Tschick The adaptation of a novel becomes a stage cult

„Tschick“ at the Hans Otto Theater, Potsdam, director: Sascha Hawemann, f.l.t.r.: Eddie Irle (Tschick), Florian Schmidtke (Maik), Juliane Götz (Isa); © HL Böhme
„Tschick“ at the Hans Otto Theater, Potsdam, director: Sascha Hawemann, f.l.t.r.: Eddie Irle (Tschick), Florian Schmidtke (Maik), Juliane Götz (Isa) | Photo (detail): © HL Böhme

Within a year of the release of Wolfgang Herrndorf’s novel about youth, its theatre adaptation has become the most frequently performed young people’s play on German-language stages.

Referring not too long ago to the great beatnik novel of freedom, Jack Kerouac’s On the Road (1957), the singer and poet Adam Greene said: “I’m going to write the equivalent of On the Road for my generation. It’s going to be called Stay Home”. Stay home: that is the appropriate credo for a time when reality is preferably experienced via smartphone, television or internet on the home sofa. No wonder, then, it was not really to be expected that our epoch would get another forceful narrative of the great break-out, of life on the road, of allurements beyond the mainstream in the mould of On the road – until Wolfgang Herrndorf’s Tschick appeared.

Young people’s classic and cult play

The story of two young people who steal a Lada during the summer holidays so as to make off for Walachia, but then end up wandering around Brandenburg and Saxony encountering all sorts of quirky locals, already caused a sensation when it was published in 2010. “This will be a novel we still want to read fifty years hence. But it would be better to begin reading it straightaway”, exulted the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. It rained awards, including the 2010 German Youth Literature Award and induction into the canon of literature read in the schools. There Herrndorf’s work has joined the ranks of similar anti-establishment classics such as Goethe’s Werther, J.D. Salinger's Catcher in the Rye and Hermann Hesse’s Unterm Rad (Beneath the Wheel) – a book that Herrndorf has discussed in relation to Tschick at his blog Arbeit und Struktur (i.e., Work and Structure). The prophecy that this novel will still be read fifty years from now is likely to come true.

Almost parallel to the success of the book began the stage phenomenon of Tschick. In 2011 the Dresden State Theatre published the stage version by its chief dramaturge Robert Koall, the only one so far authorized by Rowohlt Publishers. In an interview, Koall has emphasized that the plan for a stage version was framed before the novel’s triumphal march. He was friends with Herrndorf and had read the manuscript prior to publication. Tschick was premiered at the State Theatre’s small studio stage with a capacity of about one hundred seats. Soon thereafter the production, by Jan Gehler, was moved to the main stage of the Kleines Haus, with a capacity of about four hundred seats; and in February 2014 the play celebrated its one hundredth performance. Elsewhere too Tschick has filled the house. As of March 2014, fifty stages in Germany, Austria and Switzerland have performed Koall’s adaptation of the novel. A further nine productions have already been agreed upon. What is it then about this theatre blockbuster?
Staatsschauspiel Dresden: “Tschick” after the novel of Wolfgang Herrndorf (Youtube)

A great journey

Tschick is by no means a novel that insists upon being realized on the stage. Whereas the often currently performed realists such as Thomas Mann, Fyodor Dostoevsky and Leo Tolstoy conceived their epic novels with a view to dialogue and provide ample material for classical forms of dramatisation, Tschick lives completely from the sound track of the narrator, that is, is narrative through and through.

And this narrator is a marvel of superficial juvenile knowledge. When, for instance, at the start of their road trip, the boys discover a music cassette in the purloined Lada, the scene unfolds as follows: “It was called Richard Clayderman: The Solid Gold Collection, and actually it wasn’t music, rather a tinkling of the ivories, Mozart”. Thus the novel constantly plays with ambiguous jokes. On the surface, it is perfectly youth-compatible and shot through with authentic-seeming youth speak. “Stylistically dubious grammar school boy prose sprinkled with commonplace ideas” – so Herrndorf has described the novel at his blog. But beneath the surface, it conveys punchlines to a maximally informed reader who knows why it is pretty outrageous, yet not wholly false, to lump together the entertainment pianist Clayderman and Mozart.

