Middle Ages and Renaissance Music in German-speaking territories

In the Middle Ages and the Renaissance music in the German-speaking countries focused strongly on international developments. However, a separate vocal and instrumental repertoire emerged gradually. Especially the Reformation had far-reaching consequences for the music in what was to become Germany.

In the Middle Ages and early modern times, Germany was still not a unified state in its current form, but a patchwork of duchies, counties, commercial and Imperial states which were of different sizes and political importance. Where "German music" is mentioned below, it is always in relation to the geographical distribution of cultural centres.

With foreign help – or the search for a proper identity

In the fifteenth century, German music was searching to codify its own musical language, and was strongly oriented towards international repertoire. Various manuscripts are proof of this, such as the Emmeram Codex, the Lochamer song-book, or the seven Trent codices all containing a large number of pieces of Burgundian, Italian and English origin. Furthermore, composers attempted to acquire this "foreign art" by making contrafacta, where the original music is provided with a new text underlay. Conrad Paumann (c. 1410–1473), born in Nuremberg, completed organ tablatures of works by Guillaume Du Fay (1397–1474), and the Tyrolean Knight Oswald von Wolkenstein (c. 1376–1445) provided French and Italian vocal music with a German text.

For example, Die minne fueget niemand (preview www.amazon.de) is a contrafactum of the chanson Talent m'est pris. Internationally circulating repertoire could finally be adapted because foreign composers were hired by German courts and chapels. Johannes de Sarto (c. 1430–1440) and Johannes Brassart (approx. 1400/1405–1455) were both employed by Emperor Albrecht II (on whose death in 1439 the funeral motet Romanorum rex was composed by de Sarto) and Friedrich III. This heralded the beginning of a real "invasion" by Franco-Flemish composers, which lasted until the end of the 16th century and decisively determined musical life in German-speaking countries.

The Development of a "German School"

At the same time there gradually developed a genuine German vocal and instrumental repertoire, one which was used especially in secular courts, universities and cities. The singer, composer and theorist Adam of Fulda (c. 1445–1505) worked for example at the Court of Frederick the Wise of Saxony and at the University of Wittenberg, which was founded in 1502. Heinrich Finck (1444/1445–1527) was employed – after previous travels in Poland and Lithuania – by Duke Ulrich of Württemberg in Stuttgart. Paul Hofhaimer (1459–1537) held, among other positions, a post at the Court of Emperor Maximilian I, who conferred on him in 1515 the status of a Knight. Hofhaimer was musically so influential that his students were referred to as "Paulomines".
Ach Elslein (preview www.amazon.de)

These composers contributed crucially to the development of the German song. The lyrics were based on folk poetry on the one hand and (to a lesser extent) on courtly poetry on the other hand. A pre-existing, monophonic melody (whose origins go back to the tradition of Minnesang) was quoted in the tenor, and new parts were composed in order to produce full harmonies and a polyphonic texture. These so-called tenor songs were to culminate in the works of the Flanders-born Heinrich Isaac (c. 1450/1455–1517) and his student, the Swiss composer Ludwig Senfl (c. 1490–1543). A well-known work is Senfl's Ach Elslein, which has been transmitted in numerous publications and manuscripts, as well as in instrumental arrangements.

In the field of instrumental music, Germany played the role of an internationally recognized leader in the second half of the 15th century and during the first decades of the 16th century. The virtuosity of the musicians not only affected instrument-making, but also resulted in a wealth of music theory treatises on various technical aspects of instrumental playing. Whether it was Conrad Paumann in his Fundamentum organisandi or Arnolt Schlick (c. 1460–after 1521) with his Spiegel der Orgelmacher und Organisten (Speyer, 1511), new standards were set for the organ. And Hans Judenkünig (1445/1450–1526), with his publication Ain schone kunstliche Underweisung in disem Büechlein, leychtlich zu begreyffen den rechten Grund zu lernen auff der Lautten und Geygen (Vienna, 1523), provided us with an important guide for playing the lute.

