Electroacoustic art music in Germany The Cologne School myth

The circle of composers who held sway in Cologne during the 1950s has often been mythologised as a centre of the musical avant garde.

Under the leadership of Herbert Eimert and aided by the growing reputation of Stockhausen, the WDR Studio for Electronic Music that had been established in 1951 developed into an international meeting place. Composers like Ernst Krenek (Austria/USA), György Ligeti (Hungary), Franco Evangelisti (Italy), Cornelius Cardew (England), Mauricio Kagel (Argentina) and Nam June Paik (Korea) all lived and worked in Cologne.

The key works of those years were not written by Stockhausen, but by Gottfried Michael Koenig, who dominated the WDR Studio like no other as its technical assistant and helped many composers create their pieces. The language and technology of early electronic music found their culmination in his works, including Klangfiguren II (Sound Figures II, 1955/56), Essay (1957) and Terminus I (1962), which are as radical as they virtuosic.

Stockhausen and his impact

In retrospect, the impact of the Cologne School has been of significance at several levels. Firstly, the WDR Studio is regarded as the "mother of all studios". It became the model for comparable institutions, among them Bruno Maderna and Luciano Berio’s Phonological Studio in Milan (founded in 1955) and Jozef Patkowski’s Experimental Music Studio in Warsaw (1957), which also worked with sinus wave, noise and impulse generators, tape machines, filters and reverb units. Secondly, Stockhausen, who was regarded for a long time as the form’s most important integrative figure, helped electronic music to gain international respect.

At the same time, there was strong criticism of his apolitical attitude and tendency towards spiritualism, which he expressed for the first time in works such as Hymnen (Anthems, 1966-67) and Telemusik (Telemusic, 1969). Anthems, which Krautrock bands like Can and Neu have claimed as a decisive inspiration, was condemned by Luigi Nono as a shoddy piece of nationalism; in 1974, Cornelius Cardew even raised the accusation, "Stockhausen serves imperialism".

Thirdly, many of the composers initiated into electroacoustic music at Cologne have passed on and further developed the ideas they encountered there. Under the impression of his tape study Artikulation (Articulation), which he had composed in 1958 in Cologne, György Ligeti intensified the orchestral texture of Atmosphères (1960/61) into a turbulent fog of sound based on electroacoustic models. Helmut Lachenmann also applied lessons from his electroacoustic activities. He may only have written a single tape piece, but then went on to revolutionise instrumental music in the late 1960s with his concept of a noise-fixated „musique concrète instrumentale".

Herbert Brün, who taught at the University of Illinois until 2000, interpreted the procedures he had learned in Cologne in the context of his theory of socially committed electronic music. And Gottfried Michael Koenig, who took charge of the Dutch Institute of Sonology in 1964, reorganised this workshop as a kind of "criticism of the Cologne Studio", above all introducing voltage control and computers.

Mauricio Kagel, who created the tape piece Transicion at the WDR Studio in 1963, has dedicated himself increasingly to acoustic art since his radio play Ein Aufnahmezustand (A State of Recording, 1969), applying the montage procedures of electronic music to works with a narrative character. While the writer Ferdinand Kriwet, who cultivated close contacts with composers in Cologne, produced a series of "audio texts” in order to make the graphic, multichannel qualities of documentary recordings fruitful in a literary context.



Nor was musical life in the GDR untouched by electroacoustic music. After many short-lived projects, Georg Katzer succeeded in building up a studio at the Berlin Academy of the Arts, although not until 1986 and then with machines and materials that had to be obtained from the West, sometimes by clandestine methods. Technically, the studio was strongly oriented towards Western production conditions and became a place of political and aesthetic subversion, creating works that countered the normative reason of state with an individualistic, free-thinking poetics.

Elektroakustische Kunstmusik in Deutschland Mythos „Kölner Schule"

Der Komponistenkreis, der das Köln der 1950er-Jahre prägte, ist oft als Zentrum der musikalischen Avantgarde mystifiziert worden.

Unter der Leitung von Herbert Eimert und mit dem wachsenden Renommee Karlheinz Stockhausens entwickelte sich das 1951 gegründete WDR-Studio für elektronische Musik zu einem internationalen Treffpunkt. Komponisten wie Ernst Krenek (Österreich/USA), György Ligeti (Ungarn), Franco Evangelisti (Italien), Cornelius Cardew (England), Mauricio Kagel (Argentinien), Nam June Paik (Korea) haben in Köln gelebt und gearbeitet.

