Jazz 2013 Stars and structural change

German jazz is in movement. Musicians are organizing and presenting themselves, politicians giving them morsels of subsidies. The next generation is queuing up at institutions of higher education, clubs and festivals are looking at a young audience. Something is going on, still diffuse in direction but vital in attitude. And some artists have taken the opportunity to leap forward. A look back with prospects.

A versatile musician: Michael Wollny. Photo: ACT / Joerg Steinmetz A versatile musician: Michael Wollny. Photo: ACT / Joerg Steinmetz | Photo: ACT / Joerg Steinmetz 2013 was the year of the pianist Michael Wollny. It began, somewhat early, on Boxing Day 2012, with the 75th birthday of Wollny’s duo partner, the saxophonist Heinz Sauer (celebrated with a new album); it ended, somewhat late, with the presentation of a newly formed Michael Wollny Trio (celebrated with a new trio album). In between were more album releases plus a bursting performance calendar, but also a few calmer phases in which Wollny could hone new ideas. The high point of the German jazz year 2013 was set by the pianist in autumn: as artist-in-residence at the festival Enjoy Jazz, he presented his music in its various metamorphoses in six concerts and a matinée: in small format and on a large scale with a Big Band and orchestra, in contrast to F.W. Murnau’s silent film classic Nosferatu and on the border to New Music and Planet Electronica.

Surface and underground

At first glance, the general situation of jazz today looks rather bleak: in the record shops the number of jazz CDs offered has melted away, the shelves have shrunk. Among what remains the great older musicians dominate; in addition, singers, piano trios and Big Bands also sell. More than ever, jazz has become a genre in a niche, with a market share of 1.6 per cent (2012), placing it on the edge of the detection limit. It can still fill concert halls, at least when the big American stars appear, but this kind of music-making belongs to the middle-class temple of the Muses, complete with plush chairs and evening dress. Where before the audience consisted of existentialist coolniks, today sleek silver foxes look forward to the prosecco pauses.

Taking a closer look, however, we see a different picture: the German jazz scene is currently experiencing a heyday such as could not have been dreamed of in a long time. About twenty jazz programmes at conservatories and universities can barely cope with the influx of applicants; year after year about 200 students graduate, and even if not all of them aim at great artistic achievements, the number of well-trained musicians with ambition is now so great that the effect can be felt. In Berlin and Cologne, the capitals of the German jazz scene, but also in cities with smaller faculties and jazz scenes such as Dresden, Mannheim and Hamburg, there are young musicians who have swum free of the weight of their training.

Master mind in the background of South German Jazz: the bassist Henning Sieverts. Photo: Ralf Dombrowski Master mind in the background of South German Jazz: the bassist Henning Sieverts. Photo: Ralf Dombrowski | Photo: Ralf Dombrowski Now they are standing on their own musical feet, seeking exchange with other musicians, scenes, art forms and initiating interesting projects. Musicians such as the pianists Michael Wollny, Pablo Held and Florian Weber, the saxophonists Angelika Niescier and Charlotte Greve, the drummers Christian Lillinger, Eric Schaefer and Jonas Burgwinkel, and the bassists Robert Landfermann and Henning Sieverts have made improvisation the backbone of their music and taken it in completely different directions: free improvisation and classical composition, Punk and diverse folk traditions, New and minimalist music, pop and electronic – never has the field been more open.

Confident experiments

To the new freedom corresponds a new self-confidence. A self-confidence that has emboldened the saxophonist Angelika Niescier to adopt a successful New Yorker concept in her hometown of Cologne. At the beginning of 2013 she staged in Cologne for the second time a free indoor festival: Winter Jazz. Fifteen Cologne groups performing on five stages in the City Gardens, the events centre that the Cologne Jazzhouse Initiative wrested in the 1980s from the local government. Winter Jazz presents the incredible breadth of the Cologne scene which, from expressive furore to respectful Monk deconstruction, from brute drive to the minimalist spiritual exercises of pianist Simon Rummel, alludes to every conceivable facet of the contemporary jazz spectrum. And then there was the young audience with a fancy for partying and music, whose good mood could not be spoiled even by the long queues sometimes reaching into the street on the January night.

The new self-confidence is founded primarily in the German jazz scene’s awareness if its own situation. With the revival in 2012 of the Union of German Jazz Musicians (UDJ), a kind of labour union for jazz musicians that fell into a deep slumber after the euphoria of its founding 40 years ago, the younger generation of musicians round the pianist Julia Hülsmann and the saxophonist Felix Falk created an intuitional core from which the debate about the significance of the musical art form jazz could be broached again and again. They did this in so audible a manner that their concerns found an echo even in a special session of the German Bundestag.

