Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

New York: Librarian in Residence

Who: Librarians

Section: Information & Library

Duration: 4 weeks

The Goethe-Institut New York and BII Bibliothek & Information International, the standing committee of the Federal Union of German Library and Information Associations (BID), annually issue a call for applications to the Librarian in Residence programme. It is Goethe-Institut’s sole residency programme for librarians and offers experts from Germany an opportunity to enter into a deeper dialogue with American colleagues through a four-week stay in the USA.

The annual call for applications takes up changing themes. Previous focal points of the residency have included multi-cultural library work, lobbying for libraries and school libraries, change management and lobbying for e-books in public libraries.

In the course of their stay, the German participants describe in a blog their impressions and experiences of the library landscape in the United States, and they are also asked to report in various forums following their return to Germany.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

New York: Librarian in Residence

Wer: Bibliothekare/-innen

Sparte: Information & Bibliothek

Dauer: 4 Wochen

Das Librarian in Residence-Programm wird jährlich vom Goethe-Institut New York und BII Bibliothek & Information International, der für den internationalen Fachaustausch zuständigen Kommission von Bibliothek & Information Deutschland (BID), ausgeschrieben. Es ist das einzige Residenzprogramm des Goethe-Instituts für Bibliothekare und bietet Fachleuten aus Deutschland durch einen vierwöchigen Aufenthalt in den USA die Chance, in einen vertieften Dialog mit amerikanischen Kollegen treten zu können.

Die Ausschreibung erfolgt zu einem jährlich wechselnden Thema, bisher waren u. a. multikulturelle Bibliotheksarbeit, Lobbyarbeit für Bibliotheken und Schulbibliotheken, Change Management sowie Lobbying für eBooks in Öffentlichen Bibliotheken Schwerpunkte der Aufenthalte.

Die deutschen Teilnehmer schildern während ihres Aufenthaltes in einem Blog ihre Eindrücke und Erfahrungen aus der Bibliotheklandschaft der Vereinigten Staaten, zusätzlich sind sie nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Deutschland gefragt, in verschieden Foren zu berichten.

Top