Contemporary Music 2010 As thriving and diverse as ever

The interest in contemporary music theatre remained unbroken in the German-speaking world in 2010. And the multi-faceted New Music festival scene featured a number of high-calibre and widely-acclaimed concerts. 

Peter Eötvös, Die Tragödie des Teufels Bayerische Staatsoper, 2010 Peter Eötvös, Die Tragödie des Teufels Bayerische Staatsoper, 2010 | © Wilfried Hösl Much of what goes on in New Music is not confined to Germany, though it is often closely tied into the German music scene. That goes for Austria in particular. What happens in Salzburg or at the autumn music festival in the Austrian town of Schwaz is part and parcel of the German New Music scene, not only by virtue of geographic proximity, but also content-wise, especially seeing as many performing artists, like the Ensemble Modern from Frankfurt or the Klangforum Wien, are equally present in both countries.

Vienna and Salzburg premiere Reimann and Rihm

A good illustration of this close nexus was the world premiere of Aribert Reimann’s new opera Medea at the Vienna State Opera: the Frankfurt Opera subsequently took over this staging in a coproduction for the German premiere, which made a powerful impression here as well.

It is always surprising how persistently and vivaciously the opera genre asserts itself in the music world: that goes not only for the traditional repertoire, but also for the enduring interest of composers in every conceivable form of New Music theatre.

Last year’s operas were based not only on literary works, such as Franz Grillparzer’s tragedy Medea, but also on remarkable literary characters or intellectual life in general.
At the Salzburg Festival in 2010, composer Wolfgang Rihm drew on Friedrich Nietzsche’s complex late works for his new opera Dionysos, which presents a view of a highly intricate philosophical mind through the prism, as it were, of music theatre. Rihm’s musical idiom here, as in previous works, is characterized by its tense expressiveness, in which a cantabile linear element increasingly gains in prominence.

Apropos of Nietzsche: not wanting to be outdone by Rihm, Franz Hummel composed Zarathustra, a somewhat different, lighter take on the subject, which enjoyed a passable premiere last year at the Regensburg City Theatre.

Music theatre writ large in southern Germany

Two other major music theatre events were the stagings of Beat Furrer’s piece Begehren (Desire) at Stuttgart’s Éclat Festival and his Wüstenbuch (Desert Book) in a highly suggestive production in Basel by Christoph Marthaler. Furrer’s musical idiom is persistently overwhelming by dint of the sheer complexity of its innovative sounds. This is indeed a truly new conception of opera.
The Éclat Festival has been exploring such radically novel approaches for years now with remarkable regularity.

For those partial to new works of opera, there was a great deal to see and hear once again in 2010. Munich’s Music Theatre Biennale alone featured four compelling works: Philipp Maintz’s Maldoror, Martón Illés’ Die weisse Fürstin (The White Princess) and Lin Wang’s Die Quelle (The Spring), as well as Amazonas, a music theatre project with extensive overseas collaboration.
Also down in Munich, the Bavarian State Opera put on an impressive world premiere of Die Tragödie des Teufels (The Devil’s Tragedy) by Peter Eötvös.
Peter Eötvös is one of the most prolific opera composers, and his works are regularly billed at music theatres, even on smaller stages: e.g. Drei Schwestern (Three Sisters) in Koblenz and Love and Other Demons in Cologne, both of which were fine productions.

Contemporary repertoire holds its own

Those who went to Vienna for Reimann’s Medea also got an opportunity to attend the world premiere of Johannes Kalitzke’s Die Besessenen (Possessed) at the Theater an der Wien.
Kalitzke is one of the most competent New Music conductors around. His wealth of experience also serves him in good stead in his compositional endeavours as well, in which his music is characterized by a very precise sound continuum.

Other world premieres of operatic works included Detlev Glanert’s Das Holzschiff (The Wooden Ship) in Nuremburg, Marc-André Dalbavie’s Gesualdo in Zurich, Michael Obst’s Die andere Seite (The Other Side) and, in Gladbach, the indefatigable Hans Werner Henze’s Gisela, as widely acclaimed as his Phaedra, which is performed more often: a positive sign that the old rule “premiered and then carted off to the archives” doesn’t seem to apply anymore. As a matter of fact, an astounding number of new music theatre works are subsequently restaged by the theatres.
New orchestral and vocal works also seem to be spared that fateful process of instantaneous obsolescence. Berlin’s Ultraschall Festival, for example, features mostly second runs, which can only help gain a better understanding of a given composition. After all, Beethoven’s Great Fugue also gets more than just one hearing.

Diverse festival scene

The most important vehicles for New Music in 2010 were, as ever, the ambitious festivals: the Musiktage in Donaueschingen and the Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik (New Chamber Music Festival in Witten), which finally gave Friedrich Cerha the attention he deserves – and with some wonderful renditions to boot.