The Reformation from a musical perspective

The Reformation, instigated mainly by Martin Luther, had far-reaching consequences for music. While the reformers Zwingli and Calvin allotted music no meaningful role (it was either completely banned or limited for use in but a small group), it was Luther's idea that believers should participate actively in the service, that lead to a large Chorale repertoire with German texts. Some of the Chorale melodies were newly composed by Luther or others in his immediate musical environment (e. g. Ein' feste Burg ist unser Gott), but most are based on secular songs on the one hand and Gregorian melodies on the other. For example, Christ lag in Todes Banden is related both melodically as well as in terms of content to the Easter sequence Victimae paschali laudes.

This originally monophonic repertoire was quickly discovered and incorporated into polyphonic structures. In Johann Walter's Geystliches Gesangk Buchleyn (Wittenberg, 1524) there may be found some early traces of this. In the following decades it developed into different styles. In addition to homophonic settings in which the chorale melody is quoted in the upper voice (as in Lucas Osiander's Fünffzig geistliche Lieder und Psalmen [Nuremberg, 1586]), there are also many contrapuntal pieces that have been artfully drafted.

The distinction between Protestant and Catholic repertoire is often unclear. Thus, Protestant composers set Latin texts, and vice versa, Catholic composers draw easily on German Chorale melodies to produce new works. The coexistence of both strands is present, for example, in the œuvre of Hans Leo Hassler (1564–1612). He was Protestant, but in the service of the Catholic Octavianus Fugger in Augsburg. In Hassler's works Protestant and Catholic forms easily exist side by side, and at the same time indicate the commercial needs of composers wishing to write for different "markets" and remain suitable for various occasions.

Music Publication in Germany

Music printing contributed not least to the distribution of music. Soon after Ottaviano Petrucci 1501 initiated the advance of polyphonic music printing in Venice with his collection Odhecaton, many printers followed his example North of the Alps. Thus, Erhard Oeglin (in Augsburg) worked among others on behalf of Emperor Maximilian I, and was the editor of the repertoire of Maximilian's Court Chapel (including works by composers such as Isaac, Senfl and Hofhaimer). The publishing industry was to experience a heyday in trading cities such as Nuremberg (with Johann Petreius, Johann vom Berg and Ulrich Neuber, and Hieronymus Formschneider) and Munich (with Adam Berg).

Many German songs were published – one important project was Georg Forster's five volume Frische teutsche Liedlein (Nuremberg, 1539–1556), but there were also "foreign" genres (such as the French chanson, the Italian madrigal, and the lighter villanella) as well as religious music (masses, motets, hymns), dances and instrumental music. This linguistic and stylistic diversity reflects not only the international orientation of German composers, but also the taste of the audience. In addition, merchants importing these foreign genres must be held responsible. Music patrons and collectors like the Fugger family, who entertained important trade contacts in Venice, brought numerous madrigal and villanella publications to Germany from their extensive travels. Both these genres exerted a clear influence on the German song.

The late 16th century: stylistic plurality

The above-mentioned presence of Franco-Flemish composers would last until the end of the 16th century. While Philippe de Monte (1521–1603) worked at the court of Emperor Maximilian II and his son Rudolf II in Vienna and Prague, it was the court chapel in Munich under Orlando di Lasso (1532–1594) that gained an international reputation. Lasso's extensive output includes all the genres available at the time; occasionally, he wrote some experimental music: the cycle of Prophetiae Sibyllarum was only allowed to be printed  after Lasso's death, as it was previously regarded as exclusive possession of Duke Albrecht V and as an example of musica reservata. It made use of a very unusual musical language, evidenced by some surprising harmonic turns.
Section of Prophetiae Sibyllarum (preview www.amazon.de)

The interaction between German and foreign composers also came about through travel. And thus it was that important English composers such as John Dowland (1563–1626) and Thomas Simpson (1582–1628) were present at German courts, with their German counterparts often moving abroad for their training. Heinrich Schütz (1585–1672) spent his formative years with Giovanni Gabrieli (1554/1557–1612) in Venice at the beginning of the 17th century, and it was to give significant impetus to not only his own music, but also – in general terms – left deep traces in German music.