The play of punchlines in the book is shot through with pop culture and media savvy. The heroes, Maik Klingenberg and Andrej Tschichatschow, alias “Tschick”, are at home in the world of TV and computer games like Grand Theft Auto, and their accident-prone tour of the provinces reads like an extension of gaming experiences, as the literary scholar Moritz Baßler has recently shown. When the boys want to know whether the Walachia to which they are headed is a real place or only a figure of speech like “in the back of beyond” or “somewhereville” (as Maik says), they ask Wikipedia. Herrndorf’s Tschick has an exact knowledge of every point on the media horizon and in its models in literary works such as Salinger’s Catcher in the Rye and in the genre of road movies, whose plots the novel is based on. In this sense Adam Greene’s dictum pans out here too: Tschick is On the Road for the “stay home” generation.

Adaptation for the stage

Koall has created a consistent adaptation for the stage, which strongly relies on the narrator’s voice and at the same time faithfully goes through the paces of the plot. He thus places the work in the new tradition of an emphatically epic theatre, such as is cultivated by Armin Petras: Maik, the narrator, relates the plot standing directly before the audience. At various points, his narration is underscored by scenes of dialogue: the visit to the eco-family; the meeting with the scruffy but erotically attractive Isa; the episodes with the World War II veteran Fricke and the speech therapist in the BMW 5 series.

The danger of slipping into exaggerated caricature in these quickly drawn scenes is not slight. This applies especially when, like Sascha Hawemann in Potsdam, you have the actors switch roles among the main characters Maik, Tschick and Isa and the other figures of the novel with the aid of wigs and costumes. Such caricatures do not detract from the appeal of the play for a comedy-hardened young public, but it does shrink the deliberately “cool” stance of the original.

Koall’s stage version makes two major changes in the plot of the novel: unlike in the book, the main character, Maik, is not placed at the finale before the choice between his heartthrob, his “superporno”-looking classmate Tatjana, and his travelling acquaintance Isa. The return to Tatjana is missing; everything points in the direction of Isa, the wild thing from the rubbish dump. Koall regrets this alteration himself, but sees it as being required by dramaturgical considerations: “From the moment that the accident occurs and the road trip is over, the energy of the plot is heading towards its termination”, he says. Scenes had to be dropped from the concluding part of the book.

And Koall makes Tschick himself the narrator of the final court hearing, which treats the car theft, the accidents and generally the “neglect” under which the young people have suffered (Tschick, thre son of an immigrant, comes from a disadvantaged background; Maik is considered a victim of affluent neglect). Thus the hero of the title, who in the novel is disturbingly absent from the concluding scene, receives a prominent role at the end of the play. And the finale here looks more like a happy end. It thus moves more in the direction of the genre of young people’s literature.

Tschick Eine Romanadaptation wird zum Bühnenkult

„Tschick“ am Hans-Otto-Theater Potsdam, Regie: Sascha Hawemann, v.l.n.r.: Eddie Irle (Tschick), Florian Schmidtke (Maik), Juliane Götz (Isa); © HL Böhme
„Tschick“ am Hans-Otto-Theater Potsdam, Regie: Sascha Hawemann, v.l.n.r.: Eddie Irle (Tschick), Florian Schmidtke (Maik), Juliane Götz (Isa) | Foto (Ausschnitt): © HL Böhme

Wolfgang Herrndorfs Jugendbuch wurde innerhalb eines Jahres nach seiner Veröffentlichung und Bearbeitung zum meistgespielten Jugendstück deutschsprachiger Bühnen.

