Electronic Music 2014 Improv Berlin!

In 2014 free jazz and electronic music continued to grow closer. A key factor in that ongoing development is Berlin’s international appeal as well as its flourishing gallery and art scene, which makes trendsetting collaborations possible in new venues.

Foto: Kraftwerk, 3D-Video-Installation 12345678, The Mix, 2013 Kraftwerk, 3D video installation 12345678, The Mix, 2013 | © Kraftwerk, 2013; Courtesy Sprüth Magers

The robots are becoming unpredictable

Kraftwerk, a band that have always been more highly prized in the great wide world than in their native country, perfected a performance concept in 2014 and increasingly cleared up misunderstandings about what faithfulness to the original really means. Their concept for a retrospective, which involved playing eight of the albums in their catalogue raisonné eight nights in a row, was commissioned in 2010 by Klaus Biesenbach, then curator of the Berlin Biennale, and premiered two years later at MoMA. And four years later, in 2014, Kraftwerk gave a series of retrospective concerts in various cities, including Mexico City, Los Angeles and Vienna.
Thanks to a light touch, improvisation, dynamism and a poetically concrete approach to their lyrics, Kraftwerk managed to auto-regenerate, even without releasing a new album, and to seem more permeable than a host of other electronic musicians, many of whom, given their precarious situation and identical digital instrumentarium, are turning in circles, struggling to assert an identity and pertinent positions.
It was also fascinating to observe last year how the media are still grappling with the question of whether a band who play within the crash barriers of complex audio-visual patterns and without visible instruments to boot should be rated as static or as free after all. The answer is never perceptible at the first concert: the differences from previous gigs only become apparent in the course of (supposed) repetition. Kraftwerk, whom many still have the knee-jerk reaction of regarding as the antithesis of improvisation, have demonstrated an ability to regenerate that radiates into other fields as well. The question of the disappearance of the protest song, for example, which has been debated (by and large inconclusively) in recent years in the electronic music scene and elsewhere, is loaded with topical importance by Kraftwerk in the audio-visual update of their track Radioaktivität: Ralf Hütter intones a lament in Japanese in the direction of Fukushima, thereby underscoring that, above and beyond micro-improvisation in live performance, a song can indeed undergo a macro-evolution over the course of decades.

Electronic music is slowing down

How slow can electronic music get? That was demonstrated by the Gatto Musculoso Listening Session organized by Phuong Dan at the Pudel in Hamburg, Detlef Weinrich’s Salon des Amateurs in the Kunsthalle Düsseldorf and Hanno Leichtmann’s Grand Jeté series at the OHM Club in Berlin’s Kraftwerk.

Photo: Phuong Dan Phuong Dan | Photo: Promo

What these concert series have in common is that they don’t treat electronic music as entertainment for weekend tourists looking for kicks, but dare some anti-functional experiments in the lowest BPM zones, where krautrock, cosmic and minimal electronic music in the tradition of John Carpenter become post-kraut and post-cosmic. And the new thing about these club nights is that the venue is regarded as a meeting place and the music as inspiration, thus celebrating the opposite of functionalized music, and it seems merely a matter of time before the club concepts explored here in Germany find copycats abroad. Liberated from the dogma of danceability, the performances by the DJs, many of whom share their gigs with guest DJs and play the exact opposite of the electronic music for which they’re known, smack of grass-roots revolutions.
It’s remarkable how the generations mix and mingle at these events, how the sonic visions of the DJs – all of whom also produce the music they play – are starting to converge on a conception of barroom music best described by imagining a pianist in a hotel bar improvising on John Cage instead of playing Moon River. It is a matter of gestures expressing both rejection and inclination at once, pitting the rampant commercialization and resulting reduction of electronic dance music to its practical function against a position that is presumably harder to consume and embraces the listener as a critical authority.

Improv music enters into new alliances

Electronic musicians are increasingly looking to close ranks with improv musicians and the performance art scene. The in many respects felicitous collaboration between label operator (Monika Enterprise and Moabit Musik) and musician Gudrun Gut and Faust’s Hans Joachim Irmler under the moniker Gut and Irmler is worth singling out not only because it cuts across the lines of demarcation between generations, but also because it casts off all prejudice to fuse contrary musical concepts. Free improvisation meets the patterns of programmed beats and sequences here.
While the Gut and Irmler sessions were a unique encounter, half the world have been collaborating with André Vida, who works the border between free jazz and electronic, including musicians like Max Loderbauer, Rashad Becker, Ricardo Villalobos and Arto Lindsay as well as artists like Tino Sehgal, Tarek Atoui and Lawrence Weiner. Vida lives in Berlin and is signed to PAN Records, whose musicians and producers, many of whom are likewise based in Berlin, are constantly collaborating. Sometimes atonal, sometimes improv and free jazz-influenced, these collaborative pursuits in the field of electronic music have become a matter of course, having long been fostered in London (at the Serpentine Gallery, co-curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist, as well as at Hyperdub Records) and at art institutions like the Castello di Fosdinovo in Italy through performance series and artist residencies. This new and mutually stimulating juxtaposition of abstract music, electronic music and art is enjoying an unprecedented boom in Berlin. André Vida put out the album Minor Differences on the London label Entr’acte last year and was commissioned to compose the opening music for the 8th Berlin Biennale in 2014.


