electro-pop of the 1970s Self-stylising as machines:
electro-pop of the 1970s

The Düsseldorf band Kraftwerk apparently became acquainted with each other at one of the early Can sessions and, beginning in 1970, produced at first minimalist and electronic-inspired avant garde rock.

Only in their fourth album did Florian Schneider and Ralf Hütter find their way to pure electronic sound. In Autobahn (1974) emerged a dense and coloured texture composed of uniform machine-like rhythms, modulated harmonies and robot-like voices. The band’s own Klingklang Studio enabled an early form of "amateur” production. Kraftwerk’s studio technology lived from improvisation and tinkering. The standard rhythm of an electric organ was rebuilt into a rhythm machine.

Transeuropa-Express (1976) unexpectedly proved to provide keywords for the early hip-hop kids of the Bronx and formed, in 1982, the foundation for Afrika Bambaataa’s electro-milestone Planet Rock – a precursor of early techno projects in Detroit. An often underestimated aspect of this music is the self-stylisation as machines, a unique mix of corporeality and technology. The Detroit techno pioneer Carl Craig recalls that Kraftwerk were "so stiff that they were funky”.

Influences on electronic dance music

Hardly less influential for electronic dance music was the work of the producer Giorgio Moroder in Munich. In 1970, Moroder was already responsible for the first pop song produced with a synthesizer, scoring a small hit with the "synthie pop” Son of my father. Love to Love you Baby in 1976 was a 17 minutes, purely synthetic dance ecstasy oriented on orchestral Philadelphia soul, to which the expatriate American Donna Summer orgasmically moaned – and was therefore banned by the BBC. In the U.S.A., the song became a number one hit. It also initiated the "maxi-single” and became, with its completely synthetic endless rhythm, an inspiration for house music.

Another musical line arose in the Düsseldorf group Neu!, a splinter of the original Kraftwerk members. Their early instrumental classic Hallogallo, which the influential British DJ John Peel introduced on his BBC broadcast in 1971, is a 10 minutes ambient guitar piece with a monotonous, yet light, rhythm. Like the similarly oriented bands Cluster, Harmonia and La Düsseldorf, Neu! inspired the ambient works of Brian Eno and his collaboration with David Bowie during the latter’s Berlin phase in the mid-1970s. They are regarded as having pointed the way for post-rock and ambient techno in the 1990s.

The producer Conny Plank, who died in 1987, looked after their sound. A former collaborator in Stockhausen’s studio, he was the grey eminence of krautrock. He modelled himself on Jamaican studio artists like Lee Perry and King Tubby who, with their "dub” effects, had already introduced in 1970 pioneering studio techniques consisting of echo, reverberation and multi-track recording. In addition to his influence on the major krautrock works for Neu! and Cluster, Plank’s clear, hard drums and unexpected sound effects are superimposed over pieces by the Einstürzenden Neubauten and New Wave greats like Devo, John Lydons PIL and Ultravox. He was the sound engineer for one of the most important and popular German productions: Kraftwerk’s Autobahn in 1974.

Elektro-Pop der 1970er-Jahre Selbststilisierung zu Maschinen

Kraftwerk aus Düsseldorf lernten sich angeblich auf einer der frühen Can-Sessions kennen und produzierten ab 1970 zunächst minimalistisch und elektronisch inspirierten Avantgarde-Rock. 

Erst mit dem vierten Album fanden Florian Schneider und Ralf Hütter zum rein elektronischen Sound. Auf Autobahn entstand 1974 mit gleichförmigem maschinellen Rhythmus, modulierten Harmonien und roboterhaften Stimmen eine aus Farbe und Dichte komponierte Textur. Das bandeigene Klingklang-Studio ermöglichte eine frühe Form „dilettantischer“ Produktion. Kraftwerks Studiotechnologie lebte von Improvisation und Bastelei. Die Standardrhythmen einer elektrischen Orgel wurden zur Rhythmusmaschine umgebaut.

Transeuropa-Express von 1976 erwies sich als unerwarteter Stichwortgeber für die frühen HipHop-Kids der Bronx und bildete 1982 die Grundlage für Afrika Bambaataas Elektro-Meilenstein Planet Rock – ein Vorläufer früher Techno-Entwürfe in Detroit. Ein oft unterschätzter Aspekt ist dabei die Selbststilisierung zu Maschinen, ein eigenartiger Mix aus Körperlichkeit und Technologie. Kraftwerk waren, erinnert sich der Detroiter Technopionier Carl Craig, „so steif, dass sie funky waren“.

Einflüsse auf die elektronische Tanzmusik

Kaum weniger einflussreich für die elektronische Tanzmusik war das Schaffen des Produzenten Giorgio Moroders in München. Moroder hatte bereits 1970 den ersten Schlager mit Synthesizereinsatz verantwortet und einen kleinen Hit mit dem Synthiepop Son of my father gehabt. Love to Love you Baby von 1976 war eine 17-minütige, am orchestralen Philadelphia-Soul orientierte, dabei rein synthetische Tanzekstase, zu der die Exil-Amerikanerin Donna Summer orgasmisch stöhnte - wofür der Titel dann von der BBC gebannt wurde. Das Stück wurde zu einem Nummer 1-Hit in den USA. Es initiierte die Maxisingle und stand mit seinem voll synthetischen Endlosrhythmus Pate für Housemusik.

Eine andere musikalische Linie entstand durch die Düsseldorfer Formation Neu!, die ein Splitter der ersten Formation von Kraftwerk war. Ihr früher Instrumental-Klassiker Hallogallo, den der einflussreiche britische DJ John Peel 1971 in seiner BBC-Sendung vorstellte, ist ein 10-minütiges Gitarren-Ambientstück mit einem monotonen, dennoch leichten Rhythmus. Bands wie Neu! – ebenso wie die ähnlich orientierten Cluster, Harmonia und La Düsseldorf – inspirierten die Ambient-Produktionen Brian Enos und seine Arbeit mit David Bowie während dessen Berliner Phase Mitte der 70er Jahre. Sie gelten als wegweisend für Post-Rock und Ambient-Techno der 90er Jahre.

Für ihren Sound sorgte der 1987 verstorbene Produzent Conny Plank. Als ehemaliger Mitarbeiter in Stockhausens Studio war er die graue Eminenz des Krautrocks. Er orientierte sich an jamaikanischen Studiokünstlern wie Lee Perry und King Tubby, die bereits um 1970 mit ihren „Dub“–Effekten bahnbrechende Studio-Techniken aus Echo, Hall und Mehrspurreglern einführten einführten. Außer in zentralen Krautrock-Werken für Neu! und Cluster wurden Planks klare, harte Drums und unerwartete Effekte auch in Produktionen der Einstürzenden Neubauten und New Wave-Größen wie Devo, John Lydons PIL und Ultravox eingesetzt. Mit Kraftwerks Autobahn ist er 1974 für eine der wichtigsten und populärsten deutschen Produktionen verantwortlich.