Electroacoustic art music in Germany Research and progress

The most important innovations to which the Cologne Studio gave major impulses include multichannel composition.

Stockhausen gained acceptance for the idea of "spatial music” as an aesthetic paradigm with his four-track work Gesang der Jünglinge (Song of the Youths, 1955/56) and the spatially conceived orchestral piece Gruppen (Groups, 1955-57). The spherical auditorium created for the 1970 World Exhibition in Osaka gave him a concert hall specially tailored to this concept. Since then, "spatial music" has been a common compositional praxis, used for example in the 7-channel composition La légende d'Eer (The Legend of Eer, 1977) by Iannis Xenakis and the orchestral piece Quasi una fantasia (1988) by György Kurtág. Fifty years on, the idea is being popularised today as 5.1 Surround Sound, but more as a feature of the modern home packed with media technology than as a way of listening to electronic music.

Josef-Anton Riedl found his way to a synthesis between pure electronic music and "musique concrète" at an early stage in the sound laboratory set up in 1959 by Siemens. The Siemens studio may have failed in its attempts to commercially exploit electronic popular music, but a digital synthesis procedure, in which the individual parameters of a sound could be saved on punched tape and retrieved with the help of a tape reader, was soon developed at the generously equipped research department. Together with computer programs supplied by the US telephone company Bell, this procedure provided the foundations for one of the first computer-supported sound machines. The tape reader was used extensively by Riedl – most notably in his composition Nr. 2 (1963). Composers like John Cage and David Tudor travelled to Munich to study there on account of this apparatus.

Innovative potential of electroacoustic music

The genre of live electronic music that John Cage had called into life in 1960 with his was imported in 1964 by Stockhausen in Mikrofonie I für Tamtam, Mikrofone und Mischpulte (Microphony I for Tam-Tam, Microphones and Mixing Consoles). He pushed forward the live electronic transformation of sound in 1969 with Mantra für zwei Klaviere und einen Ringmodulator (Mantra for Two Pianos and a Ring Modulator) at the SWR in Freiburg. This production led to the founding of the Experimental Studio of the Heinrich Strobel Foundation of the SWR in 1971. It was in Freiburg that the studio’s director Hans-Peter Haller and the engineer Peter Lawo had built the first "fully electronic sound control device for the movement of a source of sound within a predetermined space" in 1970. This machine went down in history as "Haller’s Crazy Crate 4" and later the "halaphon”.

The "halaphon" was made famous by the ethereal, filigree sound that runs through all the later works of Luigi Nono. Nono created twelve works in Freiburg between 1980 and 1990, among them his epochal "tragedy of listening" Prometeo (Prometheus, 1981-1985). The Freiburg studio has always had a double role: as both an instrument and a laboratory. Today, historic works by Nono, Cristóbal Halffter and Pierre Boulez are maintained technically there and, where necessary, updated to ensure they can still be performed. Furthermore, many live electronic solutions for specific works have been developed jointly with composers in Freiburg: for the electroacoustic corset with which Brian Ferneyhough surrounds the instrumentalists in his Time and Motion Study II (1976/77), the spatial counterpoint that develops into a dialogue between the ensemble and the loudspeakers in Emmanuel Nunes’s Wandlungen (Changes, 1985/86) and the complex mirroring process conceived by Isabel Mundry for her piece Gesichter (Faces, 1997).

This appears to have exhausted the innovative potential of electroacoustic music in Germany for the time being. Pioneering innovations such as voltage control, which is the basis of the "Moog and Buchla synthesisers", were invented in the USA. The revolutionary FM synthesis technology was also discovered in the CCRMA studio at Stanford University before going on to dominate 1980s pop music – from Michael Jackson to Front 242 – in the shape of Yamaha’s DX-7 synthesiser. While granular synthesis, "physical modelling” and standard software such as "Max/MSP", "SuperCollider" and the programs created by IRCAM in Paris have all been developed outside Germany as well.

Elektroakustische Kunstmusik in Deutschland Forschung und Fortschritt

Zu den wichtigsten Neuerungen, die noch im Kölner Studio wesentliche Impulse erhielt, gehört die der Mehrkanaligkeit. 