Of course these digital-acoustic crossovers between electronic music and free jazz are also fuelled by increasingly courageous serialized reissues of music by the likes of electronic pioneers Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Conrad Schnitzler on Bureau-B. The lines between the decades are blurring as more and more methods from the ’70s come to be fused with intuitively playable touchscreen instruments. One noteworthy example is Felix Kubin’s reissue of Science Fiction Park Bundesrepublik (on Finders Keepers), a collection of obscure early ’80s electronic experiments by the likes of Cinema Verité, Pyrolator and Holger Hiller, in which it turns out the avant-garde of yesteryear were anticipating our listening habits today. Another is the re-release of Nachtstücke (on Bureau B) from 1980, with which Asmus Tietchens, one of the younger godfathers of electronic music, has finally received the recognition he deserves. Rarely before this suite of nocturnes and rarely thereafter was the Hamburg sound researcher and tape manipulator Tietchens to venture so patently towards electronic soundscapes.

Bad times – sounds good

“I’d rather have better times and worse music,” alt/pop singer-songwriter Bernd Begemann once said in a 1992 interview. Along these very lines, Spex magazine headlined their 2014 end-of-year review: “Ein Scheißjahr geht zu Ende” – i.e. “A lousy year comes to a close”. Meanwhile, however, the music in 2014 was fantastic. In their 20th year together, Kreidler came out with ABC, the best album of their career to date, with a cover designed by Georgian artist Thea Djordjadze. The recording was filmed (2+2=22 (The Alphabet)) by Heinz Emigholz. ABC combines all of Kreidler’s strengths into a synthesis they’d never achieved before. The robust bassline fundaments are set against freely meandering melody lines; Thomas Klein’s straight-line acoustic rhythmics amalgamated with spoken-word samples and a patient build-up of atonal electronic arcs of suspense. But Kreidler aren’t the only ones driving the development of electronic music in Germany forwards.

Other protagonists who also put out new albums in 2014 include Roman Flügel and Efdemin. The latter released his third record to date, Decay, an outstanding work of deep techno, which he recorded during a three-month artist residency in Kyoto and back home in Berlin. Decay is the best proof around of the theory that techno, recorded uncompromisingly, stylishly and gracefully, can have a highly meditative effect on the listener. Frankfurt-based Roman Flügel recorded Happiness Is Happening last year, his second album on Hamburg’s Dial label. It is uncool in the best sense of the word: Flügel shows the courage to make melodies; his tracks have quasi song structures, with an unmistakable affinity to Depeche Mode’s modular synthesis.

Alva Noto and Olaf Bender’s new Diamond Version project also deserves special mention. After releasing a series of five limited-edition singles, Diamond Version came out with their debut album, Ci, in 2014. It’s an abstract, danceable electronic meditation on the thoroughgoing commercialization of society on the semantic level (though not only). The slogans of global companies – such as Sony’s “make.believe” or Nokia’s “Connecting People” – are increasingly creeping into current usage, placing promises or idiomatic locutions in the context of a brand promise. Diamond Version address the corporate hijacking of language in their music, producing modern songs of protest that go beyond and yet remain within the Kraftwerk tradition.

Record labels of the future?

Despite the persisting sales crisis in the recorded music market, niche labels like PAN, Live at Robert Johnson, Dial and Tresor Records aren’t giving up, and they released socially relevant music for their niche again in 2014. Though the question arises as to what that niche is now that the art and music scenes are steadily coalescing. Both disciplines are now reaching new interest groups. It will be interesting to watch as previously sporadic collaborations and joint ventures with galleries, museums and art institutions increasingly tap into new revenue streams and areas of activity for correspondingly focussed record companies. At the same time, labels and artists alike are using free digital platforms such as Soundcloud to distribute music without any barriers. The prime example is the PAN series of mixes on Rinse FM: once again, a progressive format promoting the interpenetration of the disciplines of improvisational and electronic music in such an open-minded manner that lately it seems the most natural thing in the world. And with regard to open-mindedness, 2014 was also a year in which podcasts reached new heights. A case in point is Berlin Community Radio’s efforts to unite leading lights of the Berlin scene – natives and newcomers, Germans and foreigners alike – under the aegis of an Internet radio station.

