Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Worldwide: Goethe Fellowship documenta

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe illustration. Coat green, background violet © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Who: International scholars, artists, and curators

Deadline for submissions: 15 May 2022

Goethe-Institut, documenta archiv |documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH, and Kunsthochschule Kassel art school will be awarding two fellowships to international scholars, artists, and curators taking place from August/September 2022 to February/March 2023. This call for applications is particularly extended to researchers from contexts which have received scarce representation in the prevalent artistic and academic scene. The awardees will be invited to work in Kassel for six months on a topic which opens up new perspectives on documenta and its transnational links while drawing on the abundant holdings available at documenta archiv.

Fellows will benefit from a working environment featuring a wealth of material and object availability, interaction with scholars and artists on site, active involvement in the research and event programming of the awarding institutions, as well as organizational and professional support. Presentation of research results in Kassel as well as in publication/publishing forums with international visibility is desired.

This Goethe-Institut Fellowship allows for transdisciplinary research into a broad range of issues in aesthetics, art, and contemporary history along the documenta exhibitions. It is also possible to examine themes involving individual actors or groups, curatorial and artistic practices, and/or the mechanisms of art production, presentation, and reception with a view to documenta. This program aims to provide a venue to critically reflect on Western-European- / North-American-influenced discourses as well as to develop alternative perspectives.

The two fellowships will be carried out from 1 August / 1 September 2022 to 28 February / 31 March 2023. As possible, the research stay should begin in August 2022. Residence in Kassel is required during the fellowship. The fellowships will provide funding in the amount of 2,000 euros per month. Applicants should ideally have experience in archival research and knowledge of German at the C1 level. The application deadline is 15 May 2022.

More information on this Goethe-Institut Fellowship and the application process

Contact

If you have any questions, please contact:

Newsletter "Residency Programmes"

Subscribe here
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Weltweit: Goethe Fellowship documenta

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe Illustration. Mantel grün, Hintergrund violett © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Wer: Internationale Wissenschaftler:innen, Künstler:innen und Kurator:innen

Bewerbungsschluss: 15. Mai 2022

Das Goethe-Institut, das documenta archiv |documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH und die Kunsthochschule Kassel vergeben für den Zeitraum ab August/September 2022 bis Februar/März 2023 zwei Fellowships an internationale Wissenschaftler:innen, Künstler:innen und Kurator:innen. Zur Bewerbung aufgefordert sind insbesondere auch Forschende aus bisher im hiesigen Kunst-und Wissenschaftsbetrieb wenig vertretenen Kontexten. Die Stipendiat:innen sind für die Dauer von sechs Monaten eingeladen, in Kassel unter Einbeziehung der reichen Bestände des documenta archivs ein Thema zu bearbeiten, das neue Perspektiven auf die documenta und ihre transnationalen Zusammenhänge eröffnet.

Die Fellows profitieren von einem intensiven material- und objektbezogenen Arbeitsumfeld, dem Austausch mit Wissenschaftler:innen und Künstler:innen vor Ort, der aktiven Einbindung in das Forschungs- und Veranstaltungsprogramm der ausschreibenden Institutionen, sowie von organisatorischer und fachlicher Unterstützung. Eine Präsentation der Forschungsergebnisse in Kassel und in international sichtbaren Publikations-/Veröffentlichungsforen ist erwünscht.

Das Goethe-Institut Fellowship erlaubt es, vielfältige kunstwissenschaftliche, künstlerische und zeitgeschichtliche Fragestellungen entlang der documenta Ausstellungen auch transdisziplinär zu erforschen. Denkbar sind Themen, die einzelne Akteur:innen oder Gruppen, kuratorische und künstlerische Praktiken bzw. die Mechanismen der Kunstproduktion, -präsentation und -rezeption mit Blick auf die documenta behandeln. Das Programm will Raum dafür geben, westeuropäisch / nordamerikanisch geprägte Diskurse kritisch zu reflektieren und alternative Sichtweisen zu entwickeln.

Laufzeit der beiden Stipendien ist vom 1. August/1. September 2022 bis 28. Februar/31. März 2023, der Forschungsaufenthalt soll nach Möglichkeit im August 2022 beginnen. Es besteht Residenzpflicht in Kassel. Die Dotierung der Stipendien beträgt 2.000 Euro monatlich. Bewerber:innen sollen idealerweise Erfahrung in der Archivrecherche und Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache im Rahmen von Stufe C1 mitbringen. Der Bewerbungsschluss ist der 15. Mai 2022.

Weitere Informationen zum Goethe-Institut Fellowship und zum Bewerbungsverfahren

Kontakt

Bei Fragen kontaktieren Sie bitte:
  • Zum Stipendium:
    Eva Schmitt
    Referentin im Bereich Bildende Kunst am Goethe-Institut
    eva.schmitt@goethe.de
  • Zum documenta archiv:
    Birgitta Coers
    Direktorin documenta archiv
    Martin Groh
    Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter documenta archiv
    archivdirektion@documenta.de
  • Zur Kunsthochschule Kassel:
    Nanne Buurman
    Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Kunsthochschule Kassel
    nanne.buurman@uni-kassel.de

Newsletter der Residenzprogramme

Hier Abonnieren
Top