In Anspielung auf den großen Freiheitsroman des Beatniks Jack Kerouac On the Road von 1957 meinte der Sänger und Dichter Adam Greene einmal: „Ich werde das On the Road für meine Generation schreiben. Es wird Bleib zuhause heißen.“ – „Bleib zuhause“, das ist das angemessene Credo in einer Zeit, da Wirklichkeit bevorzugt via Smartphone, Fernseher oder Internet aufs heimische Sofa drängt. Kein Wunder also, dass nicht wirklich zu erwarten stand, dass unsere Epoche noch einmal eine gültige Erzählung vom großen Ausbruch kriegen würde – vom Leben unterwegs, von den Lockungen abseits des Mainstreams, also vom Schlage eines On the Road. Bis Wolfgang Herrndorfs Tschick herauskam.

Jugendklassiker und Kultstück

Die Geschichte zweier Jugendlicher, die sich in den Sommerferien einen Lada klauen, um in die Walachai zu fahren, de facto dann aber irgendwo in Brandenburg und Sachsen herumirren und allerlei schrulligen Einheimischen begegnen, sorgte schon 2010 beim Erscheinen für Furore. „Auch in fünfzig Jahren wird dies noch ein Roman sein, den wir lesen wollen. Aber besser, man fängt gleich damit an“, jubelte die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. Es hagelte Preise, unter anderem den Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis 2010, und die Aufnahme in den Kanon der Schulliteratur. Dort reiht sich das Werk nun zu ähnlichen Antiestablishment-Klassikern wie Goethes Werther, J.D. Salingers Fänger im Roggen oder Hermann Hesses Unterm Rad, Bücher, die Herrndorf in seinem Blog Arbeit und Struktur im Kontext von Tschick thematisiert. Die Prognose, dass dieses Werk auch in fünfzig Jahren noch gelesen werden wird, dürfte sich locker bewahrheiten.

Nahezu parallel zu dem Bucherfolg setzte des Bühnenphänomen Tschick ein. 2011 brachte das Staatsschauspiel Dresden den Roman in der bisher einzigen vom Rowohlt Verlag autorisierten Bühnenfassung des Dresdner Chefdramaturgen Robert Koall heraus. Der Plan zur Bühnenumsetzung sei noch vor dem Siegeszug des Romans gefasst worden, betonte Koall in einem Interview. Er war mit Herrndorf befreundet, hatte das Manuskript bereits vor der Drucklegung gelesen. Zur Uraufführung kam Tschick auf der kleinen Studiobühne mit knapp einhundert Plätzen. Bald darauf ist die Inszenierung von Jan Gehler auf die Hauptbühne im Kleinen Haus mit rund vierhundert Plätzen verlegt worden; im Februar 2014 wurde die 100. Aufführung gefeiert. Auch andernorts füllt Tschick die Häuser. 50 Bühnen in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz haben Koalls Romanadaption bis zum März 2014 gespielt. Weitere neun Inszenierungen sind bereits vereinbart. Was ist also dran, an diesem Bühnenrenner?
Staatsschauspiel Dresden: „Tschick“ nach dem Roman von Wolfgang Herrndorf (Youtube)

Eine große Reise

Tschick ist beileibe kein Roman, der sich für eine Theaterumsetzung aufdrängt. Während die derzeit oft gespielten Realisten wie Thomas Mann, Fjodor Dostojewski oder Lew Tolstoi ihre Epik vom Dialog her konzipierten und reichlich szenisches Futter für klassische Formen der Dramatisierung bieten, lebt Tschick ganz von der Tonspur des Erzählers, ist also durch und durch narrativ.

Und dieser Erzähler ist ein Wunderwerk an juvenilem Halbwissen: Wenn die Jungs etwa am Beginn ihres Roadtrips im geklauten Lada eine Musikkassette entdecken, klingt das so: „Sie hieß The Solid Gold Collection von Richard Clayderman, und es war eigentlich keine Musik, eher so Klaviergeklimper, Mozart.“ So wird hier permanent mit doppelbödigem Witz gespielt. Auf der Oberfläche ist das Werk perfekt jugendkompatibel und von authentisch anmutendem Jugendsprech durchzogen. „Stilistisch fragwürdige Pennälerprosa mit Allerweltseinfällen“, so charakterisierte es Herrndorf in seinem Blog. Aber unter der Oberfläche transportiert es seine Pointen für einen maximal informierten Leser, der versteht, wieso es ziemlich unverschämt, aber auch nicht völlig falsch ist, den Unterhaltungspianisten Clayderman mit Mozart in einen Topf zu werfen.