Elektronische Musik 2014 Improv Berlin!

2014 näherten sich der Freejazz und die elektronische Musik wieder an. Eine zentrale Rolle spielte dabei die internationale Anziehungskraft Berlins wie auch dessen florierende Galerien- und Kunstszene, die wegweisende Kollaborationen in neuen Räumen ermöglicht.

Photo: Kraftwerk, 3D video installation 12345678, The Mix, 2013 Kraftwerk, 3D video installation 12345678, The Mix, 2013 | © Kraftwerk, 2013; Courtesy Sprüth Magers

Die Roboter werden unberechenbar

In der weiten Welt schon seit je her höher geschätzt als in der Heimat Deutschland, perfektionierten Kraftwerk im Jahr 2014 ein spielerisches Konzept und räumten zunehmend Missverständnisse in punkto Werktreue aus. Das Retrospektive-Konzept, die acht zum Catalogue raisonné gehörigen Kraftwerk-Alben an acht aufeinanderfolgenden Abenden zu spielen, war 2010 von dem einstigen Berlin-Biennale-Kurator Klaus Biesenbach in Auftrag gegeben und zwei Jahre später im MoMA uraufgeführt worden. Vier Jahre später gaben Kraftwerk 2014 eine Reihe von Retrospektive-Konzerten u.a. in Mexiko City, Los Angeles und Wien.
Leichtigkeit, Improvisation, Dynamik und ein poetisch-konkreter Umgang mit Text ließen Kraftwerk auch ohne neue Albumveröffentlichung erneuerungsfähig und somit permeabler erscheinen als Legionen von elektronischen Musikern, die angesichts prekärer Verhältnisse und identischer digitaler Instrumentenparks vielfach um sich selbst kreisen, um Identität und um gültige Positionen ringend.
Es war auch 2014 faszinierend zu beobachten, wie sich nicht zuletzt die Medien nach wie vor an der Frage abarbeiten, ob eine Band, die innerhalb der Leitplanken komplexer audiovisueller Patterns und noch dazu ohne sichtbare Instrumente spielt, als statisch oder doch als frei einzusortieren ist. Die Antwort ist nie bei einem ersten Konzertbesuch erfahrbar, erst in der (vermeintlichen) Wiederholung werden die Unterschiede zu vorangegangenen Abenden offensichtlich. Kraftwerk, die nach wie vor von vielen reflexhaft als Antithese zu Improvisation angesehen werden, beweisen damit eine Erneuerungsfähigkeit, die auch auf andere Felder abstrahlt: Die Frage nach dem Verschwinden des Protestsongs etwa, die in den letzten Jahren nicht zuletzt in der elektronischen Musikszene (weitgehend ergebnislos) diskutiert wurde, wird von Kraftwerk angesichts eines audiovisuellen Updates ihres Tracks Radioaktivität mit Gewicht versehen: Auf japanisch stimmt Ralf Hütter einen Klagegesang in Richtung Fukushima an und unterstreicht damit zudem, dass jenseits der Mikroimprovisation im Aufführungsrahmen auch die Makroevolution eines Songs über Jahrzehnte hinweg möglich ist.

Die elektronische Musik wird immer langsamer 

Wie weit kann man elektronische Musik abbremsen? In der von Phuong Dan organisierten Clubnacht Gatto Musculoso Listening Session im Hamburger Pudel wird es vorgemacht, in Detlef Weinrichs Salon des Amateurs in der Kunsthalle Düsseldorf ebenso wie in Hanno Leichtmanns Grand-Jeté-Reihe im OHM Club im Berliner Kraftwerk.