And the problems are fundamental: as the dream of a little house in the country has given way to the model of urban living, processes of gentrification subject the last unused spaces in cities to the principle of profit maximization – space becomes scarce, rents rise, the lack of rooms for working and performance worsens. Yet gentrification is also a key prerequisite for the emergence of a vibrant music scene. Despite the progressive extinction of clubs, there was a glimmer of hope in 2013: for the first time a “Venue Programme Prize”, for which the Bundestag has made a million euros available, supported 55 clubs throughout Germany that regularly held events in the areas of rock, pop and jazz with amounts between 5,000 and 30,000 euros. After all, a sign that politics has taken notice of the clubs’ precarious position.

Vital festival scene

One rung higher on the glamour ladder are the festivals, whose current success sends a positive signal about the state of German jazz. The still young festival ELBJAZZ held in the jazz disaspora city of Hamburg continues to impress in its fourth year of existence with (in addition to a considerable line-up of major international stars from the intersection of jazz and pop) its courage to confront its listeners with musicians who refuse to tell them what they want to hear. A spirit of farewell and melancholy hovered over this year’s Moers Festival, which began over 40 years ago as an open-air free jazz event. Farewell to almost 30 years in a circus tent and from the big hippie jamboree that Ruhr area youth used to hold parallel to the festival in the Moers Castle Park.

Jack DeJohnette at the Berlin Jazzfest 2013. Jack DeJohnette at the Berlin Jazzfest 2013. | Photo: Ralf Dombrowski At the start and the high point of the festival the wind freshened up. The New York avant-garde artist John Zorn, for example, a musician who has been associated with the festival for decades, performed throughout the day. Zorn presented such a diverse round of projects intermediary between historical re-enactment, pop, hardcore and free jazz that all notions of stylistic boundaries were liquefied and the medley bore witness at the same time to Zorn’s contribution to the festival. It will never be the same again: in 2014 the Moers Festival will move to a converted indoor tennis centre, which will limit the number of listeners on the one hand and open the festival to new, quieter tones on the other. The Berlin Jazzfest, for its part, seems to have regained its own identity after long years of disorientation. In his second year as the festival’s artistic director, the Leipzig jazz scholar Bert Noglik has underlined his course of presenting both the new and the tried-and-true, and to let their interaction strike sparks.

Rainer Kern has pursued a similar course with the festival Enjoy Jazz in the Rhine-Neckar region held in the cities of Heidelberg, Mannheim and Ludwigshafen, which within the space of fifteen years has grown into the largest German jazz festival. Twenty-one thousand visitors, 75 events and 340 musicians from 22 countries: those are impressive figures, behind which stands a very rich programme that, with the saxophonist Jason Moran and the pianist Brad Mehldau, comprises both pearls of mainstream jazz and stylistic ricochets from all possible directions. Electronic improvisation meets acoustic singer-songwriter poetry, film music meets Afro-Cuban panache. And Michael Wollny was the artist-in-residence, who during the six weeks of the festival, but also in the entire jazz year 2013, simply no one could pass by without stopping to listen to him.

Jazz 2013 Stars und Strukturwandel

Der deutsche Jazz ist in Bewegung. Musiker organisieren sich, präsentieren sich, die Politik gibt Subventionshappen dazu. An den Hochschulen steht der Nachwuchs Schlange, Clubs und Festivals sichten junges Publikum. Es tut sich etwas, noch diffus in der Richtung, aber vital in der Haltung. Und mancher Künstler nützt die Chance zum Sprung nach vorne. Ein Rückblick mit Ausblicken.

Vielseitig und agil: Michael Wollny. Foto: ACT / Joerg Steinmetz Vielseitig und agil: Michael Wollny. Foto: ACT / Joerg Steinmetz | Foto: ACT / Joerg Steinmetz 2013 war das Jahr des Pianisten Michael Wollny. Es begann, etwas verfrüht, am 2. Weihnachtstag 2012 mit dem 75. Geburtstag von Wollnys Duo-Partner, dem Saxofonisten Heinz Sauer (gefeiert mit einem neuen Duo-Album), es endete, etwas verspätet, mit der Vorstellung eines neu formierten Michael Wollny Trios (gefeiert mit einem neuen Trio-Album). Dazwischen lagen weitere Albumveröffentlichungen, dazu ein prallvoller Auftrittskalender und auch einige ruhigere Phasen, in denen Wollny an neuen Ideen feilen konnte. Den Höhepunkt des deutschen Jazzjahres 2013 setzte der Pianist im Herbst: Als Artist in Residence beim Festival Enjoy Jazz durfte er seine Musik in ihren verschiedenen Wandlungen in sechs Konzerten und einer Matinee darstellen: im Kleinformat und ganz groß mit Bigband oder Orchester, im Kontrast zu F. W. Murnaus Stummfilmklassiker Nosferatu und an der Grenze zur Neuen Musik oder zum Planeten Electronica.