Berlin’s MaerzMusik (March Music) festival maintained its standing in the New Music hierarchy, and the above-mentioned Éclat in Stuttgart and the Darmstadt International Summer Courses for New Music under a new artistic director also went down well.
Weingarten, where for over 20 years the tireless Rita Jans has paid tribute to a different composer every year with a fine little festival in late autumn, held a fascinating encounter last year with Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina, who plainly felt right at home in the intimate atmosphere of this festival, particularly in working with young women piano students, whom she was able to give valuable “tips” on interpreting her works.

Performing artists

Any survey of New Music ought to include not only composers, new compositions and festivals, but also the performing artists.
Without the Frankfurt-based Ensemble Modern, the Klangforum Wien, the musikFabrik Köln and the ensemble recherche in Freiburg, without the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra with its important Musica Viva concerts, or the SWR Symphony Orchestra in Baden-Baden and Freiburg, the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Cologne Radio Symphony Orchestra with its top-notch concerts for the broadcaster’s Musik der Zeit (“Music of the Age”) series, all the efforts to come up with authentic renditions of New Music would be in vain.
An ordinary orchestra simply wouldn’t have the time to thoroughly rehearse difficult New Music with the requisite attention to detail.

Looking and listening back on 2010, New Music in Germany displayed an impressive breadth and quality last year once again.
And the fact that more and more people, young, old and middle-aged alike, are thronging to the concert halls for the “new sounds” – Donaueschingen was almost alarmingly overrun – gives grounds for hope that the state and public broadcasters as well will remain alive to their responsibility for the future of our music.

Neue Musik 2010 Lebendig und vielfältig wie eh und je

2010 ist ein ungebrochenes Interesse an zeitgenössischem Musiktheater im deutschsprachigen Raum zu verzeichnen. Aber auch die vielfältige Festivallandschaft in der Neuen Musik-Szene bot wieder hochkarätige und viel beachtete Konzerte.

Peter Eötvös, Die Tragödie des Teufels Bayerische Staatsoper, 2010 Peter Eötvös, Die Tragödie des Teufels Bayerische Staatsoper, 2010 | © Wilfried Hösl Viele Ereignisse in der Neuen Musik sind nicht auf Deutschland begrenzt, stehen jedoch in einem engen Zusammenhang mit dem deutschen Musikleben. Das gilt insbesondere für Österreich. Was in Salzburg geschieht oder bei den herbstlichen Musiktagen in Schwaz, gehört nicht nur wegen der geografischen Nähe, sondern auch inhaltlich mit zur deutschen Neue-Musik-Szene, zumal auch viele Interpreten, wie das Ensemble Modern aus Frankfurt oder das Klangforum Wien, in beiden Ländern gleichermaßen präsent sind.

Wien und Salzburg mit Uraufführungen von Reimann und Rihm

Ein besonders gutes Beispiel für diese Verbindung bot die Uraufführung von Aribert Reimanns neuer Oper Medea an der Wiener Staatsoper: die Inszenierung wurde für die deutsche Erstaufführung von der Oper Frankfurt in einer Koproduktion übernommen und hinterließ auch hier einen starken Eindruck.

Überhaupt überrascht es immer wieder, mit welcher Beharrlichkeit und Energie sich die Gattung Oper im Musikleben behauptet - womit nicht das traditionelle Repertoire gemeint ist, sondern das ungebrochene Interesse der Komponisten an allen nur vorstellbaren Formen eines neuen Musiktheaters.

Als Vorlagen dienen dabei nicht nur literarische Werke, wie im Fall Medea Grillparzers Stück, sondern interessante Personen aus der Literatur oder allgemein dem geistigen Leben. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2010 beeindruckte der Komponist Wolfgang Rihm mit seiner neuen Oper Dionysos auf komplizierte späte Texte Friedrich Nietzsches: eine musiktheatralische Reflexion über eine psychisch hochdifferenzierte Persönlichkeit. Rihms Musiksprache zeichnet sich unverändert durch eine gespannte Expressivität aus, in der ein kantables lineares Element zunehmend an Gewicht gewinnt.
A propos Nietzsche: Hinter Rihm wollte Franz Hummel nicht nachstehen und komponierte Zarathustra, eine etwas andere, leichtere Ausgabe zum Thema, die am Stadttheater Regensburg eine passable Premiere feiern konnte.

Engagierter Süden

Zwei weitere wichtige musiktheatralische Ereignisse waren die szenischen Aufführungen von Beat Furrers Musiktheater Begehren beim Stuttgarter „Éclat“-Festival sowie sein Wüstenbuch in der suggestiven Basler Inszenierung Christoph Marthalers. Furrers Musiksprache überwältigt immer wieder durch die Komplexität der Klangerfindungen. Hier wird „Oper“ wirklich neu gedacht.
Speziell das Éclat-Festival erkundet solche neuen Ansätze seit Jahren mit bemerkenswerter Konsequenz.