Foto: Phuong Dan Phuong Dan | Foto: Promo

Den Reihen gemein ist, dass elektronische Musik nicht als Bespaßung Kick-suchender Wochenendtouristen begriffen wird, sondern in untersten BPM-Bereichen anti-funktionale Experimente wagt. Krautrock, Kosmische Musik, minimale elektronische Musik in der Tradition John Carpenters wird zu Post-Kraut und Post-Cosmic. Das neue an diesen Club-Abenden ist, dass der Ort als Begegnungsstätte und die Musik als Inspiration begriffen wird – es wird das Gegenteil eines funktionalen Einsatzes von Musik zelebriert, und es scheint nur eine Frage der Zeit zu sein, dass die hier vorgelebten Club-Konzepte Nachahmer außerhalb Deutschlands finden werden. Vom Dogma der Tanzbarkeit befreit, erinnern die Performances der DJs, die vielfach mit Gast-DJs Abende bestreiten, in denen sie das genaue Gegenteil zu der elektronischen Musik auflegen, für die sie bekannt sind, an Grassroots-Revolutionen von unten.
Es ist auffällig, wie sich an den genannten Abenden die Generationen mischen, sich die Sound-Visionen der DJs, die stets auch selbst Produzenten der Musik sind, die sie auflegen, einer Idee von Barmusik zu nähern beginnen, die am ehesten beschreibbar ist, wenn man sich einen Pianisten in der Hotelbar vorstellt, dieser aber statt Moon River zu spielen über John Cage improvisiert. Es handelt sich um Gesten, die Ablehnung und Zuneigung zugleich ausdrücken: Einer aus dem Ruder laufenden Kommerzialisierung und damit einhergehend Reduzierung der elektronischen Tanzmusik auf ihre Funktion wird eine vermeintlich schwerer konsumierbare Position gegenübergestellt, die den Hörer als kritische Instanz umarmt.

Die Improv-Musik geht neue Bündnisse ein

Zunehmend suchen Musiker der elektronischen Musik den Schulterschluss mit Improv-Musikern und der Performance-Kunstszene. Herauszuheben wäre die in vielerlei Hinsicht gelungene Kollaboration der Label-Betreiberin (Monika Enterprise und Moabit Musik) und Musikerin Gudrun Gut mit Hans Joachim Irmler von Faust unter dem Namen Gut und Irmler, weil hier nicht nur über Generationsdemarkationslinien hinweg kollaboriert wird, sondern auch widersprüchliche musikalische Konzepte vorurteilsfrei ineinander aufgehen. Freie Improvisation trifft auf die Patterns programmierter Beats und Sequenzen.
Während die Sessions von Gut und Irmler eine einmalige Begegnung waren, kollaboriert die halbe Welt mit dem Freejazz-Elektronik-Grenzgänger André Vida: Musiker wie Max Loderbauer, Rashad Becker, Ricardo Villalobos und Arto Lindsay, aber auch Künstler wie Tino Sehgal, Tarek Atoui oder Lawrence Weiner. Vida lebt in Berlin und ist Künstler des Labels PAN, dessen ebenfalls vielfach in Berlin ansässige Musiker und Produzenten unentwegt kollaborieren. Die Selbstverständlichkeit dieser teils atonalen, teils von Improv- und Freejazz beeinflussten Zusammenarbeiten auf dem Feld der elektronischen Musik werden längst in London (in der von Hans Ulrich Obrist co-kuratierten Serpentine Gallery, aber auch beim Hyperdub-Label ) und von Kunst-Institutionen wie dem Castello di Fosdinovo in Italien durch Performancereihen oder Residencies gefördert. Eine neues, sich gegenseitig befruchtendes Nebeneinander von abstrakter Musik, elektronischer Musik und Kunst erlebt in Berlin einen Boom sondergleichen. André Vida veröffentlichte 2014 das Album Minor Differences auf Entr’acte und wurde beauftragt, die Eröffnungsmusik zur 8. Berlin Biennale 2014 zu komponieren.

Und natürlich sind diese digital-akustischen Grenzgänge zwischen elektronischer Musik und Freejazz nicht zuletzt angeheizt von zunehmend mutiger werdenden Re-Issues-Serien mit Veröffentlichungen von u.a. den Elektronik-Pionieren Hans-Joachim Roedelius und Conrad Schnitzler auf Bureau-B. Die Jahrzehnte verschwimmen, je mehr Methoden aus den Siebzigern kurzgeschlossen werden mit intuitiv spielbaren Touchscreen-Instrumenten. Herauszuheben wäre in diesem Kontext einerseits die von Felix Kubin veröffentlichte Re-Issues-Kopplung Science Fiction Park Bundesrepublik (auf Finders Keepers), auf der obskure Elektronikexperimente aus den frühen Achtzigern von Cinema Verité, Pyrolator oder Holger Hiller versammelt sind – die Avantgarde von einst erweist sich 2014 als Vorweggriff auf die Hörgewohnheiten von heute. Und andererseits empfiehlt sich Asmus Tietchens mit seiner Wiederveröffentlichung Nachtstücke (auf Bureau B) aus dem Jahr 1980, als einer der jüngeren Paten der elektronischen Musik endlich die Anerkennung zu bekommen, die ihm seit Jahren zusteht. Selten vorher und selten anschließend wagte sich der Hamburger Klangforscher und Tape-Manipulator Tietchens so klar in Richtung elektronischer Soundscapes wie auf dieser nokturnen Suite.

