Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Yael Bartana
The visual activist

The video trilogy “And Europe will be stunned” was Bartana’s breakthrough into the international art scene.
The video trilogy “And Europe will be stunned” was Bartana’s breakthrough into the international art scene. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/KEYSTONE

Video artist Yael Bartana blurs the boundaries between fact and fiction: her pieces are powerful pictorial documentaries with a poetic appeal; thought experiments with an activist flair.

By Romy König

In her films, photographs and theatre projects, Yael Bartana explores what she calls the “visual language of identities” and “the politics of memory.” Featured in international museums and at film festivals, her pieces call for a change of perspective and encourage what-if thought experiments.

Exploring identities

Yael Bartana was born in 1970 in a North Israeli workers’ settlement, and for many years her pieces have primarily explored themes of Jewish identity. In her 2013 video Inferno, she stages the building of the Universal Church of the Kingdom of God’s replica of Temple of Solomon in São Paolo and imagines its subsequent destruction. The film, she says, draws parallels to the original Jewish temple’s destruction in Jerusalem in 586 B.C. and the starting point of the Jewish diaspora. Bartana describes this methodical blending of fiction and facts, of prediction and past, as “historical pre-enactment” - an artistic reversal of the conventional reenactment of historical events.
 
In the 2011 video trilogy And Europe Will Be Stunned, Bartana thematises the history of Polish-Jewish relations and explores its influence on contemporary Polish identity. The videos revolve around the central question of what would happen if the descendants of the Jews who fled abroad to escape the Holocaust returned to Europe. The piece was her breakthrough into the international art scene.
What is fact, what is fiction? Israeli video artist Yael Bartana enjoys using her work to provoke thought experiments.| What is fact, what is fiction? Israeli video artist Yael Bartana enjoys using her work to provoke thought experiments.| | Photo: © picture alliance/ZUMA Press

Provocation through manipulation

The Israeli daily “Haaretz” describes Bartana as a provocative artist with a “talent for manipulating photographs, words and symbols”, citing her Stalag self-portrait series exhibited in Berlin and New York as an example. In the photos, Bartana stages herself as Leni Riefenstahl, decked out in a SS uniform with the gaze and a film camera directed at the viewer. Here Bartana, who lives in Berlin, deliberately plays with taboo Nazi symbolism, she revealed to “Haaretz”, saying it was like “returning to the scene of the crime and trying to find an ending”.

Women at the round table of world power

Her most recent piece, What if Women Ruled the World?, explores women’s identities in a play of the same name. Bartana brings diverse actresses together with female activists and politicians on stage. The artist told art magazine Monopol the production at the Berlin Volksbühne was less inspired by the me-too debate than by the desire to create a thought experiment about whether conflicts would be more peaceful if only women were in charge. “I have always had a strong urge to disobey the system, to change it.” Of herself she says, “I’m an activist who creates pictures.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Yael Bartana
Die Bildaktivistin

Die Videotrilogie „And Europe will be stunned“ sorgte für Bartanas Durchbruch in der internationalen Kunstszene.
Die Videotrilogie „And Europe will be stunned“ sorgte für Bartanas Durchbruch in der internationalen Kunstszene. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture alliance/KEYSTONE

Die Videokünstlerin Yael Bartana sprengt die Grenzen zwischen Fiktion und Fakten: Ihre Arbeiten sind bildstarke Dokumentationen mit poetischem Anklang und Gedankenexperimente mit aktivistischem Anspruch.

Von Romy König

In ihren Filmen, Fotografien und Theaterperformances erforscht Yael Bartana die „Bildsprache von Identitäten“ und „die Politik der Erinnerung“, wie sie selbst es nennt. Ihre Arbeiten, die in internationalen Museen und auf Filmfestspielen gezeigt werden, fordern zu Perspektivwechseln und zu Was-wäre-wenn-Gedankenspielen auf. 

Identitäten im Blick

Geboren 1970 in einer nordisraelischen Arbeitersiedlung, waren es über Jahre vor allem Themen der jüdischen Identität, die Bartana in ihren Arbeiten behandelte. In ihrem Video Inferno (2013) inszenierte sie den Nachbau des Salomonischen Tempels in São Paolo durch eine evangelikale Freikirche, der tatsächlich stattgefunden hat, und seine fiktive spätere Zerstörung. Verweisen wollte sie damit auf die Zerstörung des ersten jüdischen Tempels in Jerusalem 586 v. Chr. und den Ausgangspunkt der jüdischen Diaspora, sagt sie. Dieses methodische Vermengen von Fiktion und Fakten, von Voraussage und Vergangenheit, bezeichnet Bartana als „historical Pre-Enactment“ – eine künstlerische Umkehrung der gewohnten Nachstellungen historischer Ereignisse. 
 
In der Videotrilogie And Europe Will Be Stunned von 2011 thematisierte sie die Geschichte der polnisch-jüdischen Beziehungen und fragte nach deren Einfluss auf die gegenwärtige polnische Identität. Die Videos drehen sich um die Frage: Was wäre, wenn die Nachkommen der Juden, die vor dem Holocaust ins Ausland geflohen sind, nach Europa zurückkehrten? Die Arbeit sorgte für ihren Durchbruch in der internationalen Kunstszene. 
Was ist Fakt, was ist Fiktion? Die israelische Videokünstlerin Yael Bartana beschäftigt sich in ihren Werken gerne mit Gedankenexperimenten. Was ist Fakt, was ist Fiktion? Die israelische Videokünstlerin Yael Bartana beschäftigt sich in ihren Werken gerne mit Gedankenexperimenten. | Foto: © picture alliance/ZUMA Press

Provokation durch Manipulation

Die israelische Tageszeitung „Haaretz“ bezeichnet Bartana als provokative Künstlerin mit dem „Talent zur Manipulation von Fotografien, Worten und Symbolen“. Ein Beispiel dafür seien die fotografischen Selbstporträts Stalag, gezeigt in Ausstellungen in Berlin und New York, in denen sich Bartana als Leni Riefenstahl inszeniert: in SS-Uniform, die Filmkamera und den Blick auf den Betrachter gerichtet. Die in Berlin lebende Bartana arbeitet hier sehr bewusst mit dem Tabu von Nazi-Symbolen, verriet sie der „Haaretz“: Es sei wie „die Rückkehr zum Tatort, der Versuch, einen Abschluss zu finden“. 

Frauen am runden Tisch der Weltmacht 

Ihr jüngstes Werk beschäftigt sich mit der Identität von Frauen: What if Women ruled the world? fragt ihr Theaterstück mit gleichnamigem Titel. Schauspielerinnen treten darin – etwa in einer Inszenierung an der Berliner Volksbühne – ebenso auf wie Aktivistinnen und Politikerinnen. Nicht so sehr die Metoo-Debatte habe Bartana zu der Performance inspiriert, sondern vielmehr das Gedankenexperiment, ob Konflikte friedvoller ausgetragen würden, wenn ausschließlich Frauen an der Macht wären, sagte sie gegenüber dem Kunstmagazin Monopol anlässlich der Berliner Aufführung: „Es war immer mein starker Wille, dem System nicht zu gehorchen oder es zu verändern.“ Sie bekennt: „Ich bin eine Aktivistin, die Bilder herstellt.“

Top