gleichgültige Ehemann des Dresdener Hofkomponisten Joseph Schuster (1748 bis 1812). Schusters Werk ist heute, 200 Jahre nach seinem Tod, nahezu vergessen.

Zur Reanimation dieses deutschen Tonsetzers planen auch die Händel Festspiele Halle 2013 ein Oratorium von Schuster in ihrem Programm – mit dem bezeichnenden Titel Lob der Musik. 2012 stand in Halle aber erst einmal Georg Friedrich Händels Zauberoper Alcina unter der Leitung Bernhard Forcks als bildgewaltige Inszenierung des polnischen Regisseurs Andrej Woron im Mittelpunkt. Bei den Händelfestspielen in Karlsruhe erwies sich Alessandro unter der musikalischen Leitung von Michael Form (Regie: Alexander Fahima) als Publikumsmagnet und sorgte für einen neuen Besucherrekord. Und in Göttingen, dem ältesten und traditionsreichsten Händel-Festival der deutschen Trias, gab der neue Künstlerische Leiter Lawrence Cummings seinen Einstand mit dem Oratorium Esther Die Opernproduktion Amadigi di Gaula verantwortete als Regisseurin Sigrid T'Hooft, Spezialistin für barocken Tanz; am Pult stand erstmals in Göttingen Andrew Parrott.

Von sprudelnden Quellen und wissenschaftlicher Disziplin

Grundlage für all diese Opernproduktionen ist die akribische Editionsarbeit der Hallischen Händel-Ausgabe, eine kritische Gesamtausgabe auf der Basis aller bekannten Notenquellen. Die Gesamtausgabe der Werke Georg Friedrich Händels, seit 1955 in Arbeit, soll 2023 mit 116 Notenbänden abgeschlossen sein.

Sie wird neben anderen Gesamt-ausgaben – im vergangenen Jahr wurde die Wagner-Ausgabe komplettiert – von der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz betreut und derzeit aus dem Akademie-programm des Bundes und der Länder gefördert – ein wissenschaftliches Projekt, das in seinen gewaltigen Dimensionen zweifellos maßgeblich für die eingangs skizzierte Omnipräsenz der Alten Musik und der historisch informierten Aufführungspraxis im Musikleben beigetragen hat.

Monteverdi als arkadischer Urknall

Wer bisher meinte, dass eine Barockoper auf der Bühne (zu) lang dauere, war nach dem Experiment an der Komischen Oper Berlin im September 2012 eines Besseren belehrt: Alle drei Opern von Claudio Monteverdi an einem einzigen Tag in einer musikalischen Bearbeitung der Komponistin Elena Kats-Chernin kamen Barrie Kosky für seine Trilogie-Inszenierung zum Auftakt seiner Intendanz an diesem Haus gerade recht. "In der überwältigenden Direktheit seines arkadischen Urknalls stecken alle Erfahrungen des Regietheaters, Ironie, Überspitzung, Brechung", jubelte Die ZEIT online (20.09.2012) – und das Schönste: Monteverdi-Tage im Dreierpack sind auch 2013 noch bis zum Ende der Spielzeit an der Komischen Oper Berlin zu erleben.

Geburtstagskinder

Quasi "um die Ecke" grassierte 2012 das "Friedrich-Fieber": Zum 300. Geburtstag Friedrichs des Großen boten die Musik-festspiele Potsdam Sanssouci vielfältige Konzertangebote an den Originalschauplätzen friderizianischen Musizierens, wo die Musiker Quantz, Benda, Graun und Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach in einem der führenden Orchester Europas zu hören waren und musikalische Verbindungen zu den europäischen Zentren des Rokoko pflegten. "Verliebt in Europa – Galante Vorbilder für Sanssouci: Franzosen, Italiener – und Türken" war dementsprechend das fulminante Eröffnungskonzert mit der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin ("Akamus") überschrieben.

Die "Akamus" feierte 2012 ihr 30-jähriges Bestehen und beschenkte sich selbst mit einem besonders üppigen Jahresprogramm – hier nur drei Highlights unter vielen: Christoph Willibald Glucks Telemaco und Johann Sebastian Bachs Matthäus-Passion, beide unter der Leitung von René Jacobs, sowie Henry Purcells Dido and Aeneas in der Choreographie von Sasha Waltz.

Trend zur Kooperation

Insgesamt war 2012 in der Alten Musik der Trend zur Kooperation spürbarer denn je: Es fanden sich nicht nur künstlerisch neue Partner, sondern man rückte auch räumlich enger zusammen und ermöglichte so mehr Effizienz durch Synergien: zum Beispiel in Freiburg, wo seit der Eröffnung des "Ensemblehauses" Alte und Neue Musik Tür an Tür wohnen und über den Gang zusammen-arbeiten, Heimstatt für das Freiburger Barockorchester und das ensemble recherche. Oder in Köln, wo mit ZAMUS, dem Zentrum für Alte Musik, ein deutschlandweit einmaliges Projekt zur Vernetzung von Solisten und Ensembles in gemeinsamer Administration und Pressearbeit, mit Workshop-Angeboten, Proberäumen und Instrumentenverleih gegründet wurde.

Das Jahr 2012 war damit ein schier unerschöpfliches Füllhorn für die Freundinnen und Freunde der Alten Musik – und erfreulicherweise auch da, wo nicht unbedingt das entsprechende Etikett draufsteht: Die Zeiten musealer Elfenbeintürme und "szeniger" Abschottung sind glücklicherweise ein für allemal vorbei.