 

Schlechte Zeiten – klingt gut

„Ich hätte lieber bessere Zeiten und schlechtere Musik“, sagte Bernd Begemann 1992 in einem Interview. Ganz im Sinne Begemanns titelte die Spex ihr Jahresrückblicksheft 2014 mit der Phrase: „Ein Scheißjahr geht zu Ende“. Die Musik indes war im Jahr 2014 phantastisch. Im 20. Jahr ihres Bestehens veröffentlichten Kreidler mit ABC die bislang beste Platte ihrer Karriere, verfilmt als 2+2=22 (The Alphabet) von Heinz Emigholz und mit einem Cover der georgischen Künstlerin Thea Djordjadze versehen. ABC vereint alle Tugenden Kreidlers zu einer bisher nicht erreichten Synthese. Den robusten Bassfundamenten stehen frei mäandernde Melodielinien gegenüber; die geradlinige akustische Rhythmik Thomas Kleins amalgamiert mit Sprachsamples und geduldig sich aufbauenden elektronisch-atonalen Spannungsbögen. Aber nicht nur Kreidler trieben die Entwicklung der elektronischen Musik in Deutschland voran.

Zu den weiteren Protagonisten, die ebenfalls 2014 neue Alben veröffentlichten, gehören Roman Flügel und Efdemin. Letzterer veröffentlichte mit seinem dritten Album Decay ein herausragendes Deep-Techno-Album, das er während einer dreimonatigen Artist Residency in Kyoto und zu Hause in Berlin aufgenommen hat. Decay ist der beste Beweis für die These, dass Techno, kompromisslos, stylish und voller Anmut eingespielt, eine sehr meditative Wirkung auf den Hörer haben kann. Der Wahlfrankfurter Roman Flügel spielte 2014 mit Happiness Is Happening sein zweites Album für das Hamburger Label Dial ein. Es ist im besten Sinne uncool – Roman Flügel beweist Mut zu Melodien, seine Tracks haben fast Songstrukturen, eine Nähe zur modularen Synthesis Depeche Modes ist unüberhörbar.

Besondere Beobachtung verdient auch Alva Notos und Olaf Benders neues Projekt Diamond Version. Im Anschluss an eine Reihe von fünf limitierten Singles erschien 2014 Diamond Versions Debütalbum Ci. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine abstrakt-tanzbare elektronische Meditation über die Durchkommerzialisierung der Gesellschaft (nicht nur) auf semantischer Ebene. Die Slogans von Weltkonzernen – etwa Sonys „Make.Believe“ oder Nokias „Connecting People“ – besetzen zunehmend unseren Sprachgebrauch, indem Versprechen oder sprichwörtliche Redewendungen in den Kontext eines Markenversprechens gestellt werden. Bei Diamond Version wird das Hijacking der Sprache durch die Konzerne thematisiert und in Musik prozessiert – das sind moderne Protestsongs jenseits und doch in der Tradition von Kraftwerk.

Zukunftsmodell Schallplattenlabel?

Trotz der anhaltenden Absatzkrise auf dem Tonträgermarkt geben Nischen-Labels wie PAN, Live at Robert Johnson, Dial und Tresor Records nicht auf und veröffentlichen auch 2014 gesellschaftlich relevante Musik für die Nische. Wobei sich die Frage stellt, was noch die Nische ist, wenn die Kunst- und die Musikszene zunehmend verschmelzen. Für beide Disziplinen erschließen sich neue Interessensgruppen. Es wird zunehmend interessant sein zu beobachten, inwiefern bisher vereinzelte Kollaborationen oder Joint Ventures mit Galerien, Museen und Kunstinstitutionen neue Einnahmequellen und Betätigungsfelder für entsprechend fokussierte Labels eröffnen werden. Zugleich nutzen Labels wie Künstler digitale Gratis-Plattformen wie Soundcloud, um Musik barrierefrei zu distribuieren. Bestes Beispiel hierfür ist die PAN-Mix-Serie auf Rinse FM. Einmal mehr ein progressives Format, das die Durchdringung der Disziplinen Improvisations- und elektronische Musik mit einer Offenheit vorantreibt, dass man von einer neuen Selbstverständlichkeit sprechen muss. In diesem Sinne war 2014 auch ein Jahr, in welchem das Niveau der Podcasts neue Höhen erklomm. Herauszuheben die Bemühungen von Berlin Community Radio, Protagonisten der Berliner Szene – Einheimische und Zugezogene, Deutsche wie Ausländer – unter dem Dach einer Internet-Radiostation zu vereinen.