Die Schlüsselwerke dieser Jahre stammen nicht von Stockhausen, sondern von Gottfried Michael Koenig, der das Studio als technischer Assistent wie kein anderer beherrschte und der zahlreichen Komponisten bei der Realisation ihrer Stücke assistierte. In seinen so radikalen wie virtuosen Arbeiten, darunter die Klangfiguren II (1955/56), Essay (1957) und Terminus I (1962), kulminieren Sprache und Technik der frühen elektronischen Musik.

Stockhausen und die Folgen

Die Auswirkungen der „Kölner Schule“ sind rückblickend auf mehreren Ebenen von Bedeutung. Erstens gilt das WDR-Studio als „Mutter aller Studios". Es wurde zum Modell für vergleichbare Einrichtungen, darunter Bruno Madernas und Luciano Berios Studio di Fonologia in Mailand (Studiogründung 1955) und Jozef Patkowskis Experimentalstudio in Warschau (1957), die ebenfalls mit Sinuston-, Rausch- und Impulsgeneratoren, Bandmaschinen, Filtern und Hallgeräten arbeiteten. Zweitens verhalf Stockhausen, der lange als ihre wichtigste Integrationsfigur galt, der elektronischen Musik zu internationalem Ansehen.

Gleichzeitig wurde seine apolitische Haltung mit Hang zum Spiritualismus, die er in Werken wie Hymnen (1966-67) und Telemusik (1969) erstmals zum Ausdruck brachte, stark kritisiert. Luigi Nono verurteilte Hymnen, das von Krautrock-Bands wie Can und Neu zur entscheidenden Inspiration erklärt wurde, als nationalistisches Machwerk; Cornelius Cardews wiederum unterstellte ihm 1974 gar: "Stockhausen serves Imperialism".

Drittens haben viele der in Köln elektroakustisch initiierten Komponisten diese Ideen tradiert und weiterentwickelt. Unter dem Eindruck seiner Tonbandstudie Artikulation, die er 1958 in Köln komponiert hatte, verdichtete György Ligeti den Orchesterklang in Atmosphère (1960/61) zu einem bewegten Klangnebel nach elektroakustischen Vorbild. Ähnliches gilt für Helmut Lachenmann, der zwar nur ein einziges Tonbandstück geschrieben hat, in den späten Sechzigern aber die Instrumentalmusik mit seinem Konzept einer geräuschfixierten „musique concrète“ revolutionierte.

Herbert Brün, der bis 2000 an der University of Illinois lehrte, hat die in Köln angeeigneten Verfahren im Sinne seiner Theorie einer sozial engagierten Elektronik ausgelegt. Und Gottfried Michael Koenig, der 1964 das niederländische Institut voor Sonologie übernahm, gestaltete diese Produktionsstätte als „Kritik am Kölner Studio" um, indem er vor allem die Spannungssteuerung und den Computer einführte.

Mauricio Kagel, der 1963 das Tonbandstück Transicion im WDR-Studio realisierte, widmete sich seit seinem Hörspiel Ein Aufnahmezustand (1969) zusehends der Akustischen Kunst, indem er die Montageverfahren der elektronischen Musik auf Werke mit erzählendem Charakter übertrug. Der Schriftsteller Ferdinand Kriwet wiederum, der in Köln engen Kontakt zu Komponisten pflegte, produzierte eine Reihe von „Hörtexten", um Mehrkanaligkeit und Bildhaftigkeit dokumentarischer Aufnahmen literarisch fruchtbar zu machen.

Die Elektroakustik ist auch an der musikalischen Entwicklung in der DDR nicht spurlos vorübergegangen. Nach vielen kurzlebigen Projekten gelang es Georg Katzer 1986 an der Berliner Akademie der Künste ein Studio aufzubauen, wobei Maschinen und Materialien unter zum Teil klandestinen Bedingungen aus dem Westen beschafft werden mussten. Das technisch stark an westlichen Produktionsbedingungen ausgerichtete Studio wurde zu einer Stätte der politisch-ästhetischen Subversion, mit Werken, die der normativen Staatsräson eine individuell-freiheitliche Poetik entgegenhielten.