Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

New York: MINI/Goethe-Institut Curatorial Residencies Ludlow 38

Who: Young Curators from Germany

Section: Visual Arts/ Curation

Duration: 12 months

MINI/Goethe-Institut Curatorial Residencies Ludlow 38 is the exhibition space for contemporary art of the Goethe-Institut New York in cooperation with MINI. It is a curatorial experiment in the tradition of the German “Kunstvereine” and is located between Manhattan’s Lower East Side and Chinatown.

Since 2008, following successful co-operations with the Kunstverein München and the Künstlerhaus Stuttgart, “Ludlow 38” evolved into a venue whose impact is strongly meshed with the characteristic perspective and energy of its respective curator.

As a non-profit, public-service exhibition venue, “Ludlow 38” is one of the few art spaces in New York tasked with introducing critical thinking and new artists into the local art scene. In the course of a residential year, the curator realises six exhibitions representing current European and global positions in the aesthetic and political context of New York and the USA.

Top

New York: MINI/Goethe-Institut Curatorial Residencies Ludlow 38

Wer: Nachwuchskuratoren/-innen aus Deutschland

Sparte: Bildende Kunst/ Kuration

Dauer: 12 Monate

MINI/Goethe-Institut Curatorial Residencies Ludlow 38 ist der Ausstellungsraum für zeitgenössische Kunst des Goethe-Instituts New York in Zusammenarbeit mit MINI. Es ist ein kuratorisches Experiment, das in der Tradition des deutschen Kunstvereins steht und zwischen Manhattans Lower East Side und Chinatown angesiedelt ist.

Seit 2008, nach erfolgreichen Kooperationen mit dem Kunstverein München, der European Kunsthalle Köln und dem Künstlerhaus Stuttgart, hat sich „Ludlow 38“ zu einem Ort entwickelt, dessen Wirkungskraft stark mit dem charakteristischen Blickwinkel und der Energie des jeweiligen Kurators verbunden ist.

Als gemeinnütziger Ausstellungsort ist „Ludlow 38“ einer von wenigen Kunsträumen in New York mit dem Auftrag, kritisches Denken und neue Künstler in die lokale Kunstszene einzubringen. Im Verlauf des Residenzjahres realisiert der Kurator sechs Ausstellungen, die aktuelle europäische und globale Standpunkte im ästhetischen und politischen Kontext von New York und den USA repräsentieren.