Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Radio Art Residency

Radio Art Residency © Radio Art Residency

Who: artists from non-German speaking countries

Section: Media

Duration: three month

Deadline for submissions: 31 January 2021

The Radio Art Residency is an international fellowship programme for artistic practice on the radio. The residency is a joint project by the Goethe-Institut and Experimental Radio at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar in cooperation with the University of Music FRANZ LISZT Weimar, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Thuringia’s Landesmedienanstalt, EIGENHEIM Weimar/Berlin and ACC Galerie Weimar. 

The programme offers a three-month residency twice a year in Weimar for artists from non-German speaking countries.

The aim of the fellowship is to promote independent and open-ended artistic work and to support the realisation of new artworks. The programme encourages artists from various disciplines to deal with the narrative, technical and artistic potentials of the radio medium, and specifically promotes exploration of radio as an instrument of communication and possibly even the questioning of what can be constituted as language by the radio. From the use of the radio as an exhibition space for artworks to real-time medium, the residency offers a wide range of creative options for artistic practice. 

During their three-month stay, fellows are invited to explore the boundaries of sound and radio art and to transcend them in interdisciplinary constellations, to be inspired by intercultural dialogue with artists, scholars and students at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar and the University of Music Franz Liszt as well as by the culture and classics city of Weimar. In addition, they have the opportunity to have a closer look at and to network with contemporary art in Germany and in particular international sound and radio art. 

The fellowship is curatorially supervised and technically supported by Experimental Radio at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar.

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany with a global reach. It promotes knowledge of the German language abroad and fosters international cultural cooperation. In the sectors of film, television and radio, it promotes networking, initiating the exchange of content and artistic dialogue between German and international experts. The Radio Art Residency is unique within the network of the Goethe-Institut. It offers fellows the opportunity to benefit from the multi-faceted cultural activities of the Goethe-Institut.
 
Experimental Radio at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar is unique in Europe as a training and production facility for the artistic medium of radio. It sees itself as a production site for innovative, radiophonic formats and creative interdisciplinary and international models that take the artistic and technical changes of our time into account.
 
Its training encompasses all areas of the radio medium, from journalism and radio art to radio installation, live radio plays and other forms of radio action. Special attention is paid to interactive projects made possible by internet radio, streaming, podcasts and mobile devices. Its own broadcasting and production studio and the direct connection of Experimental Radio to the weekly broadcasting at bauhaus.fm enables new, unconventional stimuli to be brought to the public and even made available worldwide via the website and streaming. The international network, which has been expanded through the artistic research project Radiophonic Spaces, offers exchange and diverse opportunities for cooperation with the radio art scene as well as with public and independent radio stations at home and abroad.
 
The Radio Art Residency Weimar is a project by Experimental Radio at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Faculty of Art and Design, in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut. The programme is supported by the International Cooperation Fund of the International Relations Department at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, the Studio for Electro-Acoustic Music Weimar, ACC Galerie Weimar and EIGENHEIM Weimar/Berlin.

Newsletter "Residency Programmes"

Subscribe here

More Information

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Radio Art Residency

Radio Art Residency © Radio Art Residency

Wer: Künstler*innen aus nicht-deutschsprachigen Ländern, die im Feld der akustischen und zeitbasierten Kunst arbeiten

Sparte: Medien

Dauer: drei Monate

Bewerbungsschluss: 31. Januar 2021

Die Radio Art Residency ist ein internationales Stipendienprogramm für künstlerische Praxis im Radio. Die Residenz ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des Goethe-Instituts und des Experimentellen Radios an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar in Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, der Thüringen Landesmedienanstalt, EIGENHEIM Weimar/Berlin und der ACC Galerie Weimar. 
 
Das Programm bietet zweimal im Jahr einen dreimonatigen Aufenthalt in Weimar für Künstler*innen aus nicht-deutschsprachigen Ländern.
 
Ziel des Stipendiums ist es, die unabhängige und ergebnisoffene künstlerische Arbeit zu fördern und die Realisierung neuer künstlerischer Werke zu unterstützen. Das Programm ermutigt Künstler*innen verschiedener Disziplinen sich mit den narrativen, technischen und künstlerischen Möglichkeiten des Mediums Radio auseinanderzusetzen, und fördert gezielt die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Radio als Instrument der Kommunikation und möglicherweise sogar die Infragestellung dessen, was sich durch das Radio als Sprache konstituieren lässt. Von der Nutzung des Radios als Ausstellungsraum für künstlerische Arbeiten bis hin zum Medium der Echtzeit bietet die Residenz vielfältige Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten der künstlerischen Praxis. 

Die Stipendiaten sind eingeladen, während ihres dreimonatigen Aufenthalts die Grenzen der Klang- und Radiokunst auszuloten und in interdisziplinären Konstellationen zu überschreiten, sich vom interkulturellen Dialog mit Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Studierenden der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar und der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt, sowie durch die Kultur- und Klassikstadt Weimar inspirieren zu lassen. Darüber hinaus haben sie die Möglichkeit, einen näheren Einblick in die zeitgenössische Kunst in Deutschland und insbesondere in die internationale Klang- und Radiokunst zu erhalten und sich mit ihr zu vernetzen.

Das Stipendium wird kuratorisch betreut und technisch unterstützt durch das Experimentelle Radio der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar.

Das Goethe-Institut ist das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Es fördert die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und pflegt die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. In den Bereichen Film, Fernsehen und Hörfunk fördert es die Vernetzung und initiiert den inhaltlichen und künstlerischen Austausch zwischen deutschen und internationalen Expert*innen. Die Radio Art Residency ist einmalig in ihrer Art im Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts. Sie bietet den Stipendiat*innen die Möglichkeit, von den vielfältigen kulturellen Aktivitäten des Goethe-Instituts zu profitieren.
 
Das Experimentelle Radio an der Bauhaus Universität Weimar ist als Ausbildung und Produktionsstätte für das künstlerische Medium Radio einzigartig in Europa. Es versteht sich als Produktionsort für innovative, radiophone Formate und kreative interdisziplinäre und internationale Modelle, die den künstlerischen und technischen Veränderungen unserer Zeit Rechnung tragen.
 
Die Lehre umfasst alle Bereiche des Mediums Radio, vom Journalismus über Radiokunst bis hin zur Radioinstallation, dem Live-Hörspiel und anderen Formen der Radio-Aktion. Dabei werden interaktive Projekte, die durch Internetradio, Streaming, Podcast und mobile Endgeräte möglich geworden sind, besondere Beachtung geschenkt. Ein eigenes Sende- und Produktionsstudio und die direkte Anbindung des Experimentellen Radios an den wöchentlichen Sendebetrieb von bauhaus.fm ermöglicht neue, unkonventionelle Impulse in die Öffentlichkeit zu tragen und sie über Webauftritt und Streaming sogar weltweit zugänglich zu machen. Das durch das künstlerische Forschungsprojekt Radiophonic Spaces ausgebaute internationale Netzwerk bietet Austausch und vielseitige Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zur Radiokunstszene sowie zu öffentlich-rechtlichen und freien Radios im In- und Ausland.
 
 
Die Radio Art Residency Weimar ist ein Projekt des Experimentellen Radios an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Fakultät Kunst und Gestaltung, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut. Das Programm wird unterstützt durch den Fonds Internationale Kooperationen des Dezernates Internationale Beziehungen der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, das Studio für Elektroakustische Musik Weimar, die ACC Galerie Weimar und EIGENHEIM Weimar/Berlin.

Newsletter der Residenzprogramme

Hier Abonnieren
Top