Changing Times Around 1600 Changing times in the world of music

By 1600, the musical landscape of Europe, starting with Italy, was characterized by profound changes. Vocal polyphony – as the leading music style – had been largely replaced. With the advent of the “stile nuovo” there developed amongst composers and listeners a fundamentally new understanding of music, one coupled with the emergence of many new musical genres and forms.

In 1607 the opera Orfeo, by Claudio Monteverdi, was performed for the first time, at the court of the noble family Gonzaga in Mantua, in northern Italy. In the prologue of the piece, the allegorical figure La Musica appears and announces a story which tells not only of the destiny of the singer Orpheus, but also of the mighty strength of the music which shall succeed in calming the underworld and shall even influence the very soul of the listener. Literally, she says:

"I am music, which knows how to soothe with sweet notes each tormented heart, at times with noble anger and at times with love it may inflame even the coldest minds."

The section quoted must be interpreted as a paradigm for the profound changes in music occurring in the decades before and after 1600. Starting in Italy, these took place throughout Europe at breakneck speed. This was a radical change in musical style, one that involved both innovative compositional techniques and forms but generally encompassed an entirely new conception of the function of music itself.

The old style and the new

In the 15th and 16th centuries it was Franco-Flemish polyphony that had emerged as the leading style in music of many European regions. A wide range of masses and motets in elaborate, mainly contrapuntal polyphony used learned structures to convey musical sense within complex structures. At the centre there stood less the word set to music, but more the very complexity of the music itself.

Around the year 1600 this principle was virtually reversed. Instead of five-part or six-part vocal music drawing on a sophisticated compositional technique, there were suddenly a number of solo voices which were accompanied only by a continuous instrumental bass line, the so-called basso continuo. An understanding of the text became an important criterion, as the Roman composer Ludovico Viadana stressed in 1602 in the preface to his Cento concerti ecclesiastici: "I have tried to underlay the words to the notes so that they may be recited well and so that they may be completely, and in a contiguous sense, understood by the audience."

In addition, composers often attempted to write simple and easily graspable melodies in any new work, and aimed at comprehensible rhythms and harmonies. Instruments were given a new meaning and power of expression through their obligato, concertante voice leading. The human voice as well as instrumental ones played a mediatory role for the listener, achieving through the use of characteristic affects a clarification of the text or of the overall textual expression.

The origins of the new movement were in Italy, and the new way of composing and playing music was called accordingly "stile nuovo" or "seconda pratica", both terms in contradistinction to "stile antico" or "prima pratica". Claudio Monteverdi in turn defined precisely the difference between the old and new, writing in his Scherzi musicali of 1607:

"Prima pratica refers to the type of composition where perfection of harmony ["armonia" = the old compositional rules] is aimed at, and which is no longer the servant of speech but the lord of it ["oratione", as the speech-based music]. Seconda pratica refers to that type of composition which focuses on perfection of melody and determines that speech be the mistress of harmony."

New forms and genres

Almost inevitably, the development of new musical genres and forms was accompanied by the emergence of these compositional principles, in order to better reflect the structures of the "stile nuovo".

This tempestuous development certainly took place in opera, a form in which text, music, acting, dance and stage design combined in a previously unprecedented manner to form a single unit. Initiated by a small group of enthusiastic aristocrats who held up the values of the Ancient world, a new form of music theatre emerged at the end of the 16th century in Florence. Here, patrons, musicians and business people quickly realized what great potential lay hidden in this novel art form. Princes and dukes saw opera as an excellent means of courtly representation, and gave magnificent performances in venues well-equipped for the undertaking. Simultaneously, commercially operated opera houses opened in Venice and other cities. Under the guidance of the impresario, who carried artistic and economic responsibility, a number of small opera companies were created that were dependent on the goodwill and financial generosity of the audience.

A popular form of non-liturgical music-making in the church was, around 1600, the oratorio - named after the "prayer rooms" of various spiritual brotherhoods, in which were held regular worship services containing a high proportion of music. Composers of operas, oratorios, but also of spiritual and secular cantatas, concertos and other works, habitually tacked recitatives, arias and song forms onto each other and thus created the formal basis for vocal music throughout the Baroque era.

Efforts aimed at granting instruments their own musical value are evident in various experiments with various forces and forms. The spectrum ranges from solo violin music to different genres of chamber music (accompanied solo sonata, trio sonata, quartet, sonata), right up to the concerto grosso.

