Studying Jazz

Anybody wanting to study jazz in Germany these days has a whole range of possibilities. The country has 18 universities and music conservatories that provide a broad spectrum of courses and this is complemented by the options available at universities of applied science, music schools and colleges.The qualifications gained vary from institute to institute and are very much geared to the students’ later careers. As is the case in other industrialised countries, the students can specialise as instrumentalists, music teachers or even musicologists - all however with the focus on jazz. 

The subject, like all other fields of improvised music in general, enjoys great esteem, even if the chances of being able to make a living from this art form after graduation are often dependent on factors like fortunate coincidence and luck.

The historical situation

Apart from a few exceptions, until the middle of the 1980s academic jazz training was mainly centred on Hamburg and Berlin and, above all, on Cologne. Towards the end of the decade a few further institutes joined the scene, offering different course content and points of focus. The approach in Cologne mainly concentrated on American mainstream jazz, whereas from 1988 onwards at the Folkwang-Hochschule in Essen the aim of the course was, for example, more stylistically diversified. It was the first institute to offer a degree course in jazz music that was not geared to becoming a teacher, but becoming a professional artist.

The universities today

Such daring beginnings have now given way in many places to the courses being more standardised. Most of the universities now offer courses to become a teacher, as well as an instrumentalist or singer. In many places jazz is taught as a separate subject, at others it is combined with pop and rock. On top of that, depending on the facilities and staff, the institutes offer specialist instrumental subjects. For example, you can study unusual instruments like the vibraphone in Mannheim, in Dresden the Hammond organ is an independent subject.

Furthermore the courses differ due to the size of the individual institutes and in the way they are geared to certain specialist areas. In Detmold, for example, jazz/rock/pop are part of the school music department, in Freiburg or Frankfurt there are post-graduate courses in jazz and pop music for trainee teachers for colleges of further education. Based on the number of students enrolled, Cologne and the Jazz-Institut in Berlin, set up by the Berlin University of the Arts and the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music, are the largest institutes. The institutes in Nuremberg, Essen and Mannheim are for example, more or less medium sized, and there are some small departments to be found, among others, at the universities of Bremen and Hanover.

Course content

The profiles of the individual institutes vary according to the course syllabus and examination regulations. Irrespective of that however most of the jazz lecturers set great store by imparting a broad spectrum of content and skills. For them today’s musicians have to be aware of past traditions as well as of the styles of the present and should furthermore be able to get their act together as an artist and to promote themselves. As there are only very few jobs going for jazz singers and musicians, for example in the Big Bands of the radio stations, the secret of success is in people being versatile.

Hardly any of Germany’s a hundred or so young musicians who graduate and start their working lives every year can make a living from jazz alone. Nevertheless most of them try to get their careers off the ground, often while still at university, by releasing CDs and giving concerts, in the hope of establishing themselves as artists. Many of the graduates earn their living performing in genres that are far removed from jazz, like pop and classical music. Quite a fair number give private lessons at a music school or do studio work like the music for advertising jingles. Others put their in-depth training to good use working as editors in specialist, subject-related publishing houses or in the field of culture management.

In the face of all these changing demands German universities are now moving more towards an internationalisation of this course of study. Whether it is Stuttgart or Munich, Leipzig or Würzburg, Saarbrücken or Weimar, by 2010 at the latest European standards will have taken over in the form of Bachelor’s degrees (8 terms of study) and Master’s degrees (12 terms of study). The compressed range of complementary studies can be enhanced with a sophisticated range of course subjects that above all, when the student goes on to do a Master’s, will open up further job prospects. At the University of Mainz, for example, the course emphasis is on jazz research, in Cologne and Essen Master’s courses are being set up in studio production and in Lübeck world music and pop music are on the agenda. Irrespective of all that there are also specialised basic courses, for example, at the University of Applied Sciences in Osnabrück they offer a Bachelor’s degree in teaching an instrument.

Music schools and colleges

These improved opportunities for the teaching of music in Germany have also led to a considerable upgrading of the instruction at music schools and colleges. In the meantime jazz-oriented schools and colleges are to be found almost everywhere. These institutes quite often have university graduates not only instructing schoolchildren and amateur musicians, but also helping prepare hopefuls for a university course in jazz or the qualification of “Staatlich geprüfte/r Leiter/in in der Popularmusik” (state-certified teacher of pop music) as they do at the Neue Jazzschool in Munich.

Jazz lernen

Wer heutzutage in Deutschland Jazz lernen will, hat viele Möglichkeiten. 18 Universitäten und Musikhochschulen sorgen derzeit bundesweit für ein breit gefächertes Studienangebot, ergänzt um die Ausbildungen an Fachhochschulen, Musikschulen und Musikfachschulen. Die Abschlüsse variieren je nach Institut und Berufswunsch. Man kann sich, ähnlich wie in anderen Industrienationen, zum Instrumentalisten, Musiklehrer oder auch zum Musikwissenschaftler mit Schwerpunkt Jazz ausbilden lassen. 

Die Wertschätzung des Studienfachs wie überhaupt der improvisierenden Musik ist hoch, auch wenn die Wahrscheinlichkeit, im Anschluss an die Ausbildung allein von der Kunst leben zu können, oft von Faktoren wie Zufall und Glück abhängt.