Wer sich in der Oper auf neue Werke konzentriert, hatte auch 2010 viel zu besichtigen. Allein bei der Münchner Musiktheater-Biennale lernte man mit Philipp Maintz‘ „Maldoror“, Martón Illés‘ Die weiße Fürstin und Lin Wangs Die Quelle sowie einem Amazonas-Projekt mit internationaler Beteiligung vier interessante Arbeiten für das Musiktheater kennen. In München erfuhr auch Die Tragödie des Teufels von Peter Eötvös an der Bayerischen Staatsoper eine eindringliche Uraufführung.
Peter Eötvös ist einer der Fleißigsten unter den Opern-Herstellern, und so finden sich seine Werke immer wieder auf den Spielplänen der Musikbühnen, sogar der kleineren Häuser: Drei Schwestern in Koblenz, Love and other Demons in Köln, beide in guten Inszenierungen.

Zeitgenössisches Repertoire behauptet seinen Platz auf den Spielplänen

Wer nach Wien zu Reimanns Medea fuhr, konnte gleich auch die Uraufführung von Johannes Kalitzkes Die Besessenen im Theater an der Wien besuchen. Kalitzke ist einer der kompetentesten Dirigenten neuer Musik überhaupt. Dieser Erfahrungsschatz kommt auch dem Komponisten Kalitzke zugute: seine Musik zeichnet eine präzise durchgehörte Klanglichkeit aus.

Weitere Opern-Uraufführungen: Das Holzschiff von Detlev Glanert in Nürnberg, Marc-André Dalbavies Gesualdo in Zürich, von Michael Obst Die andere Seite und, er wird nicht müde, Hans Werner Henzes Gisela in Gladbach, beifallsumrauscht wie seine Phaedra, die häufiger auf den Spielplänen erscheint: ein positives Zeichen auch dafür, dass die alte Regel: „Uraufgeführt und dann ab ins Archiv“ nicht mehr zu gelten scheint. Es werden erstaunlich viele neue Werke fürs Musiktheater von den Theatern nachgespielt.

Der ungute Verschleißprozess scheint auch bei den neuen Werken für Orchester-und Vokalmusik gestoppt. Berlins Ultraschall-Festival zum Beispiel bestritt das Programm vorwiegend mit Zweitaufführungen, was dem besseren Verständnis einer Komposition nur zum Vorteil gereichen kann. Schließlich hört man auch Beethovens Große Fuge nicht nur einmal.

Vielfältige Festivallandschaft

Die wichtigsten Stationen der Neuen Musik im Jahr 2010 waren, wie immer, die ambitionierten Festivals: Donaueschingen mit den Musiktagen, Wittens Tage für neue Kammermusik, die endlich einmal Friedrich Cerha die gebotene Aufmerksamkeit schenkten, und das mit etlichen wunderbaren Aufführungen.

Berlins Maerz-Musik behauptete seinen Rang in der Neue-Musik-Hierarchie, Stuttgarts Éclat-Festival wurde schon erwähnt, auch die Internationalen Ferienkurse für Neue Musik in Darmstadt unter neuer künstlerischer Leitung fielen positiv auf.
In Weingarten, wo die unermüdliche Rita Jans seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren im Spätherbst jeweils einem Komponisten mit einem kleinen, feinen Festival die Reverenz erweist, gab es im letzten Jahr eine faszinierende Begegnung mit der russischen Komponistin Sofia Gubaidulina, die sich in der intimen Atmosphäre dieser Musiktage sichtlich wohl fühlte, besonders in der Begegnung mit jungen Klavierschülerinnen, denen sie wertvolle „Tipps“ für die Interpretation ihrer Werke geben konnte.

Wichtige Protagonisten der Neuen Musik

Wer über Neue Musik spricht, darf nicht nur über Komponisten, neue Stücke, Festivals referieren, sondern muss auch die Interpreten einbeziehen.

Ohne das Frankfurter Ensemble Modern, das Klangforum Wien, die musikFabrik Köln, das ensemble recherche in Freiburg, ohne das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks mit den wichtigen „Musica viva“-Konzerten, ohne das SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg, das Stuttgarter Radio-Sinfonieorchester oder das Kölner Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester, dessen Konzerte für die „Musik der Zeit“-Reihe des Senders auf hohem Niveau agieren, wären alle Bemühungen um authentische Darstellungen neuer Musik vergeblich.
Ein Normal-Orchester hätte gar nicht die Probenzeit, um schwierige neue Musik mit der erforderlichen Präzision einzustudieren.

Rückschauend betrachtet und gehört, präsentierte sich die Neue Musik in Deutschland auch im Jahr 2010 in eindrucksvoller Breite und Qualität.
Und dass immer mehr Publikum, junges, älteres, in der Mitte des Lebens stehendes, in die Konzerte mit den „neuen Klängen“ förmlich strömt – Donaueschingen ist fast schon beängstigend überlaufen – gibt Hoffnung, dass auch die öffentliche Hand und die öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten sich ihrer Verantwortung für die Zukunft unserer Musik weiterhin bewusst bleiben.