From Italy to Germany

The practice of the "stile nuovo" spread quickly and soon penetrated German-speaking countries. An efficient network of printers, publishers and distributors ensured that Italian music editions were available north of the Alps soon after their appearance in print. In addition, many musicians travelled to Italy to study changes on the spot as it were. Thus it was that Heinrich Schütz spent two lengthy periods in Venice, where he met Giovanni Gabrieli and Claudio Monteverdi, probably taking over many suggestions about his compositional work. As late as 1647, in the preface of Symphoniae Sacrae II, he had not left the "Italian style", having attempted in his music to assimilate "advice" given him by "the ingenious gentleman Claudii Monteverden", maintaining that music in the new style "should now be well on the way to reaching perfection."

But numerous other composers from the German-speaking countries took educational trips to the South, such as Johann Jakob Froberger, who studied with Girolamo Frescobaldi, and Christoph Bernhard, who received the teachings of Giacomo Carissimi. A scarce century later the young Handel was in Rome and finally and performed there alongside Arcangelo Corelli and Domenico Scarlatti.

As the 17th century progressed, a new style of music was established in Europe and thereby encouraged a new attitude to the stuff of music itself. The focus of many compositions was no longer abstract and scholarly, but – with the text acting as a vehicle of communication – engendered clear structures and musical affects, a reflection of mankind and its various mental states.

Zeitenwende um 1600 Zeitenwende in der Musik

​Um 1600 wurde die musikalische Landschaft Europas, von Italien ausgehend, durch tiefgreifende Veränderungen geprägt und die Vokalpolyphonie als führender Musikstil abgelöst. Mit dem stile nuovo entwickelte sich bei den Komponisten und Hörern ein grundlegend neues Musikverständnis, verbunden mit der Entstehung zahlreicher neuer musikalischer Gattungen und Formen.

Im Jahr 1607 wurde am Hof der Adelsfamilie Gonzaga im norditalienischen Mantua die Oper Orfeo von Claudio Monteverdi uraufgeführt. Im Prolog des Stückes tritt die allegorische Figur der Musica auf und kündigt eine Geschichte an, die nicht nur vom Schicksal des Sängers Orpheus handelt, sondern auch von der mächtigen Kraft der Musik, der es gelingt, die Unterwelt zu besänftigen und Einfluss auf die Seele des Menschen zu nehmen. Wörtlich heißt es:

"Ich bin die Musik, die mit süßen Tönen
jedes gequälte Herz zu beruhigen weiß,
und mal von edlem Zorn und mal von Liebe
die eisigsten Gemüter entflammen kann."

Der zitierte Abschnitt darf als paradigmatisch für den tief greifenden Umbruch in der Musik gelten, der sich in den Jahrzehnten vor und nach 1600 ereignete. Von Italien ausgehend, vollzog sich bald in ganz Europa in rasanter Geschwindigkeit ein radikaler Wandel des musikalischen Stils, der sowohl neue kompositorische Techniken und Formen als auch generell eine neue Auffassung über die Funktion der Musik einschloss.

Alter und neuer Stil

Im 15. und 16. Jahrhundert galt die frankoflämische Vokalpolyphonie als führender Musikstil in vielen europäischen Regionen. Es entstand eine Vielzahl von Messen und Motetten in kunstvoller Mehrstimmigkeit, meist unter Anwendung gelehrter kontrapunktischer Strukturen. Im Mittelpunkt stand weniger das vertonte Wort, sondern die Komplexität der Musik.

In der Zeit um 1600 wurde dieses Prinzip praktisch umgekehrt. Statt fünf- oder sechsstimmiger Vokalmusik mit raffinierter Satzweise erklangen plötzlich Solostimmen und wurden dabei lediglich von einer durchgängigen instrumentalen Bassstimme, dem Basso continuo, begleitet. Die Textverständlichkeit wurde zu einem wichtigen Kriterium, wie der römische Komponist Ludovico Viadana 1602 im Vorwort zu seinen Cento concerti ecclesiastici betonte: "Ich habe mich bemüht, die Worte so unter die Noten zu setzen, dass sie gut deklamiert werden und darüber hinaus vollständig und mit zusammenhängendem Sinn von den Zuhörern verstanden werden können."

Außerdem achteten die Komponisten in ihren Werken vielfach auf gut hörbare Melodien sowie nachvollziehbare Rhythmen und Harmonien. Auch Instrumente erhielten durch ihre obligate, konzertierende Stimmführung eine neue Bedeutung und Ausdruckskraft. Sowohl die menschlichen als auch die instrumentalen Stimmen vermittelten dem Hörer durch charakteristische Affekte eine Verdeutlichung des Textes bzw. des Gesamtausdrucks.