Die historische Situation

Bis Mitte der 1980er-Jahre konzentrierte sich die akademische Ausbildung bis auf wenige Ausnahmen etwa in Hamburg und Berlin vor allem auf die Hochschule für Musik in Köln. Gegen Ende des Jahrzehnts kamen weitere Institute hinzu, die auch andere Inhalte und Schwerpunkte anboten. War das Kölner Modell lange dem Erlernen des US-amerikanischen Mainstream-Jazz verpflichtet, lag das Ziel beispielsweise der Folkwang-Hochschule Essen von 1988 an in einer stilistisch breit gefächerten Ausbildung. Sie bot auch als erste ein Studium mit dem Abschluss Diplom-Jazzmusiker an, der nicht den Lehrer, sondern den professionellen Künstler als Berufsziel hatte.

Universitäten heute

Seit diesen Anfängen hat sich das Studienangebot vielerorts vereinheitlicht. An den meisten Universitäten kann man sich sowohl zum Pädagogen als auch zum Instrumentalisten oder Sänger ausbilden lassen. Mancherorts wird Jazz als eigenständiges Fach, an anderer Stelle nur in Kombination mit Rock und Pop vermittelt. Darüber hinaus haben die Institute je nach Ausstattung und Lehrkörper unterschiedliche Angebote zur Erlernen der instrumentalen Hauptfächer. Ungewöhnliche Instrumente wie Vibrafon kann man zum Beispiel in Mannheim studieren, in Dresden ist die Hammondorgel ein eigenständiges Hauptfach.

Die Studiengänge unterscheiden sich außerdem durch die Größe der einzelnen Institute sowie ihre Zuordnung zu einzelnen Fachbereichen. In Detmold etwa gehört Jazz/Rock/Pop zur Abteilung Schulmusik, in Freiburg oder Frankfurt gibt es einen Aufbaustudiengang Jazz und Popularmusik für Lehramtsstudenten für weiterbildende Schulen. Köln und das in Berlin aus der Universität der Künste und der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler entstandene Jazz-Institut sind nach der Zahl der dort eingeschriebenen Studierenden die größten Institute. Von mittlerer Größe sind zum Beispiel die Einrichtungen in Nürnberg, Essen oder Mannheim, kleine Abteilungen finden sich unter anderem an den Hochschulen in Bremen und Hannover.

Studieninhalte

Die Profile der einzelnen Institute unterscheiden sich anhand der Studienverlaufspläne und Prüfungsordnungen. Unabhängig davon legen die meisten Jazz-Dozenten Wert darauf, ein breites Spektrum an Inhalten und Kompetenzen zu vermitteln. Denn ein Musiker heute muss die Tradition ebenso wie die stilistische Gegenwart kennen und sich darüber hinaus als Künstler selbst organisieren und vermarkten können. Da es nur wenige feste Arbeitsplätze für Jazzmusiker wie beispielsweise in den Rundfunk-Big-Bands gibt, liegt das Geheimnis des Erfolges in der Vielseitigkeit des einzelnen.

Kaum einer der bundesweit rund 100 jungen Musiker, die jährlich in ein Berufsleben entlassen werden, kann davon leben, ausschließlich Jazz zu spielen. Trotzdem präsentieren sich die meisten oft schon während des Studiums mit Konzerten und CDs der Öffentlichkeit, in der Hoffnung, sich als Künstler zu etablieren. Viele Absolventen verdienen in jazz-fremden, populären oder klassischen Formationen ihr Geld. Privatunterricht oder Stunden an Musikschulen gehören ebenso zum Alltag wie Studiojobs, bei denen man beispielsweise Werbe-Jingles einspielt. Andere benutzen ihre fundierte Ausbildung, um in fachspezifischen Verlagen als Lektoren zu arbeiten oder im Feld des Kulturmanagements tätig zu werden.

Angesichts der sich wandelnden Anforderungen streben auch die deutschen Universitäten nach einer Internationalisierung der Ausbildung. Ob in Stuttgart oder München, Leipzig oder Würzburg, Saarbrücken oder Weimar, spätestens ab 2010 werden die europäischen Standards in Form von Bachelor- (8 Semester) und Master-Studiengänge (12 Semester) die Regel sein. Die komprimierten Grundlagenstudien können durch ein verfeinertes Kursangebot ergänzt werden, das vor allem in den weiterführenden Masterstudiengängen noch zusätzliche Berufsmöglichkeiten erschließen soll. An der Universität Mainz kann man den Schwerpunkt auf die Jazzforschung legen, in Köln und Essen werden Master-Studiengänge für Studio-Produktion eingerichtet und in Lübeck findet man auch Welt- und Popularmusik im Angebot. Unabhängig davon gibt es auch spezialisierte Grundausbildungen wie zum Beispiel den Bachelor für Instrumentalpädagogik an der Fachhochschule Osnabrück.

Musikfachschulen, Musikschulen

Das bundesweit verbesserte pädagogische Angebot führt auch zu einer erheblichen Aufwertung des Unterrichts an Musikschulen und Musikfachschulen. Fast überall gibt es inzwischen jazzorientierte Angebote, an denen häufig Absolventen der Universitäten unterrichten, die neben Schülern und Freizeitmusikern beispielsweise Anwärter für das Fach Jazz an einer Hochschule vorbereiten oder auch wie etwa an der Neuen Jazzschool München Diplomabschlüsse als „Staatlich geprüfte/r Leiter/in in der Popularmusik“ vergeben können.