Mittelalter und Renaissance Musik im deutschsprachigen Raum

Im Mittelalter und in der Frühen Neuzeit orientierte sich die Musik im deutschsprachigen Raum stark an internationalen Entwicklungen. Dennoch bildete sich allmählich ein eigenständiges Vokal- und Instrumentalrepertoire heraus. Besonders die Reformation hatte weitreichende Folgen für die Musik im späteren Deutschland.

Im Mittelalter und in der Frühen Neuzeit war Deutschland noch kein Einheitsstaat in der heutigen Form, sondern ein Flickenteppich von Herzogtümern, Grafschaften, Handels- und Reichsstädten, die von unterschiedlicher Größe und von unterschiedlicher politischer Wichtigkeit waren. Wenn also im Folgenden von "deutscher Musik" die Rede ist, so muss dabei immer die geografische Verstreutheit der kulturellen Zentren berücksichtigt werden.

Mit fremder Hilfe – oder: Die Suche nach der eigenen Identität

Im 15. Jahrhundert orientierte sich die deutsche Musik, auf der Suche nach einer eigenen Sprache, sehr stark an einem internationalen Repertoire. So findet sich in den damaligen Handschriften – wie zum Beispiel dem Emmeram Codex, dem Lochamer-Liederbuch oder den sieben Trienter Codices – eine große Zahl von Stücken burgundischer, italienischer und englischer Herkunft. Auch versuchten Komponisten, sich diese "fremde" Musik durch instrumentale Bearbeitungen oder etwa durch Übersetzungen und sogenannte Kontrafakte (wobei die Musik mit einem neuen Text unterlegt wird) anzueignen. So fertigte der aus Nürnberg stammende Conrad Paumann (ca. 1410–1473) Orgeltabulaturen von Werken Guillaume Du Fays (1397–1474) an oder versah der Tiroler Ritter Oswald von Wolkenstein (ca. 1376–1445) französische und italienische Vokalmusik mit einem deutschen Text.

Die minne fueget niemand (Hörprobe auf www.amazon.de) ist zum Beispiel ein Kontrafakt des Chansons Talent m'est pris. Schließlich konnte international zirkulierendes Repertoire dadurch angepasst werden, dass ausländische Komponisten an deutschen Höfen und Kapellen angestellt wurden. So waren etwa Johannes de Sarto (um 1430–1440) und Johannes Brassart (ca. 1400/1405–1455) bei den Kaisern Albrecht II. (nach dessen Tod 1439 de Sarto die Trauermotette Romanorum rex komponierte) und Friedrich III. tätig. Gleichzeitig läutete dies den Beginn einer regelrechten "Invasion" von franko-flämischen Komponisten ein, die bis zum Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts andauerte und das Musikleben im deutschsprachigen Raum maßgeblich bestimmte.

Die Entwicklung einer deutschen "Schule"

Parallel dazuntwickelte sich allmählichin genuin deutsches Vokal- und Instrumentalrepertoire, das vor allem an weltlichen Höfen, Universitäten und in Städten Verbreitung fand. So wirkte der Sänger, Komponist und Theoretiker Adam von Fulda (ca. 1445–1505) am Hof von Friedrich dem Weisen von Sachsen und an der Universität Wittenberg, die 1502 gegründet wurde. Heinrich Finck (1444/1445–1527) diente, nachdem er zuvor in Polen und Litauen herumgereist war, unter Herzog Ulrich von Württemberg in Stuttgart. Paul Hofhaimer (1459–1537) hatte unter anderem eine Stelle am Hof Kaiser Maximilians I. inne, der ihn 1515 sogar zum Ritter schlug. Hofhaimer war musikalisch so einflussreich, dass seine Schüler als "Paulomines" bezeichnet wurden.