Oberfläche und Untergrund

Auf den ersten Blick sieht die Großwetterlage im Jazz heute düster aus: In den Plattenläden schmilzt das Angebot an Jazz-CDs, die Regale schrumpfen. Im Restbestand dominieren die großen Alten, verkaufen lassen sich außerdem Sängerinnen, Pianotrios, Bigbands. Jazz ist mehr denn je ein Genre in der Nische geworden, der Marktanteil liegt mit 1,6 Prozent (2012) am Rande der Nachweisgrenze. Noch füllt er Säle, zumindest wenn es um die großen US-Stars geht, doch es sind die Musentempel des Bürgertums, komplett mit Plüschsessel und Abendgarderobe. Wo früher existenzialistisch durchwirkte Coolniks auf die Bühne schauten, freuen sich heute schnieke Silberfüchse auf den Pausen-Prosecco.

Sieht man genauer hin, ergibt sich allerdings ein anderes Bild: Die deutsche Jazzszene erlebt derzeit eine Blüte, wie man sie sich lange nicht hätte träumen lassen. Rund zwanzig Jazzstudiengänge an Musikhochschulen und Universitäten haben Mühe, den Andrang an Bewerbern zu bewältigen, Jahr für Jahr machen etwa 200 Studenten ihren Abschluss – und auch wenn bei weitem nicht alle von ihnen künstlerische Großleistungen anstreben, ist die Zahl sehr gut ausgebildeter Musiker mit Ambition mittlerweile so groß, dass die Wirkung zu spüren ist. In Berlin und Köln, den Hauptstädten der deutschen Jazzszene, aber auch in Städten mit kleineren Fakultäten und Jazzszenen wie Dresden, Mannheim oder Hamburg gibt es mittlerweile junge Musiker, die sich von der Last der Ausbildung freigeschwommen haben.

Master Mind im Hintergrund der süddeutschen Jazzszene: der Bassist Henning Sieverts. Foto: Ralf Dombrowski Master Mind im Hintergrund der süddeutschen Jazzszene: der Bassist Henning Sieverts. Foto: Ralf Dombrowski | Foto: Ralf Dombrowski Nun stehen sie auf eigenen musikalischen Füßen, suchen den Austausch mit anderen Musikern, Szenen, Kunstformen und initiieren interessante Projekte. Musiker wie die Pianisten Michael Wollny, Pablo Held oder Florian Weber, wie die Saxofonistinnen Angelika Niescier oder Charlotte Greve, wie die Schlagzeuger Christian Lillinger, Eric Schaefer oder Jonas Burgwinkel, die Bassisten Robert Landfermann oder Henning Sieverts führen die Improvisation als Rückgrat ihrer Musik in völlig verschiedene Richtungen: freie Improvisation und klassische Komposition, Punk und vielfältige Folkloren, Neue und Minimal Music, Pop und Elektronik – nie war das Feld offener.

Selbstbewusste Experimente

Der neuen Freiheit entspricht ein neues Selbstbewusstsein. Ein Selbstbewusstsein, das die Saxofonistin Angelika Niescier ermutigte, in ihrer Heimatstadt Köln ein New Yorker Erfolgskonzept zu übernehmen. Zum zweiten Mal inszenierte sie 2013 zum Jahresbeginn in Köln ein Umsonst-und-Drinnen-Festival: Winterjazz. 15 verschiedene Kölner Gruppen auf fünf Bühnen im Stadtgarten, dem Veranstaltungszentrum, das die Kölner Jazzhaus-Initiative in den 1980er-Jahren der Kommunalpolitik abtrotzte. Da präsentiert sich die unglaubliche Breite der Kölner Szene, die vom expressiven Furor bis zur respektvollen Monk-Dekonstruktion, vom brachialen Drive bis zum minimalistischen Exerzitium des Pianisten Simon Rummel jede erdenkliche Facette des aktuellen Jazzspektrums anspielt. Und da ist zum anderen ein junges Publikum mit Lust auf Party und Musik, das sich in der Januarnacht die Laune auch von Warteschlangen, die zeitweise bis auf die Straße reichen, nicht verderben lässt.

Das neue Selbstbewusstsein ist in erster Linie in der Bewusstwerdung der eigenen Situation begründet. Mit der Wiederbelebung der Union Deutsche Jazzmusiker (UDJ), einer Art Gewerkschaft der Jazzmusiker, die nach der Gründungseuphorie vor 40 Jahren in einen Dornröschenschlaf entschlummert war, schuf die jüngere Musikergeneration um die Pianistin Julia Hülsmann und den Saxofonisten Felix Falk im Jahr 2012 einen institutionellen Kern, aus dem heraus die Debatte um den Stellenwert der musikalischen Kunstform Jazz immer wieder angestoßen werden konnte. Sie taten das so hörbar, dass ihre Anliegen selbst im Deutschen Bundestag Widerhall mit eigenen Sitzungen fanden.

