Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Sasha Waltz
The opera choreographer

Sasha Waltz combines dance, music and singing in her choreographic opera genre. One of the earliest examples was the staging of Herny Purcell's “Dido & Aeneas”.
Sasha Waltz combines dance, music and singing in her choreographic opera genre. One of the earliest examples was the staging of Herny Purcell's “Dido & Aeneas”. | Photo (detail): © Sebastian Bolesch / Sasha Waltz & Guests

Choreographer Sasha Waltz has added a chapter to the history of dance with choreographic opera. It combines different genres to create dialogue between the disciplines and broaden the audience’s point of reference.

By Romy König

“Dissolving the static“: choreographic opera 

In 1993, director Jochen Sandig and Sasha Waltz founded the Sasha Waltz & Guests company that rehearses and often performs in Berlin’s “Radialsystem V” cultural centre. To date a wide range of different artists from around 30 countries have contributed as “guests”, and the company was named “European Cultural Ambassador” by the EU in 2013. Waltz trained in New York and Amsterdam, and the central focus of her work is on choreographic operas. The first of these, Dido and Aeneas (2005), combined music, including pieces from classical opera, with song and dance into a new genre. Waltz attempts to place different art forms on equal footing, side by side, and dissolve the “static” elements otherwise inherent in opera. In the projects that followed, singers, musicians, dancers and choirs came together to form total works of art in Medea (2007), Roméo et Juliette (2007) and most recently in Tannhäuser (2014) and Orfeo (2014).

  • “Dialogue 09 – Neues Museum” in Berlin‘s Neues Museum. Photo (detail): © Bernd Uhlig / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    “Dialogue 09 – Neues Museum” in Berlin‘s Neues Museum.
  • Performance of Herny Purcell’s “Dido & Aeneas” Photo (detail): © Sebastian Bolesch / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    Performance of Herny Purcell’s “Dido & Aeneas”
  • Roméo et Juliette by Sasha Waltz with music by Hector Berlioz Photo (detail): © Bernd Uhlig / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    Roméo et Juliette by Sasha Waltz with music by Hector Berlioz
  • “Dialogue 09 – MAXXI” by Sasha Waltz Photo: © Bernd Uhlig / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    “Dialogue 09 – MAXXI” by Sasha Waltz
  • Performance of “Orfeo” set to music by Claudio Monteverdi Photo (detail): © Sebastian Bolesch_Georg Nigl / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    Performance of “Orfeo” set to music by Claudio Monteverdi

More than preliminary studies: the “Dialogues” series

As Waltz researches a new piece, smaller projects often emerge that she stages partly as improvisations and partly as preliminary studies. The Dialogues series, short, intense encounters between musicians, visual artists, dancers and choreographers that focus on “the free spirit of improvisation and the desire to experiment”, developed this way. In her series, Waltz brings “artists together who would otherwise not necessarily interact.” This spawns dialogue between the artists while expanding the audience’s frame of reference. The Dialogues '99/II were performed at the Jewish Museum Berlin and Dialogues 06 - Radiale Systeme, a preliminary study for the opera production Medea, premiered at Radialsystem V. The Dialogues 09 - MAXXI dance project celebrated the 2009 opening of the new MAXXI National Museum of 21stCentury Arts in Rome in a spectacular building designed by star architect Zaha Hadid, who died in 2016. In 2009 as well, the company presented Dialogue 09 - Neues Museum at Berlin’s Neues Museum.

Ongoing dialogue

In the years that followed, Waltz increasingly focused on choreography for sound collages composed specifically for her, creating an aesthetic link to her earlier work. In pieces like Kreatur (Creature, 2017), Exodos (2018) and rauschen (white noise, 2019) she dealt more intensely with current, socio-political issues. In addition to leading her company, Waltz was a member of the Schaubühne at Lehniner Platz management board from 2000 to 2004. In the 2019/2020, season she will take over the artistic direction of the Berlin State Ballet with co-director Johannes Öhmann. Her first piece will be Sym-phonie MMXX commissioned by Austrian composer Georg Friedrich Haas. Here, too, Waltz remains true to her ideals of connection and encounter, and it has been reported that the piece will “take shape in an intense, ongoing dialogue”. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Sasha Waltz
Die Opernchoreografin

Mit ihrem Genre der choreographischen Oper verknüpft Sasha Waltz Tanz, Musik und Gesang. So auch in der Inszenierung von Herny Purcells „Dido & Aeneas“.
Mit ihrem Genre der choreographischen Oper verknüpft Sasha Waltz Tanz, Musik und Gesang. So auch in der Inszenierung von Herny Purcells „Dido & Aeneas“. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © Sebastian Bolesch / Sasha Waltz & Guests

Mit einem neuen Genre, der choreografischen Oper, hat die Choreografin Sasha Waltz Tanzgeschichte geschrieben. Sie verknüpft verschiedene Gattungen, möchte einen Dialog zwischen den Disziplinen und Künsten herstellen und so den Blick von Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauern erweitern. 