Diese Komponisten trugen entscheidend zur Entwicklung des deutschen Liedes bei. Die Liedtexte basierten auf Volkspoesie einerseits und (in geringerem Maß) auf höfischer Poesie andererseits; eine bereits bestehende, einstimmige Melodie (deren Ursprung auf die Tradition des Minnesangs zurückgeht) zitierte man im Tenor und es wurden neue Stimmen dazukomponiert, die entweder akkordisch oder polyphon konzipiert waren.iese sogenannten Tenorlieder sollten vor allem bei dem aus Flandern stammenden Heinrich Isaac (ca. 1450/1455–1517) und dessen Schüler, dem Schweizer Komponisten Ludwig Senfl (ca. 1490–1543) ihren qualitativen Höhepunkt erreichen. Bekannt ist zum Beispiel Senfls vierstimmiges Ach Elslein (Hörprobe auf www.amazon.de), das in zahlreichen Drucken und Handschriften sowie in instrumentalen Bearbeitungen überliefert ist.

Im Bereich der instrumentalen Musik spielte Deutschland in der zweiten Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts und in den ersten Jahrzehnten des 16. Jahrhunderts eine international anerkannte Vorreiterrolle. Das virtuose Spiel der Musiker hatte nicht nur Auswirkungen auf den Instrumentenbau, sondern führte auch zu einer Fülle von musiktheoretischen Traktaten über die unterschiedlichen technischen Aspekte des Instrumentenspiels. Während Conrad Paumann in seinem Fundamentum organisandi und Arnolt Schlick (ca. 1460–nach 1521) mit dem Spiegel der Orgelmacher und Organisten (Speyer, 1511) neue Maßstäbe für das Orgelspiel setzten, bot Hans Judenkünig (1445/1450–1526) mit seiner Schrift Ain schone kunstliche Underweisung in disem Büechlein, leychtlich zu begreyffen den rechten Grund zu lernen auff der Lautten und Geygen (Wien, 1523) ein wichtiges Handbuch für das Lautenspiel.

Die Reformation aus musikalischer Perspektive

Die vor allem von Martin Luther angestoßene Reformation blieb auch für die Musik nicht ohne Folgen. Während die Reformatoren Zwingli und Calvin der Musik keine bedeutende Rolle zuteilten (sie wurde entweder komplett gebannt oder aber beschränkte sich zur Verwendung im kleinen Kreis) führte Luthers Idee, dass die Glaubensgemeinde aktiv am Gottesdienst teilnehmen solle, zu einem umfangreichen Choralrepertoire in deutscher Sprache. Einige der Choralmelodien waren von Luther und seinem Umfeld neu komponiert worden (wie zum Beispiel Ein' feste Burg ist unser Gott), aber die meisten basieren auf weltlichen Liedern einerseits und gregorianischen Melodien andererseits. So ist Christ lag in Todes Banden sowohl melodisch als auch inhaltlich mit der Ostersequenz Victimae paschali laudes verwandt.

Dieses ursprünglich einstimmige Repertoire wurde rasch von Komponisten entdeckt und mehrstimmig vertont. In Johann Walters Geystliches Gesangk Buchleyn (Wittenberg, 1524) finden sich frühe Spuren davon. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten entwickelten sich daraus verschiedene Stile. Neben akkordischen Vertonungen, bei denen die Choralmelodie in der Oberstimme zitiert wird (wie etwa in Lucas Osianders Fünffzig geistliche Lieder und Psalmen [Nürnberg, 1586]) finden sich auch viele kontrapunktisch kunstvoll ausgearbeitete Stücke.

Die Grenze zwischen einem protestantischen und einem katholischen Repertoire ist jedoch oft unklar. So vertonten protestantische Komponisten auch lateinische Texte, und umgekehrt bedienten sich katholische Komponisten für ihre Werke durchaus deutscher Choralmelodien. Das Nebeneinander beider Stränge zeigt beispielsweise das Oeuvre Hans Leo Hasslers (1564–1612). Er war Protestant, stand aber im Dienst des katholischen Octavianus Fugger in Augsburg. In Hasslers Oeuvre existieren protestantische und katholische Gattungen problemlos nebeneinander und deuten gleichzeitig auf das kommerzielle Bedürfnis von Komponisten hin, für verschiedene "Märkte" schreiben und verwendbar sein zu wollen.

