Sub-cultures of the 1960s Avant garde and popular music

The newly emerged youth and sub-cultures of the 1960’s entered popular music – popular culture and the avant garde met beyond the mainstream.

The Beatles cited Stockhausen’s Hymns and experimented in I am the walrus and Revolution nr. 9 with "musique concrète“. The prolonged tones of John Cales, who had studied with the minimalist LaMonte Young in night-long experiments, were drawn through the music of Velvet Underground. Stockhausen likewise influenced Miles Davis and his producer Teo Macero in, for instance, the 1973 production On the Corner. Davis understood Stockhausen’s works as "a process of taking away and adding to”. Thanks to the possibilities of over dubs, re-working and special effects, the studio became itself a musical instrument. The Beatles withdrew from stage performances because the effects they could achieve in the studio could not be reproduced at live concerts.

In 1967 appeared the first recordings by the "Buchla" synthesizer and in the following year those by the "Moog” synthesizer. With his machine, Don Buchla was oriented more to contemporary compositional practice, as Morton Subotnik’s "Buchla” composition Silver Apples on the Moon demonstrated. Robert Moog’s synthesizer, on the other hand, was conceived as a popular music instrument. It was intended to produce new sounds and at the same time to imitate conventional instruments, as Walter (later Wendy) Carlos demonstrated with his "Moog” version of popular pieces of music by Bach on his bestselling album Switched On Bach.

Krautrock

What is today identified as “Krautrock” is a highly heterogeneous scene in which bombastic classical jazz rock, psychedelic excesses and avant garde experiments are possible. Nevertheless, all contemporary canonical krautrockers like Can, Kraftwerk, Neu! and Faust share a certain "motorics”, as the British author Simon Reynolds calls the often uniform, non-expressive pulse. They perform funk borrowings with the precision of a metronome and do without the classical song structures and Blues orientation of rock.

Can was formed at the end of 1967 in Cologne. Accompanied by changing singers, the Stockhausen students Holger Czukay and Irmin Schmidt, free jazz drummer Jaki Liebezeit and guitarist Karoli recorded endless, intensive-rhythmic improvisations with a two-track tape recorder. From these, later pieces were spliced together, for which work they secretly used the electronics studio of the WDR. With this application of the Stockhausen-inspired splicing method, they became the rock forefathers of later "sampling” electronic musicians.

Measured against their later influence, Can’s success during its active years was modest. Still, in 1971 they scored a hit when they composed their single Spoon for the TV blockbuster Das Messer.

Without the abstract groove of Can, but above all with conventional instruments, Tangerine Dream (founded by Edgar Froese in 1969 in Berlin) experimented with noises (on their first album from 1970, alongside organ and guitar, there are the sounds of whips and parchment) and free structures. In 1971, they began to devote themselves more and more to synthesizers and other electronic instruments. In spite of increasing rhythmicisation, they kept on advancing the kitschy-ambient appeal of their music, which Klaus Schulze, another member of what is known as the Berlin School of "cosmic music” and briefly a member of Tangerine Dream, also pursued. Listeners cannot fail to recognise the influence of their wavering, hypnotic sound carpets on the contemporary trance-techno scene.

Subkulturen der 1960er-Jahre Avantgarde und Populärmusik

Die neu entstandenen Jugend- und Subkulturen der 1960er-Jahre entern die Unterhaltungsmusik - populäre Kultur und Avantgarde treffen sich jenseits des Mainstreams.

Die Beatles beriefen sich auf Stockhausens Hymnen und experimentierten auf I am the walrus und Revolution nr. 9 mit der musique concrète. Durch den Sound von Velvet Underground zogen sich die lang gehaltenen Töne John Cales, der beim Minimalisten LaMonte Young in nächtelangen Experimenten gelernt hatte. Ebenso beeinflusst von Stockhausen waren Miles Davis und sein Produzent Teo Macero, etwa in der 1973er Produktion On the Corner. Davis verstand Stockhausens Arbeiten als „ein Prozess des Weglassens und Hinzufügens“. Das Studio wurde durch die Möglichkeiten von Overdubs, Nachbearbeitung und Effekten selbst zum Instrument. Die Beatles zogen sich von der Bühne zurück, weil ihr Studioaufwand live nicht zu reproduzieren war.

1967 wurden die ersten Aufnahmen des Buchla- und im Jahr darauf des Moog-Synthesizers vorgestellt Don Buchla zielte mit seinem Modell eher auf die zeitgenössische kompositorische Praxis, wie es Morton Subotniks Buchla-Komposition Silver Apples on the Moon demonstrierte. Dagegen war Robert Moogs Synthesizer als populäres Musikinstrument gedacht. Er sollte zugleich neue Sounds produzieren und herkömmliche Instrumente imitieren, wie Walter (später Wendy) Carlos mit seiner Moog-Version populärer Bach-Stücke auf dem Bestseller Switched On Bach demonstrierte.

Krautrock

Was heute als Krautrock identifiziert wird, ist eine höchst heterogene Szene, in der bombastischer, klassizistischer Jazzrock ebenso wie psychedelische Ausschweifungen und avantgardistische Experimente möglich waren. Dennoch teilen vor allem die heute kanonisierten Krautrocker wie Can, Kraftwerk, Neu! und Faust eine gewisse „Motorik“, wie der britische Autor Simon Reynolds den oft gleichförmigen, nicht-expressiven Puls nennt. Sie führen selbst Funk-Anleihen mit der Präzision eines Metronoms aus, verzichten meist auf klassische Songstrukturen und die Bluesorientierung des Rock.

Can formierte sich Ende 1967 in Köln. Mit wechselnden Sängern zeichneten die Stockhausen-Schüler Holger Czukay und Irmin Schmidt, Freejazz-Drummer Jaki Liebezeit und Gitarrist Karoli endlose, intensiv-rhythmische Improvisationen mit einer Zweispurmaschine auf. Daraus wurden später Stücke zusammen geschnitten, wofür sie nachts heimlich das Elektronikstudio des WDR benutzten. Durch die Verwendung dieses von Stockhausen inspirierten Montage-Verfahrens wurden sie zu den rockenden Vorvätern späterer Schnipsel-Elektroniker. Gemessen an ihrer Nachwirkung blieb Cans Erfolg zu Lebzeiten bescheiden. 1971 konnten sie immerhin einen Hit landen, als sie für den TV-Straßenfeger Das Messer ihre Single Spoon komponierten.

Ebenfalls mit überwiegend konventionellen Instrumenten, wenn auch ohne den abstrakten Groove von Can, experimentierten Tangerine Dream – von Edgar Froese 1969 in Berlin gegründet – mit Geräuschen und freien Strukturen; auf ihrem ersten Album von 1970 finden sich neben Orgeln und Gitarren auch Klänge von Peitschen und Pergamentpapier. Ab 1971 widmeten sie sich immer mehr Synthesizern und anderen elektronischen Instrumenten. Trotz zunehmender Rhythmisierung trieben sie den kitschig-sphärischen Appeal ihrer Musik voran, den auch Klaus Schulze, ein weiteres Mitglied der so genannten Berliner Schule kosmischer Musik und kurzzeitiges Mitglied von Tangerine Dream verfolgte. Der Einfluss ihrer wabernden, hypnotischen Klang-Teppiche auf die heutige Trancetechno-Szene ist nicht zu überhören.