Von Romy König

„Das Statische auflösen“: Die choreografische Oper 

Zusammen mit dem Regisseur Jochen Sandig gründete Sasha Waltz 1993 ihre Compagnie „Sasha Waltz & Guests“, deren Inszenierungen im Berliner Kulturzentrum „Radialsystem V“ geprobt und häufig auch hier aufgeführt werden. Künstlerinnen und Künstler verschiedener Sparten aus rund 30 Ländern haben daran bis heute mitgewirkt. 2013 wurde die Compagnie zum „Kulturbotschafter der Europäischen Union“ ernannt. In ihrer Arbeit widmet sich Waltz vor allem der Kreation von Opernchoreografien: Dido und Aeneas (2005) war ihre erste Opernproduktion, für die Waltz Musik – darunter häufig klassische Opernkompositionen –, Gesang und Tanz verknüpfte. Die Künste sollten gleichberechtigt nebeneinander stehen, das „Statische“, das dem Operngeschehen sonst anheim ist, aufgelöst werden – so die Idee der in New York und Amsterdam ausgebildeten Tänzerin und Choreografin. Auch in ihren folgenden Projekten bildeten Sängerinnen, Musikern, Tänzerinnen und Chor ein Gesamtkunstwerk, etwa in Medea (2007), Roméo et Juliette (2007) oder in ihren jüngsten Operninszenierungen Tannhäuser (2014) und Orfeo (2014).
  • „Dialoge 09 – Neues Museum“ im neuen Museum zu Berlin. Foto (Zuschnitt): © Bernd Uhlig / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    „Dialoge 09 – Neues Museum“ im neuen Museum zu Berlin.
  • Inszenierung von Henry Purcells „Dido & Aeneas“ Foto (Zuschnitt): © Sebastian Bolesch / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    Inszenierung von Henry Purcells „Dido & Aeneas“
  • Roméo et Juliette von Sasha Waltz zur Musik von Hector Berlioz Foto (Zuschnitt): © Bernd Uhlig / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    Roméo et Juliette von Sasha Waltz zur Musik von Hector Berlioz
  • „Dialoge 09 – MAXXI“ von Sasha Waltz Foto: © Bernd Uhlig / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    „Dialoge 09 – MAXXI“ von Sasha Waltz
  • Inszenierung von „Orfeo“ zur Musik von Claudio Monteverdi Foto (Zuschnitt): © Sebastian Bolesch_Georg Nigl / Sasha Waltz & Guests
    Inszenierung von „Orfeo“ zur Musik von Claudio Monteverdi

Mehr als Vorstudien: Die Reihe „Dialoge“ 

Recherchiert Waltz für ein neues Stück, entstehen im Prozess häufig eigene Projekte, die sie – teils als Improvisationen, teils als Vorstudien – zur Aufführung bringt. So entstand ihre Reihe Dialoge: kurze, intensive Begegnungen zwischen Musikerinnen, bildenden Künstlern, Tänzerinnen und Choreografen, in deren Mittelpunkt „der freie Geist der Improvisation und die Lust am Experiment“ stehen. „Künstler sollen aufeinandertreffen, die sich sonst nicht zwangsläufig begegnen würden“, so Waltz. So entstehe nicht nur ein Dialog zwischen den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, auch der Blick der Zuschauer und Zuschauerinnen würde erweitert. Die Dialoge ’99/II führte sie im Jüdischen Museum Berlin auf, mit Dialoge 06 – Radiale Systeme, einer Vorarbeit zu ihrer Opernproduktion Medea, eröffnete ihre Compagnie das Radialsystem V. Das Tanzprojekt Dialoge 09 – MAXXI wurde 2009 zur Einweihung des neuen Museums für zeitgenössische Kunst MAXXI in Rom, eines spektakulären Baues der 2016 verstorbenen Star-Architektin Zaha Hadid, aufgeführt. Im gleichen Jahr präsentierte die Compagnie Dialoge 09 – Neues Museum im Neuen Museum in Berlin.

Der Dialog hält an

In den folgenden Jahren widmete sich Waltz verstärkt Choreographien zu eigens dafür komponierten Soundcollagen, bei denen sie ästhetisch an ihre früheren Arbeiten anknüpfte. Arbeiten wie Kreatur (2017), Exodos (2018) und rauschen (2019) nahmen sich dabei verstärkt aktuellen, gesellschaftspolitischen Themen an. Neben der Leitung ihrer Compagnie war Waltz in den Jahren 2000 bis 2004 Mitglied der Leitung der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, in der Saison 2019/2020 wird sie zusammen mit Johannes Öhmann die künstlerische Leitung des Berliner Staatsballetts übernehmen. Ihre erste Arbeit heißt Sym-phonie MMXX und ist ein Auftragswerk des österreichischen Komponisten Georg Friedrich Haas. Auch hier bleibt Waltz ihrer Idee von Verknüpfung und Begegnung treu: Das Stück, so die Ankündigung, wird „seine Gestalt in intensivem, fortwährendem Dialog annehmen“. 

Top