Der Musikdruck in Deutschland

Zur Verbreitung von Musik trug nicht zuletzt der Musikdruck bei. Bald nachdem Ottaviano Petrucci 1501 in Venedig mit seiner Sammlung Odhecaton den Vormarsch des mehrstimmigen Musikdrucks eingeleitet hatte, folgten nördlich der Alpen mehrere Drucker seinem Beispiel. So war Erhard Oeglin in Augsburg tätig, wo er unter anderem im Auftrag von Kaiser Maximilian I. arbeitete und das Repertoire von dessen Hofkapelle (Werke von Komponisten wie Isaac, Hofhaimer und Senfl) herausgab. Das Verlagswesen sollte vor allem in Handelsstädten wie Nürnberg (mit Johann Petreius, Johann vom Berg und Ulrich Neuber sowie Hieronymus Formschneider) und München (mit Adam Berg) eine Blütezeit erleben.

Es wurden sehr viele deutsche Lieder veröffentlicht – ein wichtiges Projekt war Georg Forsters fünfbändige Sammlung Frische teutsche Liedlein (Nürnberg, 1539–1556) –, aber auch "ausländische" Gattungen (wie das französische Chanson, das italienische Madrigal und die leichtere Villanella) sowie religiöse Musik (Messen, Motetten, Hymnen), Tänze und instrumentale Musik sind gut vertreten. Diese sprachliche und stilistische Vielfalt ist nicht nur ein Zeichen für die internationale Orientierung der deutschen Komponisten, sondern spiegelt auch den Geschmack des damaligen Publikums wider. Darüber hinaus waren nicht zuletzt Kaufleute für den Import fremder Gattungen verantwortlich. So brachten Musikförderer und -sammler wie die Fugger, die unter anderem in Venedig wichtige Handelskontakte unterhielten, von ihren Reisen zahlreiche Drucke mit Madrigalen und Villanellen nach Deutschland mit. Beide Gattungen übten einen klaren Einfluss auf das deutsche Lied aus.

Das spätere 16. Jahrhundert: stilistische Pluralität

Die oben erwähnte Präsenz der franko-flämischen Komponisten sollte bis zum Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts andauern. Während Philippe de Monte (1521–1603) am Hof von Kaiser Maximilian II. und dessen Sohn Rudolf II. in Wien und Prag wirkte, erlangte die Münchner Hofkapelle unter Orlando di Lasso (1532–1594) internationales Renomme. Lassos umfangreiches Oeuvre umfasst alle damals existierenden Gattungen; gelegentlich schrieb er auch experimentelle Musik. Der Zyklus Prophetiae Sibyllarum (Hörprobe auf www.amazon.de), der erst postum gedruckt werden durfte, da er zuvor als exklusiver Besitz von Herzog Albrecht V. betrachtet wurde und als musica reservata galt, verwendet durch die überraschende Harmonik eine sehr außergewöhnliche musikalische Sprache.

Die Wechselwirkung zwischen deutschen und ausländischen Komponisten kam auch durch Reisen zustande. So besuchten wichtige englische Komponisten wie John Dowland (1563–1626) und Thomas Simpson (1582–1628) deutsche Höfe, und umgekehrt zogen deutsche Komponisten für ihre Ausbildung nicht selten ins Ausland. Als Heinrich Schütz (1585–1672) am Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts seine Studienzeit bei Giovanni Gabrieli (1554/1557–1612) in Venedig verbrachte, sollte das nicht nur seiner eigenen Musik wesentliche Impulse geben, sondern auch in der deutschen Musik im Allgemeinen tiefe Spuren hinterlassen.