Dem italienischen Ursprungsland entsprechend, wurde die neue Art des Komponierens und Musizierens "stile nuovo" oder auch "seconda pratica" – jeweils in Abgrenzung zum "stile antico" bzw. der "prima pratica" – genannt. Den Unterschied zwischen alter und neuer Kunst brachte wiederum Claudio Monteverdi auf den Punkt, in dessen Scherzi musicali von 1607 zu lesen ist:

"Prima pratica bezeichnet die Kompositionsart, welche die Vollkommenheit der Harmonie ["armonia" = die alten Tonsatzregeln] anstrebt, die hier nicht Dienerin, sondern Herrin der Rede ["oratione" = die Sprachbezogenheit der Musik] ist. Seconda pratica benennt dagegen jene Kompositionsart, die sich auf die Vollkommenheit der Melodie konzentriert und die Rede zur Herrin über die Harmonie bestimmt."

Neue Gattungen und Formen

Geradezu zwangsläufig ging mit der Herausbildung dieser kompositorischen Prinzipien die Entwicklung neuer musikalischer Gattungen und Formen einher, um den Strukturen des "stile nuovo" besser gerecht werden zu können.

Die stürmischste Entwicklung nahm dabei zweifellos die Oper, in der sich Text, Musik, Handlung, Tanz und Bühnenbild in vorher nicht gekanntem Maße zu einer Einheit verbanden. Von einem kleinen Kreis antikenbegeisterter Aristokraten Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts in Florenz angeregt, wurde von Mäzenen, Musikern und Geschäftsleuten sehr schnell erkannt, welch hohes Potenzial im Musiktheater verborgen war. Fürsten und Herzöge sahen Opernaufführungen als hervorragendes Mittel der höfischen Repräsentation an und veranstalteten prächtige und großzügig ausgestattete Aufführungen. Gleichzeitig öffneten in Venedig und anderen Städten kommerziell betriebene Opernhäuser. Unter der Führung eines Impresarios, der die künstlerische und ökonomische Verantwortung trug, entstanden kleine Opernunternehmen, die von der Gunst und den finanziellen Möglichkeiten des Publikums abhängig waren.

Als beliebte Form des außerliturgischen Musizierens in der Kirche bildete sich ebenfalls um 1600 das Oratorium heraus – benannt nach den Betsälen verschiedener geistlicher Bruderschaften, in denen regelmäßig Andachten mit hohem Musikanteil veranstaltet wurden. Die Komponisten von Opern, Oratorien, aber auch von geistlichen Konzerten und weltlichen Kantaten reihten in ihren Werken vor allem Rezitative, Arien und Liedformen aneinander und schufen somit die formale Basis für das vokale Musizieren während der gesamten Barockepoche.

Das Bestreben, Instrumenten einen eigenständigen Wert zuzuerkennen, äußerte sich durch das Experimentieren mit verschiedensten Besetzungen und Formen. Das Spektrum reicht von solistischer Violinmusik über verschiedene kammermusikalische Gattungen (begleitete Solosonate, Triosonate, Quartettsonate) bis hin zum Concerto grosso.

Von Italien nach Deutschland

Die Kunde vom "stile nuovo" drang rasch auch in die deutschen Lande vor. Über ein gut funktionierendes Netzwerk von Druckern, Verlegern und Händlern waren italienische Notenausgaben schon bald nach ihrem Erscheinen auch nördlich der Alpen erhältlich; darüber hinaus reisten viele Musiker selbst nach Italien, um die Neuerungen vor Ort studieren zu können. So hielt sich Heinrich Schütz zweimal für längere Zeit in Venedig auf, begegnete dort Giovanni Gabrieli und vermutlich auch Claudio Monteverdi und übernahm zahlreiche Anregungen in sein kompositorisches Werk. Noch 1647, im Vorwort der Symphoniae Sacrae II, betonte Schütz die "italienische Manier", nach der er sich bei der Komposition gerichtet habe, und erwähnt dabei des "scharfsinnigen Herrn Claudii Monteverdens Meynung", wonach die Musik im neuen Stil "nunmehr zu ihrer entlichen Vollkommenheit gelanget seyn soll".

Aber auch zahlreiche andere Komponisten aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum unternahmen Bildungsreisen in den Süden, so beispielsweise Johann Jakob Froberger, der bei Girolamo Frescobaldi lernte, und Christoph Bernhard, der Unterweisungen von Giacomo Carissimi erhielt. Noch ein knappes Jahrhundert später hielt sich schließlich der junge Georg Friedrich Händel in Rom auf und musizierte dort an der Seite von Arcangelo Corelli und Domenico Scarlatti.

Im Laufe des 17. Jahrhunderts etablierte sich der neue Stil in ganz Europa und setzte damit auch eine neue Einstellung zur Musik durch. Im Mittelpunkt vieler Kompositionen stand nicht mehr eine gelehrte Abstraktion, sondern – übermittelt durch den verständlichen Text, die nachvollziehbaren Strukturen und die musikalischen Affekte – der Mensch mit seinen unterschiedlichen Seelenzuständen.