Und die Probleme sind grundlegend: In dem Maße wie das Leitbild vom urbanen Leben den Traum vom Häuschen im Grünen abgelöst hat, unterwerfen Gentrifizierungsprozesse noch die letzten brachliegenden Räume in den Städten dem Prinzip der Profitmaximierung – Raum wird knapp, Mieten steigen, der Mangel an Arbeits- und Auftrittsräumen verschärft sich. Die sind jedoch für die Herausbildung einer lebendigen Musikerszene eine entscheidende Voraussetzung. Dem fortschreitenden Clubsterben zum Trotz brachte das Jahr 2013 allerdings einen Hoffnungsschimmer: Erstmalig unterstützte ein „Spielstättenprogrammpreis“, für den der Bundestag eine Million Euro zur Verfügung stellte, bundesweit 55 verschiedene Clubs, in denen in den Bereichen Rock, Pop und Jazz regelmäßig Veranstaltungen durchgeführt werden, mit Beträgen zwischen 5.000 und 30.000 Euro. Immerhin. Ein Zeichen, dass die prekäre Lage der Clubs auch in der Politik wahrgenommen wird.

Vitale Festivalszene

Eine Stufe höher auf der Glamourleiter rangieren die Festivals, deren momentaner Erfolg ebenfalls positive Signale über den Stand der Dinge im deutschen Jazz aussendet. Das noch junge Festival Elbjazz in der Jazz-Diaspora Hamburg beeindruckt auch im vierten Jahr seines Bestehens – neben einem beachtlichen Line-Up internationaler Großstars aus der Schnittmenge von Jazz und Pop – mit dem Mut, seine Zuhörer auch mit Musikern zu konfrontieren, die ihrem Publikum nicht nach dem Mund spielen. Über dem Moers-Festival, das vor über 40 Jahren open air als reines Free-Jazz-Event begann, wehte in diesem Jahr der Geist von Abschied und Melancholie. Abschied von fast 30 Jahren in einem Zirkuszelt und von der großen Hippiesause, die die Ruhrgebietsjugend parallel zum Festival im Moerser Schlosspark abzuhalten pflegte.

Jack DeJohnette beim Jazzfest Berlin 2013. Jack DeJohnette beim Jazzfest Berlin 2013. | Foto: Ralf Dombrowski Zum Auftakt und Höhepunkt frischte der Wind auf. Mit dem New Yorker Avantgardisten John Zorn beispielsweise bespielte ein Musiker, der dem Festival seit Jahrzehnten verbunden ist, den gesamten Tag. Zorn präsentierte einen Reigen dermaßen unterschiedlicher Projekte zwischen historischem Re-Enactment, Pop, Hardcore und Free Jazz, der jede Vorstellung von stilistischen Grenzen verflüssigte und gleichzeitig Zorns Beitrag zur Festivalgeschichte beschwor. So wird es nie mehr sein: Im Jahr 2014 bezieht das Moers-Festival eine umgebaute Tennishalle, was einerseits die Zuhörerzahl begrenzt, und andererseits das Festival für neue, leisere Töne öffnet. Das Jazzfest Berlin dagegen scheint nach langen Jahren der Desorientierung wieder zu einer eigenen Identität zu finden. In seinem zweiten Jahr als künstlerischer Leiter unterstrich der Leipziger Jazzgelehrte Bert Noglik seinen Kurs, das Neue und das Bewährte gleichermaßen zu präsentieren und in ihrer Wechselbeziehung Funken schlagen zu lassen.

Einen ähnlichen Kurs verfolgt auch Rainer Kern mit dem Festival Enjoy Jazz in der Rhein-Neckar-Region um die drei Städte Heidelberg, Mannheim und Ludwigshafen, das binnen fünfzehn Jahren zum größten deutschen Jazzfestival anwuchs. 21.000 Besucher bei 75 Veranstaltungen mit 340 Musikern aus 22 Ländern: Das sind beeindruckende Zahlen, hinter denen sich ein sehr reichhaltiges Programm verbirgt, das mit dem Saxofonisten Jason Moran und dem Pianisten Brad Mehldau sowohl Perlen des Jazz-Mainstream umfasste als auch stilistische Querschläger aus allen verschiedenen Richtungen. Elektronische Improvisation traf auf akustisch Singer-Songwriter-Poesie, Filmmusik auf afrokubanischer Schwung. Und Michael Wollny war Artist in Residence, an dem in den sechs Wochen des Festivals, aber auch im Jazzjahr 2013 schlicht niemand vorbei kam.