In seinem Pointen-Spiel ist das Buch von Popkultur und Medienwissen durchdrungen. Die Helden, Maik Klingenberg und Andrej Tschichatschow alias Tschick, sind zuhause in der Welt des Fernsehens und der Computerspiele wie Grand Theft Auto und ihre unfallreiche Tour durch die Provinz liest sich durchaus wie eine Verlängerung solcher Spieleerfahrungen, wie der Literaturwissenschaftler Moritz Baßler unlängst nachwies. Ob die „Walachei“, in die sie aufbrechen wollen, ein realer Ort ist, oder nur eine Redewendung wie „Jottwehdeh“ oder „Dingenskirchen“, klären die Jungs über Wikipedia. Herrndorfs Tschick weiß an jeder Stelle genau um den Medienhorizont ebenso wie um seine literarischen Vorlagen wie Salingers Fänger im Roggen oder um das Genre der Roadmovies, denen die Romanhandlung nachempfunden ist. In diesem Sinne löst sich das Diktum von Adam Greene hier durchaus ein: Tschick ist ein On the Road für die Generation „Bleib zuhause“.

Adaption für die Bühne

Koall hat überaus folgerichtig eine Bühnenbearbeitung geschaffen, die stark auf die Erzählerrede vertraut und zugleich treu die Handlungsstationen des Romans abschreitet. Er platziert das Werk damit in der neueren Tradition eines betont epischen Theaters, wie es etwa Armin Petras pflegt. Maik führt als Erzähler frontal vor dem Publikum durch die Handlung. Punktuell wird seine Rede von dialogischen Spielszenen unterstützt: vom Besuch bei einer Öko-Familie oder dem Zusammentreffen mit der verlotterten, aber erotisch anziehenden Isa.

Die Gefahr, in diesen schnell gezeichneten Szenen in chargenhafte Karikaturen zu verfallen, ist nicht gering. Das gilt insbesondere, wenn man wie Sascha Hawemann in Potsdam die Spieler mit Hilfe von Perücken und Verkleidungsspielchen regelmäßig zwischen den Hauptfiguren Maik, Tschick und Isa und dem übrigen Personal des Romans wechseln lässt. Dem Appeal tut solch eine Karikierung bei einem comedy-gestählten Jugendpublikum gleichwohl keinen Abbruch, sie schrumpft lediglich die bewusst „coole“ Haltung der Vorlage.

Zwei größere Veränderungen nimmt Koalls Bühnenfassung gegenüber dem Roman vor: Anders als im Buch wird der Protagonist Maik im Finale nicht vor die Wahl zwischen seinem Schwarm, der „superporno“ aussehenden Klassenkameradin Tatjana, und der Reisebekanntschaft Isa gestellt. Die Rückkehr zu Tatjana fehlt, alles weist in Richtung Isa, der jungen Wilden von der Müllkippe. Ein Umstand, den Koall selbst bedauert, der aber dramaturgischen Überlegungen verpflichtet sei: „Ab dem Moment, an dem der Roadtrip vorbei ist, geht die Energie der Handlung auf ein Ende hin“, sagt er. Da mussten Szenen aus dem Schlussteil des Buches wegfallen.

Und Koall macht Tschick erstmals selbst zum Erzähler für die finale Gerichtsverhandlung, auf der der Autodiebstahl, die Unfallfahrten und allgemein die „Verwahrlosung“ der Jungen verhandelt werden (Tschick, das Einwandererkind, stammt aus ärmeren Verhältnissen; Maik gilt als wohlstandsverwahrlost). So bekommt der Titelheld, der im Romanfinale auf beunruhigende Weise abwesend ist, bei ihm noch einmal eine prominente Rolle. Und das Finale schaut mehr nach Happy End aus. Es rückt so stärker ins jugendliterarisch Genrehafte.