Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Working Residency

Sámi headwear Photo (detail): The Finnish Heritage Agency

Who: experts and artists in the field of cultural heritage, material culture, provenance and colonial repercussions 

Section: Interdisciplinary

Duration: 2 weeks

Closing date for applications: 1 August 2021

About the Residency

Goethe-Institut Finnland is pleased to offer two work residencies, one in Finland, one in Germany. The residencies will take place during late autumn 2021 (depending on the current COVID-19 situation). The two chosen residents will have an exchange in both countries: in one country as a resident, in the other as a host.

Goethe-Institut Finnland, located in Helsinki, collaborates actively with organisations and individuals connected to Sámi collections in the Nordic countries and in Germany, aiming to broaden the discussion on restitution and cultural heritage to the general public. Goethe-Institut Finnland cooperates with both local and international partners, building bridges and networks around these debates with a transnational, transparent and enabling focus.

Aim

The work residencies aim to support the development of dialogue on provenance research between museums in Sápmi and Germany. The chosen residents will tackle many issues together, including the following:

  • how to expand discourses on Sámi cultural heritage
  • who to involve
  • how to introduce the knowledge and significance of the objects to a wider audience (including different generations and specific groups of interest)
  • where to foster international collaboration

Museum Europäischer Kulturen – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin (MEK) in Berlin has the largest Sámi collection outside of northern Europe.

Sámi Museum Siida has an extensive collection of Sámi objects, which will be joined by the repatriated collection of The National Museum of Finland in the autumn 2021. The extended and renovated Siida and the new permanent exhibition will be opened in April 2022.

ContaCt

Goethe-Institut Finnland
kultur-helsinki@goethe.de

Newsletter "Residency Programmes"

Subscribe here
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Tandem-Residenz

Sámi Kopfbedeckung Foto (Detail): The Finnish Heritage Agency

Wer: Expert*innen und Künstler*innen rund um Kulturerbe, materielle Kultur, Provenienz und kolonialem Auswirkungen 

Sparte: Interdisziplinär

Dauer: 2 Wochen

Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist: 1. August 2021

Über die Residenz

Das Goethe-Institut Finnland bietet zwei Residenzen an, eine in Finnland, eine in Deutschland. Die Residenzen finden im Spätherbst 2021 statt (abhängig von der aktuellen COVID-19-Situation). Die beiden ausgewählten Resident*innen nehmen in beiden Ländern an dem Austausch teil: in einem Land als Resident*in, im anderen Land als Gastgeber*in.

Das Goethe-Institut Finnland in Helsinki arbeitet aktiv mit Organisation und Einzelpersonen zusammen, die sich mit Sámi-Sammlungen in Skandinavien und in Deutschland beschäftigen. Das Ziel der Zusammenarbeit ist es, den Diskurs über Kulturerbe und Restitution auch öffentlich auszuweiten. Das Goethe-Institut Finnland kooperiert sowohl mit lokalen als auch internationalen Partnern und schlägt mit einer transnationalen, transparenten und ermöglichenden Herangehensweise Brücken und Netzwerke rund um diese Debatten.

Ziel

Das Ziel der Arbeits-Residenzen ist es, die Entwicklung des Dialogs zwischen Museen in Sápmi und Deutschland zu bestärken. Die ausgewählten Resident*innen gehen gemeinsam unter anderem die folgenden Themen an:

  • wie können Diskurse zum Kulturerbe der Sámi erweitert und im besten Sinne sichtbar gemacht werden werden
  • wie kann das Wissen und die Bedeutung der Objekte an ein breites Publikum herangeführt werden (und auch verschiedene Generationen und spezifischer Interessensgruppen berücksichtigen)
  • wo und wie kann internationale Zusammenarbeit rund um Fragen der Restitution und Indigenem gelebtem Erbe gefördert werden

Das Museum Europäischer Kulturen – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin (MEK) in Berlin hat die größte Sámi Sammlung außerhalb Nordeuropas.

Das Sámi-Museum Siida hat eine umfangreiche Sammlung an Sámi-Objekten, die im Herbst 2021 mit der repatriierten Sammlung des Finnischen Nationalmuseums erweitert wird. Das erweiterte und renovierte Siida und die neue Dauerausstellung werden im April 2022 eröffnet.

Kontakt

Goethe-Institut Finnland
kultur-helsinki@goethe.de

Newsletter der Residenzprogramme

Hier Abonnieren
Top