Mit dem vierspurig produzierten Gesang der Jünglinge (1955/56) und dem räumlich konzipierten Orchesterstück Gruppen (1955-57) setzte Stockhausen die Idee der „Raummusik“ als ästhetisches Paradigma durch. Das Kugelauditorium entstand anlässlich der Weltausstellung 1970 in Osaka als ein diesem Konzept angepasster Konzertsaal. „Raummusik“ ist seither eine gängige kompositorische Praxis, die sich zum Beispiel der 7-Kanal-Komposition La légende d'Eer (1977) von Iannis Xenakis oder im Orchesterstück Quasi una fantasia (1988) von György Kurtág niedergeschlagen hat. Ganze fünfzig Jahre später wird die Idee heute als 5.1-Surround-Sound popularisiert, allerdings eher im Zuge des medial technifizierten Eigenheims und nicht um elektronische Musik damit zu hören.

Im 1959 von Siemens eingerichteten Klanglabor fand Josef-Anton Riedl früh zu einer Synthese zwischen rein elektronischer Musik und „musique concrète“. Zwar scheiterte man im Siemens-Studio mit dem Versuch, elektronische Schlagermusik kommerziell auszuschlachten. In der großzügig ausgestatteten Forschungsabteilung entstand aber bald ein digitales Syntheseverfahren, bei dem die einzelnen Parameter eines Klangs auf Lochstreifen gespeichert und mithilfe eines Kartenlesers abgerufen werden konnten und das gemeinsam mit Computerprogrammen der US-amerikanischen Telefonfirma Bell zu den ersten rechnergestützten Klangmaschinen gehört. Der Lochstreifenleser wurde von Riedl – vor allem in seiner Komposition Nr. 2 (1963) – extensiv genutzt. Komponisten wie John Cage und David Tudor reisten eigens wegen dieser Apparatur zu Studienzwecken nach München.

Innovatives Potenzial der Elektroakustik

Das Metier der Live-Elektronik, das John Cage 1960 mit seiner „Cartridge Music“ ins Leben gerufen hatte, wurde 1964 von Stockhausen in Mikrofonie I für Tamtam, Mikrofone und Mischpulte importiert. Er setzte die live-elektronische Verwandlung des Klangs 1969 mit Mantra für zwei Klaviere und einen Ringmodulator am SWR in Freiburg fort. Diese Produktion führte 1971 zur Gründung des Experimental-Studios der Heinrich-Strobel-Stiftung am SWR. Hier hatten Studioleiter Hans-Peter Haller und der Ingenieur Peter Lawo 1970 das erste „vollelektronische Klangsteuergerät zur Bewegung einer Klangquelle in einem vorgegebenen Raum“ gebaut, das als „Hallers tolle Kiste 4“ und später als „Halaphon“ in die Geschichte einging.

Berühmt wurde das „Halaphon“ durch den verwehten, filigranen Klang, der sich durch das gesamte Spätwerk Luigi Nonos zieht. Nono hat in Freiburg zwischen 1980 und 1990 zwölf Werke realisiert, darunter seine epochale „Tragödie des Hörens“ Prometeo (1981–1985). Das Freiburger Studio ist stets beides gewesen: Instrument und Labor. Historische Werke von Nono, Cristóbal Halffter und Pierre Boulez werden heute aufführungstechnisch gepflegt und, wo nötig, aktualisiert. Gleichzeitig sind in Freiburg gemeinsam mit den Komponisten immer wieder werkspezifische live-elektronische Lösungen entwickelt worden: für das elektroakustische Korsett, mit dem Brian Ferneyhough den Instrumentalisten seiner Time and Motion Study II (1976/77) umgibt, für den räumlichen Kontrapunkt, der sich in Emmanuel Nunes' Wandlungen (1985/86) zwischen Ensemble und Lautsprecher als Dialog entfaltet, oder für die komplexen Spiegelungsverfahren, die Isabel Mundry für ihr Stück Gesichter (1997) konzipierte.

Das innovative Potenzial der Elektroakustik deutscher Provenienz scheint damit zunächst erschöpft. Wegweisende Neuerungen, wie die Spannungssteuerung, die dem „Moog“- und dem „Buchla“-Synthesizer zugrunde liegt, wurden in den USA entwickelt. Auch die Revolution der FM-Synthese wurde im CCRMA-Studio der Stanford-University entdeckt, bevor sie in Gestalt des „DX-7“-Synthesizers von Yamaha die Popmusik der 1980er-Jahre dominierte – von Michael Jackson bis Front 242. Ähnliches gilt für die Granularsynthese und das „Physical modelling“, für Standard-Software wie „Max/MSP“, „SuperCollider“ und die Programme des Pariser IRCAM.